Gigabyte GA-M55SLI-S4 discussion, Flash your bios to the latest F10

TSserez
post Jan 2 2007, 05:23 AM, updated 19y ago

serez beznez
1,231 posts

i`ve bought this mobo 3 months already and still can`t overclock! i`m a noob here. sweat.gif

so what bothering me till today is the bios setting. whenever i change the cpu ratio, and htlink, it seems that it don`t change at all (not execute the changes when reboot).

then i flash bios to the latest version (F8), i thought all the problems solved. but just now i`ve tried to change the settings. cpu ratio and cpu speed seems going fine but now the problem is htlink. i changed htlink settings from auto to 3x and then reboot.. check with cpuz in winxp and nothings happen. it still shows the default. should it be 1000MHz or something when in default settings rite? correct me if i`m wrong.

then what is the problem exactly?
thanks..

SOLUTION : flash your bios to the lastest (F10) version. get it from here

This post has been edited by serez: May 28 2007, 05:32 PM
-pWs-
post Jan 2 2007, 09:33 AM

8,545 posts

I having the same mobo with u and having the same problem as you.
I already feedback to Giga Techical Support. Hope they will fix the htlink multi soon.

Now running at 2240 (224x10) and htlink multi i use ntune to set. This is the only way i can do smile.gif

And i found out that using ntune to oc will make ur pci fre goes up as well biggrin.gif
amduser
post Jan 2 2007, 03:37 PM

5,542 posts

wat is pci fre? u means the PCI-E bus speed? i max it to 3000MHz and ntg happen also >.< i use the nTune i tune my settings also, my processor core speed only can go from 2221Mhz to 2321MHz only T_T
tAmp0i
post Jan 2 2007, 03:49 PM

The name is Poi
2,825 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Jan 2 2007, 05:23 AM)
i`ve bought this mobo 3 months already and still can`t overclock! i`m a noob here. sweat.gif

so what bothering me till today is the bios setting. whenever i change the cpu ratio, and htlink, it seems that it don`t change at all (not execute the changes when reboot).

then i flash bios to the latest version (F8), i thought all the problems solved. but just now i`ve tried to change the settings. cpu ratio and cpu speed seems going fine but now the problem is htlink. i changed htlink settings from auto to 3x and then reboot.. check with cpuz in winxp and nothings happen. it still shows the default. should it be 1000MHz or something when in default settings rite? correct me if i`m wrong.

then what is the problem exactly?
thanks..
Press Ctrl + F1 in the bios menu to unlock additional features like memory timings etc. I've tried M55S-S3 which i believed should be more or less the same with SLI-S4....
-pWs-
post Jan 2 2007, 04:02 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jan 2 2007, 03:37 PM)
wat is pci fre? u means the PCI-E bus speed? i max it to 3000MHz and ntg happen also >.< i use the nTune i tune my settings also, my processor core speed only can go from 2221Mhz to 2321MHz only T_T
PCI frequency...not PCI-E smile.gif
-pWs-
post Jan 2 2007, 04:03 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Jan 2 2007, 03:49 PM)
Press Ctrl + F1 in the bios menu to unlock additional features like memory timings etc. I've tried M55S-S3 which i believed should be more or less the same with SLI-S4....
Yea...Already unlock the additional features only can set the htlink multi. But the setting would not have any effect cry.gif
TSserez
post Jan 2 2007, 04:47 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Jan 2 2007, 03:49 PM)
yeap already access the hidden menus. but the problem is the mobo itself, it can`t execute the changes in bios settings..
TerryZeroX
post Jan 2 2007, 10:27 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

yea having the same mobo here sweat.gif can't oc cry.gif

This post has been edited by TerryZeroX: Jan 2 2007, 10:27 PM
TSserez
post Jan 3 2007, 12:35 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

hahaha.. what to do.. now we wait for their next bios release. maybe it will fix it. if not, then it is time to have a new mobo.. sweat.gif

btw is there any tools out bios to down the htlink?
TerryZeroX
post Jan 3 2007, 01:04 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

there is actually. i tried it before and it works but its unstable sweat.gif google for ntune =)
TSserez
post Jan 3 2007, 01:23 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

unstable? u mean that it can`t pass prime95 or super pi?
-pWs-
post Jan 3 2007, 02:16 AM

8,545 posts

I think unstable in the sense of PCI frequency smile.gif
TSserez
post Jan 4 2007, 06:23 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

what do u mean by pci freq? still didn`t get it aa..
-pWs-
post Jan 4 2007, 07:13 PM

8,545 posts

Using ntune to oc from default, it will bring up ur pci frequency which is 33Mhz default smile.gif

Tat is wat i meant
ddww
post Jan 4 2007, 10:07 PM

~DoDy~
908 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jan 4 2007, 07:13 PM)
Using ntune to oc from default, it will bring up ur pci frequency which is 33Mhz default smile.gif

Tat is wat i meant
i think not... it will still remain 33mhz even u pull up your fsb...
TSserez
post Jan 4 2007, 10:09 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(ddww @ Jan 4 2007, 10:07 PM)
i think not... it will still remain 33mhz even u pull up your fsb...
yup agree with u. there is no reason why pci bus should be increase deh. i`ve tried it before, it still remains 33mhz.
-pWs-
post Jan 4 2007, 11:59 PM

8,545 posts

Ya....u all tried using ntune to increase the htt. Then u will know wat i meant smile.gif

This post has been edited by -pWs-: Jan 5 2007, 12:07 AM

-pWs-
post Jan 5 2007, 07:35 PM

8,545 posts

Gigabyte Tech Support replied me d, but have to wait ...ZZzzzZZzzzzz doh.gif

TSserez
post Jan 6 2007, 05:30 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

oh.. then still to wait for stable bios lah.. sweat.gif i`ve sent to them my query oso but still don`t get reply from them. its almost 2 weeks. cry.gif
atleeyoung
post Jan 8 2007, 05:54 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jan 4 2007, 11:59 PM)
Ya....u all tried using ntune to increase the htt. Then u will know wat i meant smile.gif
what's wrong with the increasing PCI_fre?
lohwenli
post Jan 28 2007, 06:47 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(atleeyoung @ Jan 8 2007, 05:54 PM)
what's wrong with the increasing PCI_fre?
If it increases too much much all your pci devices will stop working, eg-LAN, audio, firewire, ect. Back in early socket A days this was a major pain in the @SS mad.gif as the southbridge was also connected by the PCI bus-basically EVERYTHING stops working (even video, as the AGP clock was tied to the PCI clock) except for processor and memory. Now A64 is on Hypertransport bus so only the PCI devices will go nuts; at least your hdd should still work as the chipset will still function. Unlike processor, memory and graphics overclock there are NO options to stabilise a PCI overclock, and some devices like LAN and firewire are damn sensitive to the PCI clock-sometimes even 1MHz increase also go nuts already.
chy620
post Jan 29 2007, 12:01 AM

i using the same mobo also. well i got another problem tat's my pc performance seem like a bit lagging. i dunno which part of it cause it and the lagging not easy to discover unless when after pc works for few hours and then ply Dota then u wil c al the creeps n heroes keep lagging or blinking.. why huh.. any idea??? hmm.gif
TSserez
post Apr 20 2007, 03:03 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

yay at last gilabyte finally release new bios for ga-m55.. i`m waiting for this.. f10 bios what can do? it actually fix bugs that i`ve mentioned earlier. flash ur bios now bros. now i can save sum more money to not to replace my mobo.
TerryZeroX
post Apr 20 2007, 03:06 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

yeap! tested already. i'm overclocking now biggrin.gif
TSserez
post Apr 20 2007, 03:47 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

yeah me too.. laugh.gif gosh luckily i didn`t spend my money yet to buy a new one sweat.gif. but this mobo still not offers too much oc menu. cry.gif

TerryZeroX
post Apr 20 2007, 09:20 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

lol, budget sli mobo. juz live wit it biggrin.gif
TSserez
post Apr 20 2007, 12:26 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

yeah. rite. still live with it. btw what`s ur oc result? mine still finding max cpu.
TerryZeroX
post Apr 20 2007, 03:15 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

i changed to 3600+ brisbane. i've yet to push it further. i'm looking for a application to check my chipset temperature. gotta monitor it. now my brisbane is at 2ghz only.. only 100mhz overclocked tongue.gif
TSserez
post Apr 21 2007, 02:30 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

i`m still playing with fsb. increase it to 244 w/ multiplier 10 divider 400. run orthos for 11 hours stable.
-pWs-
post Apr 21 2007, 08:48 PM

8,545 posts

Nice...serez
244 HTT with stock voltage??

Keep it up smile.gif

-pWs-
TerryZeroX
post Apr 23 2007, 02:40 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

bro, do ya have any idea how to check northbridge temp? i feel like the 1 i saw in easytune is the wrong 1
evilmashi
post Apr 23 2007, 12:49 PM

63 posts

im using Gigabyte M61VME-S2,
having this problem each time i wanna increase freq
"Bios in safe mode bla bla please resetting your frequency"
using 3600+
any solution for that ?
-pWs-
post Apr 23 2007, 04:52 PM

8,545 posts

If not mistaken, when u overclock, the bios will show tat sentence
Nth to be worried i think

-pWs-
evilmashi
post Apr 23 2007, 06:54 PM

63 posts

but if i press F1 to continue,
the freq will return to the original setting
letsay i set it to 230 x 10 multiplier it will return to 200 x 10.

is it something to do with my psu or cpu fan ?
im using the normal AMD stock fan.
and 480w cap ayam brand psu
or izzit just ive reached the mobo's limit ?

This post has been edited by evilmashi: Apr 23 2007, 06:58 PM
-pWs-
post Apr 23 2007, 10:06 PM

8,545 posts

That is weird, F1 should not make your frequency default

First, if u wan to oc, u better get a good psu.
And, gigabyte is not a supreme overclock board for amd smile.gif

-pWs-
evilmashi
post Apr 23 2007, 10:13 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Apr 23 2007, 10:06 PM)

-pWs-
what i mean is when the message appear,
there are 2 options to choose,
"Press F1 to continue" and "del to enter bios"
the thing is when i press F1 n booted to Os,
i check my freq return to default. rclxub.gif
-pWs-
post Apr 23 2007, 10:18 PM

8,545 posts

Yea..I understand what you are saying.
How much you increase your HTT??

-pWs-
evilmashi
post Apr 24 2007, 12:57 AM

63 posts

for now its 230.
im going to try for 240 later.
btw where to change the vcore ?
i cant find the menu
-pWs-
post Apr 24 2007, 06:31 AM

8,545 posts

Remember to lower down your HT Link to ensure stability

-pWs-
TSserez
post Apr 26 2007, 11:29 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Apr 23 2007, 10:06 PM)

-pWs-
yeah you r rite bro. cry.gif after 6months waiting and now oni i can o/c this thing..

QUOTE(evilmashi @ Apr 24 2007, 12:57 AM)
for now its 230.
im going to try for 240 later.
btw where to change the vcore ?
i cant find the menu
maybe its in hidden menu. or in M.I.T. menu oso have that setting.. but for ur board.. i`m not very sure la bro blush.gif
try to look up the bios release at gigabyte website. maybe this can help.
TerryZeroX
post Apr 26 2007, 01:33 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Apr 26 2007, 11:29 AM)
yeah you r rite bro.  cry.gif  after 6months waiting and now oni i can o/c this thing..
lol i waited nearly a year =P but i'm happy now cos i don't need to change a mobo for oc biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TerryZeroX: Apr 26 2007, 01:33 PM
TSserez
post Apr 26 2007, 01:38 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

haha so with me~!! but still slowly o/c the cpu. currently running stress on 2344MHz blush.gif
what`s ur result btw?

This post has been edited by serez: Apr 26 2007, 01:38 PM
TerryZeroX
post Apr 26 2007, 02:01 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Apr 26 2007, 01:38 PM)
haha so with me~!! but still slowly o/c the cpu. currently running stress on 2344MHz blush.gif
what`s ur result btw?
not yet, still waitin for my big typhoon VX brows.gif once its here, i'll try for 3ghz brisbane, if its not possible i'll juz oc it to the max without adding vcore

This post has been edited by TerryZeroX: Apr 26 2007, 02:01 PM
TSserez
post Apr 26 2007, 02:22 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Apr 26 2007, 02:01 PM)
not yet, still waitin for my big typhoon VX brows.gif once its here, i'll try for 3ghz brisbane, if its not possible i'll juz oc it to the max without adding vcore
whoah~!! drool.gif good luck to u too.

aiya my temp already reaches 50C with blue orb. time to change new hs. ttbtvx in my mind icon_idea.gif

u bought that ttbtvx from who? how much?
TerryZeroX
post Apr 26 2007, 07:16 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Apr 26 2007, 02:22 PM)
whoah~!! drool.gif  good luck to u too.

aiya my temp already reaches 50C with blue orb. time to change new hs. ttbtvx in my mind icon_idea.gif

u bought that ttbtvx from who? how much?
no idea yet, saving money biggrin.gif but i should be able to get it next week laugh.gif
TSserez
post Apr 27 2007, 12:38 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

this is consider as ok ka? tunjuk ajarku sifu blush.gif
TerryZeroX
post Apr 27 2007, 01:34 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Apr 27 2007, 12:38 AM)
this is consider as ok ka? tunjuk ajarku sifu blush.gif
wow its quite stable, still got room for more i guess smile.gif

btw how do ya check ur chipset temp? i have no idea.. its friggin hot

This post has been edited by TerryZeroX: Apr 27 2007, 01:34 AM
cstkl1
post Apr 27 2007, 01:36 AM

6,799 posts

at the bios
use cntrl F1 for the advance settings
u can diable any spectrum there
TerryZeroX
post Apr 27 2007, 03:05 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 27 2007, 01:36 AM)
at the bios
spectrum? hmm? what does it do?
TSserez
post Apr 27 2007, 03:18 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 27 2007, 01:36 AM)
at the bios
i`ve found that hidden menu actually.. nod.gif
simonlimcc
post May 9 2007, 04:51 PM

35 posts

GA-M59SLI-S5 this motherboard nice?can overclock or not?feel like wan to buy this board....pls giv me some suggestion~~thankx ya~hahahaa~ notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by simonlimcc: May 9 2007, 04:51 PM
TSserez
post May 9 2007, 06:23 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(simonlimcc @ May 9 2007, 04:51 PM)
GA-M59SLI-S5 this motherboard nice?can overclock or not?feel like wan to buy this board....pls giv me some suggestion~~thankx ya~hahahaa~  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
better find something else doh.gif doh.gif not this one.. if ur want a budget o/c mobo then go for biostar tforce series. not this damn mobo. wink.gif
jaxmarine
post May 9 2007, 09:08 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 9 2007, 06:23 PM)
better find something else doh.gif  doh.gif  not this one.. if ur want a budget o/c mobo then go for biostar tforce series. not this damn mobo.  wink.gif
har...means this mobo sux la?y say like tat?izzit he cant oc?can u tell me the problem?
TSserez
post May 9 2007, 09:23 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(jaxmarine @ May 9 2007, 09:08 PM)
har...means this mobo sux la?y say like tat?izzit he cant oc?can u tell me the problem?
aiya.. misread.. i don`t know wether ga-m59sli performs great or not. but this ga-m55 sux. not so much tweak option offers.. gigabyte is not a premium stuffs for amd overclock. if u want to overclock, better find another manufacturer like dfi or biostar.. wink.gif
TerryZeroX
post May 13 2007, 02:50 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

hey serez, how high is your HTT now eh? i wanna know how far can this mobo go lol
TSserez
post May 14 2007, 08:23 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ May 13 2007, 02:50 PM)
hey serez, how high is your HTT now eh? i wanna know how far can this mobo go lol
uh.. mobo bottleneck.. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
highest htt i ever found that oni 238 with amd 3500 and so high vcore - 1.5v~!!!
now runnin oni 230 marr.. seems it not too stable to run fold.. sweat.gif

TerryZeroX
post May 14 2007, 12:27 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 14 2007, 08:23 AM)
uh.. mobo bottleneck.. shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
highest htt i ever found that oni 238 with amd 3500 and so high vcore - 1.5v~!!!
now runnin oni 230 marr.. seems it not too stable to run fold.. sweat.gif
omg? only 238 blink.gif dead-meat. i can't hit 3ghz anymore cry.gif not even 2.5ghz cry.gif
TSserez
post May 14 2007, 01:46 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ May 14 2007, 12:27 PM)
omg? only 238  blink.gif  dead-meat. i can't hit 3ghz anymore  cry.gif  not even 2.5ghz  cry.gif
hmm thats my technique. dont know la. maybe u can hit 250 thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
but for now i need better cooling. seems that this blue orb can`t handle such high temp anymore sweat.gif
-pWs-
post May 14 2007, 02:29 PM

8,545 posts

Last time i can do 245HTT with my 3800++
Different hardware yield different result maybe smile.gif

-pWs-
TerryZeroX
post May 16 2007, 09:30 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

serez tongue.gif 250htt now brows.gif

edit~

260htt now brows.gif

This post has been edited by TerryZeroX: May 18 2007, 10:47 AM
TSserez
post May 18 2007, 08:09 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ May 16 2007, 09:30 PM)
serez tongue.gif 250htt now brows.gif

edit~

260htt now brows.gif
warghh why mine can`t reach that? cry.gif r u use what multiplier? ram divider? htlink? vcore? post some screenies ma.
TerryZeroX
post May 18 2007, 09:39 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

Wokeh tongue.gif request granted tongue.gif screenies! btw i didn't add vcore sweat.gif it flunctuate till that high

Gonna push higher tomorrow laugh.gif see wat's this mobo limit

EDIT

Errrr 270htt now

Added on May 21, 2007, 3:43 pmsqueezed till 286 rclxub.gif can't go anymore, need to figure out the prob

This post has been edited by TerryZeroX: May 21 2007, 03:43 PM
TSserez
post May 26 2007, 02:00 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

wuaa... u can reach till 270++? that`s very high edi. i try to push my 3500 and i think it manage to cecah 258 oni. if i set it to 260, then bsod will appear sweat.gif
TerryZeroX
post May 26 2007, 01:04 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 26 2007, 02:00 AM)
wuaa... u can reach till 270++? that`s very high edi. i try to push my 3500 and i think it manage to cecah 258 oni. if i set it to 260, then bsod will appear sweat.gif
Hmmm proc limit? or temp too high blink.gif this mobo so far max i can go is 286 then limit adi, will try 288 later on
TSserez
post May 26 2007, 03:07 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ May 26 2007, 01:04 PM)
Hmmm proc limit? or temp too high  blink.gif  this mobo so far max i can go is 286 then limit adi, will try 288 later on
i dun know. maybe temp too high kot coz it reaches 53c edi sweat.gif btw u dah reach 286 ka? with what ram?
-pWs-
post May 26 2007, 04:27 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 26 2007, 03:07 PM)
i dun know. maybe temp too high kot coz it reaches 53c edi sweat.gif btw u dah reach 286 ka? with what ram?
With Kingston value ram, I think ur problem is ram slot problem ar...
Trust me smile.gif icon_idea.gif

-pWs-
TerryZeroX
post May 26 2007, 05:35 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 26 2007, 03:07 PM)
soulfly made 2.9ghz with 3200+ tongue.gif i don't think proc is too high yet. summore i'm using SINGLE channel ram biggrin.gif
TSserez
post May 26 2007, 05:40 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 26 2007, 04:27 PM)
With Kingston value ram, I think ur problem is ram slot problem ar...
Trust me smile.gif  icon_idea.gif
-pWs-
oo... think so... i`m waiting for new hs then i can move it to the 1st 2slots. ty.

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ May 26 2007, 05:35 PM)
soulfly made 2.9ghz with 3200+ tongue.gif i don't think proc is too high yet. summore i'm using SINGLE channel ram biggrin.gif
aa? yaka? he made it with this gilabyte? shocking.gif
-pWs-
post May 26 2007, 09:42 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 26 2007, 05:40 PM)
aa? yaka? he made it with this gilabyte? shocking.gif
I think TerryZerox meant he using the same processor as you smile.gif

-pWs-
TSserez
post May 26 2007, 10:37 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 26 2007, 09:42 PM)
I think TerryZerox meant he using the same processor as you smile.gif
-pWs-
i know la but what we r talking about is this mobo. hmm should i use lower multiplier? bcoz when it hit at 260 bsod appears
TerryZeroX
post May 27 2007, 01:10 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 26 2007, 10:37 PM)
i know la but what we r talking about is this mobo. hmm should i use lower multiplier? bcoz when it hit at 260 bsod appears
you may try but i didn't touch my multiplier at all. u gotta do some testing biggrin.gif
TSserez
post May 27 2007, 01:30 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ May 27 2007, 01:10 AM)
you may try but i didn't touch my multiplier at all. u gotta do some testing biggrin.gif
hmm my stock multiplier is 11 then i decrease it to 10. so should i stick to 11? i`ve run stress sp2004 for 24hr.
TerryZeroX
post May 27 2007, 03:12 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

what htt are u at now blink.gif
TSserez
post May 27 2007, 12:03 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

258 only cry.gif

TerryZeroX
post May 27 2007, 03:05 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

Hmmm 258.. thats 30 htt lower than mine. how's your ram's setting?
TSserez
post May 28 2007, 02:24 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ May 27 2007, 03:05 PM)
Hmmm 258.. thats 30 htt lower than mine. how's your ram's setting?
hehe... i`m using cvr.. 5-5-5-15 and using divider. planning to get crucial ram frm shawty next time wink.gif
-pWs-
post May 28 2007, 04:13 AM

8,545 posts

TSserez
post May 28 2007, 09:45 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 28 2007, 04:13 AM)
CVS last time i can do 800Mhz at 4-4-4-12 with vdimm 2.2
I shud say not bad for a value ram smile.gif
-pWs-
and the question is do u do it on this gilabyte mobo? brows.gif i can`t do it, even i o/c it a little bit more than 667 than the bsod appears.. sad.gif
-pWs-
post May 28 2007, 12:03 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 28 2007, 09:45 AM)
and the question is do u do it on this gilabyte mobo? brows.gif i can`t do it, even i o/c it a little bit more than 667 than the bsod appears.. sad.gif
Yea ...u are right. I do it with my giga last time

-pWs-
TerryZeroX
post May 28 2007, 02:04 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 28 2007, 09:45 AM)
my ram speed is now as per my sig 776mhz wink.gif i'd say this mobo is kinda good for oc tongue.gif best bang for buck lol. even SLI board
TSserez
post May 28 2007, 04:13 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

uh.. how come u can oc it till 776? mind share with me? brows.gif
TerryZeroX
post May 28 2007, 04:49 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

Errr all i did was adding +0.1vdimm and there it goes. stable sweat.gif
TSserez
post May 28 2007, 05:30 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

erk.. yaka... i added 0.2vdimm then only can passed sp2004 sweat.gif summore use divider to lowered it sweat.gif aiya why this happen? is it like the pws said - not using the first 2 ram slot?

btw reaching 2816mhz blush.gif

This post has been edited by serez: May 28 2007, 05:43 PM

TerryZeroX
post May 28 2007, 08:29 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

haha nice biggrin.gif but don't blow up ya 3500+ tongue.gif its already 600mhz oc. get a better cooler thumbup.gif
TSserez
post May 29 2007, 03:51 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

yup already order thermalright cooler thumbup.gif btw did u use stock chipset cooler? or u have something better? brows.gif i`m planning to change it to evercool vc-re. i think the stock heatsink is too hot doh.gif
TerryZeroX
post May 30 2007, 05:08 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

stock chipset cooler lol, never bothered much about it though
TSserez
post May 30 2007, 11:01 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

i think mine already too hot. i can feel it wanna burns my finger wink.gif
-pWs-
post May 31 2007, 12:05 AM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 30 2007, 11:01 PM)
i think mine already too hot. i can feel it wanna burns my finger  wink.gif
Yea...the chipset is really very hot. You can just put one 80mm fan there. Last time i tried also, it really cools the chipset alot.
You can have a try smile.gif

-pWs-
TSserez
post May 31 2007, 10:17 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

how about changing the heatsink itself? brows.gif u think any 3rd party cooler will suit on that mobo?
-pWs-
post May 31 2007, 08:27 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 31 2007, 10:17 AM)
how about changing the heatsink itself? brows.gif u think any 3rd party cooler will suit on that mobo?
Errm...i not sure of the chipset size.
Because your chipset hs quite big n long. And ur chipset hs mouting also different.

You can try Evercool product. But i not sure it really fits or not smile.gif

-pWs-
TSserez
post May 31 2007, 10:16 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

yup oredi fitted it on. thumbup.gif evercool vc-re. but its mounting point really troublesome. i spend almost 1hour to fix the prob. using cable tie mod sweat.gif

This post has been edited by serez: May 31 2007, 10:17 PM
TerryZeroX
post May 31 2007, 11:56 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 31 2007, 10:16 PM)
yup oredi fitted it on. thumbup.gif evercool vc-re. but its mounting point really troublesome. i spend almost 1hour to fix the prob. using cable tie mod sweat.gif
mind to show some picts? brows.gif
TSserez
post Jun 1 2007, 01:12 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

yup can. wait aa. wanna find my cam laugh.gif i noticed that speedfan shows some temp changes, it decrease about 4-5C. pretty good huh.. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on June 1, 2007, 1:19 amok here u go rclxms.gif

not bad for a low-end 3rd party cooler.. value for price tongue.gif but it needs some modding on mounting holes.. noticed that i`m using cable tight to fit it sweat.gif

This post has been edited by serez: Jun 1 2007, 01:27 AM
-pWs-
post Jun 1 2007, 02:59 AM

8,545 posts

Nice one smile.gif
That is the cooler which is recommended for DFI nForce4 series

-pWs-
TSserez
post Jun 1 2007, 03:04 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

yup but it not suits perfectly on this mobo. summore the gc pressure keeps this thing senget sweat.gif so the solution is... tighten the cable tie as tight as possible. but not till ur mobo break la laugh.gif
TerryZeroX
post Jun 1 2007, 08:44 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

TSserez
post Jun 1 2007, 01:22 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

ya but the problem solved edi icon_rolleyes.gif hehe... u takpe la.. kaya, can buy new mobo if your`s burns...
TerryZeroX
post Jun 2 2007, 12:42 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Jun 1 2007, 01:22 PM)
ya but the problem solved edi icon_rolleyes.gif hehe... u takpe la.. kaya, can buy new mobo if your`s burns...
tak kaya laaaaa, i work to buy my pc leh biggrin.gif but this mobo really not bad tongue.gif 800mhz oc brows.gif
TSserez
post Jun 2 2007, 01:43 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Jun 2 2007, 12:42 AM)
tak kaya laaaaa, i work to buy my pc leh biggrin.gif but this mobo really not bad tongue.gif 800mhz oc brows.gif
i`m work oso.. but needs to save my money to other purposes tongue.gif
btw how do you o/c your ram? tunjuk ajarku sifu notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
TerryZeroX
post Jun 2 2007, 02:30 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

err actually i just set it to 533 divider and then add htt lol biggrin.gif once i feel that i oc quite high i just add 0.1vdimm thats all :heh: stable sweat.gif
TSserez
post Jun 2 2007, 02:38 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

owh.. like that.. i`m oso using 533 divider. but when the htt becomes high, the ram oso increase. and it will cause system not stable due to ram o/c. hmm is this because of my ram? do i need to get another ram? in my mind crucial ballistix will do blush.gif
-pWs-
post Jun 2 2007, 04:02 AM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Jun 2 2007, 02:38 AM)
owh.. like that.. i`m oso using 533 divider. but when the htt becomes high, the ram oso increase. and it will cause system not stable due to ram o/c. hmm is this because of my ram? do i need to get another ram? in my mind crucial ballistix will do blush.gif
Bro, i dun think is ur ram problem.
IMO, jz fix ur ram position will do the job smile.gif

-pWs-
TSserez
post Jun 3 2007, 11:42 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

ish2... r u sure that will do? i mean how does the first slot could relate with ram o/c performance? btw still waiting for my thermalright. i can`t use it as i dont have am2 bolt thru kit sweat.gif
-pWs-
post Jun 3 2007, 11:43 AM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Jun 3 2007, 11:42 AM)
ish2... r u sure that will do? i mean how does the first slot could relate with ram o/c performance? btw still waiting for my thermalright. i can`t use it as i dont have am2 bolt thru kit sweat.gif
Yea...hav a try 1st before getting those high end ram.
I pretty sure that the ram slot position does affect oc. smile.gif

-pWs-
TSserez
post Jun 4 2007, 07:40 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

hmm btw i oredi bought crucial ram blush.gif cost about rm40 more than bulk price sweat.gif just waiting for the stuff to arrive to my home. let see what this mobo performance..
TerryZeroX
post Jun 5 2007, 01:42 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

well hope ya can push more thumbup.gif i still havent get to push my brisbane to max yet
TSserez
post Jun 5 2007, 02:58 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

hmm i think i still lack of skills.. and luck sweat.gif i just manage to o/c till 2.8 oni then suddenly my pc crash. all drivers went gila edi cry.gif
-pWs-
post Jun 5 2007, 03:50 PM

8,545 posts

I think ur current setting is not so stable, since ur data are messed up
Downclock a bit and try smile.gif icon_idea.gif

-pWs-
TSserez
post Jun 5 2007, 08:26 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

yeap oredi downclock it. stable at 2540MHz. hmm how`s your dfi? still running 3100? laugh.gif
em wanna look how far this proc can go then oni thinking to grab brisbane. follow your leader notworthy.gif
TerryZeroX
post Jun 5 2007, 09:54 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

lol the main point is mobo tongue.gif the proc has no doubt that it can go over 3ghz laugh.gif
TSserez
post Jun 6 2007, 12:28 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Jun 5 2007, 09:54 PM)
lol the main point is mobo tongue.gif the proc has no doubt that it can go over 3ghz laugh.gif
hmm? u sure this 3500+ cant go beyond 3ghz? brows.gif
-pWs-
post Jun 6 2007, 01:18 AM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Jun 5 2007, 08:26 PM)
yeap oredi downclock it. stable at 2540MHz. hmm how`s your dfi? still running 3100? laugh.gif
em wanna look how far this proc can go then oni thinking to grab brisbane. follow your leader notworthy.gif
Haha...me too downclock already. My rig seem like got problem. Let it for few days and test for stability. smile.gif
Dunno why weird sound coming out. laugh.gif

-pWs-
TSserez
post Jun 6 2007, 01:31 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

laugh.gif .. what is it? hmm u think that brisbane will do 3.1 tak if use this gilabyte? laugh.gif btw terry, what htt u reached edi?
TerryZeroX
post Jun 6 2007, 06:51 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

still at 286 laugh.gif lazy to oc adi i'm using this settings at 24/7
TSserez
post Jun 8 2007, 12:00 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

one more q here. what kind of software use to adjust ram timings? a64 tweaker seems not functioning with this mobo... sad.gif
-pWs-
post Jun 8 2007, 01:44 AM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Jun 8 2007, 12:00 AM)
one more q here. what kind of software use to adjust ram timings? a64 tweaker seems not functioning with this mobo... sad.gif
You can try MemSet smile.gif

-pWs-
TSserez
post Jun 10 2007, 12:21 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

thanks bro. memset is functioning but this mobo still limited, bottleneck doh.gif
cl timings cannot adjust ler, just set to default cl5. means loose timing, loose bandwidth wink.gif

Added on June 11, 2007, 10:57 pmbros i think this mobo have one more bug. i can`t even set 3t cas latency in bios setting. it seems that it wont enter windows bcoz default cl timing is 5, then i tried to change to 4, it won`t boot.. cry.gif

This post has been edited by serez: Jun 11 2007, 10:57 PM
-pWs-
post Jun 12 2007, 01:15 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Jun 10 2007, 12:21 PM)
thanks bro. memset is functioning but this mobo still limited, bottleneck  doh.gif
cl timings cannot adjust ler, just set to default cl5. means loose timing, loose bandwidth wink.gif

Added on June 11, 2007, 10:57 pmbros i think this mobo have one more bug. i can`t even set 3t cas latency in bios setting. it seems that it wont enter windows bcoz default cl timing is 5, then i tried to change to 4, it won`t boot.. cry.gif
Yea...of coz it wont boot, it needs extra vdimm to make it stable. Try to increase vdimm smile.gif

-pWs-
TSserez
post Jun 12 2007, 09:30 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

oredi add sum vdimm but it wont help a lot. now i believe in your words. try use 1st ram slots wink.gif
jayr0
post Jul 5 2007, 12:07 AM

hi i have a couple questions well since this is the mobo i own i was hoping you can tell me whats the best settings for my ram

my ram is CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (4 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel , Cas Latency 5 , Timing 5-5-5-15 , Voltage 1.9V

in bios it only shows volts 0.1 & 0.2

This post has been edited by jayr0: Jul 5 2007, 12:10 AM
TerryZeroX
post Jul 5 2007, 04:29 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(jayr0 @ Jul 5 2007, 12:07 AM)
hi i have a couple questions well since this is the mobo i own i was hoping you can tell me whats the best settings for my ram

my ram is  CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (4 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel , Cas Latency 5 , Timing 5-5-5-15 , Voltage 1.9V

in bios it only shows volts 0.1 & 0.2
there should be +0.1, +0.2 and +0.3v. best settings could be only found by yourself smile.gif as settings for all pc is different and as a reminder this mobo isn't good at overclocking
TSserez
post Jul 16 2007, 09:40 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

yup.. that`s right.. wow its been a month i dont` online.. hmm any news from gilabyte? hope they update their bios again.. still can`t change ram timings on my crucial rams.. shakehead.gif
-pWs-
post Jul 16 2007, 12:14 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Jul 16 2007, 09:40 AM)
yup.. that`s right.. wow its been a month i dont` online.. hmm any news from gilabyte? hope they update their bios again.. still can`t change ram timings on my crucial rams..  shakehead.gif
I think they would not update any bios unless there is a buggy bios. This is what i think smile.gif

-pWs-
TerryZeroX
post Jul 16 2007, 04:11 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

best way tongue.gif change mobo. I'm not a overclock enthusiast biggrin.gif can oc proc abit can adi =D this mobo will do for me
StOrmCatz
post Aug 9 2007, 05:37 AM

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Jan 27 2007, 02:47 PM)
If it increases too much much all your pci devices will stop working, eg-LAN, audio, firewire, ect. Back in early socket A days this was a major pain in the @SS  mad.gif as the southbridge was also connected by the  PCI bus-basically EVERYTHING stops working (even video, as the AGP clock was tied to the PCI clock) except for processor and memory. Now A64 is on Hypertransport bus so only the PCI devices will go nuts; at least your hdd should still work as the chipset will still function. Unlike processor, memory and graphics overclock there are NO options to stabilise a PCI overclock, and some devices like LAN and firewire are damn sensitive to the PCI clock-sometimes even 1MHz increase also go nuts already.
Could someone please clarify what lohwenli says. Does this mean that a out of spec PCI frequency will only affect PCI devices? Does that mean if I don't use any additional PCI devices, I'm safe to overclock? Meaning that there is no possibility for a corrupted hard drive for example?

Thanks in advance.
-pWs-
post Aug 9 2007, 02:16 PM

8,545 posts

What board u r using?
If u really want to overclock, please be sure that the pci frequency is 33MHz.

-pWs-
StOrmCatz
post Aug 9 2007, 03:12 PM

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Aug 8 2007, 10:16 PM)
What board u r using?
If u really want to overclock, please be sure that the pci frequency is 33MHz.

-pWs-
I'm also using the GA-M55SLI-S4. Based on that response, I can probably already assume that having a PCI freq out of spec is bad period. I really didn't think going from an NF7-S (nforce 2) would be like a downgrade in terms of overclocking abilities.
-pWs-
post Aug 9 2007, 03:33 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(StOrmCatz @ Aug 9 2007, 03:12 PM)
I'm also using the GA-M55SLI-S4. Based on that response, I can probably already assume that having a PCI freq out of spec is bad period. I really didn't think going from an NF7-S (nforce 2) would be like a downgrade in terms of overclocking abilities.
I would say that GA-M55SLI-S4 is not a good mobo for overclocking purpose. Mild oc should not be a problem.
You have to flash to latest bios in order for u to adjust the HTLink multiplier.
Press Ctrl + F1 to unhide all the hidden setting.

For ram timing, you only can set CAS latency if not mistaken. sweat.gif

-pWs-
TerryZeroX
post Aug 10 2007, 10:46 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(StOrmCatz @ Aug 9 2007, 03:12 PM)
well its just a budget board biggrin.gif can't expect much. But i managed to go to 2.7ghz with my brisbane from 1.9ghz at 286htt smile.gif kinda happy though. i hate the limited ram settings
StOrmCatz
post Aug 10 2007, 11:03 AM

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Aug 9 2007, 06:46 PM)
well its just a budget board biggrin.gif can't expect much. But i managed to go to 2.7ghz with my brisbane from 1.9ghz at 286htt  smile.gif  kinda happy though. i hate the limited ram settings
With a PCI freq out of spec, did you ever have any issues with a corrupted hard drive?
TSserez
post Aug 10 2007, 03:54 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Aug 10 2007, 10:46 AM)
well its just a budget board biggrin.gif can't expect much. But i managed to go to 2.7ghz with my brisbane from 1.9ghz at 286htt  smile.gif  kinda happy though. i hate the limited ram settings
yeah u r right... limited ram settings.. what i hate the most is.. whenever i change cas latency oso it didn`t works! vmad.gif
still have to rely on memset to set the timings.

QUOTE(StOrmCatz @ Aug 10 2007, 11:03 AM)
With a PCI freq out of spec, did you ever have any issues with a corrupted hard drive?
so far i don`t know about this.. try to check with pws. he`s a master nod.gif
-pWs-
post Aug 10 2007, 04:55 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Aug 10 2007, 03:54 PM)
yeah u r right... limited ram settings.. what i hate the most is.. whenever i change cas latency oso it didn`t works!  vmad.gif
still have to rely on memset to set the timings.
so far i don`t know about this.. try to check with pws. he`s a master nod.gif
Waaa. I am not master smile.gif Learning also one flex.gif

@StOrmCatz
Better ensure the PCI (33MHz) and PCI-E (100MHz) frequency is default. Do not mess with it if you scare your hdd spoil.
If I do not remember wrongly, PCI mostly affect ATA HDD and PCI-E affects SATA HDD.

-pWs-
TerryZeroX
post Aug 11 2007, 12:58 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(StOrmCatz @ Aug 10 2007, 11:03 AM)
been running this speed for a couple of months or so already and my pc is still running strong biggrin.gif 24/7 on lol and i fold bruce.gif

This post has been edited by TerryZeroX: Aug 11 2007, 12:59 PM

0.0531sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:05 PM