How to disable One World subscription?

mugen_jon
post Mar 5 2017, 10:22 PM

44 posts

Hi All,
Just want to share about MOW information that i get from Maxis CS.
Due to my low usage pattern when i'm overseas, MOW is not suitable for me, i only need Pay Per Use.
However, like most of the maxis customer, i also being charged rm 38 for few sms that i have sent out to my family to inform that i have arrived safely.
After googling for sometime, i have found out information about being included in the whitelist (from this post smile.gif Kudos to Lowyat).
So i began to contact maxis to get my number to be include in the whitelist, finally after 7 working days, they confirmed that my number has been included in the whitelist.
However, when i started to sent out few sms from overseas, i still got sms telling that MOW has been activated.

After long chat with the Maxis CS, this is the information that i have

MOW will only activate when you are connected to Maxis Roaming Partner
Singapore - SINGTEL
Indonesia - TELKOMSEL / HUTCHINSON
Thailand - AIS 3G / True 3G+
Myanmar - OREEDOO
Brunei - DST
Philippines - GLOBE PH
Cambodia - SMART / HELLO
Laos - TIGO / LAOS / BEELINE
(Note: i got this information from Maxis website, not sure whether this is the right operator or not, do correct me if i'm wrong)

Next what is difference between being in the whitelist and NOT in the whitelist
NOT included in the whitelist
- MOW will activate if you are connected to Maxis Roaming Partner
- You ONLY can connect to Maxis Roaming Partner (You are not able to manually connect to the other Operator)

Included in the whitelist
- MOW WILL STILL ACTIVATE if you are connected to Maxis Roaming Partner
- For Pay Per Use, you need to manually connect to the Operator that not belong to Maxis Roaming Partner

This post has been edited by mugen_jon: Mar 5 2017, 10:22 PM
cucubud
post Mar 6 2017, 07:37 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(mugen_jon @ Mar 5 2017, 10:22 PM)
For example in Singapore, Maxis roaming partner is SingTel.
Has anyone managed to manually roam to M1 or Starhub?
If Maxis has no agreement with M1 and Starhub, how do they settle the roaming charges?

mugen_jon
post Mar 6 2017, 02:57 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Mar 6 2017, 07:37 AM)
If Maxis has no agreement with M1 and Starhub, how do they settle the roaming charges?
Good question.

Anyone can share more detail?

This post has been edited by mugen_jon: Mar 6 2017, 02:59 PM
brandonkl
post Mar 6 2017, 04:06 PM

-
994 posts

Yes, I have managed to roam with M1 or Starhub and in Thailand without the MOW roaming partner.

I think Maxis have agreement with M1 and Starhub but just that their agreement is on per use basis and not like SingTel on unlimited basis. Probably Maxis negotiated better deals with their MOW partners in ASEAN countries.
cucubud
post Mar 6 2017, 04:20 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(brandonkl @ Mar 6 2017, 04:06 PM)
Yes, I have managed to roam with M1 or Starhub and in Thailand without the MOW roaming partner.

I think Maxis have agreement with M1 and Starhub but just that their agreement is on per use basis and not like SingTel on unlimited basis. Probably Maxis negotiated better deals with their MOW partners in ASEAN countries.
Thank you for your input and confirmation on non roaming partners.
When I went to Singapore, I straight away bought a Tourist pack to use.
Dare not use my Maxis number there.
Anyway, Whatsapp still can use the Maxis number for correspondence.
TSVinluV
post Mar 7 2017, 09:26 AM

1,947 posts

it is confirmed, and the charges are the standard roaming charges.
The agreement is for the oneworld to be activated on singtel. Not other telco.
Hence if you are roaming on singtel, you cannot run away from the oneworld policy.
cucubud
post Mar 7 2017, 11:32 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Mar 7 2017, 09:26 AM)
it is confirmed, and the charges are the standard roaming charges.
The agreement is for the oneworld to be activated on singtel. Not other telco.
Hence if you are roaming on singtel, you cannot run away from the oneworld policy.
Thanks. As long as I can roam to other telcos that don't charge me RM38 a day.
pds_disi
post Aug 3 2017, 09:42 PM

633 posts

***king scammer maxis

today i just kena this RM38 by just making 1 call from sinkieland, too late knowing this topic exist.

gonna start looking for other telco.

doesn't matter how 'great' maxis reception are, i won't tolerant scam.
fkinmeng
post Aug 4 2017, 05:03 PM

6,372 posts

QUOTE(pds_disi @ Aug 3 2017, 09:42 PM)
***king scammer maxis

today i just kena this RM38 by just making 1 call from sinkieland, too late knowing this topic exist.

gonna start looking for other telco.

doesn't matter how 'great' maxis reception are, i won't tolerant scam.
i kena worst, i answered call and kena RM38. doh.gif

How do I subscribe to MaxisONE World pass?

There is no subscription required. When you are abroad with your MaxisONE plan, any calls (received or made), any SMS sent, any data used (via webpages, apps, and all other platforms) will automatically kick start your MaxisONE World pass.
it's funny how there's "safety tier" for making calls but not for receiving calls.

What if I just need to make a call or two when I’m abroad?

We have a few a safety tiers in case of accidental usage or if you just want to use minimal when you travel (applicable to 7 ASEAN countries).

Tier 1: RM10 - Call less than 3mins, send 1-3 SMS, use less than 256kb data
    Tier 2: RM38 - Call more than 3mins, send more than 3 SMS, use more than 256kb data

There are different tiers for Singapore, as below:

Tier 1: RM5 – Call less than 1min, send 1-5 SMS, no use of data at all
    Tier 2: RM10 – Call between 1 min to 5.59mins, send 6-15 SMS, use less than 128kb data
    Tier 3: RM38 – Call more than 6.00mins, send more than 16 SMS, use more than 256kb data
OKLY
post Aug 23 2017, 02:06 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Aug 4 2017, 05:03 PM)
i kena worst, i answered call and kena RM38. doh.gif
it's funny how there's "safety tier" for making calls but not for receiving calls.
Damn, I just got charged RM38 for answering a short call as well. Totally forgotten about charges that will be incurred when receiving calls.
fkinmeng
post Aug 24 2017, 09:34 PM

6,372 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Aug 23 2017, 02:06 PM)
Damn, I just got charged RM38 for answering a short call as well. Totally forgotten about charges that will be incurred when receiving calls.
Hi! Thank you for choosing Maxis!!

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0188sec    0.91    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:24 PM