How to disable One World subscription?

Nauts
post May 17 2016, 05:09 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(fbtan319 @ Apr 27 2016, 10:54 PM)
The answer by CS is as good as do not switch on yr mobile or take out the sim card while overseas.
I travel to Bangkok a lot for work and prefer the RM 38 plan.

In Thailand, Maxis requires you to use AIS for the RM 38 plan.

According to Maxis reply, all you have to do is under Network Settings, do a Manual search and dont connect to AIS.

Once i was driving outside Bangkok and the network suddenly changed to TRUE Network, the data 4g disconnected, i had to manually search to AIS again.

This post has been edited by Nauts: May 17 2016, 05:16 AM
fbtan319
post May 17 2016, 08:07 PM

126 posts

Experiences given by forumers here are much logical and acceptable than the answer by CS.
I realised now why #maxis like to PM, because they gave useless answer and afraid being bombarded.
7thsky
post Jun 28 2016, 11:40 AM

351 posts

hi all,
anyone knows/understand what's the final/latest status on Maxis One World service aka the 'auto roaming' trick?
@maxis any update/clarifications on this issue? dry.gif

i m travelling oversea next month & have maxisone 158 plan - how do ensure i can still roam but not auto-charged by maxis for their One World service-rm38/d thing?
the auto-rm38/d charges deoesnt applies to european/north american countries right?
do we write complains to mmc or something on this auto-roaming-charge-fascilities/Maxis One World service or how? (byright should have opt-out/opt-in options ,right?)

any input most appreciated. thx guys! cool2.gif

This post has been edited by 7thsky: Jun 28 2016, 11:52 AM
TSVinluV
post Jun 28 2016, 12:04 PM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(7thsky @ Jun 28 2016, 11:40 AM)
hi all,
anyone knows/understand what's the final/latest status on Maxis One World service aka the 'auto roaming' trick?
@maxis any update/clarifications on this issue?  dry.gif

i m travelling oversea next month & have maxisone 158 plan - how do ensure i can still roam but not auto-charged by maxis for their One World service-rm38/d thing?
the auto-rm38/d charges deoesnt applies to european/north american countries right?
do we write complains to mmc or something on this auto-roaming-charge-fascilities/Maxis One World service or how? (byright should have opt-out/opt-in options ,right?)

any input most appreciated. thx guys!  cool2.gif
where are you traveling to?

First, check the maxis home page for the country lists that they provide the one world service.
There is a provider for each country that is tied to the one world service. If you are on that provider when you are overseas, the one world service will kick in.

The obvious answer as other pointed out is to use a separate mobile network provider that wont have the one world service.
penangtw
post Aug 24 2016, 06:24 PM

I am roaming now in the Philippines and facing the same problem. I tried to connect to other non-partner network and it is not successful because Maxis has actually barred my line from connecting. I called them and they confirmed it. I wonder if they have the right to do that? We should have the right to choose the provider that we want when roaming. Has anybody been successful in complaining to MCMC?? I think this is daylight robbery that Maxis is doing?

QUOTE(wlmak @ Apr 27 2016, 12:43 PM)
This is the reply I get PMed by Maxis which I do not mind to shared

---
We can assist to whitelist your name from being under this Maxis One World pass, which means all your call will be based on pay per use and you can only hook to NON preferred network and you will be not able to purchase any promotional data pass. If you wish to be under the list, you may provide us with the details below:

Name:
NRIC:
Mobile Number:
------
This is the reply I get when I email maxis customer service:

--
Thank you for contacting Maxis.

Unfortunately, we are unable to deactivate the Maxis One World roaming services as it is activated automatically. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will be highlighted to the respective management for future enhancements. For more information, you may refer to: http://www.maxis.com.my/en/personal/servic...g/oneworld.html .
--

When I ask if I can hook to NON preferred network like Starhub in SG for example, i get this reply:

---
Thank you for your feedback.

We do not have any agreement with Starhub as such, even if you would to choose the services, you will not be able to hook with the network.

---
So?? can I hook to non preferred network or not? Can I opt for pay per use or not? this is just damn confusing the customer.....
penangtw
post Aug 25 2016, 02:05 AM

Maxis have since disallowed one plan customers from connecting to other telco

QUOTE(VinluV @ Jun 28 2016, 12:04 PM)
where are you traveling to?
First, check the maxis home page for the country lists that they provide the one world service.
There is a provider for each country that is tied to the one world service. If you are on that provider when you are overseas, the one world service will kick in.

The obvious answer as other pointed out is to use a separate mobile network provider that wont have the one world service.
Goneraz
post Jan 3 2017, 01:40 PM

432 posts

i just got screwed again with this maxis one world nonsense. i always buy a local sim when i travel but i have to keep my maxis number on in case i get sms or call from customer. I got charge everyday rm38 despite not activating the maxis one world service. This is ridiculous. they activate the service even if i have one miserable call. please dont treat your customer as cows maxis. You keep milking us dry anyway you can..
silbii
post Feb 6 2017, 02:55 PM

963 posts

No wonder my bill for my recent trip to Bali was quite high, coz only been receiving SMS and one call only from Msia ... quite unfair :/
westlife
post Feb 8 2017, 09:17 PM

14,243 posts

QUOTE(silbii @ Feb 6 2017, 02:55 PM)
No wonder my bill for my recent trip to Bali was quite high, coz only been receiving SMS and one call only from Msia ... quite unfair :/
Even receiving sms also will trigger this maxis one world thing meh??
kenlui
post Feb 9 2017, 08:20 AM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 8 2017, 09:17 PM)
Even receiving sms also will trigger this maxis one world thing meh??
I double confirmed with the maxis CS the other day. Only by sending sms or answering a call will trigger the one world pass. And of course probably have to deactivate the voicemail first before leaving the country.
westlife
post Feb 9 2017, 09:56 AM

14,243 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Feb 9 2017, 08:20 AM)
I double confirmed with the maxis CS the other day. Only by sending sms or answering a call will trigger the one world pass. And of course probably have to deactivate the voicemail first before leaving the country.
yup, it is what i know also.

anyway, for those who really want to disable this oneworld thingy totally. it is possible. just via maxis online chat to tell them that you want to be in the whitelist that you DOT NOT want to opt in for oneworld.

i had done it. so now i totally dun have any data roaming charge at all.

just tell them that you want to be in the "default" international roaming. Then it will be on pay per use basis instead of rm38 even u just use 1MB of data. emphasize to them the word "default". i noticed this is the common differentiation in Maxis and Celcom for their pay per use vs the rm38 one. check your VAS to ensure that you are in default international roaming.

all the telcos they are very cunning, they opt you into this rm38 by default. same goes to celcom. if u sign those plan from celcom first gold and above, automatically you are in this rm38 thingy. and if you ask them can opt out or not. the cso will bluff you said it is not possible. but actually it is totally possible that you just opt in to the "default" international roaming.

This post has been edited by westlife: Feb 9 2017, 09:58 AM
kenlui
post Feb 9 2017, 12:27 PM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 9 2017, 09:56 AM)

anyway, for those who really want to disable this oneworld thingy totally. it is possible. just via maxis online chat to tell them that you want to be in the whitelist that you DOT NOT want to opt in for oneworld.

just tell them that you want to be in the "default" international roaming. Then it will be on pay per use basis instead of rm38 even u just use 1MB of data. emphasize to them the word "default". i noticed this is the common differentiation in Maxis and Celcom for their pay per use vs the rm38 one. check your VAS to ensure that you are in default international roaming.

all the telcos they are very cunning, they opt you into this rm38 by default. same goes to celcom. if u sign those plan from celcom first gold and above, automatically you are in this rm38 thingy. and if you ask them can opt out or not. the cso will bluff you said it is not possible. but actually it is totally possible that you just opt in to the "default" international roaming.
I thought it can no longer be done?
westlife
post Feb 9 2017, 12:48 PM

14,243 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Feb 9 2017, 12:27 PM)
I thought it can no longer be done?
mine is confirmed not on one word thingy. thumbsup.gif
vez
post Feb 9 2017, 06:56 PM

4,622 posts

i go to maxis center before i travel to China previously, they told me just choose non maxis preferred operator will do, i did that when i went to China and didnt charge with RM38/day even though i send few sms. only normal sms rate

p/s: i am on MOP 128

This post has been edited by vez: Feb 9 2017, 06:57 PM
westlife
post Feb 10 2017, 08:33 AM

14,243 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Feb 9 2017, 06:56 PM)
i go to maxis center before i travel to China previously, they told me just choose non maxis preferred operator will do, i did that when i went to China and didnt charge with RM38/day even though i send few sms. only normal sms rate

p/s: i am on MOP 128
For my case, no difference, even I am roaming to their prefererred partner network, I still do not get charged for rm38. Instead just pay per use if I did really receive calls, make calls, sms etc.

It is rather stoopig move that consumers themselves must take their own initiative to prevent themselves from falling into a gimmick or trap that is set up by telco and being charged for something that they should not even be charged or something that they did not even opt for in the first place. cool2.gif

To select the non-preferred partner's network is stoopig, u need to manually do it every time u travel overseas, even if u forget to this. u will be charged already. Why must customer take up this responsibility in the first place?

This post has been edited by westlife: Feb 10 2017, 08:44 AM
kenlui
post Feb 11 2017, 08:47 AM

2,380 posts

I msged them thru the FB AskMaxis, and the reply they gave was it is not possible to switch out from the One world pass. How did u do it last time?
westlife
post Feb 11 2017, 08:54 AM

14,243 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Feb 11 2017, 08:47 AM)
I msged them thru the FB AskMaxis, and the reply they gave was it is not possible to switch out from the One world pass. How did u do it last time?
in my previous post i had spelled it out early.

if u cannot do the same. then too bad. cool2.gif
kenlui
post Feb 12 2017, 09:25 AM

2,380 posts

Finally managed to get myself on the white list.

The FB ask maxis staff are really confusing, telling me that if I opt out of this one world pass thingy, I won't be able to subscribe to any other data plans if I'm not in the 8 ASEAN countries. In the first place they ain't any data plans outside the 8 countries. The one world pass only kicks in if I'm in the 8 countries, other than that it's PPU.
Wan888
post Feb 25 2017, 11:16 PM

RM38 perday is it for one world? there is no any pay per use?
kenlui
post Mar 1 2017, 10:50 PM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(Wan888 @ Feb 25 2017, 11:16 PM)
RM38 perday is it for one world? there is no any pay per use?
U need to request to be on the white list for pay per use. If u're on the one world plan, any usage within a certain limit will trigger the one world pass.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0206sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:37 PM