Guitars Martin Owners Club, A space for Martin Owners to share...

TSgas4martin
post Mar 17 2016, 02:28 AM, updated 10y ago

69 posts

Hi guys, just thought of starting out a Martin Owners Club here in Malaysia. Feel free to share your thoughts, your collection, your dream Martin Guitars or everything about Martin guitars.

This post has been edited by gas4martin: Mar 17 2016, 02:29 AM
TSgas4martin
post Mar 17 2016, 02:34 AM

69 posts

Here are my collection over the years...

This post has been edited by gas4martin: Mar 17 2016, 11:43 AM
+3kk!
post Mar 17 2016, 10:19 AM

8,275 posts

dont know if you going to get many martin . let alone acoustic chaps here lol
ciwi1166
post Mar 17 2016, 10:42 AM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

want to buy 1 martin also susah dy...biggrin.gif
TSgas4martin
post Mar 17 2016, 11:24 AM

69 posts

It's okay... we start from a small community and may turn into a bigger community in the future.

I'm sure there are martin owners out there.

Are people in Malaysia willing to spend more on electric than acoustics? I know martin is expensive in Malaysia but there are always a better way to buy used/new martins.

I had this 3 Custom Shop Martin 15 series for few years, SOLD two of the larger size already. Lovely isn't it?

This post has been edited by gas4martin: Mar 17 2016, 11:28 AM
+3kk!
post Mar 17 2016, 01:44 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(gas4martin @ Mar 17 2016, 11:24 AM)
It's okay... we start from a small community and may turn into a bigger community in the future.
I'm sure there are martin owners out there.
Are people in Malaysia willing to spend more on electric than acoustics? I know martin is expensive in Malaysia but there are always a better way to buy used/new martins.
I had this 3 Custom Shop Martin 15 series for few years, SOLD two of the larger size already. Lovely isn't it? 
msians dont spend on electrics or acoustics lol

and the other thing is here the community is rather small, theres an acoustic enthusiast sometime ago but he was the only one and contributed to most of the stuff.

i own a D35 but thats about it
TSgas4martin
post Mar 17 2016, 02:09 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Mar 17 2016, 01:44 PM)

and the other thing is here the community is rather small, theres an acoustic enthusiast sometime ago but he was the only one and contributed to most of the stuff.

U bought the d35 from fellow member ? I saw someone posted not so long ago
Everdying
post Mar 17 2016, 02:10 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Mar 17 2016, 01:44 PM)

sure they do...u just hang aroud with JT crowd of cos dont see much.
how else u think guitar collection or bentley stay afloat all these yrs...
ur martin is also from GC...so u partly helped them tongue.gif
+3kk!
post Mar 17 2016, 02:14 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(gas4martin @ Mar 17 2016, 02:09 PM)
U bought the d35 from fellow member ? I saw someone posted not so long ago
naw got it from GC

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 17 2016, 02:10 PM)
sure they do...u just hang aroud with JT crowd of cos dont see much.
how else u think guitar collection or bentley stay afloat all these yrs...
ur martin is also from GC...so u partly helped them tongue.gif
they sell 3-6k guitars more ma, you dont see much expensive things around also

the bentley and GC range is comical for expensive stuff.

Everdying
post Mar 17 2016, 02:16 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Mar 17 2016, 02:14 PM)
naw got it from GC
they sell 3-6k guitars more ma, you dont see much expensive things around also

the bentley and GC range is comical for expensive stuff.
i used to see plenty of ppl buying taylor 600, 800 series etc.
they just dont go JT.

3-6k guitars also considered alot already...but u richfag thats peanuts la.

lockheed90

272 posts

Nice collection guys..am planning to get one..can get it for around 2k budget?
lockheed90

272 posts

+3kk!
post Mar 17 2016, 02:20 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 17 2016, 02:16 PM)
i used to see plenty of ppl buying taylor 600, 800 series etc.
they just dont go JT.

3-6k guitars also considered alot already...but u richfag thats peanuts la.
I'm sure you get some la, but you dont see them as often as other places ma

even for second hand dealers or soft, you can see andersons, callings, etc etc? here ? rare leh
Everdying
post Mar 17 2016, 02:25 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Mar 17 2016, 02:20 PM)
I'm sure you get some la, but you dont see them as often as other places ma

even for second hand dealers or soft, you can see andersons, callings, etc etc? here ? rare leh
those small guitar companies the answer damn obvious la.
its not like dealers here can order 10 pieces and expect to have a showroom here.
some small guitar companies also dont keep stock, they require u to place an order...wait min 3 months for it to be made depending on quantity...then u need to wait another few months for it to be shipped over here...by that time the model already considered last seasons model...why would international market want to waste time tongue.gif

so rare or not is not the question.
it should be whether it makes sense from business perspective to do it.
and the short answer is no tongue.gif
+3kk!
post Mar 17 2016, 03:03 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 17 2016, 02:25 PM)
those small guitar companies the answer damn obvious la.
its not like dealers here can order 10 pieces and expect to have a showroom here.
some small guitar companies also dont keep stock, they require u to place an order...wait min 3 months for it to be made depending on quantity...then u need to wait another few months for it to be shipped over here...by that time the model already considered last seasons model...why would international market want to waste time tongue.gif

so rare or not is not the question.
it should be whether it makes sense from business perspective to do it.
and the short answer is no tongue.gif
That's only cos here not a lot of people buy la, both Indonesia and Thailand have super high end small shops, so did sg untill swee Lee came by.

Here? Bents being in 3-4 Cu24 and that's about it
TSgas4martin
post Mar 17 2016, 03:05 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Mar 17 2016, 02:16 PM)
For RM 2K, you can only buy Martin Made in Mexico. Eg. X Series.
lockheed90
post Mar 17 2016, 03:35 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(gas4martin @ Mar 17 2016, 03:05 PM)
For RM 2K, you can only buy Martin Made in Mexico. Eg. X Series.
is it..but the tone is good right? or should I get a yamaha instead
Everdying
post Mar 17 2016, 03:53 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Mar 17 2016, 03:03 PM)
That's only cos here not a lot of people buy la,  both Indonesia and Thailand have super high end small shops,  so did sg untill swee Lee came by.

Here?  Bents being in 3-4 Cu24 and that's about it
super high end but got small guitar companies stuff or not?
unless u richfag, oh wai, sure u want to try before u buy.
there also lots of richfags.
quarantined
post Mar 17 2016, 03:54 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

OP: Martin vs Colling opinions??
TSgas4martin
post Mar 17 2016, 04:03 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Mar 17 2016, 03:03 PM)

That's only cos here not a lot of people buy la,  both Indonesia and Thailand have super high end small shops,  so did sg untill swee Lee came by. 

Here?  Bents being in 3-4 Cu24 and that's about it

We don't really use soft anymore, everyone is on carousell now even some dealers put up here, but some people may put up advert in two places for wider reach to buyers.

There are many guitar shops in Singapore, namely..

1) Swee Lee - Fender, Gibson, Epiphone, cort
2) Citymusic - Martin, Citymusic owned brand (Custom Acoustic), ovation, adamas
3) Peninsular Plaza - lakewood, Mostly cheap brands
4) Guitar Gallery - Genuine Santa Cruz smile.gif , Bourgeios, Goodall
5) BGW (Swee Lee) - Collings, froggy
6) heirloom - Mostly Single Luthier brands from high end to affordable guitar
7) bernard godfrey guitars - charis, mcpherson carbon fibre, consignment used guitars (martin, taylor, gibson, goodall)
8) Luthier Guitars - Larivee
9) sinamex - taylor, mcpherson guitars

I very long never go to any local guitar shops in Singapore, however out of all, the only one i still go from time to time is bernard godfrey guitars. The 2 storey house turn into shop is kinda cool concept. They have 3 separate rooms for diff brands of guitar to audition. Each room has a huge couch, and they leave you alone for 1 hour to audition the guitars. They even serve you with high class coffee/tea. Having said that i bought one guitar on consignment from them, apparently its a Goodall. If you are not a risk taker, then u may want to wait for Citymusic Christmas sales or mid year sales during the Martin Experience event.

Most of my guitars are bought directly from US dealers as its way cheaper than buying in our local shops in Malaysia and Singapore, but of coz there's always a risk for instance... damage during shipping, warranty, scam and so on.

The biggest regret i did was selling off my Martin 000-ECHF Bellezza Nera to a US buyer.

0.0181sec    0.94    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:24 PM