Enquiries/Recommendations Laptop for A-Level
TSmaxcwy2016
Mar 19 2016, 09:05 AM, updated 10y ago

I have a Toshiba L-755 laptop, I had used since Dec 2011, I wanted to use it for A-Level studies. Will it hold for how many years more ? What upgrade can I make ?
Specs: Processor- i5-2430 M GPU- Nvidia GT525M RAM- 6GB Storage- 512GB HDD
roimekoi
Mar 19 2016, 09:41 AM
nowadays A level's need laptop?
given intel's current business plan plus no competitiveness from AMD....
sandy bridge can last for 10 years
This post has been edited by roimekoi: Mar 19 2016, 09:45 AM
myway1985
Mar 19 2016, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(maxcwy2016 @ Mar 19 2016, 09:05 AM) I have a Toshiba L-755 laptop, I had used since Dec 2011, I wanted to use it for A-Level studies. Will it hold for how many years more ? What upgrade can I make ? Specs: Processor- i5-2430 M GPU- Nvidia GT525M RAM- 6GB Storage- 512GB HDD Tat a solid build laptop.. bring it to maintenance can de.. wash fan n repaste thermal gel
myway1985
Mar 19 2016, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(maxcwy2016 @ Mar 19 2016, 09:05 AM) I have a Toshiba L-755 laptop, I had used since Dec 2011, I wanted to use it for A-Level studies. Will it hold for how many years more ? What upgrade can I make ? Specs: Processor- i5-2430 M GPU- Nvidia GT525M RAM- 6GB Storage- 512GB HDD Tat a solid build laptop.. bring it to maintenance can de.. wash fan n repaste thermal gel
TSmaxcwy2016
Mar 19 2016, 10:00 AM

QUOTE(roimekoi @ Mar 19 2016, 09:41 AM) nowadays A level's need laptop? given intel's current business plan plus no competitiveness from AMD.... sandy bridge can last for 10 years Erm... , I still don't know yet because this is my first time going to college. Oh, that is very long. That means I can use this laptop for 10 years if no serious damage ?
TSmaxcwy2016
Mar 19 2016, 10:00 AM

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Mar 19 2016, 09:54 AM) Tat a solid build laptop.. bring it to maintenance can de.. wash fan n repaste thermal gel Okay. Should I upgrade my ram to 8 GB ? Will it make a difference ?
myway1985
Mar 19 2016, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(maxcwy2016 @ Mar 19 2016, 10:00 AM) Okay. Should I upgrade my ram to 8 GB ? Will it make a difference ? alot.. i hv 1 on sales.. rm150 and u better change to 1tb 7200rpm hdd.. tat help.. dun think ssd will help much in sata 2 cabled laptop
TSmaxcwy2016
Mar 19 2016, 10:20 AM

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Mar 19 2016, 10:13 AM) alot.. i hv 1 on sales.. rm150 and u better change to 1tb 7200rpm hdd.. tat help.. dun think ssd will help much in sata 2 cabled laptop Oh okay. Then I guess I will just upgrade my ram to 8GB. I think storage is not a concern because I seldom store movies
myway1985
Mar 19 2016, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(maxcwy2016 @ Mar 19 2016, 10:20 AM) Oh okay. Then I guess I will just upgrade my ram to 8GB. I think storage is not a concern because I seldom store movies its not the storage issue... is ur hdd almost died.... ur ram is ddr3 or 3L
TSmaxcwy2016
Mar 19 2016, 10:42 AM

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Mar 19 2016, 10:36 AM) its not the storage issue... is ur hdd almost died.... ur ram is ddr3 or 3L I just changed my hdd 1 or 2 years ago because already died. How to check the type of ram ?
myway1985
Mar 19 2016, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(maxcwy2016 @ Mar 19 2016, 10:42 AM) I just changed my hdd 1 or 2 years ago because already died. How to check the type of ram ? nvm la.. looking at ur gen.. sure ddr3 ram
neko_vill
Mar 21 2016, 09:25 PM

using acer 4738g, [dead battery] sata 2 installed sandisk ultra 2 120gb
installed ssd in it helps a lot since i'm not using battery with it 20 seconds start up and 5 seconds shut down, my primary reason for buying n installing it getting fed up with slow magnetic hdd
TSmaxcwy2016
Mar 22 2016, 08:23 AM

QUOTE(neko_vill @ Mar 21 2016, 09:25 PM) using acer 4738g, [dead battery] sata 2 installed sandisk ultra 2 120gb installed ssd in it helps a lot since i'm not using battery with it 20 seconds start up and 5 seconds shut down, my primary reason for buying n installing it getting fed up with slow magnetic hdd Mine took 1 minute to boot up and 20 seconds to shut down .... but boot up speed and shut down speed is not a concern for me
ashraf095
Mar 22 2016, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(maxcwy2016 @ Mar 22 2016, 08:23 AM) Mine took 1 minute to boot up and 20 seconds to shut down .... but boot up speed and shut down speed is not a concern for me  No upgrade needed then. Just clean up the fan, reapply thermal paste and you are good to go.
TSmaxcwy2016
Mar 22 2016, 06:02 PM

QUOTE(ashraf095 @ Mar 22 2016, 04:58 PM) No upgrade needed then. Just clean up the fan, reapply thermal paste and you are good to go. Okay, I already sent it to the service center
delsoo
Mar 22 2016, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Mar 19 2016, 10:13 AM) alot.. i hv 1 on sales.. rm150 and u better change to 1tb 7200rpm hdd.. tat help.. dun think ssd will help much in sata 2 cabled laptop laptop gt 7200rpm hdd ? normalyy how much is the price for 1tb 7200rpm hdd?
myway1985
Mar 22 2016, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(delsoo @ Mar 22 2016, 08:23 PM) laptop gt 7200rpm hdd ? normalyy how much is the price for 1tb 7200rpm hdd? got la...1tb around 230 at all it hypermart b4 discount this 1 example DELL ALIENWARE 17 R3 LAPTOP 6th Gen Intel Core i7-6700HQ(Quad-Core,6MB Cache,up to 3.5GHz w/ Turbo Boost);17.3 inch UHD (3840 x 2160) IGZO IPS Anti-Glare 400-nits Display;Genuine Windows 10 Home 64bit;512GB PCIe SSD(Boot)+ 1TB 7200RPM SATA 6Gb/s(Storage) ;16GB Dual Channel DDR4 2133MHz(8GBx2);No Optical Drive;Internal High-Definition Audio;NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M with 3GB GDDR5;Integrated 10/100/1000Mbps Gigabit Ethernet NIC;Killer 1535 802.11ac 2x2 WiFi and Bluetooth 4.1;1 Year Warranty This post has been edited by myway1985: Mar 22 2016, 08:58 PM
meera1225
Mar 23 2016, 03:37 PM

QUOTE(maxcwy2016 @ Mar 19 2016, 09:05 AM) I have a Toshiba L-755 laptop, I had used since Dec 2011, I wanted to use it for A-Level studies. Will it hold for how many years more ? What upgrade can I make ? Specs: Processor- i5-2430 M GPU- Nvidia GT525M RAM- 6GB Storage- 512GB HDD u can compare brand new laptop price with upgradeable price before make any changes, bcos brand new laptop got warranty with new CPU, after comparison then make decision which one is more worth to do it..
sammiey
Mar 28 2016, 11:28 AM

hard to tell how long can hold.. yup, think you can upgrade ssd or hdd..