712 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Maybank 2 Cards Premier V2, Fastest Air Miles Conversion

alextan333
post Feb 7 2017, 03:46 PM

123 posts

Does Visa or Amex have better foreign conversion rate?
I tried purchasing 1 AUD on both Visa and AMEX.
Date posted: 6 Feb
Visa: RM3.49
Amex: RM3.49

Could of weeks before, I made a purchase and using AMEX is more expensive.

On genxyz blogspot, his review is AMEX is cheaper
JC_jun
post Feb 8 2017, 04:59 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(alextan333 @ Feb 7 2017, 03:46 PM)
Does Visa or Amex have better foreign conversion rate?
I tried purchasing 1 AUD on both Visa and AMEX.
Date posted: 6 Feb
Visa: RM3.49
Amex: RM3.49

Could of weeks before, I made a purchase and using AMEX is more expensive.

On genxyz blogspot, his review is AMEX is cheaper
the rate is changing almost every hour

i have been to europe few trip, and every trip i try to use amex and visa the same day, most of the time visa better rate, only once a while amex posted better rate..
CAFE21
post Feb 9 2017, 03:18 PM

852 posts

Mostly visa got better rate than amex from my past transaction in pound. Since both also 5x points I refrain from using amex. The diff could be quite substantial.
Ramjade
post Feb 12 2017, 11:05 AM

24,346 posts

Does using this card at UOB Pay online counted as online transaction/utilities?
cybpsych
post Feb 12 2017, 11:13 AM

---------------------
65,295 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2017, 11:05 AM)
what benefits are u thinking?
Ramjade
post Feb 12 2017, 11:18 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Feb 12 2017, 11:13 AM)
what benefits are u thinking?
Use this card for all bill payment. (think of it as a sub for UOB YOLO, CIMB CB - all online card).
Petrol wise use normal cash back cards (as it don't earned you 5x points)

If it's counted as online transaction then it will give 5x the points instead of just 1 for bill payments.
cybpsych
post Feb 12 2017, 11:52 AM

---------------------
65,295 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2017, 11:18 AM)
Use this card for all bill payment. (think of it as a sub  for UOB YOLO, CIMB CB - all online card).
Petrol wise use normal cash back cards (as it don't earned you 5x points)

If it's counted as online transaction then it will give 5x the points instead of just 1 for bill payments.
this card would be overkill for u just to pay bills online to get points.

might as well get pbb vs instead for direct 6% online/grocery/dining cashback.
Ramjade
post Feb 12 2017, 11:54 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Feb 12 2017, 11:52 AM)
this card would be overkill for u just to pay bills online to get points.

might as well get pbb vs instead for direct 6% online/grocery/dining cashback.
I am looking to earn miles point and RM800/year should be ok.
cybpsych
post Feb 12 2017, 11:59 AM

---------------------
65,295 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2017, 11:54 AM)
should've said this earlier cuz u were comparing with uob yolo and CIMB cr for online cashback.

depends on ur bill. if it's under 1x tp/exclusion categories, the rest would be 5x.

iinm, using 3rd party merchants to pay utilities would still be tagged as utilities.
raist86
post Feb 12 2017, 09:15 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2017, 11:54 AM)
If you need to pay RM 800 a year on the AF then the card is not for you. The miles you earn for spending less than the free AF qualification is not worth the RM 800 you need to pay. Go for other free for life VI or WMC such as ambank if you want to collect miles. It also comes with unlimited PPL access.

If you're gonna use it for utilities or petrol, i'd suggest an alternative which is the MBB Krisflyer Gold Card. AF is lower and chances are if your spending is high on the card, you can call in to get a waiver.

This post has been edited by raist86: Feb 12 2017, 09:18 PM
herc
post Feb 13 2017, 03:04 PM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2017, 11:05 AM)
UOB Payonline does not accept Amex anyway.
Ramjade
post Feb 13 2017, 03:05 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(herc @ Feb 13 2017, 03:04 PM)
UOB Payonline does not accept Amex anyway.
But can use VI and still earn 5x points right?
herc
post Feb 13 2017, 03:08 PM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 13 2017, 03:05 PM)
But can use VI and still earn 5x points right?
local spend for VI earn only 2x or 1x if utilities, petrol, education, EzyPay or insurance transactions
CSS
post Feb 18 2017, 12:26 AM

475 posts

Is this still considered the best credit card for airmiles collection with rm1/mile for Amex, rm2.5/mile with VI locally and rm1/mile for VI oversea?

Have been looking at citi premiermiles, some good perks such as free taxi return + unlimited lounge but rm4.5/mile locally and rm2.25/mile oversea is bad... Heard CIMB Enrich WMC AF can't be waived although rm3/mile locally and rm1.5/mile oversea... Some free ones like Ambank WMC/VI but only good for oversea spend rm1/mile, locally rm5/mile... All lacking a bit here and there...

Any tips or am I missing something?

bearbear
post Feb 18 2017, 12:30 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

m2premier is as good as you will get

some people reported ambank has very good foreign exchange rate. Plus for oversea the pts reward is close to M2Premier and the lounge access is brilliant, I dont mind to give them some business.

citibank PM you should really utilize for the free taxi only, reward pt is too little.
aspartame
post Feb 18 2017, 07:15 AM

3,165 posts

What's the free taxi return Citibank card? First time hear of it.
kit615
post Feb 18 2017, 09:52 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Feb 18 2017, 07:15 AM)
What's the free taxi return Citibank card? First time hear of it.
You get a free taxi home when you use your card for any amount, 3 times oversea (with the cc slip), only applicable at KLIA, and unlimited PPL access, but does not apply to PPL at KLIA2 which is a bit strange....

I find MACH Signature by Hong Leong is great to supplement M2P, as you still get miles for TNB / Insurance at RM3/mile, downside is they only credit Enrich miles
bearbear
post Feb 18 2017, 10:09 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(kit615 @ Feb 18 2017, 09:52 AM)
You get a free taxi home when you use your card for any amount, 3 times oversea (with the cc slip), only applicable at KLIA, and unlimited PPL access, but does not apply to PPL at KLIA2 which is a bit strange....

I find MACH Signature by Hong Leong is great to supplement M2P, as you still get miles for TNB / Insurance at RM3/mile, downside is they only credit Enrich miles
Agree.

If you dont mind Krisflyer then the SIA Krisflyer Gold Amex make sense too, RM2 = 1 mile.

downside, it is an amex and miles are automatically credited to your KF acc every month.

if you spend >60k per annum on it, it is literately RM 1 = 1 mile as there is a tier based bonus
CSS
post Feb 18 2017, 11:48 AM

475 posts

How's the AF waiver-bility of this card? Usual requests will be granted? Some banks are darn strict.

kelvintt
post Feb 18 2017, 06:26 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(CSS @ Feb 18 2017, 11:48 AM)
How's the AF waiver-bility of this card? Usual requests will be granted? Some banks are darn strict.
It's strict. What I understand so far is no one is able to get waiver with <80k spending.

This post has been edited by kelvintt: Feb 18 2017, 06:27 PM

712 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:26 AM