Maxis Official Maxis 3G/HS 3G Thread, This is not WBB!

vez
post Nov 14 2007, 10:25 PM

4,622 posts

i would like to subscribe Maxis 3G HSDPA, but my T60 have both express card slot and PCMCIA slot, my question is which slot better for using 3G, and is there any different in performace and price for express card slot and PCMCIA slot datacard?

and any 3G router that available in Malaysia? i cant actually get to see one in most of the computer shops in Penang Island.

Thx in advance smile.gif
vez
post Aug 30 2009, 07:09 PM

4,622 posts

receive sms from Maxis too, I still can continue RM99 smile.gif couldn't find any FUP at Maxis site

but i found the FUP http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/broadband/termncon.asp, the one for Maxis Broadband, it maybe the same for Maxis 3G RM99..
vez
post Dec 8 2009, 12:20 PM

4,622 posts

is multi sim still can access the 99 unlimited data simultaneously if phone is connecting to 3G as well, with just RM15 multi sim charges?

just to confirm, maybe getting one soon smile.gif
vez
post Dec 10 2009, 12:23 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(ibnuasad @ Dec 8 2009, 02:22 PM)
Yes. Can access data simultaneously. Currently using all my multisims to online smile.gif

ok, thanks smile.gif

vez
post Dec 17 2009, 07:03 PM

4,622 posts

my maxis 3G having problem today, lots of site cannot be load, but msn/skype can sign in, weird sad.gif

from Penang

anyone having the same problem?
vez
post Dec 17 2009, 08:08 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Dec 17 2009, 07:19 PM)
Use the open dns because Maxis DNS Server always FAKAP
after using openDNS, can surf net already, but download file very slow... <10KB/s

anyway thanks

This post has been edited by vez: Dec 17 2009, 08:31 PM
vez
post Dec 19 2009, 07:19 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(ibnuasad @ Dec 19 2009, 04:18 PM)
Just found out the hard way that secondary multisim cannot be used with any other brand of modems except Huawei. Tried with ZTE MF627, Sierra Wireless 880U (cost me RM300!), Option GT, etc. 880U can detect sim but will only connect to 2G band...tried various settings, still the same sad.gif

Anyone got their multisims working perfectly on other modems?

Btw, now using Huawei E160 and it works flawlessly biggrin.gif....also bought 2 new units of ZTE MF600 modem for future use brows.gif

To do:
- Fix outdoor panel antenna on roof (mf600)
- Buy a magnetic antenna (e160)

Added on December 19, 2009, 4:26 pmBtw, I switched from OpenDNS to GoogleDNS. I hate those OpenDNS search redirect pages!
wah, u have so many modem, u open PC shop? biggrin.gif

I am going to add one multi sim too on next year january, I do not have any modem yet, how come other brand cannot work rclxub.gif
vez
post Dec 20 2009, 03:51 PM

4,622 posts

between just to find out anyone here on RM99 unlimited package get capped after reached certain usage limit?

I have downloaded 30GB+ on December, still haven't slow me down, maybe 30GB consider little here biggrin.gif
vez
post Jan 27 2010, 10:41 PM

4,622 posts

still manage to dl 2GB+ without dropping the connection...

but I am using phone as modem, sometime phone itself will make the connection hang/drop
vez
post Jan 29 2010, 08:58 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jan 29 2010, 08:22 PM)
DUN USE FON TO CONNECT

why? maxis is dan fast, it will fry the chip faster too laugh.gif  laugh.gif
have been using for 2 years already ler, same phone, monthly average data got 20-30gb, still working smile.gif

multisim need extra RM15 monthly sad.gif
vez
post Jan 31 2010, 03:28 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jan 29 2010, 09:28 PM)
it depends,
if u hav voice tied, its rm15
if data only its rm15+rm15
you mean RM30 for multisim(additional sim card) that able to use HSDPA?

if I have one main sim now, I paid RM99 for unlimited, I need to pay RM30 for one additional sim card that can use HSDPA is it? smile.gif
vez
post Feb 13 2010, 08:23 PM

4,622 posts

anyon from Penang have successful added multisim that can use Unlimited data recently, i plan to get one for myself smile.gif
vez
post Feb 27 2010, 06:02 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Feb 27 2010, 08:47 AM)
Go get from the main maxis center at KLCC.
Can have up to 5 multi sims.

I still have a few slots as spare. Anyone interested in sharing out the billing just send me a PM.

Now my billing is as shown below:
( RM99 + RM15 + RM15 ) X 5% service charge = RM 135.45
Divide by two ppl, each paying RM68 monthly.

Only for trusted members. The more people sharing, the lower the rate will be. biggrin.gif
( RM99 + RM15 + RM15 ) so the 2 x RM15 is just Data, no voice right? smile.gif
vez
post Apr 28 2010, 07:03 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(penman @ Apr 28 2010, 04:36 PM)
RM190++~loh...

of course I'm not paying for something I didn't use.

A friend just informed me that his nephew's line got charged for RM1K on data usage, which he doesn't even surf net or use mobile internet...

shakehead.gif
i believe now Maxis do have a cap for it, if let say use over RM250(over RM25MB), it will be maximum RM250, no more RM1000++, that one is the past already..
vez
post May 30 2010, 05:50 PM

4,622 posts

penang no problem here, at night also smooth and normal
vez
post May 31 2010, 11:03 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(leecwai @ May 30 2010, 06:43 PM)
Don't mind share with us what you meant by smooth and normal?

What is the speed and which location in Penang?
speed is normal, no slow down

not high rise, ground or 1st floor, maybe due to my area is near industrial area, just <5km away from it and most of the time i use Maxis 3G at office, which is Industrial area, and Penang Bayan Lepas can be the first few spot to have 3G/HSDPA area if not mistaken

even at home about 5km away from office, still everything seems normal, i dont use much at home(because using streamyx), other than update some stuff thru handphone
vez
post Nov 3 2010, 12:24 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Nov 1 2010, 10:58 PM)
Yup. It's RM 99 per month.. currently testing use more than 6GB
you can confirm by login to your account at maxis site
vez
post Dec 9 2010, 11:30 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(markypcs @ Dec 9 2010, 09:53 PM)
Hey guys, I'm planning on getting myself an iPad this coming PC Expo. I was wondering whether by using 3G to buffer youtube, will it affect the video quality?

Asking this cos when I use my iPhone to watch youtube videos via WiFi, the video quality is awesome but when I use 3G, it's really blurry but it loads fast.

This is the plan I'm planning to sign up for : http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/broadband/ipad_postpaid.asp RM70 one.
if you using the iphone youtube app to watch, it will be only low quality video, try launch youtube from safari, you can choose high quality with 3G connection
vez
post Apr 1 2011, 07:11 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 1 2011, 04:56 PM)
try Umobile if you are in Sunway, it will be upgraded to 42MBps this 15th April, however u hav to purchase the special modem, else u will be surfing maximum at 7.2MBps, which maxis ( i am using too ) is providing currently
only limited area got 42Mbps which is dual carrier HSPA+
http://www.u.com.my/faqs/42mbps-mobile-broadband-service

hopefully if Maxis upgrade to HSPA+ network, existing unlimited plan will remain biggrin.gif

0.0240sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:43 PM