What will you do as a landlord?
TSLiloss
Mar 27 2016, 11:04 AM, updated 10y ago
Hi, I rented an apartment, everything Chop liao, and needed to move out in a short period, after half a year. I asked if he can return 2 months deposit and half month utilities, he say cannot. He want eat, cause need give agent.
I give in, say eat 1 month, end of month I leave, no. Last, I give him eat 2 months already, I stay half month to move out and pay utilities, and use the half month utilities to pay rent, also cannot.
He wants 2 months deposit, and a full month rental even when I move out within half month. Why landlord so greedy? Anything will happen if I nv pay rent?
Back story:
Rented apartment, 2.5k, to do some business nearby and give my uncle from Melaka stay cause he retired want stay there relax. Place very long nobody rent also, very dusty. Furnished la, but all basic, most also 5k+ only. Every month I pay rent and utilities on time. Half year liao, business failed, I need to move to another part of Malaysia. And my uncle sick, go back Melaka liao, so nobody stay.
Requested landlord like what I said above, he die die just want eat that 2 months deposit 5k and must pay 1 full month rent, 2.5k. Total want eat RM7, 500 leh! Say must give cause agreement, and cause must find people rent. Cb, they put half year also nobody rent liao, just nice I urgent need rent only...
So now, damn busy with my other business, and I lose so much liao. I like that owe like 1.35k don't want pay (2.5k rent - 1.25k(utility deposit) + (max max) 100 (15days utility)) Landlord still want threaten report police. Tu lan sia...
This post has been edited by Liloss: Mar 27 2016, 04:01 PM
nkdin_rulez
Mar 27 2016, 11:16 AM
bro if u signed an agreement for 1 year then the landlord has all the right to eat u deposit if dont honor your contract period.
lucerne
Mar 27 2016, 04:45 PM
unless you and your agent used earlier can find a replacement to take over your condo
you have to nego with your agent how much to pay him (introduction fee etc) i think most agent willing to help you with a fee.
maybe you can tell where is your unit?
oxm8
Mar 27 2016, 06:00 PM
Greedy? U must honor your contract. what your contract says?
Is it 1 year contract? If YES then u must stay for 1 year
TSLiloss
Mar 27 2016, 06:30 PM
This is the first time a landlord took my deposit and is so inflexible about it. I've rented all over the world and every landlord was ok about letting me use the deposit to cover the rental, usually is only 1 month deposit and leave once finish. I'll usually leave earlier so that they can find another tenant faster, or even intro my friend to the land lord or agent to take over rent/find other properties. I own a few properties in Vietnam and I'll just leave a blind eye on such cases. I won't even eat their deposit. They'll usually help me find other tenants to rent my other properties/room.
If you are a landlord, will you be so inflexible? If you were in my situation, how would you deal with this?
This post has been edited by Liloss: Mar 27 2016, 06:38 PM
lucerne
Mar 27 2016, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(Liloss @ Mar 27 2016, 06:30 PM) This is the first time a landlord took my deposit and is so inflexible about it. I've rented all over the world and every landlord was ok about letting me use the deposit to cover the rental, usually is only 1 month deposit and leave once finish. I'll usually leave earlier so that they can find another tenant faster, or even intro my friend to the land lord or agent to take over rent/find other properties. I own a few properties in Vietnam and I'll just leave a blind eye on such cases. I won't even eat their deposit. They'll usually help me find other tenants to rent my other properties/room. If you are a landlord, will you be so inflexible? If you were in my situation, how would you deal with this? contract is contract, u need to honor it. contract is to protect both party.. landlord cant chase u out less than 1 year same u cant leave less than one year. contract allow u to stay there legally and owner has transferred his rights to you. u can take back your deposit if the landlord agree you to find a replacement, a new contract will be between landlord and the new tenant, provided landlord ok with the new tenant.
maraippo
Mar 27 2016, 10:47 PM
Contract is contract. unless in contract got state if u want to move out earlier have to give notice on certain period of time.
for me, i allow my tenant to move out if give 1 month notice...
andrekua2
Mar 27 2016, 11:05 PM
Well, well, given the soft property market, and the fact that hardly anyone wanna rent the place, it's no surprise.
Personally when I was put in charged of one of my dad shop, I let them off with at least one month notice. He had rent for 18 months and a good payee, so why not.
I do pity your situation but let's face it. Many people buy property nowadays because someone will pay it for them (rent). Hence they will not let you go easily. They themselves also been lured and trapped too. It's also true that agent get the first month rental as deposit.
TSLiloss
Mar 28 2016, 07:04 AM
No wonder the owner, including his agent is so hard up for this amount of money, left like 1k+. Thinking back, there was like 30% of the units unsold and there was at least 30 banners for rent. The rest was on the lower floor, so I took this instead.
Owner was like, eh, got pay utility or not? Every month. They don't do that in dubai or Singapore. Different place different culture I guess. Don't think they'll get repeated business often.
Fortezan
Mar 29 2016, 08:49 AM
I think you need to put yourself in the landlord shoes to understand this situation. Remember, every time a landlord gets an agent to rent out his unit, he needs to pay the agent 1 month rental as commission, which is why most contract requires the tenant to stay at least 1 year. Unless you can help the landlord find another tenant to rent his place, without the need to engage agent again, then maybe you can nego with landlord to waive your deposit.