Credit Cards Maybank 2 Cards Premier V2, Fastest Air Miles Conversion

msa9696
post Mar 9 2020, 01:29 AM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 9 2020, 01:27 AM)
Spent 4k, MU better win. laugh.gif
Very brave, saw your post only realised the match, and surprisingly it's 1-0 now....good luck
msa9696
post Mar 14 2020, 05:04 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 14 2020, 01:05 PM)
EPL matches suspended temporarily, so no chance for 5x in the mean time. laugh.gif

On another hand, AM 10% bonus was finally credited yesterday. Back in Feb, I also redeemed 1k points from SCB and they still gave me extra 100 miles. I thought the promo ended on 31st Jan. laugh.gif
Received the bonus miles too, but I've lots of KF miles expiring soon, e-mailed them to ask for extension since many companies also have lots of initiatives during this difficult times, but SQ very arrogant, totally ignored
msa9696
post Mar 15 2020, 12:44 AM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(charlesj @ Mar 14 2020, 08:30 PM)
How much KF is expiring?
Just redeem something in advance, ie 11 months from now.
You can always change your ticket once you have a concrete plan.

Refer article below for more info:
https://milelion.com/2020/03/07/krisflyer-m...extending-them/
Thanks for the article, I've about 2m miles start expiring from June to Dec this year
msa9696
post Mar 15 2020, 05:23 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(peigeng @ Mar 15 2020, 06:27 AM)
i am just wondering if this virus doesn't exist at all, and you have 2 million miles expired soon,how are u going to burn them?
I have other nominees who travel more frequent but this pandemic affect all travels

QUOTE(linese9001 @ Mar 15 2020, 11:19 AM)
2mil miles = 100k cash, good luck clearing it  blink.gif
Yeah difficult to clear in this difficult times

QUOTE(charlesj @ Mar 15 2020, 11:59 AM)
Clear those closer to June first, book for Nov/Dec flight.
Those expiry closer to Dec, you may redeem later, for next year travel.
For your about to expiry TP (if any), redeem to Asia miles for now, and focus on utilizing your KF.
Redeem first class tickets for your parents to travel round the world.
2 mil KF, 2 pax return london suite for 4 rounds.
Good luck!
That's the best I can do for now while praying that SIA offer something
msa9696
post May 8 2020, 04:31 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 8 2020, 03:22 PM)
Expect air fare will go up 100% if they are asked to practise social distancing in the plane. Perhaps air miles is a blessing, provided no de-valuation?
If it really happens I think they will have to devalue miles too....also will be extremely difficult to redeem seats already
msa9696
post Jun 16 2020, 02:25 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 16 2020, 02:08 PM)
partial spending?
seriously, I dont ever think I seen my TP being reduced before, but as said, my mind simple
I didn't really tracked it on every expenditure
Spending I'm not sure, but all TP are reversed for refunds, at least for me.
I've verified few of my refunds recently, mainly due to cancellation of travel plans and they did reverse all that.
msa9696
post Oct 6 2020, 08:03 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 6 2020, 04:13 PM)
Good to know that. Hope more people will get waiver if it is close to 80k. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(tohff7 @ Oct 6 2020, 04:15 PM)
I think people mentioned here before their spending is 50k and they got waiver also

Anyway

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 6 2020, 04:20 PM)
And that person didn't reply after that. I will take it as a no. biggrin.gif

That said I will not be worried about AF until April 2021 2022. tongue.gif

Edited: Typo.
My spending 50k+ but was charged AF without auto waiver. I seldom check statement, by the time I checked already 2-3 months being charged. Called them to appeal, after few days got refunded the AF, if I overlook I would have paid the RM 800
msa9696
post Oct 6 2020, 08:14 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Oct 6 2020, 08:12 PM)
pay statement no check first de meh?
I always last minute pay, and I've too many transactions so I always ended up paying first, check later
msa9696
post Nov 13 2020, 10:23 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(Powet @ Nov 13 2020, 10:07 PM)
Just tried to apply for Grab, got SMS rejected in 30 minutes, proceed to try Duo cards, got SMS rejected in 30 minutes.

Is there any way to find out why I got rejected?
Contact the bank
msa9696
post Nov 17 2020, 02:43 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(linese9001 @ Nov 17 2020, 02:42 PM)
I have 5.3m TP, should i go all in? LOL  rclxub.gif dilemma... I still have 700k KF stuck in my acc  sweat.gif
If you think you able to utilise all then why not? But I can't convert I've too many expiring miles now....
msa9696
post Nov 17 2020, 06:34 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(whyip1988 @ Nov 17 2020, 02:58 PM)
if cannot fully utilize ur miles to travel , then u can exhcange all of ur miles at krisshop , i think worth around $14+k sgd
So high? Anyway, still don't think worth the 15% if chances are he will end up using at krisshop, maybe can transfer half of it to be safe....

QUOTE(deric88 @ Nov 17 2020, 04:05 PM)
Be careful when using any Maybank card for foreign transactions, including VISA:

https://www.maybank2u.com.my/iwov-resources...d_Agreement.pdf

1. All conversion is converted to US dollar first. I thought this was for Amex only. Turns out it applies for other cards as well
2. The VISA or Master conversion charge is 1.25% and not 1%. So it's a total of 2.25%. Their PDS and fee structure on the website is not updated. Still shows 1% for Visa and Master.

Been tracking my usage and I've been getting a charge of 2.5% to 2.9% when comparing it to XE rates. As a comparison, BigPay comparison in XE is about 0.3%. Looks like whatever treatpoints or miles also not worth the extra charge.
Depends on how much you value the miles, I'll still use it compared to BigPay
msa9696
post Nov 17 2020, 08:39 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Nov 17 2020, 06:40 PM)
Half lo, can finish one la, once the borders open, just go and travel more, can easily finish the miles, trap in malaysia for too long alr, I also got 650k KF but will still convert some
I'm quite concerned actually once border open the demand will be so high that it will be so much tougher to redeem tickets
msa9696
post Nov 26 2020, 10:26 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Nov 26 2020, 08:57 PM)
I just tried my luck with a tiny CL increase today (RM6k only haha) and was surprised to get it approved!

1. Submitted via M2U
2. Uploaded payslip and tax return
3. Received notification immediately that the applicaiton was approved in principle
4. About 3 hours later, got an SMS saying it was approved
5. Checked on M2U and new CL already updated

I wish I had applied for more, but I've had CL applications rejected by MBB in the past so was just playing it safe. Its taken me 10 years of frequent requests to get to the level I'm currently at.

Does anyone know what happens if, say, I apply for a big increase - will MBB approve a lower amount, or reject the whole thing?
They will approve a lower amount, will not reject all, at least in my case, happened twice.
So feel free to go all in
msa9696
post Dec 3 2020, 10:25 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 3 2020, 01:19 PM)
Honestly, Citi PM is not a stupid card. smile.gif It is useful as well as it gives points for all types of transactions, unlike Maybank with some exclusions. I think some of us have this card to on top of M2P.

You need to be careful with business expenditures, my friend just received a love letter from Maybank recently and before that he received a call from Maybank about his unusually high spending, they suspected he spent it for business. So, he is warned and cannot use for business anymore. He was lucky that his points were not revoked, previously one person appeared in news got her points partially revoked.
QUOTE(peigeng @ Dec 3 2020, 02:16 PM)
This is millions of spending a month of course will triggered by maybank.i am just curious how much fruitie`s friend is spending a month?
There were quite many got forfeited for business spending, not only the one made known due to the court cases. I believe business or not doesn't depend on how much you spend per month but rather a variety of factors
msa9696
post Dec 22 2020, 04:18 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(real55555 @ Dec 22 2020, 02:44 PM)
Correct also la but if you redeemed mean you got no choice already, plus no foreseeable travel plans. But if you haven't redeem, the choice is yours until maybank announce they are going to devalue their treat points or until your points expire.
IMO you have 3 years expiry in miles, to be conservative say you forgo year 2021. You still have 2 years to travel, or worst case, 2023 to use up the miles. So it really depends if you're stucked with lots of miles or not.

For me, I'm not redeeming, as I'm stucked with too many miles now which is very difficult to utilise, despite I do have some Maybank TP expiring in the next 6-7 months
msa9696
post Dec 23 2020, 01:59 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(charlesj @ Dec 23 2020, 01:31 PM)
Redeem your expiring TP to AM
You lose nothing (or minimal if AM devalue)
Ya thinking about that since AM award 10% soon, still prefer KF but obviously not applicable to me now, but for those who might be able to utilise it within the next 3 years, KF really a good choice, moreover I think this is the first time they have 15% extra
msa9696
post Jan 12 2021, 10:29 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 12 2021, 03:35 PM)
I have around 20k miles expiring within the next few months... hopefully KF are willing to extend them again like last year if not i would have to redeem some stuffs from their KF shop.
I've been writing to them constantly to appeal and also ask them to consider AM no expiry policy.
Maybe everyone here should write in and pressure them.

I believe many like me will face this issue, where our original miles expiry are spread through 3 years, but because of miles starting expiring and the extension (which is good), now all those extended miles of different expiry date now all start expiring on the same month.
msa9696
post Jan 13 2021, 11:38 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 12 2021, 11:11 PM)
Did they respond to your email requests?

Btw,
In view of to the Covid-19 outbreak, KrisFlyer miles expiring between April and December 2020 will be extended by six months and will be valid till October 2020 and June 2021 respectively. KrisFlyer miles expiring between January and June 2021 will be extended by six months and will be valid till July and December 2021 respectively.

They extended my miles from Dec 20 to June 21. Does the extended miles which expires on June 21 falls under their latest Jan-June 21 extension as well even though they already extended it once?
They said will forward my suggestion to the management, since they're still extending the miles for free now I really hope when they decided not to do so, they will be more flexible. At least maybe charge lower fees and allow unlimited extension.

My miles have been extended at least 2-3 times since early last year.
msa9696
post Jan 26 2021, 11:48 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Jan 26 2021, 11:43 PM)
I prefer to view it more positively... Whatever the match outcome you win something, unless its a draw.
Haha this is very true, I used to place a small bet against my team previously, of course always hoping my favourite team wins.
If it lost, I'm still left with some consolation prizes haha
msa9696
post Mar 5 2021, 04:13 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Mar 5 2021, 09:55 AM)
I had the same experience as you just last month. But mine was only USD0.17. Just called the CS and cancelled my card on the spot.

Dont worry, mostly if you informed them immediately, you wont have to bear that charge.
I had a fraud where I didn't receive any sms/notification despite already setting the notification to min amount (think it's RM 1).
Only noticed when the statement arrived, no issue of getting it waived.

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.2998sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:59 PM