Photography [WTA] What went wrong with my photo, Pls help

TSkb2005
post Dec 29 2006, 10:03 PM, updated 19y ago

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

I took some pictures at night during my business trip last month using Canon 850IS. No matter what setting i used (scene mode, auto, manual with ISO from 80 up to 1600), i found out my picture have some white big spots. May i know what is the problem. What setting i need to use at night ? It only happen when i take night photo. For your info, my camera lens is clean, so it can not be contamination. Pls help as i'm a beginner in photography notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by kb2005: Dec 29 2006, 10:04 PM

R a D ! c 4 L
post Dec 29 2006, 10:09 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

Dirt... dust... alot of them! o_O
TSkb2005
post Dec 29 2006, 10:11 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

It is not dust. As i mentioned, the lens is clean and free from any contam.
R a D ! c 4 L
post Dec 29 2006, 10:24 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

Hmmm, another possibility is ambient lights from all around your environment when you're taking the shot. Just a wild guess though
TSkb2005
post Dec 30 2006, 12:22 AM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

Anymore idea what's going on ?
d_scientist
post Dec 30 2006, 01:06 AM

248 posts

its cold in CHINA rite now correct? did u shoot outside, then bring in ur camera into the hotel, shoot again... then go outside and shoot again?
if tht is the case i think there might be...... water inside ur camera de...

jus a wild guess
darkimp
post Dec 30 2006, 01:13 AM

363 posts

i think it is just dust....no on your camera lens. is on the sensor kua.. i guess
gold3knight
post Dec 30 2006, 01:21 AM

1,672 posts

should be condensation on the lens. before you shoot, just wipe the lens.
jrhew
post Dec 30 2006, 06:36 AM

it looks like some dried water spots on your lens. when light shines on it, u can see them reflecting.
hmm.gif
greyPJ
post Dec 30 2006, 08:30 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

What is condensation?
When it is cold outside, the water vapour in the air is rapidly cooled and turns to droplets of water. Condensation occurs when the camera is suddenly taken from the cold air into a warm room.

To prevent condensation
When taking the camera suddenly from a cold to a warm place, place it in a plastic bag and make the bag as airtight as possible. Leave the camera for approximately one hour until the camera adjusts to the temperature difference.

http://www.olympus.co.uk/consumer/208_1052.htm
LanEvoX
post Dec 30 2006, 09:06 AM

6 stars only...meh...
1,452 posts

if u took the shot with flash, tat is a reflection from the dust around u. Nv shoot with flash if u are shooting public road....
vladimir
post Dec 30 2006, 09:10 AM

MYHYPERSTORE ONLINE TRADER
639 posts

double check any dirt or liquid on ur lens? i oso kena this before when i take pic in BUKIT JALIL event. i wiped it and its back to normal d.
chucky
post Dec 30 2006, 09:16 AM

Urang Sabah
1,072 posts

It loks like an outbreak of BlurFO. Go to here to check it out:
http://www.rense.com/general49/blurfo.htm
TSkb2005
post Dec 30 2006, 08:31 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

I only see this problem when i tried to take night scene photo. Day time photo do not face the problem. Is it because of condensation ?
greyPJ
post Dec 30 2006, 08:42 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

now still have? or only when in foreign country?
SUSceo684
post Dec 30 2006, 08:57 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

lens flare?
TSkb2005
post Dec 30 2006, 09:16 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Dec 30 2006, 08:42 PM)
now still have? or only when in foreign country?
Yes, i tried a just now (5 mins ago) at home, the white spot still there. I don't think it is contamination or dirty lens as the location of the spot is in random position every time i take the night scene pic. I can see more white spot if i'm using ISO 800 and 1600. Can you try to take night scene pic using manual mode with ISO setting 800 or 1600 ? I hope it is not camera defect as i just took close too 250pics in Gurney Plaza using manual and indoor mode without problem.
donnyyeo
post Dec 30 2006, 09:16 PM

583 posts

LanEvoX is right.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orb_%28paranormal%29

Flash orb is caused by light relecting off dust/pollen/droplet nearby the flash and lens.

Fyi, flash orb can happen during bright outdoors too. However, they are not so obvious. My colleague manage to point out some flash orbs in my daylight photos.

Flash orb occurs more frequently for small point and shoot cameras. It is because the flash unit is too near the lens. For a dLSR with a external flash unit, flash orb does not happen frequently.

How to avoid it?
Make sure it is not misty or raining
Shot many photos.
Move to a less dusty position.

Turn off the flash for night landscape photography (the flash is of no use here)

This post has been edited by donnyyeo: Dec 30 2006, 09:30 PM
greyPJ
post Dec 30 2006, 09:29 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Dec 30 2006, 09:16 PM)
Yes, i tried a just now (5 mins ago) at home, the white spot still there. I don't think it is contamination or dirty lens as the location of the spot is in random position every time i take the night scene pic. I can see more white spot if i'm using ISO 800 and 1600. Can you try to take night scene pic using manual mode with ISO setting 800 or 1600 ? I hope it is not camera defect as i just took close too 250pics in Gurney Plaza using manual and indoor mode without problem.
i just tried with my lumix, also got orb wor, so confirmed it is Flash orb, not defect.

TSkb2005
post Dec 30 2006, 09:36 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Dec 30 2006, 09:29 PM)
i just tried with my lumix, also got orb wor, so confirmed it is Flash orb, not defect.
What was your setting ? The spot was less in your photo. I think you will get more with higher ISO and with flash on. Can you confirm again ? Thanks for your support notworthy.gif

0.0221sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:01 AM