The Apple iPhone SE Discussion Thread | V1, A big step for small.

chiahau
post Apr 29 2016, 08:30 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Maestrol @ Apr 29 2016, 12:08 AM)
It's that time of the day again. Still not selling SE in Malaysia and yet news reports about falling sales on Apple products. Apple should fire their marketing department.

P.S.: A rant a day keeps my blues about Apple SE selling officially in Malaysia away
I heard high demand overseas for this phone laugh.gif

Even in some country, quite hard to get the SE.

QUOTE(galaxynote259 @ Apr 29 2016, 08:00 AM)
I really like this size but bad selfie camera and no force touch are really turn offs. I think even iPhone 6s the selfie Cam is narrow angle as well?
Selfie camera 1,3m is more than enough use for instagram la.

Force touch? I enabled it, but I have yet to actually use it much laugh.gif

So, if budget's a concern, SE is the way to go.

If not, go knock yourself out and get a 6S or S+ biggrin.gif
chiahau
post Apr 29 2016, 09:59 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Apr 29 2016, 08:52 AM)
In terms of numbers, our market is insignificant to Apple's sales revenue so I doubt releasing the SE in our market faster will boost up their sales figures.

Apple's falling revenues is expected seeing how the "S" upgrade for the iPhone 6 didn't bring any new innovations (I think many are not impressed by Force Touch, including myself). Well, 5 months or less to the launch of the 7.
I believe pricing is the issue.

Rising cost of living and etc to top off the current economy making the idea of spending 4199 for an iphone ridiculous.

If it's price at 2499, till today also still outta stock most probably laugh.gif

QUOTE(madfry @ Apr 29 2016, 08:57 AM)
They could always fire up the old 4S (Will that make it the 4 SE) if they really wanted market share that bad.

Heck, seems a lot of phone sellers are selling "refurbished" 4S phones these days, and although the warranty situation on those phones are not that clear, people are still buying it because of the price (ranges from 700-900).

Or is it because of the price?
It's the price.

People want cheap and at 700 bucks and iOS 8, it's pretty decent compared to other available phone in the market.
chiahau
post Apr 29 2016, 03:05 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(galaxynote259 @ Apr 29 2016, 02:01 PM)
i find it difficult to take group selfie and it performs badly in low light conditions

SE biggest attraction is small screen size, not budget

force touch is a attractive feature, just that you dont find it useful , you may have a look here http://www.macworld.co.uk/how-to/iphone/11...stions-3626954/
Again, due to pricing, it's higher in our market.

But in US, most of my friends who were into budget phones are now getting SE instead since the deal with Telco is cheap and they are getting a pretty decent device in return.

Heck, 399 usd is cheap in US.

And as I said, If i were coming from iPhone 6+ range, I will not upgrade to 6S+ for the mere force touch.

There are uses, yes. But it's not practical in my daily life.

QUOTE(attw @ Apr 29 2016, 02:21 PM)
Yes, if you don't need iOS, then any midrange Android at RM700 is a far better buy than a 4S or 5 even.
Nah, tried buying my old man some mid range android, nearly pulled my hair out teaching them how to use it.

Bought them a 5, works smoothly and almost zero learning curve.

Guess it's up to preferences.

QUOTE(attw @ Apr 29 2016, 02:27 PM)
I remember when the resellers had MYR500 off the retail prices a couple of months ago and the phones were flying off the shelf at a faster rate, so in our market it's definitely the price, for sure. But in the bigger picture Apple has failed to come up with a truly innovative product since Steve's passing, so the momentum that they built throughout the years are coming to an end. If the next reiteration of iOS and iPhones doesn't arrest the decline then I'm sure Tim and his management team will feel the pressure.
Tbh, not really bothered. I know what i signed up for in Apple ecosystem.

My last iphone 5 lasted me 3,5 years. My longest service HTC could only go up to 2 years before finally giving up sad.gif
chiahau
post Apr 29 2016, 04:33 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(madfry @ Apr 29 2016, 03:27 PM)
Well, Old Man, maybe. Things are changing though.

The best seller I see among my phone selling friends happens to be the Asus Ze550KL. Big screen, battery that lasted for quite some time when playing games, OK chipset make it very popular with teens and parent of teens who are not going to spend RM2K Plus for a phone. This age group, they are more likely to experiment with different launchers and tech.

Those kids, landing in Android will more likely end up getting high end Androids. iOS may hold no interest to them, unlike many of those who bought the original iPhone.

Partly I suspect that is also why the SE is selling so well. Tons of people on 4s, 5, 5c or 5s that either couldn't afford the 6s or more likely didn't want a bigger phone.
Up to date, both OS still have their flaws and advantages.

End of the day, you need to understand what you are getting.

One man's meat maybe poisonous to others.

chiahau
post Apr 29 2016, 05:17 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(silencer5089 @ Apr 29 2016, 05:02 PM)
or, be a middleman like some smartusers why not enjoy the best of both worlds?  cool2.gif
Unless you can find a phone that installs both OS inside, you'll be hard pressed to get the "best of both world" bruce.gif
chiahau
post May 3 2016, 08:25 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Hands itchy to downgrade to SE and Apple Watch from a 6S+

chiahau
post May 3 2016, 04:01 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(evilbun @ May 3 2016, 03:11 PM)
I'm sure there's a catch. Probably some upfront payment that will be rebated back over a course of time.
I saw 2090 including upfront payment already? hmm.gif

Not bad, if I were to downgrade from S+ to SE, I could fund for an apper watch as well laugh.gif
chiahau
post May 3 2016, 04:07 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ May 3 2016, 04:04 PM)
if downgrade dont you think , you loose some RM there ... unless you give your phone to your wife , thats okey
Of course ayam giving it to Lady Boss, so no gain/loss there tongue.gif
chiahau
post May 4 2016, 02:39 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(aegis6503 @ May 4 2016, 02:05 PM)
Bro, is it compulsory to top up 5 months during registering for this prepaid plan? I thought prepaid got gst rebate for Year 2016 ???

Cannot top up on monthly basis RM30 meh ???

Phone price not including GST. I Think should be (RM1850 + RM240 + RM150 + 6% = RM2374.40)
At that price, you are better off getting it outright for 2499? laugh.gif
chiahau
post May 5 2016, 07:58 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(uhlaw @ May 5 2016, 07:51 AM)
Anyone order iPhone SE from Maxis already?

https://store.maxis.com.my/maxis/personal/d.../p/100003311001?
Mahal giler bangwall.gif
chiahau
post May 5 2016, 09:47 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(elm0001 @ May 5 2016, 09:25 AM)
pay 1425 on the spot?  hmm.gif
I believe it's more than that.

Total payment upon registering = Phone Price + Upfront Payment + RM159 Top Up.

1425 is only phone price. Upfront and 159 top up for prepaid still have to be added.

Not to mention 6% GST on phone price laugh.gif

That's if my calculations are not mistaken.

QUOTE(nfmbf @ May 5 2016, 09:36 AM)
ohmy.gif i didn't notice anything written there about the contract for prepaid!
got it as well. the price is expensive, need to pay high monthly commitment summore!
I was thinking for GST as well. But RM159 for the top up value seems odd. I guess it's derived from RM30 * 5 months * 6% GST = RM159.
Not sure for the phone and upfront payment's GST, though.
Prepaid no contract.

If you terminate, you lose 240 advance payment only.
chiahau
post May 5 2016, 10:39 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(evilbun @ May 5 2016, 10:07 AM)
Yup. Pretty sweet deal if GST is not included. Am not sure if UM will implement GST. If so, calculation will probably be different again.  rclxub.gif
Telco M, Telco C and Telco D does.

Don't see how UM gonna absorb unless they charge higher plan prices, which they are not doing now smile.gif
chiahau
post May 5 2016, 10:39 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(evilbun @ May 5 2016, 10:07 AM)
Yup. Pretty sweet deal if GST is not included. Am not sure if UM will implement GST. If so, calculation will probably be different again.  rclxub.gif
Telco M, Telco C and Telco D does.

Don't see how UM gonna absorb unless they charge higher plan prices, which they are not doing now smile.gif
chiahau
post May 8 2016, 07:51 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(nfmbf @ May 8 2016, 04:18 PM)
hey guys, need some advice. I still wanna go for iP umobile prepaid plan. Just wanna ask, do uMobile stores accept credit card? Some mobile stores charge extra for credit card usage.
No extra charge will be incurred if you buy from Telco.

I bought from all major telco before using CC..

I doubt they wants you to pay 2k++ cash....
chiahau
post May 11 2016, 08:33 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ May 11 2016, 08:24 AM)
i tot, once official announced in malaysia it will be more people gonna change to SE..
maybe not many people love 4 inch ?
i remember last time when 6 released, too many sales in the garage..
AUS, HK, SG set.. people demand for it..
but for SE, even now can buy from Maxis, seems like a little bit slow and not very active..

hoping once available in apple reseller, this thread will be up again smile.gif
Coz everyone's on 6S / 6S+ unlikely to downgrade and lose the 3D touch while the 6/6+ users are not happy with the size.

And the older 4/4S/5/5s probably feels it a bit too ex for the price and would want to wait for 7 biggrin.gif
chiahau
post May 11 2016, 08:54 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ May 11 2016, 08:48 AM)
emm maybe.. last time, when 5s launched with similar spec ( just little bit low compared now) & same size & similar price, people still demand.. so now, people are looking forward, with same size and maybe power as 6s ?
whatever it is, apple got their strategy game.. biggrin.gif
relax bro..

if dont want, no need to buy.. if want better, save some money and buy 6s  icon_rolleyes.gif
5 => 5S is still an improvement.

But 6S to SE is not an improvement except for camera laugh.gif
chiahau
post May 11 2016, 09:02 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ May 11 2016, 08:56 AM)
then SE is failed product
wait 7 then biggrin.gif
Fail because of pricing mostly.

If it's priced at 2.1k~2.2k @ 64gb, it will sell like hot cakes.

Thou I have to say, I dun think I'll get 7/7S since my 6S is still reliable..
chiahau
post May 11 2016, 09:42 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(junkyman @ May 11 2016, 09:24 AM)
ip7 main target will be the ip6, you just wait for ip7S haha.  brows.gif  brows.gif
Probably 8S laugh.gif

My iPhone 4s and 5 survived more than 3 years each tongue.gif

chiahau
post May 11 2016, 10:07 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(punkrockelite @ May 11 2016, 10:04 AM)
Do you guys think SE will have enough juice in it to stay relevant for, let's say 2-3 years maybe?
It's running on 6S's processor.

I think you'll get bored of the screen size but staying relevant? Sure can.
chiahau
post May 11 2016, 11:13 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ May 11 2016, 11:10 AM)
every iphone can last around 2-3years, if no issue at all i think around 3-4years.

its because of the A9 processor which same as 6s.
so it should lasting same as 6s too, the lifetime as it using the latest chip compared others.
so, SE and 6S will be the same lane.

example: 6 can be only update untill certain firmware in future. but 5s no longer. as different processor..
Battery will probably be dead by 3th year thou.

A replacement ain't expensive, however biggrin.gif

0.0653sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:40 AM