APPLE as a Gaming Machine

mohamadfazli
post Jan 5 2007, 08:30 AM

80 posts

i played latest flight simulator.. and gotten very very good decent fps even at full reso.. and med to high settings
mofonyx
post Jan 5 2007, 08:43 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

This video says it all

Linkage : http://youtube.com/watch?v=0_Rt5S80_ec
capultion
post Jan 8 2007, 01:09 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(hotdog @ Jan 2 2007, 06:35 PM)
Very true babyk. Its funny how Mac users/supporters/fans can't accept the fact that when it comes to gaming,Windows/PC is still a better choice.

P/S:- Dun give comments like "PS3 is better!","Console also can mah". Console gaming n PC gaming is different.
Yes.. But for me I have Windows in my Mac.. Window and Mac in one machine. I'd partitioned my MBP 30 G for Windows XP.. Only for gaming purpose.. The Battlefield 2412 run very decent that you cannot imagine with normal notebook. rclxms.gif

For job purpose.. Of course I used Mac because Windows is such like crap.. even to convert file to PDF.. shakehead.gif

goldfries
post Jan 8 2007, 01:10 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(capultion @ Jan 8 2007, 01:09 AM)
For job purpose.. Of course I used Mac because Windows is such like crap.. even to convert file to PDF..  shakehead.gif
try PDF 995. works fine. smile.gif

TSmacball
post Jan 8 2007, 10:34 AM

259 posts

Sometimes, I just dun understand. If APPLE can be so powerful in doing the 3D graphical creating, how come it cannot support so much as of a game play??

I understand that is why , there are no APPLE cyber cafe around..
limsk
post Jan 8 2007, 10:44 AM

62 posts

The apples are wonderful machines and a joy to use. However, due to the costs, it has always been viewed as something for a niche market, especially those related to art, design, and publishing. Because of this, major gaming companies have been reluctant to publish titles on the Mac because they are concerned that the sales would not be worth the development effort. All comes down to dollars and cents.

Look at it from their point of view - you have x amount to develop a game. There are untold millions of PCs out there and millions of PC gamers, in homes and in cybercafes. Then you have the Macs which for the most part are only found in design companies or in universities, neither which are intended as primary games environments. Which platform would you focus on to give you the best chance of making a profit from the project?

I wish it wasnt so - in an ideal world, the Macs would be comparable to a PC in cost, and all the major publishers would release games for it. Until then we are stuck with PCs as the primary gaming computer.

This post has been edited by limsk: Jan 8 2007, 10:49 AM
seth.frostheart
post Jan 8 2007, 10:44 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 8 2007, 10:34 AM)
Sometimes, I just dun understand. If APPLE can be so powerful in doing the 3D graphical creating, how come it cannot support so much as of a game play??

I understand that is why , there are no APPLE cyber cafe around..
not that the mac can't support gaming... generally, it's all about profit and marketability... publisher don't wanna fork out extra to port the game to another platform with low users demographics...
TSmacball
post Jan 8 2007, 02:11 PM

259 posts

I think the price of MAC has dropped since. It is now much more affordable compare to last time.

0.0687sec    1.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:24 PM