8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Photography Canon EOS Family, One Big EOS Family - V59, The White Paladins' Territory!

LegendLee
post Jan 20 2018, 09:59 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(din_hook @ Jan 18 2018, 12:16 PM)
Hello guys may I ask something here.

I dont know whether you guys can see it or not but I can see there are purple spots inside the lens. Is it fungus?  unsure.gif
That looks pretty bad.
I would
1. Confirm if only the front element have fungus or if elements in the middle are affected as well. Best way is to shine light from the back of the lens and view the lens though the front at an angle. Anything that scatter light will appear very obvious. (all dust/fungus)

2. Try sending it for cleaning. Take note very likely the front element would lose it's anti reflective coating. This will lead to lower contrast and it will be more prone to flaring.
Of course, it's equally bad if not worse if you've fungus on it.

3. If cleaning is out of the question (troublesome). I would keep this lens at a separate location if you've other lens. Do you have a dry cabinet/dry box? If you do not have, perhaps it's time to invest in one.
LegendLee
post Jan 20 2018, 10:01 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(SLRcom @ Jan 17 2018, 11:15 AM)
hi all, 5d mark iii or 6d mark ii better?
You do Vlogging/videography or more photography ?
6D mk2 would be better for videography simply because of dual pixel AF.

LegendLee
post Jan 21 2018, 02:11 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(din_hook @ Jan 20 2018, 10:37 PM)
Yep I just have one. Eureka RT48C. Can it infect to my other lens?  :confused:
The air around us already has spores from fungus at lower concentration.
That's why you get moulds on bread even if you've the best air filter in the world.

Of course, that concentration is a lot higher if you've a colony near by.

However, if you keep your humidity below 50%, it shouldn't grow.

But in the long run. If that RH value ever goes up for a week or so, you might see them on your other lenses.

Malaysia humidity is about 60-80% by the way.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Jan 21 2018, 02:16 PM
LegendLee
post Jan 22 2018, 12:17 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(din_hook @ Jan 21 2018, 03:37 PM)
Oh no, the RH meter on my dry box has showed this reading, sometime its goes way beyond 100 especially when after I opened the door for last few days eventhough I have set at M as recommended. Is the dry box is not functioning as it should? I just open the box and inside is feel kinda cold. Should I worried now?  shocking.gif

Isn't that 35?
When it's raining, it is possible the RH might go up to 80+.
Shouldn't go above 100. At 100, you should see water condensing on your walls.

I recommend getting a cheap humidity meter to double check. You can get one at daiso. they're kinda cheap.

LegendLee
post Jan 23 2018, 09:35 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(SLRcom @ Jan 23 2018, 08:51 AM)
For photography.
For regular use.
I would still say 6Dmk2.
- newer tech/image processor
- the af system is not bad. You don't have as many points as the 5d3, but it's good enough.
- lighter
- flip screen
- wireless functionality

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Jan 23 2018, 09:37 AM
LegendLee
post Jan 31 2018, 01:26 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(joedpa82 @ Jan 30 2018, 12:24 PM)
Hi guys. Need help here regarding a problem im having with my canon eos 1000d.

My camera cannot autofocus using the Full Auto shot.

Tried swapping the lense with a friend of mine who also has an Eos 1000d and it works. My lens worked on his camera on  Full Auto and his lens worked on my camera on Full Auto.

I've reset the camera settings and the problem still persist.

I've tried googling it and no one seems to be having that problem
So it auto focus at other modes ?
Such as aperture mode ?
Try changing your AF mode to servo and try again.

LegendLee
post Jan 31 2018, 08:21 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(joedpa82 @ Jan 31 2018, 08:10 AM)
Any type of autofocus on any setting does not work except for manual focus.

One way it works right now (discovered it yesterday) is that if i set the lens to manual focus, lengthen the focus lens, go back to auto focus and press the button, it works.

Is it the autofocus mechanism?
Sounds like a lens issue. Since your friend's lens work on your camera.

Try cleaning the metal contacts. Use an eraser.
Did you receive any error ?

If that doesn't work. I believe it's a mechanical fault.
LegendLee
post Feb 5 2018, 01:21 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Feb 3 2018, 03:19 PM)
Something from yesterday night smile.gif

Looks great.
Always wanted to shoot steel wool.
If you're daring, you can go even closer +wide angle so the steel wool covers more than 50% of the picture.
Might want to use a "cheap" UV filter though.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Feb 5 2018, 01:21 AM
LegendLee
post Feb 5 2018, 01:24 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(limyuyang @ Feb 4 2018, 07:11 PM)
Guys, if anyone of you is using sigma 17-50 f2.8, des it have slow autofocus ? Because I just bought tamron 17-50 f2.8, and the autofocus sucks ...Sometimes it cannot focus, sometimes it focuses really really really slow....Was thinking of selling off the tamron and buy a sigma 17-50 , provided that sigma has no problem autofocusing as well.
Sigma lenses, those that are not ART specifically...
They are known to have
1. Autofocusing problem. Not the speed, but the accuracy esp in low light.
2. Sharpness. I guess it should be equal if not slightly better than the tamron. But far from what canon lenses or it's own 18-35 art lens can do.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Feb 5 2018, 01:24 AM
LegendLee
post Feb 8 2018, 03:31 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Feb 6 2018, 09:30 PM)
haha u mean something like this? I didnt post because I hate the big lens flare sad.gif

Yeap. This looks good.
Well lens flare... can't do anything about it (except maybe photoshop) haha.
LegendLee
post Feb 26 2018, 08:31 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(teikboon @ Feb 26 2018, 07:21 PM)
canon come out with mirrorless 4k video, m50 biggrin.gif

mirrorless ff with 4k soon?
It looks really promising and it's not that expensive.
I'm seriously considering it.

However, the 4k is just a gimmick.
The crop factor on top of the 1.6 crop and the lack of proper AF then makes it hard to use. Not to mention the slow frame rate.

Hopefully the photo and video quality would be good.
LegendLee
post Feb 26 2018, 08:35 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(Axelredan @ Feb 25 2018, 02:05 PM)
then how come in the video the guy says "24mm best for getting all the background in for portrait photography" while "80mm best for getting bokeh and focusing only on the subject"?? if everything was achievable with a zoom lens or telephoto lens i dont think prime lenses would be necessary to begin with, no?
Prime lens vs zoom lens at the same price point, likely the prime will give you a better sharpness/larger aperture.

But way more expensive zooms can match cheaper primes. They'll just be pricier and heavier.

In the end they're all just tools. Just pick whichever you need to get the job done.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Feb 26 2018, 08:35 PM
LegendLee
post Feb 27 2018, 08:09 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Feb 27 2018, 12:19 AM)
prime lenses aren't for everyone, trust me. i used to run 24mm, 50mm and 85mm, it was pain in the a$$ to change lenses all the time just for a short 30 mins portraiture session (unless your are one of those photographers who solely shoot with one focal length).

got myself a zoom lens and yes I do lose out on some image quality (which i dont mind at all, at the end of the day im not upload images at full resolution) and also less "bokeh" (the famous background blur) but i get to spend more time to focus on angles/ poses/ lightings which matter way more than image quality and bokeh.
im more surprised at the 120fps video capability, but it's confusing that some websites are claiming 120fps at 1080p while others are saying 120fps at 720p.

as for the price alone, i am guessing it will be around rm3k body alone (priced above m100 and under m6).
I believe it should be 60fps 1080p.
Given the processor, I doubt it can handle 1080p 120fps if it can't even handle 4k at 30 FPS.

LegendLee
post Feb 27 2018, 08:27 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(Axelredan @ Feb 27 2018, 12:30 AM)
With a 24mm there isnt much bokeh though right? So can it be said that it can be replacable with a zoom lens? While 85mm for high bokeh. Though What determines the bokeh btw? I get the fact that its high focal length x lower f number = better bokeh. (I always thought lower f. number means better bokeh). but then how come i see people buying and selling f 2.8 lens and stuff. Sorry for noob questions again  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Coz not everything is about bokeh.
If you really like bokeh, get yourself a cheap 50mm f/1.8 or an 85mm f/1.8.

A shallow depth of field is not always a good thing too as you might want the whole face to be in focus.
Also shooting wide open, makes it hard for the lens to control aberration thus your images will be softer.
LegendLee
post Feb 27 2018, 11:36 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Feb 27 2018, 11:24 AM)
you are right on the logic, however bokeh isn't everything. i used to be obsessed with it and then i realized sometimes when you found a nice location with a nice surrounding, but then you shot it with the maximum amount of bokeh in mind (lets say at f1.8 all the time), you will blur out all the details and it made the location pointless and unrecognizable.
its 120fps at 720p (so far DPR is the only site who said 120fps at 1080p), not full HD but still usable for some shorter clips.

but if one were to focus on making video, the a6300 is avaiblable at rm3.6k body only and the video specs are so much better  sweat.gif
Frame rate isn't that important to me.
Yes the A6300 is good, but there is the dual pixel AF as well on the M50 which is really good. Almost as important as 4k in videos imo.

I'll see how it goes in a few months time. Give it some time and the M50 price should drop below the recommended retail price.

I'm also quite averse to spending more on a new mount format.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Feb 27 2018, 11:40 AM
LegendLee
post Feb 27 2018, 11:40 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(Axelredan @ Feb 27 2018, 11:36 AM)
What Im wondering now is what does the f number alone determine on a photo. Like lets say focal length in mm determines distance (ie: how much of the frame/perception you can cover). So what would the difference be in say 24mm f1.8 vs 24mm f2.8. OR 85mm f1.8 vs 85mm f1.8. In this comparison am i right to say that the lower aperature is solely responsible for bokeh and nothing more? (given focal point is the same in both lenses)
For depth of field/bokeh. You can play with this link.
http://www.dofmaster.com/dofjs.html

Aperture does not just affects the depth of field(DOF) or bokeh(quality/amount of blurriness)

It also affects
- image quality
- brightness
- vignette
LegendLee
post Feb 27 2018, 02:27 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(din_hook @ Feb 27 2018, 12:30 PM)
Imo aperture itself doesnt affect depth of field. Focal length, distance from subject and subject's plane distance should be counted. My personal choice to have that sweet shallow dof would be telephoto 70-200 f2.8 lens.

To obtain the very shallow dof on wider frame, can try Brenizer method ie shooting multiple frame, and stitch them in photoshop.
Aperture affects depth of field.
Use your 70-200, place it to 200mm.
Shoot at f/2.8 vs f /11
The difference would be incredibly obvious.

There are only 2 things that affect depth of field.
Aperture and Magnification.
Magnification is then affected by distance and focal length.
LegendLee
post Mar 1 2018, 01:49 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

Canon just released a new flash. 470EX-AI
Looks pretty awesome. For those shooting events, this can be useful.

Something innovative from canon haha

I guess in the not so distance future.
You can set 3-4 of this as strobes and it will automatically determine the room/subject. Giving you the exact lighting you want. Studio photography for n00bs. Full auto.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Mar 1 2018, 02:13 PM
LegendLee
post Mar 1 2018, 01:50 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(Amymatpiah @ Feb 28 2018, 04:17 PM)
Hi all sifu's, just want to ask, wat lens should i get for indoor weddings and potrait. no already have canon 40mm pancake..
You should get a flash or 2.
Learn to control light and that will improve your photos more than simply upgrading a lens.
LegendLee
post Mar 9 2018, 09:19 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(AnNamir @ Mar 8 2018, 04:50 PM)
Anyone can suggest me a Canon DSLR (with speedlite, 3rd party pun ok) under 5K for both (camera with kitlens + speedlite). Will be use for office work, take some event photos, etc. Thanks in advance guys happy.gif
80D kit + 430ex3 flash.
Standard beginner set for your budget

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0244sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:50 AM