Credit Cards Maybank 2 Cards Premier V2, Fastest Air Miles Conversion
lilsunflower
Feb 1 2019, 02:09 AM
Reading the past few comments, I don't understand how loading BigPay to the max on match days is considered abuse.
For me, loading BP has a huge advantage over normal spending as it gives me total flexibility over timing for purchases. Without BP, I would never have waited until a "sure win" match day to consolidate all my spending. Now, I can load 10k straight and spend as I like on whatever I like. School fees, condo management fees, medical bills, direct debits, insurance, paying for hotels or expensive meals. All these can't be timed solely according to match days, and many providers don't accept Amex. Plus, getting 5x TP on insurance, government, utilities and education is a great advantage.
So are you saying that many of you are NOT reloading BP at all? If so, how in the world are you managing to time all your expenses on winning match days, especially for those games with results near midnight?
Anyway, if MBB suddenly clamp down on BP and choose to award only 1 or 0 TP, then it shouldn't affect those of you who only use for normal spending, and life continues as it did before BP.
lilsunflower
Feb 1 2019, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 1 2019, 10:20 AM) If the bank stops this by zeroing top up to ewallets, then no effect on others.... But if they decided to downgrade the conversion to miles.... MBB and many other banks have been downgrading benefits since way before BP came into existence. No point second guessing the bank. Just enjoy whatever we can while it lasts.
lilsunflower
Feb 1 2019, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(herc @ Feb 1 2019, 10:53 AM) Petrol has a clause for it. Use the Amex get 5x Utilities, Insurance im getting the bonus Silly question from me, but does this include TNB paid using MUVI on MBB portal (or do you use UOB Payonline / TNB app)? And insurance, do you mind sharing which service providers you use? I pay Pru and GE online, but currently doing the "load BP on matchday, pay online" as I was worried I wouldn't get the bonus points by paying direct.
lilsunflower
Feb 1 2019, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(herc @ Feb 1 2019, 11:03 AM) TNB app 1x + bonus Payonline 2x + bonus. Its telecommunication for MBB Insurance I paid via GE portal. Pru autodebit monthly on cashback card THANK YOU!  This is really really helpful to me. One last silly question - does this mean that DBKL payment via UOB Payonline is also "telecommunications"? Loads of assessments due this month, and not enough BP quota to do pay all of them. If I can pay directly via UOB Payonline and still get the bonus, it would be absolutely fantastic. Sorry for all these n00b questions.
lilsunflower
Feb 1 2019, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(herc @ Feb 1 2019, 11:09 AM) DBKL I not sure. Do Amex KF help? Thanks so much for all your input and suggestions. I will experiment with a small DBKL payment on UOB Payonline and share here whether it gets any TP (and how much). Edit: OK, just paid RM10 DBKL on UOB Payonline. Will track TP movement and report. This post has been edited by lilsunflower: Feb 1 2019, 11:33 AM
lilsunflower
Feb 2 2019, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 30 2019, 10:58 PM) Thanks in advance for the clarification. I intend to apply this combo soon, after March as I don't want to be charged twice for SST as all my Maybank conventional cards' anniversary is in April. The staffs in The Gardens advised me to apply only after March. Sharing my experience, I just received my M2P in Jan 2019, with expiry dates in June (just like my FCB, M2Plat). I got charged RM25 SST on both M2P on 1 Feb but my other cards have not been charged yet. Based on this I think the staff advice is wrong....
lilsunflower
Feb 2 2019, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 2 2019, 10:52 AM) Yes, that's right. In June, you will be charged again for M2P.. From what I understand, it's only charged once per financial year (see MBB example). So I have been charged in Feb for FY19, and the next charge will be in June FY20. Attached thumbnail(s)
lilsunflower
Feb 2 2019, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 2 2019, 03:07 PM) Yepp I read that, but it says subsequent year and "per year".
lilsunflower
Feb 4 2019, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(herc @ Feb 1 2019, 11:09 AM) DBKL I not sure. Do Amex KF help? QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Feb 1 2019, 11:16 AM) Thanks so much for all your input and suggestions. I will experiment with a small DBKL payment on UOB Payonline and share here whether it gets any TP (and how much). Edit: OK, just paid RM10 DBKL on UOB Payonline. Will track TP movement and report. Update: Paid DBKL Cukai Pintu using MUVI via UOB Payonline, and confirm got 2x TP for this transaction. Looks like its not recorded as "Government" when paid via UOB PayOnline.
lilsunflower
Feb 4 2019, 12:24 AM
QUOTE(aspartame @ Feb 4 2019, 12:15 AM) Why not pay using BigPay? Dun ask me how.. I am just asking .. ha ha.. BP 10k quota not enough, and lots of assessments to pay in Feb. Save BP for those that can't be paid via other avenues (e.g. school fees, insurance). Rather use direct spending (i.e. Amex first, VI on matchday) wherever possible.
lilsunflower
Feb 12 2019, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(ju146 @ Feb 12 2019, 06:27 PM) Citibank is crazy.in granting credit limit. My colleague once told me he can swipe 1 Honda City with his limit, still got surplus Yepp - 100k++ CL is what they gave me a few years ago, when other banks were only giving me 30k.
lilsunflower
Feb 14 2019, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(donhay @ Feb 14 2019, 04:07 PM) I was wondering why u guys keep the Maybank 2 cards Premier? I was thinking to cancel (got annual fees). I not going to use Plaza Premium Lounge anymore (less travelling). I have my Maybank FCB card for cash back (weekday) and Maybank 2 Plat Amex (weekend) to use. Best cards for airmiles.
lilsunflower
Feb 14 2019, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(donhay @ Feb 14 2019, 04:12 PM) Now flying less already, last year only fly 2 times (in asia)  Then not worth it to keep if you have to pay the AF. For me, I will keep as long as I can hit the 80k spending requirement.
lilsunflower
Feb 14 2019, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(donhay @ Feb 14 2019, 04:23 PM) Yeah will not keep cause of AF and cannot reach 80k. By the way, how do u hit 80K?  I have lots of kids. Insurance, school fees, medical bills, family holidays, tax, property management fees, utilities, property assessments. Very easy to hit. This post has been edited by lilsunflower: Feb 14 2019, 04:26 PM
lilsunflower
Feb 14 2019, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Feb 14 2019, 09:41 PM) Even if you have to pay for AF, it is still quite worth it if you spend at least 40k each year. By the 5th year you should have enough points to redeem a business class ticket to USA which is worth around 15k. 5 yrs of AF = 4k, meaning you get 11k value. (As Treatpoints expire in 3 years, you transfer all your points to KF. KF expires in 3 years as well, meaning you get another 2 years to earn points in your CC to transfer to KF) Assuming the card benefits and airmiles redemption rate remaine unchanged for 5 years
lilsunflower
Feb 15 2019, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(vrek @ Feb 15 2019, 07:07 PM) What is your opinion on paying taxes with credit card? I pay my income tax using CC as the surcharge is only 0.8% and I can subsequently use balance transfer to spread my payments over 6/12 months. Benefits for me are cashback / TP, and ability to 0% BT, while putting cash in FD and earning interest. In general I always try to pay with CC and never cash, unless there is a significant surcharge.
lilsunflower
Feb 16 2019, 04:58 AM
QUOTE(vrek @ Feb 16 2019, 01:24 AM) Unfortunately, paying LHDN does not earn you points...... Use MUVI to reload BP, then pay tax using BP. I did this last year with my CB cards (before I had M2P), and loaded BP up to each card's maximum CB quota.
lilsunflower
Feb 18 2019, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(muscaa @ Feb 18 2019, 07:34 PM) How much you usually reload BP using VI? I've only owned my VI for one month, so not sure how much I'll be using going forward since I also have CB cards to load up BP.
lilsunflower
Feb 19 2019, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(tohff7 @ Feb 19 2019, 10:50 AM) Looks like this month we got CNY angpau from BigPay. They made an update to their app today (and also back-end payment processor?). This seems to have reset the montly RM10k topup limit for CC Can sailang 1 more time for Liverpool or Crystal Palace game Woohoo! I exhausted my Feb BP quota already as so many bills to pay early in the year. Looking forward to LFC match
lilsunflower
Feb 23 2019, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(tohff7 @ Feb 20 2019, 03:53 PM) Anyway, this month we got additional 'bullet' to sailang from BP  Just checked my BP - no more extra quota this month.