> International Drivers Permit, Australia

treblecase
post Mar 21 2016, 04:05 PM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 21 2016, 03:59 PM)
but our new drivers already in English and Malay wor?
Then no need to do translation.

Anyway.....hnghhhhhhhhhh wub.gif
treblecase
post Mar 21 2016, 04:11 PM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 21 2016, 04:10 PM)
i curi from amoi blog, should put this as drillz brows.gif
mad.gif ranting.gif vmad.gif
treblecase
post Mar 21 2016, 04:18 PM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 21 2016, 04:14 PM)
solli, nah, insta, can stalk her laugh.gif
https://www.instagram.com/janeschwan/?hl=en
Cover pic not as hnghh as licence. Anyway, still stalk brows.gif
treblecase
post Mar 21 2016, 04:21 PM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Mar 21 2016, 04:15 PM)
Quite boring driving there .. Drove the entire Great Ocean, thankfully got stops in between to see wild koala's .. otherwise zzzz...

Just buy insurance for the rental car in case..
Also, do find where you can take the car to. You can't drive it out of state or if the state is so big (WA), there are marked area on where you can & cannot. Well, you can, no one will stop you but if anything happen while you're in prohibited areas, I hope you have lots of cash.

Unless of coz if you specify to them where you're going of which the rental cost will be higher.
treblecase
post Mar 21 2016, 04:24 PM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 21 2016, 04:21 PM)
wanted to include Great Ocean Road, but that alone is going to take 2-3 days doh.gif

so just Melbourne CBD only lar, PM me your recommended makan places brows.gif

eh bro, the insurance thingy a bit confusing... i know it comes with basic insurance, do i need to buy additional?
anyway i'm driving in Tasmania only
Basic usually has some form of excess. Meaning they'll only cover up to certain amount. Take the premium or comprehensive. It'll cost more but you don't have a single worry.
treblecase
post Mar 21 2016, 04:28 PM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 21 2016, 04:25 PM)
yeah, i read something like that... actually quite a lot more... maybe you are right, at least can have peace of mind... i'll take note of that, thanks bro
No prob.

Anyway, Tasmania should be OK to drive on. Most Aussies don't drive like mad men like in mesia.
treblecase
post Mar 21 2016, 04:34 PM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 21 2016, 04:25 PM)
yeah, i read something like that... actually quite a lot more... maybe you are right, at least can have peace of mind... i'll take note of that, thanks bro

bro, can recommend makan places? tongue.gif
I usually cook myself but the Japanese restaurants in Hobart is heaven thumbup.gif
treblecase
post Mar 21 2016, 04:40 PM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 21 2016, 04:38 PM)
gimme name bro rclxms.gif
Three Japanese & Rin Japanese thumbup.gif
treblecase
post Mar 21 2016, 04:53 PM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Mar 21 2016, 04:44 PM)
thx bro. will look at it for my trip.

is it easy to drive in australia especially in a busy city like sydney compared to kl?
Yes it's easier. But do watch where you park. The max time you're allowed to park. 1/2P, 1P etc 1/2 P = half hour, 1P = 1 hour & so on. Buy ticket from ticket machines. Can use credit card too if you don't have change.
treblecase
post Mar 21 2016, 04:59 PM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 21 2016, 04:43 PM)
those you mentioned covered, i'll search for the greek one smile.gif

i'm traveling with a kid so won't be driving at night laugh.gif

but note taken, will decide whether to take up additional insurance when i'm there smile.gif
Dusk is when kangaroos come out to play..hehe..if you're not careful, you'll bump into them when they hop across the road.
treblecase
post Mar 21 2016, 05:10 PM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(The Analyst @ Mar 21 2016, 05:02 PM)
It's fine. Don't worry. Just be aware of the hook turns in Melbourne CBD if you are driving. If you are renting car for a few days and need some discount codes, let me know. I have some.
Now that's the funny one & basically will confuse noobs. But thank goodness only at CBD area. biggrin.gif
treblecase
post Mar 21 2016, 05:11 PM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 21 2016, 05:10 PM)
10 years ago they accept the old laminated Malay version, they still accept it now? hmm.gif
Yes don't worry. Don't forget the renewal portion too.
treblecase
post Mar 21 2016, 05:26 PM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 21 2016, 05:13 PM)
lol laugh.gif

thanks bro, anyway, i just changed to the newer dual language one, at least now i con confirm i don't need an IDP rclxms.gif
I know it can be stressful if it's your first time. But don't let the driving part ruin your holiday. Nowadays with modern tech, it's easier than ever. Just be aware of the speed limit & parking zones. You'll need a baby seat if your kid is still little.
treblecase
post Mar 21 2016, 06:56 PM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 21 2016, 06:36 PM)
thanks bro, did you get any prepaid data plan?
Go for either Telstra or Optus although the former's coverage is more extensive. If you have a MIFI unit, make doubly sure it can work on their network. I made a mistake once of trusting a seller here only to find out it doesn't work there. As I go often, I invested in a unit there although you must know the unit is locked to one telco only. You can get it unlocked there with cost A$20 or 30 if I'm not mistaken, if you want to bring it back.

0.0216sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:07 PM