The Apple iPhone SE Discussion Thread | V1, A big step for small.

LuffyPSP
post Oct 4 2016, 07:58 PM

Droid, droid droid droid!
3,771 posts

Guys I am waiting for my SE to arrive from GEMFive. I am thinking of buying some extra cables.

Does the 3rd party or cheap lightning cables will do fine? I am going to use it with my dual port usb charger in my car and in my office. One for USB Type C and the other for the USB to lightning.

Is it reliable and safe to use cheap cables on a 3rd party adapter(Tronsmart)?
LuffyPSP
post Oct 8 2016, 12:27 PM

3,771 posts

Been using the SE for 5 days straight, while leaving my Nexus 6P behind all day.

Coming from Android(ever since 2009), and this is my first iPhone and iOS device. I'd say wow I never knew I'd have more fun than I would using this phone for a day to day use.
I chose 16GB SE cuz I am afraid to take the leap to the 7 PLus or 6S Plus, afraid I wont like it. Plus the SE I got for 1649 after using code on GEMFIVE. Thats a bargain I guess.

I thought I'd share my experiences, not exactly a review. In case someone looking to get this SE.

The optimization for the battery is awesome!! I can't really kill this thing for the whole day, plus I only had that one included cable at my home so I cant really charge it while driving or at the office but damnn I can be rest assured that it consistently been idle when not in use and I love the total control I have over the background refresh per app. I can tinker with settings and play around with the camera and not even 1 percent dropped. Still amazed by it. My latest battery usage: unplugged at 7PM last night, voice calls for 2 hours, whatsapp and instagram moderately, some emails, currently at 39%. About 16 hours of standby and 6 hours of usage. it even rang the alarm for quite some time since I kinda overslept this morning. Wow. Just wow. hehe. I know its cuz of the smaller screen and resolution, but my 3450mah 2k 5.7 inch Nexus 6p would have died on me by 8am this morning.

I love that I can use this phone one handed again after a few years of using big phones, but at the same time damn typosss a lot during the first 2 days. Now i just got used to it.

the screen itself is okay, when u dont compare it to a higher resolution one, but damn my nexus 6p screen looks gorgeous eveytime i turn the screen on. but battery life over screen any day for me! no complaint though!

Raise to Wake feature, works really well compared to Android's ambient display. Always turned on when expected, so i dont have to guess everytime I pick up the phone.

Auto Brightness >>> WIN! Complete WIN for an iPhone. I never realized when did the slider ever changed when go in and out from the outdoors.

Camera is snappy, the phone body didnt easily became warm when used a lot. Camera interface a lot more user friendly, point of shoot is what i like. 6P wins in lowlight and even it outdoors but i take point and shoot with quality any day since n6p will take a good 1-2 seconds, especially with HDR+ turned on. and n6p will become warm easily cuz of the processing. when it gets warm, battery life decrease faster.

Selfie camera kinda good for it 1.2MP but my N6P 8MP had a lot more details and better in lowlight. However if you always take selfies outdoors and never zoom it in, its pretty decent. I am still amazed though.

Speaker quality is good but loudness cant beat front facing stereo speakers.

Mute switch, godsend. tongue.gif

iCloud, +1. I invested in Google Drive since it was launched but backup and restore on the iCloud is magical. hehe. Its like i dont have to worry if i ever change iPhones, reset them, etc. Everything will be back onto place, just like I set it up. I am considering to upgrade the plan to 50GB one, once I got used to the ecosystem more.

Storage, currently 16GB is enough for me though. Not an issue.

Sharing, better than I expected. I guess that's an improvement since iOS 9 i guess? I guess now I can share to supported apps via photos app directly, instead of going to the Whatsapp/Telegram itself. I used to get annoyed when using my friend's phone to send photos to me. hehe.

Airdrop >> Another magical thing. Its fast, and it works. Sending videos with hundreds of MBs completes like a breeze.

iOS10 kinda nice. I like the most part of it and somehow the grid app drawer grows on me. I just dont want to mess with it and use my phone and apps. Widgets on the left of the screen, love it cuz I dont need to put it on the homescreen. the only thing i wish is if i can drag the apps to my desired position(to be able to view the wallpaper haha). I do however miss the Now on Tap, Google Now, and grouped notifications on Android. I really thinks that Android handles notifications much better but I guess looking the badge notification still works for me.

Software/System updates! WIN >> If Apple announce it, and your device supports it, you'll get it on the same time/day as the latest flagship. Definitely best support on this. I can be rest assured my updates wont be delayed without any odd/weird reason.

Ouh and last night I spent 30 minutes converting and dragging a tone so that i can use custom ringtones through itunes hahahaha. this i cannot tolerate ah, so annoying but i guess its just one time(since i only use 1 tone for a lifetime) so i'll let it pass.

As for the App Store, not sure I like it more than Google Play. IMO Play curates recommended apps better(but maybe thats cuz i am still a new Apple user), and the user interface is more user friendly than the App Store. But thats personal opinion.

In conclusion, for someone who kutuk iOS over the years, and only ever used Android. SE is a good device to try, and I am not disappointed. biggrin.gif
The things about iOS though, the features such as Facetime, iMessage, Airdrop seems like a little things that should have lots of features, but it works for what it was expected to do. Sure Apple controls what you can and cannot do, but somehow its a peace of mind, in a weird way I guess coming from someone like me.

I guess thats all for my experiences. let me know if there's any tips and tricks that i dont know hehe biggrin.gif
TL:DR >> I am happy with my purchase and not regretted one bit. I might even become an iPhone loyalist after the 7.

This post has been edited by LuffyPSP: Oct 8 2016, 04:38 PM
LuffyPSP
post Oct 8 2016, 04:28 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(patrick94 @ Oct 8 2016, 01:11 PM)
Wow, seems like you really enjoy your iPhone so much, I jump from android too.. iPhone SE also my first iOS phone... I don't feel like going back to android again after use iOS... haha welcome to IOS bro

Anyway, my Touch ID won't work while charging after update to iOS 10... sometimes it work but mostly it wont.. place my finger on home button but nothing happen ( no *Try Again* )... anyone face this problem ?
yeah man really enjoying it so far. even considering buying an iPad as an extension to its small screen. heck, i am considering a MacBook too! hahahaha.

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Oct 8 2016, 01:14 PM)
My thinking of using SE before is exactly as yours. Tho iOs is a very great OS, yet I give up after few months using. Some features that iOS won't be able to tolerate at moment, Dual Sim, IR blaster and changeable battery (even tho SE can last up to 1 and half day).

Indeed, very deep explaination and probably should be put in 1st post as referance for other Android user to consider strong point of IOS.
sorry for the long post hahahaha.

I edited and added some more info.
LuffyPSP
post Oct 14 2016, 11:04 AM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(sang_kenari @ Oct 14 2016, 08:56 AM)
Well, I think this is because I only use my phone mainly for calls, whatsapps, facebook and light browsing so 4" is sufficient. I heard that people who play games and watch videos on their phone prefer bigger screen.

The best feature about this phone for me is the ability to type message using one thumb. Anyway, I'm looking for keyboard apps that let me swype. Any recommendations?
Gboard by Google is great! Swiftkey is also nice.

But I went back to stock Apple keyboard since the way iOS handles 3rd party keyboard is kinda awkward. I need to press the globe icon everytime i go into a new app that never use the 3rd party keyboards, else it will display the iOS keyboard by default.

I think i love the photo quality from my Nexus 6p more(front and back), front facing speakers when playing COC and youtubes, 2k screen resolution, Android notifications are something I really really miss.
But then SE provides one handed operation, and the phone is lightweight which is more comfortable as a day to day usage. Call, text, etc. Typing emails are kinda annoying though due to small screen. but otherwise i felt more productive hehe~
LuffyPSP
post Oct 15 2016, 02:11 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 15 2016, 09:30 AM)
How was the battery life with iOS 10.1 on your SE guys?
Pretty good ah~ on a working day i can reach home wtih 20-30ish% depends on how much i open the phone to play around. last wednesday i came back home with 50% left. i'd say it has beaten my Nexus 6p far behind lah with the same usage pattern.

despite that with 30% percent i still can go out at night without charging and be confident that it wont die on me heheh~

This post has been edited by LuffyPSP: Oct 15 2016, 02:12 PM
LuffyPSP
post Oct 15 2016, 02:38 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(sang_kenari @ Oct 15 2016, 02:21 PM)
Btw, how to get ios 10.1? Mine only 10.0.2 and the phone sadi it is the latest version.
10.1 is beta~~ latest official is 10.0.2 biggrin.gif
LuffyPSP
post Oct 21 2016, 06:52 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(qwertyuioped @ Oct 21 2016, 06:05 PM)
Any regrets getting the SE instead of the 6s/7 ? Thinking wether to get the 64GB SE or spend a lil bit more to get the 6s/7 32GB one.
No regrets! My only regret is getting the 16gb version.
LuffyPSP
post Oct 22 2016, 06:15 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Oct 22 2016, 09:26 AM)
this one is big regret.
Haha this is my first iOS device and I thought i wont like ir so getting the least storage was an ideal choice.

Turns out it was a pleasant experience.
LuffyPSP
post Oct 25 2016, 04:26 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(jumpstat @ Oct 25 2016, 07:46 AM)
You would be surprise what you can find about your apple gadget from the Apple Knowledge base. There are tons2 of really useful stuff that we can configure the iphone to make it great.
I would imagine that its more for the 7 and 6S. Nonetheless, i'm updating it too.  rclxms.gif
Dunno if its SE related but my camera app become blurry and stuck if its not cleared from the memory for a long time. Need to clear it and reenter the camera for it to work. 10.1 fixed it. So its great!

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Oct 25 2016, 08:09 AM)
Once you go Iphone, you never go back.... rclxms.gif  although the product is getting more expensive by the day  cry.gif
I only carry my N6P cuz of the camera lowlight performance at night, plus work related thing since opening zip file, email attachments are easier.

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Oct 25 2016, 11:13 AM)
any significant improvement?
Felt more snappy for me. Maybe placebo. This is my first time getting an OTA right after I read the news when i woke up. It was nice rather than waiting for weeks even for a Nexus phone since Google did a staged rollout for updates.
LuffyPSP
post Nov 5 2016, 12:46 AM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(TheReckless @ Nov 4 2016, 11:01 PM)
Hi, planning to try SE later, will 16GB enough for daily social use (insta, twitter, ws, and browsing)? I dont plan to install any games in there
get 64gb mang. i am using 16gb without games and mang you need to constantly monitor your storage, even with those social apps cuz they grew over time. without cleaning, mine are now 2gb left after a month of usage. i just did some maintenance just now and got 5gb free.

thats with me, using Google Photos to store photos on the cloud, Spotify for music streaming 100%, and most cloud stuff but it still fills up easily.

seriosuly, get 64gb.
LuffyPSP
post Nov 5 2016, 03:34 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(TheReckless @ Nov 5 2016, 01:30 PM)
Only black SE 16gb left in gemfive because i wanna use the 20% discount code for new users.. Dem
haha i bought the 16gb one on gemfive just cuz of the discount. managed to slash rm225 and mine became 16++. its a damn bargain so thats why i end up with smaller storage.
LuffyPSP
post Nov 7 2016, 07:28 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 7 2016, 07:20 PM)
After 10.1.1, bateri mcm lagi worse. Now tak sampai malam pun, usage pattern sama jer. Feel so sad now.
Mine still same awesomeness. Huhu.
LuffyPSP
post Nov 8 2016, 09:24 AM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 7 2016, 08:40 PM)
Upgrade to 10.1.1 or not?
Yeap always on the latest one. And on Digi too. i enabled the voLTE too.
LuffyPSP
post Nov 8 2016, 10:52 AM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(zuhaili87 @ Nov 8 2016, 10:40 AM)
sure no problem. there is one thing that you can do tho, just make sure that your DiGi line always full bar. if full bar always battery wont drain that much. nod.gif
Yeap major difference. When i'm home or at town with full bar i can still end the day with 50%.

When at work, damnn it drains fast cuz only 3 bars at max. End of the day with 30-ish%
LuffyPSP
post Nov 19 2016, 05:20 PM

3,771 posts

i somehow love iOS cuz of the boringness~

I became more productive, by only using it when i want to use it, and it havent disappoint me yet. i became more focused on the environment/social around me.

my 16gb left with 4.7gb, after about 2 months(almost), i am very careful with the apps i use, by not using duplicates apps, and clear some apps cache(if they allow in the app settings) OR uninstall/reinstall the app(when clearing cache not allowed) from time to time.
Photos i only leave like 1 photo per event. everything else in the Google Photos. I somehow can live with the 16gb, until the next iphone upgrade. I dont record in 4k, cuz i want 60fps~~

Battery life still the best for me~ cant really compare to any Android phones i ever use since 2009. even with 20% at 4PM i am still confident i can make through the night till i get home(maybe exaggerating but thats how much confident i have on the battery life).

my only gripe, the downward facing speaker(coming from 6P) and no system-wide Google Now integration. I dont like Siri, it is slow and not as reliable as Google Now. No 2k screen(i know battery life etc) but if i dont compare it side by side i think it has the best display hahahaha)
LuffyPSP
post Dec 15 2016, 08:45 AM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(PerfectIndigo @ Dec 15 2016, 08:13 AM)
sold my SE yesterday and get Oneplus 3t. now feel so lonely without SE. hope I can be ok. sad.gif
waaa nice ahhh 3T~~~~
LuffyPSP
post Jan 7 2017, 07:41 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(shenglimzdavid @ Jan 7 2017, 06:44 PM)
Just wondering, which storage option is better for a person who intensively use social media and have around a hundred songs?
even if you just use it for whatsapp and phone calls, 64GB is the way to go.
LuffyPSP
post Jan 14 2017, 07:30 AM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(Mr.7 @ Jan 13 2017, 11:29 PM)
what phone you're currently using now? and ur budget? i got my SE for 16xx from gemfive few months back.
same here. quite a bargain for me as a first time ios user~
LuffyPSP
post Jan 16 2017, 01:07 PM

3,771 posts

Yep. I use the SE as my main phone and daily driver because of the small size. Social apps, messaging are comfortable when holding it one hand while the other hold teh tarik hahaha.
LuffyPSP
post Jan 31 2017, 04:30 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(jumpstat @ Jan 31 2017, 03:12 PM)
Aaah, how come the icon not like the usual fb? Maybe its a corrupted file. Did yu do a backup in itunes or cloud? If you have a backup already, then a restore operation will clear up the issue. Settings/data so kept in iCloud.
its cuz the app has been deleted. the prob is, its still there taking up some space.

All deleted apps will become that icon, can see it in mobile data/wifi usage.

EDIT: oh wait, maybe OP check too quickly in the storage. it'll disappear later after 24hours-7 days cuz thats how the statictics in the storage setting are filterred.

EDIT2: or OP can try this - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/memory-disk...d921515621?mt=8

just click optimize for the storage part.dont change anything else. do it at your own risk. i did a few times on my SE and gathered a few gigs every time.

This post has been edited by LuffyPSP: Jan 31 2017, 04:32 PM

0.0819sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:42 PM