> Need advice on Whisky

SUSArmata
post Mar 14 2016, 04:56 PM, updated 10y ago

315 posts

since i didnt manage to get japanese whisky like yamazaki or hibiki...i end up getting this instead.

For those who have tested, what are the difference comparing this blue label johnie walker with hibiki/yamazaki?

samjet
post Mar 14 2016, 04:58 PM

190 posts

both also good
SUSArmata
post Mar 14 2016, 04:59 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(samjet @ Mar 14 2016, 04:58 PM)
both also good
u mean both hibiki and yamazaki?

what about blue label?

i bought for my dad..so dont want to disappoint him...if it's bad..then i give my fren better.. hahaa...
FireIceCombo
post Mar 14 2016, 04:59 PM

206 posts

ka chat mei is less in this one.
SUSArmata
post Mar 14 2016, 05:00 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Mar 14 2016, 04:59 PM)
ka chat mei is less in this one.
wat's kachatmei?

ayam no speaking thai yo!
max_cjs0101
post Mar 14 2016, 05:04 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

Blue Label - Islay Whiskey (got smokey taste but to some people it reminds them of cockroach smell)
Hibiki - Highland Whisky
samjet
post Mar 14 2016, 05:05 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(Armata @ Mar 14 2016, 04:59 PM)

what about blue label?

i bought for my dad..so dont want to disappoint him...if it's bad..then i give my fren better.. hahaa...
see #4... blue label gooding
katzaimei = one very unpleasant odour found in whiskey... smell like cockroach
GKSComp

I will go for Yamazaki which is a single malt whisky. The rest are blended whisky...
SUSArmata

315 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Mar 14 2016, 05:04 PM)
Blue Label - Islay Whiskey (got smokey taste but to some people it reminds them of cockroach smell)
Hibiki - Highland Whisky
wtf..cockroach taste..ok..that's sading riao....

now going google find out diff between islay/highland whisky.. rclxms.gif
DarkAeon
post Mar 14 2016, 05:07 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(Armata @ Mar 14 2016, 05:00 PM)
wat's kachatmei?

ayam no speaking thai yo!
blue label has a floral, oaky, , highland style smoke finish which ppl here refer to as cockroach smell
SUSArmata

315 posts

QUOTE(samjet @ Mar 14 2016, 05:05 PM)
see #4... blue label gooding
katzaimei = one very unpleasant odour found in whiskey... smell like cockroach

tanks....now i get it riao...damn hate cockroach yo!

QUOTE(GKSComp @ Mar 14 2016, 05:05 PM)
I will go for Yamazaki which is a single malt whisky. The rest are blended whisky...

ayam nub in whisky..only know how to buy blindly.. lol....

SUSArmata

315 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Mar 14 2016, 05:07 PM)
blue label has a floral, oaky, , highland style smoke finish which ppl here refer to as cockroach smell
cry.gif cry.gif
max_cjs0101
post Mar 14 2016, 05:08 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

The best source of information is you taste both and you'll immediately taste the difference, unless you have a dead palate.
I'd rather buy a bottle of Famous Grouse than an overrated blue label.
DarkAeon
post Mar 14 2016, 05:10 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(Armata @ Mar 14 2016, 05:07 PM)
tanks....now i get it riao...damn hate cockroach yo!
ayam nub in whisky..only know how to buy blindly.. lol....
it is the thought that counts.

ppl have personal preferences on malts like cars. some ppl like different flavours not neccesarily exp.
SUSArmata
post Mar 14 2016, 05:14 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Mar 14 2016, 05:08 PM)
The best source of information is you taste both and you'll immediately taste the difference, unless you have a dead palate.
I'd rather buy a bottle of Famous Grouse than an overrated blue label.

i think i have that..dead palate....never could differentiate their taste....remember vividly last time when we have 3 types of chivas; 12, 18 and royal salute...take a sip on each..all taste the same to me, lol...

hmm..not sure about overrated, but i readed someone once said famous grouse are cheap whisky or something... but i guess each their own then.. aint gonna judge on something i dunno or dont take... nod.gif

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Mar 14 2016, 05:10 PM)
it is the thought that counts.

ppl have personal preferences on malts like cars. some ppl like different flavours not neccesarily exp.
thanks for the comforting words..then will jst proceed to give then.. nod.gif

i guess it's kinda like wine then...there's no best wine..jst one that suits u.. smile.gif
XcappuccinoX
post Mar 14 2016, 05:19 PM

25 posts

JW Blue Label 18yo whisky

Hibiki/Yamazaki is Jap whisky but their 12YO is comparable or better in terms of taste. But then hard to find now.

Still its a good whisky in itself. Like other /k says, seldom you will find cockroach smell in an 18YO
silverfoxxy
post Mar 14 2016, 05:20 PM

32 posts

TUMPANG

how about cordon bleu? havent tested it before and the last chance to taste flew due to need drive

SUSArmata
post Mar 14 2016, 05:22 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(XcappuccinoX @ Mar 14 2016, 05:19 PM)
JW Blue Label 18yo whisky

Hibiki/Yamazaki is Jap whisky but their 12YO is comparable or better in terms of taste. But then hard to find now.

Still its a good whisky in itself. Like other /k says, seldom you will find cockroach smell in an 18YO
yup..i asked few local liquor store and 2 shops in airport also couldnt find hibiki/yamazaki..that's when i decided to try something else....

thanks mang.. nod.gif
SUSArmata
post Mar 14 2016, 05:23 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(silverfoxxy @ Mar 14 2016, 05:20 PM)
TUMPANG

how about cordon bleu? havent tested it before and the last chance to taste flew due to need drive
if it's jiken cordon bleu..then yes..my fav.. sekian
Seralph
post Mar 14 2016, 05:26 PM

19 posts

TUMPANG

Very smooth on the throat. I'll choose it over most 18 years whiskies although generally, I'm more of a whisky lover!
KittyKat
post Mar 14 2016, 05:29 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Mar 14 2016, 05:04 PM)
Hibiki - Highland Whisky
Johnnie Walker is not an Islay whisky. It is blended (malts and grains) with possibly malt from Islay... And not all Islay malt is smoky/peaty/etc. There are Island, Campbeltown and some Highland ones which are to as well...

Hibiki is also blended, but made out of malts from Yamazaki and Hakushu. And no, they are not categorized as Highland. Take note, some Hakushu's are smoky/peaty/etc too...

SUSArmata
post Mar 14 2016, 05:30 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(KittyKat @ Mar 14 2016, 05:29 PM)
Johnnie Walker is not an Islay whisky. It is blended (malts and grains) with possibly malt from Islay... And not all Islay malt is smoky/peaty/etc. There are Island, Campbeltown and some Highland ones which are to as well...

Hibiki is also blended, but made out of malts from Yamazaki and Hakushu. And no, they are not categorized as Highland. Take note, some Hakushu's are smoky/peaty/etc too...
all these information...like so complicated..now i know why i prefer tits...

but good info nonetheless yo!
KittyKat
post Mar 14 2016, 05:32 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Armata @ Mar 14 2016, 05:05 PM)
wtf..cockroach taste..ok..that's sading riao....

now going google find out diff between islay/highland whisky.. rclxms.gif
Actually the "cockroach" sensation is due to condensation of peat aroma when your dram is diluted and/or being cooled down too much. Start off with mildy peated malts first, then slowly move on to heavier ones. You will be surprised what age can do to peat, oxidizing it and evolving it to other compound(s)...
silverfoxxy
post Mar 14 2016, 05:32 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Seralph @ Mar 14 2016, 05:26 PM)
Very smooth on the throat. I'll choose it over most 18 years whiskies although generally, I'm more of a whisky lover!
fuark!! i missed my chance bangwall.gif

i should have a sip when given the chance bangwall.gif

wasted on a bunch of drunk kaki that dont know how to enjoy it ranting.gif

QUOTE(Armata @ Mar 14 2016, 05:23 PM)
if it's jiken cordon bleu..then yes..my fav.. sekian
not jiken cordon bleu with jeez la.. sweat.gif but i know ampang there ada 1 jiken cordon bleu quite gooding
D-Frog
post Mar 14 2016, 05:33 PM

2,983 posts

QUOTE(Armata @ Mar 14 2016, 04:59 PM)

what about blue label?

Whisky has a very distinctive taste to each and everyone.
Some might find johnny walker tasted like tina water ,some might find it absolutely good.
I personally tried a few such as chivas, martinney, johnny walker and Macallan..
My personal favorite is Macallan 18, still have one bottle kept for special ocassion.
Only opened one bottle before as its freaking expensive.

This post has been edited by D-Frog: Mar 14 2016, 05:36 PM
KittyKat
post Mar 14 2016, 05:34 PM

364 posts

TUMPANG

Cordon Bleu is actually Cognac, distilled ex grapes. Unlike Whisky ex grains...
silverfoxxy

32 posts

QUOTE(KittyKat @ Mar 14 2016, 05:32 PM)
Actually the "cockroach" sensation is due to condensation of peat aroma when your dram is diluted and/or being cooled down too much. Start off with mildy peated malts first, then slowly move on to heavier ones. You will be surprised what age can do to peat, oxidizing it and evolving it to other compound(s)...
this ^

ayam no understand rclxub.gif
KittyKat

364 posts

QUOTE(Armata @ Mar 14 2016, 05:30 PM)
all these information...like so complicated..now i know why i prefer tits...

but good info nonetheless yo!
You mean milk??? Oh yes, count me in, hahaha...
SUSArmata
post Mar 14 2016, 05:35 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(KittyKat @ Mar 14 2016, 05:32 PM)

seems like whisky/cognac/brandy drinking is as complicated as wine and cigar.... sweat.gif
oh well, one learns new things everyday.. nod.gif

QUOTE(silverfoxxy @ Mar 14 2016, 05:32 PM)
not jiken cordon bleu with jeez la..  sweat.gif but i know ampang there ada 1 jiken cordon bleu quite gooding
ampang so big....got details or not?
SUSArmata
post Mar 14 2016, 05:35 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(KittyKat @ Mar 14 2016, 05:34 PM)
You mean milk??? Oh yes, count me in, hahaha...
kahlua? bailey? brows.gif

eh wait.those are coffee..ohwaii
kaizoku30
post Mar 14 2016, 05:36 PM

86 posts

generally japanese whisky have a bit fruity smell. personally gua prefer nikka by the barrel.
teehk_tee

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(Armata @ Mar 14 2016, 04:56 PM)
since i didnt manage to get japanese whisky like yamazaki or hibiki...i end up getting this instead.

For those who have tested, what are the difference comparing this blue label johnie walker with hibiki/yamazaki?

blue is good
but since u got so much dough, go for dalmore 18 as a replacement to yamazaki.
Wassupman

722 posts

all are good whisky...

i think blue label is smoother than the japs.
the japs particularly hibiki has a distinct taste. just had hibiki 17 years last night.
yamazaki smells like typical chivas but its smooth.
D-Frog
post Mar 14 2016, 05:37 PM

2,983 posts

QUOTE(Wassupman @ Mar 14 2016, 05:36 PM)
all are good whisky...

the japs particularly hibiki has a distinct taste. just had hibiki 17 years last night.
Chivas tasted like siht.

silverfoxxy
post Mar 14 2016, 05:38 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(KittyKat @ Mar 14 2016, 05:34 PM)
Cordon Bleu is actually Cognac, distilled ex grapes. Unlike Whisky ex grains...
which means cordon bleu is from fruits & nuts while whisky from wheat/grains? hmm.gif

time to play this hi-keras-stuff already thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Armata @ Mar 14 2016, 05:35 PM)
seems like whisky/cognac/brandy drinking is as complicated as wine and cigar.... sweat.gif
oh well, one learns new things everyday.. nod.gif
ampang so big....got details or not?
alternative of ampang look out point after it close?

this hint is quite... obvious rolleyes.gif
Wassupman
post Mar 14 2016, 05:39 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Mar 14 2016, 05:37 PM)
Chivas tasted like siht.
but not for yamazaki... i really like the smoothness...
SUSArmata
post Mar 14 2016, 05:40 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(kaizoku30 @ Mar 14 2016, 05:36 PM)
generally japanese whisky have a bit fruity smell. personally gua prefer nikka by the barrel.

i saw nikka..and the first thing came to my mind is that if i come into /k and share nikka whisky..prolly gonna kena bora2 due to racism nature.. lol
they are selling around 5k yen in those mini market...i think pretty cheap considering it's around RM200 only...too bad i didnt know where it stand so didnt buy...

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Mar 14 2016, 05:36 PM)
blue is good
but since u got so much dough, go for dalmore 18 as a replacement to yamazaki.

already balik liao..so no more buy d..only bought those at airport..i wonder after tax is how much tho.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(Wassupman @ Mar 14 2016, 05:36 PM)
all are good whisky...

okie dokie..thanks for the vote of confidence yo!
gonna give my dad this weekend when i drop by his place.. nod.gif
silverfoxxy
post Mar 14 2016, 05:40 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Mar 14 2016, 05:37 PM)
Chivas tasted like siht.
i found that chivas is way better than beer & wine brows.gif icon_idea.gif
SUSArmata
post Mar 14 2016, 05:41 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(silverfoxxy @ Mar 14 2016, 05:40 PM)
i found that chivas is way better than beer & wine  brows.gif  icon_idea.gif
ayam beer guy all the way.. nod.gif

or maybe more on ale.. nod.gif
SUStiestoycc

114 posts

i like Lagavulin though... so smooth
silverfoxxy

32 posts

QUOTE(Armata @ Mar 14 2016, 05:40 PM)
i saw nikka..and the first thing came to my mind is that if i come into /k and share nikka whisky..prolly gonna kena bora2 due to racism nature.. lol
they are selling around 5k yen in those mini market...i think pretty cheap considering it's around RM200 only...too bad i didnt know where it stand so didnt buy...
already balik liao..so no more buy d..only bought those at airport..i wonder after tax is how much tho.. hmm.gif
damn! Rm200 for a good liquor is darm worth it!

perhaps langkawi able to find similar ones? hmm.gif
Wassupman
post Mar 14 2016, 05:42 PM

722 posts

if your dad dont like it... remember to pm me...
silverfoxxy
post Mar 14 2016, 05:43 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Armata @ Mar 14 2016, 05:41 PM)
ayam beer guy all the way.. nod.gif

or maybe more on ale.. nod.gif
me since almost mabuk + vomit few times on beer.... ayam iz physically (or mentally) tabuli accept beer that much...

slowly changed to very hi-keras beer / wine + some chivas/whisky
gladfly
post Mar 14 2016, 05:47 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(Armata @ Mar 14 2016, 05:35 PM)
kahlua? bailey? brows.gif

eh wait.those are coffee..ohwaii
Coffee one is called Sheridans la..

For whisky, I always prefer single malt as its more consistent in its flavor.

More of an old school, so I prefer more peaty whisky..laphoraig or ardbeg comes to mind
D-Frog
post Mar 14 2016, 05:53 PM

2,983 posts

QUOTE(silverfoxxy @ Mar 14 2016, 05:40 PM)
i found that chivas is way better than beer & wine  brows.gif  icon_idea.gif
Macallan all the way ~
Chivas got one fking distinctive taste which I couldn't comprehend.
silverfoxxy
post Mar 14 2016, 05:54 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Mar 14 2016, 05:53 PM)
Macallan all the way ~
Chivas got one fking distinctive taste which I couldn't comprehend.
ayam poorfag... only able to taste those once in a blue moon / during special dinner... bye.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 14 2016, 05:58 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(KittyKat @ Mar 14 2016, 05:29 PM)

Whole thread full of bullshit except this guy whistling.gif

If you don't like cockroach smell avoid whiskeys described as 'peaty'.

Try comparing blended with single malts, no need mess with single malts unless you really can taste the difference.

Drinking is no big deal, if a simple 5yo Australian red or standard blended scotch makes you happy, stick with it. Or you will only shout your ignorance eg "kahlua and Bailey's is not coffee liqueur, Sheridan's is" doh.gif doh.gif
EarendurFefalas
post Mar 14 2016, 06:01 PM

155 posts

no good becos they already campur too much with watermark
AceKendy
post Mar 14 2016, 06:05 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(silverfoxxy @ Mar 14 2016, 06:38 PM)
which means cordon bleu is from fruits & nuts while whisky from wheat/grains?  hmm.gif

time to play this hi-keras-stuff already  thumbup.gif
People usually compare Cordon Bleu so XO's.
It used to be my most favourate cognac of all time (yes, I drank most of the XO before), then one day, I went to Hong kong and tasted richard hennessy. Still regretted that I just drank a glass of thousand dollar cognac without properly tasted it.

Anyway, Whisky (blended). Would prefer Royal Salute 21 over JW Blue. Honestly Hibiki (21) taste batter than JW Blue. But given that price range since you mention JW Blue and Hibiki, my tasted buds are more towards Royal Salute 21. laugh.gif
chanti-sama
post Mar 14 2016, 06:12 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(tiestoycc @ Mar 14 2016, 05:41 PM)
i like Lagavulin though... so smooth
Port ellen no love? They're pretty close by u knows.. Lol
SUStiestoycc
post Mar 14 2016, 06:33 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(chanti-sama @ Mar 14 2016, 06:12 PM)
Port ellen no love? They're pretty close by u knows.. Lol
Never try that before... the price is about the same too?
chanti-sama
post Mar 14 2016, 10:03 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(tiestoycc @ Mar 14 2016, 06:33 PM)
Never try that before... the price is about the same too?
Should be, imo lagavulin is pretty ucommon find... Even more are the distillers editions. Very good choice...
kaizoku30
post Mar 14 2016, 10:08 PM

86 posts

Labuan rm135 only biggrin.gif
silverfoxxy
post Mar 14 2016, 11:17 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(AceKendy @ Mar 14 2016, 06:05 PM)
People usually compare Cordon Bleu so XO's.
It used to be my most favourate cognac of all time (yes, I drank most of the XO before), then one day, I went to Hong kong and tasted richard hennessy. Still regretted that I just drank a glass of thousand dollar cognac without properly tasted it.

Anyway, Whisky (blended). Would prefer Royal Salute 21 over JW Blue. Honestly Hibiki (21) taste batter than JW Blue. But given that price range since you mention JW Blue and Hibiki, my tasted buds are more towards Royal Salute 21. laugh.gif
It seems there is so much thing to learn from drinking a liquor haha...
wanna be hi-tech
post Mar 14 2016, 11:29 PM

Any self respecting GEEK, certainly owns more than a single rig
1,598 posts

QUOTE(Seralph @ Mar 14 2016, 05:26 PM)
Isnt cordon bleu ...Brandy ?

Btw, i have a few Black lables... Wic is sleeping, where can i sell this ah ?
teehk_tee
post Mar 14 2016, 11:39 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

once u get to know the better single malts, blue label/gold/black, chivas .. is all nothing.
dalmore 18 is probably 850-900 nowadays.
others like ardbeg 10/uigeadail, springbank, balvenie, macallan, ichiro's malt, damn.. .HNNNNNNGHHHHHHHH
karl9454
post Mar 14 2016, 11:58 PM

13 posts

Yamazaki is Single Malt.
Blue Label is Blended.
SUSBlueButtBaboon
post Mar 15 2016, 12:03 AM

FEEL WITH IT
517 posts

SUSArmata
post Mar 15 2016, 09:30 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(EarendurFefalas @ Mar 14 2016, 06:01 PM)
no good becos they already campur too much with watermark

that’s my trademark..kenot run one.. nod.gif

QUOTE(kaizoku30 @ Mar 14 2016, 10:08 PM)
Labuan rm135 only biggrin.gif

u mean the nikka? Good to know at least can buy here…

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Mar 14 2016, 11:39 PM)
once u get to know the better single malts, blue label/gold/black, chivas .. is all nothing.
dalmore 18 is probably 850-900 nowadays.
others like ardbeg 10/uigeadail, springbank, balvenie, macallan, ichiro's malt, damn.. .HNNNNNNGHHHHHHHH

meaning ayam kena tipu liao? Coz the blue label in airport ayam bought RM800+…. cry.gif

GameFr3ak
post Mar 15 2016, 10:06 AM

3,849 posts

do u really have to watermark that pic?
AceKendy
post Mar 15 2016, 10:19 AM

230 posts

QUOTE(Armata @ Mar 15 2016, 10:30 AM)
meaning ayam kena tipu liao? Coz the blue label in airport ayam bought RM800+…. cry.gif
JW Blue if got jalan can get about RM500 for it (I used to stock a whole carton of it during CNY)
But generally people don't really compare Blended to Single Malt, both have their own distinguish taste.
SUSArmata
post Mar 15 2016, 11:35 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Mar 15 2016, 10:06 AM)
do u really have to watermark that pic?
yes...many robin hood in /k...

u wait u upload drillz in /k then kena robin hood u will know how it felt d..

i kena twice btw.....so much about posting drillz without watermark.. pui!
SUSArmata
post Mar 15 2016, 11:36 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(AceKendy @ Mar 15 2016, 10:19 AM)
JW Blue if got jalan can get about RM500 for it (I used to stock a whole carton of it during CNY)
But generally people don't really compare Blended to Single Malt, both have their own distinguish taste.
then i guess for ppl without jalan is considered ok then.. nod.gif

ayam dunno much about whisky brandy cognac...only know it burns the throat and can use it to start fire during emergency..
KittyKat
post Mar 15 2016, 12:37 PM

364 posts

Fuyoo... This thread here at /k stronger than many other official Yam Seng ones, kudos and kipidab!!!
SUSArmata
post Mar 15 2016, 12:38 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(KittyKat @ Mar 15 2016, 12:37 PM)
Fuyoo... This thread here at /k stronger than many other official Yam Seng ones, kudos and kipidab!!!
well..i know what i should do with my blue label liao...

so tered kolos... sekian everyone punya contribusasi..

Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0253sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:17 PM