Samsung Galaxy S7 & S7 Edge OFFICIAL DISCUSSION V5, On Sale! S7 Edge for RM3,099

benny888
post Apr 1 2016, 09:32 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jerryhean @ Apr 1 2016, 09:26 AM)
Good price...I last paid us$90 for it from Amazon
I am using this card in my S7e now
benny888
post Apr 1 2016, 02:56 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Apr 1 2016, 02:26 PM)
That's fact. Flagship Android (non apple) should be fall within 2.5k range. My S4 2 years ago 1.8k only, now 1.8k merely can get the midrange A series only.
Blame that on our weak currency
benny888
post Apr 1 2016, 06:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(vin39 @ Apr 1 2016, 05:58 PM)
so if use 2 sim memory card cnt be used? or they have dedicated slot for memory card?
Only one sim if you use the other slot for ext sdcard
benny888
post Apr 2 2016, 11:03 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Apr 2 2016, 10:56 AM)
Wow... Didn't know got Samsung users willing to spend RM 250 just for a film! notworthy.gif
Some even pay up to rm200+ just for Samsung original cases. I will never spend such amount of money for it. I got an imitation clear cover flip case for less than half vs original case. Its quality is good n comparable too to the original ones
benny888
post Apr 2 2016, 11:16 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(bylkw2 @ Apr 2 2016, 11:13 AM)
No doubts that ultimate shield is awesome, wrapping the whole phone nicely, especially no lifting at the edges, but OMG I NOW UNDERSTAND WHAT'S RUBBERY FEELING
I simply hate the ultimate shield sp after helping my aged friend to install it
Nothing beats n match the naked glass feel n experience

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 2 2016, 11:16 AM
benny888
post Apr 3 2016, 11:02 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Seems like Chrome is incompatible with this phone. I read of several users facing problems using it. Maybe such users can try the better alternative Chrome beta or Chroma ?
I had never ever like to use Chrome in ALL my Androids
I only use Next or Boat browser and had never experienced any freeze/hang or auto restart using these 2 browsers
benny888
post Apr 3 2016, 01:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 3 2016, 12:40 PM)
This phone not fully optimise yet.

It do hang on using Chrome in certain site sometimes.

The finger sensor not working in third party apps for example PayPal.

The com.samsung.faceservice not responding and need to freeze it.

No point factory reset, no point worried
. Just wait Samsung release new firmware. I believe pretty soon.
I viewed this as a big failure by Samsung since they are so well established already
How can a basic browser like Chrome can not even work well on the phone ? Anyway I don't use Chrome at all on all my androids and therefore doesn't affect me
Paypal - I had never tried the fingerprint yet
I don't face that faceservice error too
I had yet experience any freeze/ auto restart since day one 18 March using the phone. I still suspect such issues could be due to incompatible 3rd party utilities app, app from unofficial sources, 3rd party unknown apk etc

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 3 2016, 01:40 PM
benny888
post Apr 3 2016, 03:41 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Well I had decided to let go of my Onyx Black S7 Edge today. Phone already couriered out to the buyer
I t was a very good phone and main reason why I decided to sell it off as I feel uncomfortable using it due to its overly compact size . I always prefer a slight larger size eg LG V10 and Mate 8
Anyway I had several phones with me now ( LG V10, Mate 8, Nexus 6P, iphone 6s+, Lumia 950 XL) and to let go now at a reasonable good price is better than to keep it unused generally. I would just like to keep 2 Androids with me. I basically use it 2-3 hours every 2-3 days only.
I must say this is the best Samsung phone I had ever used amongst all the Galaxy and Note series. It is speedy, doesn't lag, excellent camera and decent good battery life ( I could hit 7-8 hours SOT).
My daily preference is still the LG V10 and Mate 8
benny888
post Apr 3 2016, 03:47 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(takizo @ Apr 3 2016, 03:42 PM)
Have you tried 6p before? Wonder 6p and mate 8 which one is the beast biggrin.gif
I had been trying to sell my 128gb Nexus 6p. However I only get ridiculous offers to date
On preference I rate the N6p below S7e n Mate8
N6p only good for fast firmware updates n ability to flash wide variety of roms : is a geek dream phone

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 3 2016, 03:51 PM
benny888
post Apr 3 2016, 04:10 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(takizo @ Apr 3 2016, 04:00 PM)
Same. Mind also nano sim and using double side tape.
great tips. yep.. 6p is for geek.. latest update and bla bla bla..

Camera wise, Mate 8 as good as S7 Edge? I really love the S7 Edge camera.
really that good huh Mate 8?!?!
S7e camera outshine Mate8

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 3 2016, 04:13 PM
benny888
post Apr 4 2016, 06:54 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

The greatest risk in Modding the sim tray is, it could get stuck while trying to take it out. Read of several such horror cases. Than is time to send in service center to remove it. Anyway do such at own risk
If you wish a dual sim n ext sdcard , consider LG V10 instead. Only major weakness is its average battery life 4-5 hours SOT vs 7-8 on S7e. However one can easily replace the battery (3000 mAh). S7e comparatively is a better performer on gaming but similar in other tasks.

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 4 2016, 06:54 AM
benny888
post Apr 4 2016, 07:00 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Apr 4 2016, 01:22 AM)
Uncle. Wife tak marah ke, phone too many? Kidding hehe. I have 3 extra smartphones and my wife nags. Just sold off Note3 last week. Still got iphone6s and Note4 with me
Is my only " expensive " hobby. I don't smoke, drink, go clubbing, or change cars frequently . She had got used to it already n consider it a good side activity to keep my brain cells active. I am past 60 years already!! Well I had a budget for it n so is OK with me.
benny888
post Apr 4 2016, 08:43 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(robin98 @ Apr 4 2016, 08:43 AM)
Great. It's very very rare for a 60+ years nowadays to have an interest in technology matters. Keep it up and continue to bring it on!
Just curious how many phones you bought in a year?
Just see my signature for the listing

benny888
post Apr 4 2016, 09:17 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

My Sandisk 200gb card had been working flawlessly well on the S7e . I had even tested moving many app over
I just slot it in moving over from my V10
It is in default exfat format

benny888
post Apr 4 2016, 10:01 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(talzer @ Apr 4 2016, 09:56 AM)
you should had blogged on the techs based on your previously owned devices list uncle loll

by the way, what sd card specs/brand is that?
believe the current issue will be resolved step by step by Samsung update iterated software.
not much of a hardware issue if im not mistaken
Is SanDisk Ultra 200GB Micro SD (SDSDQUAN-200G-G4A) which I bought from Amazon.com in Feb 2016
benny888
post Apr 4 2016, 10:10 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(talzer @ Apr 4 2016, 10:06 AM)
can do 4k recording with this? or up to only FUll HD?
Sorry I had no idea on such stuffs. I had never ever even try 4K video recording on all my phones that can support it. Based on what I knowm, it is simply not practical as the video sizes are immensely huge
benny888
post Apr 5 2016, 08:11 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Finally a detailed review ( 47 mins long) by Erica Griffin on the S7/S7 edge

benny888
post Apr 5 2016, 08:41 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(luke00 @ Apr 5 2016, 08:34 AM)
Hi Uncle Benny, sold your s7 edge?
YES. Simply because I am not comfortable with its overly compact size. I still much preferred a slight bigger size phone such as LG v10, Mate 8. Also on hand I still have few other phones eg iphone 6s+ ( 128gb), Nexus 6P ( 128 gb), V10, Mate 8, Lumia 950XL
Nevertheless I will still highly recommend this S7E to others - is the best Samsung I had ever used amongst all the Galaxy n Note series ( and I had used all of them before)
benny888
post Apr 7 2016, 06:08 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 7 2016, 12:57 AM)
I think Huawei P9 or P9 Plus (RM 3309) high possiblity beat the S7 Edge camera. Leica! wow!
HW phones these days are no longer that cheap
Look at Mate S at rm2.7k. Was surprised the better specs Mate8 was only rm2.1 n rm2.4k and these price range attracted many buyers especially those looking for a decent 6 incher
Overall HW make very good quality phones based on my experience having used Mate 6.1, X1, Mate 7 and current P8max ( used as mini tablet) n Mate8
However sadly its branding n market perception is much poorer vs Samsung. They are now world third largest manufacturer after Apple n Samsung

benny888
post Apr 7 2016, 11:20 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(fiddle @ Apr 7 2016, 11:11 AM)
Do any of you use the microsoft apps or is it worth disabling and using another app?
I only use Office Suite and always disabled all such Microsoft app if it is available in all my Androids

0.0455sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:38 AM