Games HaloŽ 3: The Official Thread, Gamers Hideout Cinema Play - 5/10/07

PrivateJohn
post Sep 19 2007, 10:54 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Sep 19 2007, 04:13 PM)

And I mean, spoiler. Halo 3 opening cutscene.
Oi, don't post la spoiler so early!!! Haven't got the game...very hard to resist with this kinda stuff~
*watch 10 sec of the cutscene....and force myself to close! vmad.gif

QUOTE(thurtin @ Sep 19 2007, 06:28 PM)
damn 25th seems like a long time away man. i hope a certain shop gets the stock early and then we can have ourselves a 24th midnite sale! woot!
London midnight launch cancel...'coz Westminster council fear of chaos cause by Halo fans. doh.gif

Now argos in UK broke the street date, some even paid 100 pound for the game, wtf. The order was closed after a day, now people are playing the game. Grr...but kinda stupid paying for that money.

link
it seems an administration error on Argos' website this morning allowed a reservation for the game, which is expected to sell millions of copies when it is released on 26 September in the UK, and gave us a pick up date of between today, 19 September, and tomorrow, 20 September. Clearly, retailers already have Halo 3 in stock now right now.

We've asked Microsoft for a response on rumours that playing the game online before it is officially released will get your account banned, and also on further rumours that Microsoft will ban accounts based on when achievements are unlocked. You'll know when we know.

It's unlikely Microsoft will ban Live account because of that IMO, but who knows...it's Microsoft. MUst...resist....getting the game early....argh...

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Sep 19 2007, 10:58 PM
PrivateJohn
post Sep 20 2007, 08:15 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Sep 20 2007, 05:44 PM)
Legendary is for coop & 2nd or 3rd pass of campaign for me. Currently almost finish Halo 2 on Legendary mode, 2 more levels to go!! biggrin.gif
IF finished in heroic or legendary mode got extra cutscene i think.

Halo 3 TGS 2007 demo
user posted imageuser posted image
The so-called boss fight is not scripted, it's running on AI.

Truly Epic...Believe!

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Sep 20 2007, 08:03 PM)
hmm.gif what delay ? I don't think there is any delay at all~.

if the game comes early (arcording to the plan) might be doing a midnight sales

Urgh... Sick.... Fever... Sleepp....~
Midnight launch at mamak...that would be awesome! tongue.gif
PrivateJohn
post Sep 20 2007, 10:32 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Sep 20 2007, 10:24 PM)
I'll definitely be there if there's a midnite sale biggrin.gif But damn, it'll take me 40 minutes to reach home doh.gif

@PJ, the extra cutscene I thought was for Halo 1 only?
I meant Halo 3... tongue.gif

Regarding the midnight sales...hey, that's the fun about waiting for big blockbuster! I could have gotten the game earlier from agros but i chose not to because i wana queue up on the day itself, if any. (partially was because i wanted to get Legendary edition tongue.gif )

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Sep 20 2007, 11:24 PM
PrivateJohn
post Sep 20 2007, 11:31 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(CerebralRogue @ Sep 20 2007, 11:19 PM)
Hopefully I'll get my 360 replaced before then...sigh
lol..sux to be you.

Just threaten GH la..if they can't get your machine back before Halo 3, you gona play Halo 3 everyday in their shop. biggrin.gif

It's weird, my stranglehold keep freezing my 360 but i still haven't gotten 3ROD.
PrivateJohn
post Sep 21 2007, 01:35 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Sep 21 2007, 12:08 AM)
So .. most of u guys gonna hop unto the MP mode or rather play the campaign 1st ??
Campaign first of course!!!!

1. Campaign
2. Coop over Live
3. Coop @ Cineleisure 300' widescreen cinema!!!!! cool2.gif

PrivateJohn
post Sep 21 2007, 04:27 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Bungie's latest Halo 3 video documentary, entitled "Cinema Paradiso," is now available via Xbox Live Marketplace or Bungie.net. The video is a detailed explanation of Halo 3's saved film feature.

"It's the mother of all multiplayer matches"

Absolutely amazing feature....that's definitely gona set the game apart from others.
PrivateJohn
post Sep 21 2007, 08:49 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

@ the recent incident. Until the game is release, otherwise respect the community.
PrivateJohn
post Sep 21 2007, 10:42 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(hairuLeZ @ Sep 21 2007, 10:33 AM)
Hmm after reading the deleted post, my interest goin down abit on halo3. Blocky and graphic like xbox1 ??? Can anybody care to explain..
The best description for Halo 3 graphic would be Half Life 2 running on max with abit of HRD & next gen touch up. You will be able to find out soon.

Saturday or Sunday onwards, review of the game will start showing up because the gamesite are still under some sort of NDA (or whatever).

Reason post was deleted is to prevent the advocate of piracy, nothing to do with the negative comment of the game. If people believe there is conspiracy in it, i have no trouble showing the undergoing PM & you would have agree with me but i need a consent from Mayatsan because i still respect privacy & do not wish to prolong this dispute.

Other way to prove this is to start posting Halo 3 hate message on September 25th. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Sep 21 2007, 10:45 AM
PrivateJohn
post Sep 21 2007, 11:45 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(hairuLeZ @ Sep 21 2007, 10:55 AM)
will do. hopefully there is a gameplay demo. not the cutscene demo !
Thanx PJ for the info..appreciate it  smile.gif
So far pretty much every video shown are gameplay video or taken from the saved film feature. Cutscene/FMV were remove by the author to prevent spoiler. (except the leak intro & outro..but those are low-res)
You can wait till the review is out this sunday, or judge the game during Halo 3 megascreen event @ 5th October then only decide to buy. smile.gif

The Halo 3 Pre-Release Interview With Gamer's Hideout
Chapree:
Can ban Blake (of GameAxis Malaysia) from your future tournaments or not?

Eddy:
Yeah, sure! Why not? LOL

Chapree:
LOL. You so bad liao. Next question! Who do you think should potray Master Chief in a movie?

Eddy:
Mmm...Tom Hanks maybe? Seriously I can't think of anyone else.

Chapree:
LOL, WHY?? He have no muscles!

Tom hank? Wtf??? doh.gif

Thanks multiplay.lowyat.net for the entertaining interview! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Sep 21 2007, 11:49 AM
PrivateJohn
post Sep 22 2007, 04:32 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

^ Ouch...whatever it takes huh laugh.gif

My H3 Legendary Edition also change from "pre-ordered" to "order placed". Hopefully no problem...

Till then...it's Halo Nights by the Team Tiger Awesome!! Boyband parody...be warned!

PrivateJohn
post Sep 23 2007, 10:40 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

^Review from Western gaming site will be release at Sunday noon pacific time, give or take.

BTW, Halo 3 section for bungie.net is up & running now. Was checking at all the user content, pretty fun~ Even better than Forza Motorsport 2!!! Forget XNA-tube, this is the real youtube of gaming - sharing video, screenshots, forge content.
(matchmaking & theater is also unlocked now)

Now go check it out...here's taken from the community screenshot galore.

Cheeseee~

Birdie up close laugh.gif ...i think you can shoot it down because you CAN kill a fish in the water and it will float to the surface and flow away with the current. Useless detail...but still awesome nevertheless tongue.gif

Finally the new unlockable spartan armour - HAYABUSA

QUOTE(CerebralRogue @ Sep 23 2007, 12:55 AM)
Yeah man hope it comes in one piece.
There are rumours (semi-confirmed) that the limited edition casing will scratch the disc because it was loose. So, maybe when your Legendary edition reach Malaysia Shore...it....

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Sep 23 2007, 10:47 AM
PrivateJohn
post Sep 24 2007, 03:10 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Gamespot - 9.5

IGN - 9.5

1up - 10

Gamespot Korea - 9.7

Teamxbox - 9.7

Gametrailers - 9.8

@xeno, oops you posted it too. I gona go take a shower (can smell my butt now), then sit down and enjoy all the GT HD review...

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Sep 24 2007, 03:21 AM
PrivateJohn
post Sep 24 2007, 03:47 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

That figurine is not out yet, i think. Will definitely get it when it's available!

My favourite quote from all the review :
QUOTE(gamespot)
The sound in Halo 3 is a good mix of old and new, much like the rest of the game. You'll hear the familiar Halo theme music and variants thereof. You'll also hear plenty of great new music, including one suspenseful track with a heartbeat-like sound that manages to get your heart pounding as well. Most of the voice cast from Halo 2 returns to voice their respective characters, and they again turn in terrific and believable performances. You'll also hear a ton of combat dialogue, both from the marines that fight by your side as well as the enemies you're fighting, who don't seem to appreciate it when you kill one of their comrades. Our favorite line from the Covenant was probably "You've killed my brother for the last time," which is pretty hilarious.

QUOTE(ign)
The campaign, which is very good, is Halo 3's weakest point. It doesn't capture the cavalier spirit of the original Halo, but you'll still have fun playing through it. There's no first-person shooter on 360 that can equal Halo 3's blend of cinematic action, adrenaline-pumping shootouts, and male- (and female)-bonding gameplay. Look beyond the gameplay and you have a rich feature set unlike anything ever delivered in a videogame. The Forge and the replay functionality raise the bar for console shooters so high, it may never be surpassed this generation. There will be plenty of aspects for fans to nitpick, but it's hard to argue against Halo 3 as the most complete game available on any console.

QUOTE(1up)
It's hard to imagine a feature of this game that someone won't love (we didn't even get to talk about the robust file sharing, where you can swap gameplay screenshots, edited game films, game setups, and maps). Or you can just look at it as a sum of so many quality parts, that value-wise, Halo 3 is as sure a thing as it gets. Sure, no one aspect of the game is life-changing on its own, but perhaps the package as a whole is. After all, Halo 3 has enough content to keep you stuck to your controller for weeks, if not months or even years.

Finally, Halo 1 vs Halo 2 vs Halo 3 comparison

Oh, good night xeno...please don't webcam with me. I feel gay tongue.gif

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Sep 24 2007, 03:47 AM
PrivateJohn
post Sep 24 2007, 04:16 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Eurogamer.net -10/10
And yet, hype machine aside, cutting through the crap about console wars and the like, what we find in Halo 3 is quite simply this - the best game yet in one of the best FPS franchises of the era. Better than either of its predecessors, Halo 3 still can't quite escape the category of flawed masterpiece - but this time around, the flaws are so minor that even the most churlish of reviewers would be hard pressed to mark the game down.

wtf is this doing in halo 3? Human ape? laugh.gif

PrivateJohn
post Sep 24 2007, 05:57 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

^GH will confirm on monday...they will personally go down to the warehouse and get its stock if there were any midnight launch. laugh.gif

Joystiq - Halo 3 (pre)-review
Where Halo 3 is likely to be criticized is in its distinct Haloness. This is not the Xbox 360's graphical showcase, falling short of benchmarks set by Gears of War last year, and more recently Bioshock. Bungie has never (overtly) shot for this goal, but as the top billing in this year's remarkably rich end-of-year games lineup, mainstream consumerism is always going to judge prettiness first, performance second.

While we've already given a nod to the game's big-picture performance, it's the subtle touches that show off Bungie's adept design. A saunter down the wrong corridor sets off a wonderfully comic pause in the gunplay as two soldiers argue between a sealed door. Let me in, demands one. Not without the password, insists the other. I don't know the password, pleads the first. But it was just given out at the last staff meeting! And so on, like this, until the soldier collapses against the door, fist still pounding steel. These efforts at lifefulness -- the ambient chatter; the unsuspecting Brute urinating in a corner -- enhance our emotional attachment to the Halo myth. We care more this time, whether that's because of the dramatic effect of the well-choreographed cutscenes or simply a writhing NPC on the battlefield.

PrivateJohn
post Sep 24 2007, 09:44 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

^Thurtin, they wana close shop & play is it? That's what i heard on Sunday... tongue.gif

QUOTE(jaylike7 @ Sep 24 2007, 03:15 PM)
bro,

thanks for commenting, well...
again, im no anti or against halo3, i have pre-ordered an Original copy from GH. And till now i rejected my fren's invite to his house for early preview of HALO3 coz i believe in ORIGINAL!  thumbup.gif
Hype alone cannot sell a game or 'force' people to play the game for years, otherwise Microsoft could just do it for every single game then Sony & Nintendo can pack their bags by now.

Halo 3 seems normal on the surface but when you take on every feature as a whole package, it's the best we can get now. No other game offer the same or as accesible as Halo 3. (2nd runner up - the orange box)
`Campaign
`4 players coop
`advance matchmaking
`Forge (Gary mod meets multiplayer)
`Theater (sharing videos, screenshots, forge content)
`More vehicles fun!!!
`Ai & voice acting is superb. Evetytime you play the game you won't hear the same converstation from your friends or foes.

With that many features especially the saved film feature, of course there will be some sacrifice to the graphic, besides GFX isn't the main focus since Halo 1.

Bioshock - a great game but it more like a RPG/FPS than a FPS. No matter how great the graphic is, you are still in a small box. There is no vehicle or any big scale battle. Enemy on screen is limited. Once you finish the game, you are done.

Gears of War - Great game too but it's a third person shooter. The level design is very linear, boss fight is repetitive. Not much replay value for the campaign. Battle wasn't really epic and no vehicles.

Halo 3 - a pure FPS. Big sandbox level design. Large scale battle with vehicles (either land or air), boss fight is AI-controlled. Campaign with non-scripted battle and random combat outcome. 4 players coop+ metascore will bring hours of fun for people who just like to play campaign.

Top it up with some personal preference. It's either you like the game, or you don't laugh.gif Halo franchise was never about innovating, it was refining how FPS is to be played.

The iconic thing for Gears of War is Chainsaw.
Bioshock - RPG element with interactive environment.
For Halo 3? Dual wield & Warthog~! Maybe it's about to change with Halo 3!
PrivateJohn
post Sep 25 2007, 12:22 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(CerebralRogue @ Sep 24 2007, 11:30 PM)
Neil Blomkamp's Final Halo Short  The last and the best!

Added on September 24, 2007, 11:38 pmAlso the unboxing of the Real Legendary Edition , not the one the press got. So nice... drool.gif
Orgasm!! Yes yes...mini series like Band of Brothers would be awesome!! The short-clip stay true to the game, needle or sniper effect...
As a matter of fact, i think the Neil Blomkamp's last video is actually related to Halo 3. It link up Halo 2 ending with Halo 3 Intro!!!

QUOTE(MK84 @ Sep 25 2007, 12:03 AM)
Spartan laser! Hehe u know the feeling when you get painted by the targeting laser, frantically looking for cover, knowing kilojoules of energy is about to be unleashed through your body.  sweat.gif
Gravity hammer FTW...I r smash warthog!!

@bansai...ya ya, happy halo day for you guys. Over here 26th..sadness.

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Sep 25 2007, 12:29 AM
PrivateJohn
post Sep 25 2007, 01:05 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Sep 25 2007, 12:45 AM)
do u think i will understand the story of halo ? Coz i didnt play halo 2. Played a bit of halo 1, maybe like 15% laugh.gif
Long story short...Halo is like the ring from LOTR, it can destroy all the crap in the galaxy. biggrin.gif
Human is racing for that technology because they are pretty hopeless. At the same time, Covenant is trying to seek control of Halo as well...then they discover the flood - ugly ass alien who kill everyone.

Halo 1 - Master Chief (alien call him "devil") destroy the first Halo....
Halo 2 - Covenant no face & piss off, punish the Elite who lead the crusade against human. Down the road, civil war occur inside out the covenant. Brute take over (ape like creature), alot of Elite take side with the master chief (devil) & human. They discover there is alot more Halo Ring. At the end, Covenant located the earth and launch an assault.
Halo 3 - Finish the Fight.

That's basically my short-version. Otherwise head over to xbox.com for almost 2 hour of reading rclxub.gif & cutscene (youtube).

QUOTE(silencer @ Sep 25 2007, 12:56 AM)
wow...derred..u mentioned in other thread that u consider PS3 is your best available option for your next console purchase/...wonder what u r doing here....guess..u r now a halo fan????Lol
He wana sell the Halo 3 merchandise bundle pack tongue.gif Too hardcore & expensive to buy la....

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Sep 25 2007, 01:08 AM
PrivateJohn
post Sep 25 2007, 01:20 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Sep 25 2007, 01:10 AM)
Lol..Majulah e-sukan untuk Negara... thumbup.gif
Darn..i wish I am in UK now too....where did u getting your legendary...virgin store...?
haha ya...majula e-sukan untuk Negara!

Nope, i cancelled my Virgin store pre-order because ed don't want scared region lock (supposely get for him) biggrin.gif Now i buy from Play.com and it has been dispatch today. rclxms.gif
PrivateJohn
post Sep 25 2007, 01:40 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Sep 25 2007, 01:23 AM)
Hope the game will live up to its hype.. tonite will be watching g4tv's Halo 3 countdown.. it is discouraging to know that the graphic isn't one of the best that is out now.. however as long as I enjoyed it who the heck cares..
Counter strike source graphic was great, but people still play back CS 1.6/condition zero until today. Why?
World of Warcraft doesn't have the best graphic for a MMO but it has the most subscriber/players worldwide. Why?

Halo is that 'phenomena' for the console-scene.

Halo 3 is like the mix & match of Halo 1 & Halo 2...

Halo 1 - large scale singelplayer campaign & done right for the first time, good AI with random voice chatter. Downside is copy & paste level design, no LIve play.
Halo 2 - not so much copy & paste (but the level design is very linear, no freedom). It redefine the console multiplayer game. Downside is stupid ending

If all bungie did was upgrade the graphic, the fan will still complain about the game like they did to Halo 2. Judging a game solely on the graphic itself seems very, 'mainstream'. tongue.gif

@Zerg1008, for ed/ahbiao one i actually gona bring it back myself so no shipping cost but he dont want it. I got ask around (msn only) but nobody want, then i just cancel the extra order tongue.gif Only 1 for myself and another one for my buddy here.

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0459sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:23 PM