The New Maxis OnePlan, Announced 11/3/2016
Mar 13 2016, 03:49 PM, updated 10y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
32,468 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Mar 14 2016, 10:37 AM
208 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
Why no unlimited data package yet?
Mar 14 2016, 10:42 AM
Mar 14 2016, 11:18 AM
452 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
So, if I'm in peninsular, but i want to subscribe to this plan, all I need to do is to get somebody's address (relatives or friends) in Sabah/Sarawak to be used for registration...
Am i right? |
Mar 14 2016, 11:20 AM
Mar 14 2016, 11:35 AM
128 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Mar 14 2016, 11:39 AM
Mar 14 2016, 12:00 PM
128 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Mar 14 2016, 01:02 PM
737 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
I think unlimited data only apply at Taiwan only.Singapore and hong kong also didn't have unlimited data.
Mar 14 2016, 02:12 PM
644 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Mar 14 2016, 02:12 PM
416 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(sonic_sphere @ Mar 14 2016, 11:18 AM) So, if I'm in peninsular, but i want to subscribe to this plan, all I need to do is to get somebody's address (relatives or friends) in Sabah/Sarawak to be used for registration... No, you are wrong Am i right? For Maxis One Plan East Malaysia (Sabah & Sarawak) 1) You will need to be resident at East Malaysia with billing address over there 2) You will need to walk-in to Maxis center only at Sabah or Sarawak for the registration 3) The usage must be at Sabah or Sarawak only. If there trigger the usage all the while is at West Malaysia, your plan will auto change to Maxis One Plan West Malaysia 4) The Unlimited data 1am to 7am only can be utilize at Sabah or Sarawak I have clarify everything with Maxis staff since the first day they launch this plan |
Mar 14 2016, 02:18 PM
644 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(ckyow1 @ Mar 14 2016, 02:12 PM) No, you are wrong for no3, so i forever cannot go to west malaysia. So if i need to go to west malaysia for travel / business purpose, i have to get a new simcard there. For Maxis One Plan East Malaysia (Sabah & Sarawak) 1) You will need to be resident at East Malaysia with billing address over there 2) You will need to walk-in to Maxis center only at Sabah or Sarawak for the registration 3) The usage must be at Sabah or Sarawak only. If there trigger the usage all the while is at West Malaysia, your plan will auto change to Maxis One Plan West Malaysia 4) The Unlimited data 1am to 7am only can be utilize at Sabah or Sarawak I have clarify everything with Maxis staff since the first day they launch this plan |
Mar 14 2016, 02:20 PM
192 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Megalopolis |
Mar 14 2016, 02:29 PM
316 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
Maxis does offer unlimited calls to everywhere locally. But why no unlimited data? Because nobody talks now, everyone wanna post on insta, wanna flirt on Tinder, wanna chat on whatsapp, wanna browse lowyat.net so unlimited data will be a wrong move for them
Mar 14 2016, 02:41 PM
14,908 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Maxis Apa kebodohan ini?
Di mana keadilan untuk rakyat Semenanjung? |
Mar 14 2016, 02:54 PM
27 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Land Below The Wind |
In Sabah. Walked in to maxis center yesterday and was told the rm68/5gb is only for new customers. If for existing customers it is rm68/1gb only. Extremely disappointed with how Maxis is treating existing customers!!!
Mar 14 2016, 03:05 PM
12,089 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Malaysia |
While I really want to be back on Maxis' network, the plans are just priced too expensive compared to the rest.
Mar 14 2016, 03:22 PM
340 posts Joined: Jun 2012 From: ~Negara Bawah Bayu~ |
i want to change mu current telco digi to maxis... is it gooding dude?
Mar 14 2016, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(OKLY @ Mar 14 2016, 03:05 PM) While I really want to be back on Maxis' network, the plans are just priced too expensive compared to the rest. I'm regretting the fact that I just signed for the 6S Plus plan few months back... Tied to a two year contract now... All I can do is rant... Hopefully those lucky ones with no contract and threatened to port out really do so... |
Mar 14 2016, 03:41 PM
Mar 14 2016, 03:48 PM
386 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(attw @ Mar 14 2016, 03:41 PM) I used to tell people choose telco with best coverage for you, now I'll say choose a telco that doesn't practice discrimination and double standards. yeap go with Celcom First ... unfortunately i cant port out because of the iphone6 plan.. In other words, not maxis. the maxis one plan is a scam... |
Mar 14 2016, 03:51 PM
Mar 14 2016, 04:28 PM
528 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
going to port out soon unless they change the oneplan to be competitive like other telcos
seriously bs man |
Mar 14 2016, 04:35 PM
Mar 14 2016, 04:38 PM
5,957 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: www.bitching.asia |
Mar 14 2016, 04:39 PM
134 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
We West Malohsia become no important customer ...
MAXIS "Joker" lah u .... Who come out this kind of plan is the "SMARTER" ever How come can approve such plan which not include west MY ... Plan plah properly ... U will lost lots of customer which include me ... and all my subline |
Mar 14 2016, 04:46 PM
397 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: On the top of the world |
those who want to port out to celcom come to me....
kehkehkeh |
Mar 14 2016, 04:48 PM
Mar 14 2016, 04:59 PM
397 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: On the top of the world |
Mar 14 2016, 07:56 PM
Mar 14 2016, 08:08 PM
487 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Mar 14 2016, 08:23 PM
417 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(attw @ Mar 14 2016, 03:41 PM) I used to tell people choose telco with best coverage for you, now I'll say choose a telco that doesn't practice discrimination and double standards. There are alot of things double standard, everything sold in Sabah/Sarawak is more expensive than WM. Do they have a choice? I would say Maxis did the right thing by taking care of the minority. Unlike something protek pretek the majority.In other words, not maxis. |
Mar 14 2016, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(more69 @ Mar 14 2016, 08:23 PM) There are alot of things double standard, everything sold in Sabah/Sarawak is more expensive than WM. Do they have a choice? I would say Maxis did the right thing by taking care of the minority. Unlike something protek pretek the majority. Things sold in East Malaysia sometimes cost more due to transportation and logistics. That said, I was in KK last week and had the privilege of visiting one of the newer malls and noticed that the price of most goods are already the same as in Peninsular Malaysia. It's not about protecting the minority or the majority, is about having two different prices for the same product when there is absolutely no reason to. |
Mar 14 2016, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Mar 14 2016, 08:46 PM) Things sold in East Malaysia sometimes cost more due to transportation and logistics. That said, I was in KK last week and had the privilege of visiting one of the newer malls and noticed that the price of most goods are already the same as in Peninsular Malaysia. It's not about protecting the minority or the majority, is about having two different prices for the same product when there is absolutely no reason to. u got the facts right. can u tell me why 95% of the groceries in supermarket have 2 different prices imprinted on their packaging? did u ever seen other country like china price in Beijing & in Butan is imprinted 2 different numbers on their packaging? Taiwan?Maxis also doing the same thing wat? just the number different |
Mar 14 2016, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(more69 @ Mar 14 2016, 08:52 PM) u got the facts right. can u tell me why 95% of the groceries in supermarket have 2 different prices imprinted on their packaging? did u ever seen other country like china price in Beijing & in Butan is imprinted 2 different numbers on their packaging? Taiwan? Out of curiosity, are you an East Malaysian or a maxis staff? Either way, it's about a telecommunication service, not a physical or grocery product. That said, you are entitled to your opinion. Cheers.Maxis also doing the same thing wat? just the number different This post has been edited by attw: Mar 14 2016, 08:58 PM |
Mar 14 2016, 10:07 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,368 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
Been using maxis for years however maxis network is not promised as stated in the statement, ported out all postpaid to other telco.
Mar 14 2016, 10:33 PM
416 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(hensky @ Mar 14 2016, 02:18 PM) for no3, so i forever cannot go to west malaysia. So if i need to go to west malaysia for travel / business purpose, i have to get a new simcard there. Nope, it is stated in the T&C, they will check the usage on quarter basis (3 months) and 75% of the usage will need to be at Sabah/Sarawak only. So if you are referring to travel to West Malaysia for 1-2 weeks. No problem for it. |
Mar 15 2016, 02:51 AM
QUOTE(attw @ Mar 14 2016, 08:46 PM) Things sold in East Malaysia sometimes cost more due to transportation and logistics. That said, I was in KK last week and had the privilege of visiting one of the newer malls and noticed that the price of most goods are already the same as in Peninsular Malaysia. It's not about protecting the minority or the majority, is about having two different prices for the same product when there is absolutely no reason to. Actually, there is an underlying reason to it. Have to look at EM and WM as two different market segments and hence, a different marketing strategy is required to makan a larger market share. Its quite the same everywhere to be honest. Banks offer better FD rates to new customers versus old customers. Happy hour at your local pub. QUOTE(more69 @ Mar 14 2016, 08:52 PM) u got the facts right. can u tell me why 95% of the groceries in supermarket have 2 different prices imprinted on their packaging? did u ever seen other country like china price in Beijing & in Butan is imprinted 2 different numbers on their packaging? Taiwan? Bro, Sabah and Sarawak are on an island. Fresh produce has to be air-flown in. Who will bear the cost of shipping the goods from WM to EM? If business absorb, then might as well not do business anymore right? The margin has to be decent enough otherwise it won't make sense to sell in EM right? Even if you start a farm/factory in EM, they will still need to fly it around. EM is so big! Hope this clarifies!Maxis also doing the same thing wat? just the number different This post has been edited by ragecat: Mar 15 2016, 02:52 AM |
Mar 15 2016, 03:09 AM
1,793 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: UC Berkeley |
QUOTE(Xander-G @ Mar 14 2016, 02:29 PM) Maxis does offer unlimited calls to everywhere locally. But why no unlimited data? Because nobody talks now, everyone wanna post on insta, wanna flirt on Tinder, wanna chat on whatsapp, wanna browse lowyat.net so unlimited data will be a wrong move for them high demand, low supply = higher price.supplier wins |
Mar 15 2016, 05:41 AM
QUOTE(ragecat @ Mar 15 2016, 02:51 AM) Actually, there is an underlying reason to it. Have to look at EM and WM as two different market segments and hence, a different marketing strategy is required to makan a larger market share. Its quite the same everywhere to be honest. Banks offer better FD rates to new customers versus old customers. Happy hour at your local pub. Why cigarette selling same price in EM and WM? They should tapao long time ago? Or should u tell me cigarettes is lighter in weight, so free on board on vessel, no transportation cost involveBro, Sabah and Sarawak are on an island. Fresh produce has to be air-flown in. Who will bear the cost of shipping the goods from WM to EM? If business absorb, then might as well not do business anymore right? The margin has to be decent enough otherwise it won't make sense to sell in EM right? Even if you start a farm/factory in EM, they will still need to fly it around. EM is so big! Hope this clarifies! |
Mar 15 2016, 07:28 AM
QUOTE(ragecat @ Mar 15 2016, 02:51 AM) Actually, there is an underlying reason to it. Have to look at EM and WM as two different market segments and hence, a different marketing strategy is required to makan a larger market share. Its quite the same everywhere to be honest. Banks offer better FD rates to new customers versus old customers. Happy hour at your local pub. I agree that you need different marketing strategy for different market segments but when your strategy alienates millions of your other existing customers then it becomes a problem. |
Mar 15 2016, 08:18 AM
918 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Mar 15 2016, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(attw @ Mar 15 2016, 07:28 AM) I agree that you need different marketing strategy for different market segments but when your strategy alienates millions of your other existing customers then it becomes a problem. Maybe it is a little naive of me to think otherwise lah. Majority of customers probably won't be bothered to change. A handful will but at the end of the day, I'm pretty sure Maxis would have done their marketing research and decided they have more to gain than to lose. Having said that, the increased competition should benefit all consumers. From what I have been reading, with the reassignment of spectrum, Maxis should suffer a drop in coverage and will have to increase CAPEX should they want to maintain existing coverage. The next few months will be interesting! QUOTE(xzilem @ Mar 15 2016, 08:18 AM) Please don't feed the troll. |
Mar 15 2016, 10:08 AM
94 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Damansara |
QUOTE(eiralin @ Mar 14 2016, 02:54 PM) In Sabah. Walked in to maxis center yesterday and was told the rm68/5gb is only for new customers. If for existing customers it is rm68/1gb only. Extremely disappointed with how Maxis is treating existing customers!!! I try to change my plan ivalue simple to maxis one 68 at Maxis Center Kuching. Done succesfully. 4GB promo data + 1GB data plan + 1GB (1-7am) + unlimited call & sms. |
Mar 15 2016, 12:59 PM
Mar 15 2016, 01:31 PM
340 posts Joined: Jun 2012 From: ~Negara Bawah Bayu~ |
QUOTE(attw @ Mar 14 2016, 03:41 PM) I used to tell people choose telco with best coverage for you, now I'll say choose a telco that doesn't practice discrimination and double standards. maxis got hidden fee ka? now got sabah and sarawak plan ...68 myr unlimited call and ada burung antu 5gb data untuk siang hari. coverage in my area is 4g. cuma takut if maxis got faking hidden feeIn other words, not maxis. |
Mar 15 2016, 01:37 PM
94 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Damansara |
QUOTE(attw @ Mar 15 2016, 12:59 PM) As per info given by SA at Maxis Center Kuching, 4GB (Sabah & Sarawak Only) , 1GB (if travel to Semenanjung) 1GB (Burung Hantu 1-7am in S&S only).As my understanding. This plan called Maxis One Plan 68 1GB Data. If u have billing address in Sabah/Sarawak, can get promo 4GB extra + 1024GB (1-7am). Im predict later maxis will introduce this plan to Semenajung but only 1GB data with unlimited call and might have the burung hantu (1-7am) also This post has been edited by intanardy: Mar 15 2016, 10:00 PM |
Mar 15 2016, 01:43 PM
427 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Mar 15 2016, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(intanardy @ Mar 15 2016, 01:37 PM) As per info given by SA at Maxis Center Kuching, 4GB (Sabah & Sarawak Only) , 1GB (if travel to Semenanjung) 1GB (Burung Hantu 1-7am in S&S only). They can take their precious 1GB and stick it where the sun don't shine.As my understanding. This plan called Maxis One Plan 68 1GB Data. If u have billing address in Sabah/Sarawak, can get promo 4GB extra + 1GB (1-7am). Im sure later maxis will introduce this plan to Semenajung but only 1GB data with unlimited call and might have the burung hantu (1-7am that not truly unlimited) , haha |
Mar 15 2016, 11:33 PM
4,622 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
maybe Maxis CEO is from East Malaysia
Mar 16 2016, 07:12 AM
QUOTE(vez @ Mar 15 2016, 11:33 PM) Ha ha ha, no la bro, he's a Kwai Lo...https://www.maxis.com.my/en/about-maxis/our...ten-lundal.html |
Mar 16 2016, 01:29 PM
Mar 16 2016, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Mar 16 2016, 01:29 PM) Hopefully unlimited data package coming soon!? I just got a 6 month free 2gb data upgrade on my Maxis128 line. |
Mar 16 2016, 03:59 PM
12,089 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE What does Unlimited Social Chat mean? This means you will still be able to use any and all Social Chat apps, even after you have used up your high-speed quota. However, do note that the speed of sending or receiving images and videos through your Social Chat apps may be affected during these instances. I was reading this on the FAQ for Maxis OnePlan. Curious as to why they emphasized on unlimited social chat. Once quota is finished, there's no free basic internet at throttled speeds? |
Mar 16 2016, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(OKLY @ Mar 16 2016, 03:59 PM) I was reading this on the FAQ for Maxis OnePlan. Curious as to why they emphasized on unlimited social chat. Once quota is finished, there's no free basic internet at throttled speeds? Theres the basic internet at 10kb/s. Pretty much impossible to do anything except chat. |
Mar 16 2016, 05:13 PM
906 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
Mar 17 2016, 01:32 AM
Mar 17 2016, 06:35 AM
Mar 17 2016, 01:04 PM
Mar 20 2016, 01:56 AM
240 posts Joined: Oct 2015 |
Change to Celcom, must better coverage and plan
Mar 20 2016, 08:02 AM
QUOTE(Yippie123 @ Mar 20 2016, 01:56 AM) Ya, the First Gold 80 is really picking up now. Anyways, I'm glad those people on expensive plans with maxis are either porting out or receiving calls to get maxis' special offer. I'm on contract but I calculated the penalty I would pay for terminating my contract I will probably make back in terms of savings for the same duration, so I have until month end to make my decision as Celcom's offer is until then. |
Apr 3 2016, 04:31 PM
31 posts Joined: Jul 2014 |
Any word if Maxis allows torrent during their burung hantu (1AM-7AM) period? anyone experience any slow speeds?
Apr 3 2016, 08:15 PM
918 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(bmxexx @ Apr 3 2016, 04:31 PM) Any word if Maxis allows torrent during their burung hantu (1AM-7AM) period? anyone experience any slow speeds? I don't know about maxis em burung hantu but currently I'm using hotlink ec/em burung hantu. I try to download something above 100mb in 4G, as soon as it hit around 100mb+ the line change to H+. When i paused the download, the line automatically change to 4G. It continue the cycle if i continue to download (change from 4G to H+ after hit unknown quota.) I don't think it's because of unstable line, because my home always show 4G full bar. Maybe maxis limit the speed when download reach certain quota? Anyway H+ speed still acceptable, but hotlink burung hantu can't torrent. |
Apr 4 2016, 12:14 AM
181 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Apr 4 2016, 12:19 AM
48,433 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
![]() |
Apr 4 2016, 08:22 AM
Now got so many variations of their "secret offer" plans...
RM68 for 5GB data, unlimited calls and SMS RM78 for 5GB data, unlimited calls and SMS RM88 for 7GB data, unlimited calls and SMS RM98 for 5GB data, unlimited calls and SMS RM128 for 7GB data, unlimited calls and SMS (minus RM10 per month rebate) RM158 for 7GB data, unlimited calls and SMS RM158 for 10GB data, unlimited calls and SMS So confusing... Anybody else got some other offer outside what I have mentioned here? This post has been edited by attw: Apr 4 2016, 08:27 AM |
Apr 4 2016, 08:38 AM
1,691 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
It would seemed if not a coincidence that all this promo came up after one of their key contributor/strategist to Maxis, left to open his own distributorship with Digi doing prepaid biz....
anyway, good luck |
Apr 4 2016, 09:53 AM
1,081 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(attw @ Apr 4 2016, 08:22 AM) Now got so many variations of their "secret offer" plans... RM68 for 5GB data, unlimited calls and SMS[SIZE=7] - i noticed ppl who MNP got this offerRM68 for 5GB data, unlimited calls and SMS RM78 for 5GB data, unlimited calls and SMS RM88 for 7GB data, unlimited calls and SMS RM98 for 5GB data, unlimited calls and SMS RM128 for 7GB data, unlimited calls and SMS (minus RM10 per month rebate) RM158 for 7GB data, unlimited calls and SMS RM158 for 10GB data, unlimited calls and SMS So confusing... Anybody else got some other offer outside what I have mentioned here? RM88 for 7GB data, unlimited calls and SMS[SIZE=7] - i noticed ppl who MNP got this offer RM98 for 5GB data, unlimited calls and SMS[SIZE=7] - I got this offer myself and have yet to request for MNP Conclusion, only accept offer of the first 2 - RM68 and RM88 |
Apr 4 2016, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(hitch80 @ Apr 4 2016, 09:53 AM) RM68 for 5GB data, unlimited calls and SMS[SIZE=7] - i noticed ppl who MNP got this offer Bro, what's your existing plan before the offer? Any contracts?RM88 for 7GB data, unlimited calls and SMS[SIZE=7] - i noticed ppl who MNP got this offer RM98 for 5GB data, unlimited calls and SMS[SIZE=7] - I got this offer myself and have yet to request for MNP Conclusion, only accept offer of the first 2 - RM68 and RM88 |
Apr 4 2016, 09:54 AM
eh...how come my reply got here??!!
Apr 4 2016, 09:55 AM
Apr 4 2016, 10:02 AM
Apr 4 2016, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(attw @ Apr 4 2016, 10:02 AM) Ya, most of the legacy Surfmore 50 and 75 plans are being offered without porting. Especially if you don't have an existing contract. Question is, why can't they offer the same as those who requested to port out???. Like the first 2 offers I mentioned earlierObviously they are trying to hope that customer will just simply, blindly and happily accept |
Apr 4 2016, 10:16 AM
3,076 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(hitch80 @ Apr 4 2016, 10:06 AM) Question is, why can't they offer the same as those who requested to port out???. Like the first 2 offers I mentioned earlier They want you to pay more instead of paying less.Obviously they are trying to hope that customer will just simply, blindly and happily accept |
Apr 4 2016, 11:27 AM
514 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(hitch80 @ Apr 4 2016, 09:53 AM) RM68 for 5GB data, unlimited calls and SMS[SIZE=7] - i noticed ppl who MNP got this offer I got offered RM 98 plan but with permanent RM 20 rebate so making it a RM 78 plan. Didn't threaten to port out but am a surf more 75 customer.RM88 for 7GB data, unlimited calls and SMS[SIZE=7] - i noticed ppl who MNP got this offer RM98 for 5GB data, unlimited calls and SMS[SIZE=7] - I got this offer myself and have yet to request for MNP Conclusion, only accept offer of the first 2 - RM68 and RM88 |
Apr 4 2016, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(terryfu @ Apr 4 2016, 11:27 AM) I got offered RM 98 plan but with permanent RM 20 rebate so making it a RM 78 plan. Didn't threaten to port out but am a surf more 75 customer. that's what make me believe they are trying to gather some info on which package will be acceptable by the customers WITHOUT providing the whole info.Some who knows nothing about other offers might be feeling excited bout it and feel that maxis is the best but for those who already know about offers open to others might definitely reject the them |
Apr 4 2016, 11:38 AM
12 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
QUOTE(hitch80 @ Apr 4 2016, 11:33 AM) that's what make me believe they are trying to gather some info on which package will be acceptable by the customers WITHOUT providing the whole info. Some who knows nothing about other offers might be feeling excited bout it and feel that maxis is the best but for those who already know about offers open to others might definitely reject the them |
Apr 4 2016, 11:44 AM
10,061 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Sheffield |
QUOTE(hitch80 @ Apr 4 2016, 10:06 AM) Question is, why can't they offer the same as those who requested to port out???. Like the first 2 offers I mentioned earlier trying to fish their customer to pay more, tell you alot about the company itself no?Obviously they are trying to hope that customer will just simply, blindly and happily accept I remember when this crap started you have to commit for 2 years, but free to upgrade the plan. I think it fail then they upgrade the offer to no contract commitments. |
Apr 4 2016, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(bearbear @ Apr 4 2016, 11:44 AM) trying to fish their customer to pay more, tell you alot about the company itself no? yeap u r absolutely right, they did try with 2 years contract first but failed miserably. now they are trying to do something elseI remember when this crap started you have to commit for 2 years, but free to upgrade the plan. I think it fail then they upgrade the offer to no contract commitments. |
Apr 4 2016, 12:17 PM
1,437 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: The state of 9 |
QUOTE(attw @ Mar 20 2016, 09:02 AM) Ya, the First Gold 80 is really picking up now. Anyways, I'm glad those people on expensive plans with maxis are either porting out or receiving calls to get maxis' special offer. Bro, I too checked and my penalty fine amount is more or less contra the amount of savings I get from celcom. Plus point is celcom offers more data. So I guess by end of this month, like you, I will make a decision.I'm on contract but I calculated the penalty I would pay for terminating my contract I will probably make back in terms of savings for the same duration, so I have until month end to make my decision as Celcom's offer is until then. |
Apr 4 2016, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(liverpool red @ Apr 4 2016, 12:17 PM) Bro, I too checked and my penalty fine amount is more or less contra the amount of savings I get from celcom. Plus point is celcom offers more data. So I guess by end of this month, like you, I will make a decision. Yup, best part is Celcom extended their offer to 31st May, so give maxis a few days more to announce their new plan and see, don't wanna buta buta pay them 1k plus in my case. Suggest you wait a while too, since they are feeling the heat now that it has gone viral. |
Apr 4 2016, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(liverpool red @ Apr 4 2016, 12:17 PM) Bro, I too checked and my penalty fine amount is more or less contra the amount of savings I get from celcom. Plus point is celcom offers more data. So I guess by end of this month, like you, I will make a decision. If your penalty fine is tie to the remaining contract month, I suggest you wait till May since celcom offer is until end of may. At lleast your fine amount will be lesser by a month or 2 |
Apr 4 2016, 02:19 PM
1,437 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: The state of 9 |
QUOTE(attw @ Apr 4 2016, 01:22 PM) Yup, best part is Celcom extended their offer to 31st May, so give maxis a few days more to announce their new plan and see, don't wanna buta buta pay them 1k plus in my case. Suggest you wait a while too, since they are feeling the heat now that it has gone viral. Wow bro, your penalty is 1k plus? Really have to do the math then, mine is around 480... Hence I'm not so hesitant.. Will wait till end of this month and like you said, see what happens. |
Apr 4 2016, 02:50 PM
35 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
I just sign up for maxis one plan 68 in Kuching. After read through the forum i notice few problem.
1. Maxis said unlimited internet from 1 am to 7 am but actually u only get 1G data in midnight? Is it every midnight day u get 1Gb or every month u only get 1Gb 2. What happen if i go to EM for 1 month? Will i still able to use 5Gb data and unlimited call? Or they will change my plan to maxis one 98 WM? 3. Unlimited call is it include TM fix line too? ( forgot to ask when sign up) |
Apr 4 2016, 05:26 PM
337 posts Joined: May 2006 |
My offer:
1. RM98 + 5GB + Unlimited Call and SMS (First trial from AskMaxis) 2. RM78 + 5GB + Unlimted Call and SMS (After I rejected AskMaxis there is a land line number start with 03-22xxxxxxx call me and offer me, I rejected again) 3. RM68 + 5GB + Unlimited Call and SMS + Sportify + High Speed Internet (It offered after I clicked Yes respond to port over) I ported to Celcom already because Maxis only offered this package to one of my lines which I port for all, so I really give them up especially the customer service who offer RM68 for me attitude is really ego, they thought their plan is extremely great which I do not need that. After I said please release my line, they never say any thank you or any sentence just cut off the line. They forgot I still have Home Fibre hasnt moved, I would start to move soon. |
Apr 4 2016, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(loneboy62 @ Apr 4 2016, 05:26 PM) My offer: Me too having the home fibre which I installed during their promo in 2012, rm118 only. I will have to hang to that, cheapest for 10mbps. Plus due to that promo I am getting 150 minutes to ONLY maxis number for my mobile.1. RM98 + 5GB + Unlimited Call and SMS (First trial from AskMaxis) 2. RM78 + 5GB + Unlimted Call and SMS (After I rejected AskMaxis there is a land line number start with 03-22xxxxxxx call me and offer me, I rejected again) 3. RM68 + 5GB + Unlimited Call and SMS + Sportify + High Speed Internet (It offered after I clicked Yes respond to port over) I ported to Celcom already because Maxis only offered this package to one of my lines which I port for all, so I really give them up especially the customer service who offer RM68 for me attitude is really ego, they thought their plan is extremely great which I do not need that. After I said please release my line, they never say any thank you or any sentence just cut off the line. They forgot I still have Home Fibre hasnt moved, I would start to move soon. However, I still may port my maxis to other provider soon and forfeit the 150 minutes offer as they say it cannot be transferred to my other maxis number which is the talkmore28 with pay per use data (regiatered under my name but use by someone which does not require any data and use on nokia phone only.) too bad i have to throw that 150 minutes This post has been edited by hitch80: Apr 4 2016, 08:08 PM |
Apr 4 2016, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(bleach @ Apr 4 2016, 02:50 PM) I just sign up for maxis one plan 68 in Kuching. After read through the forum i notice few problem. I'm not from EM but based on some of the feedback I gathered: -1. Maxis said unlimited internet from 1 am to 7 am but actually u only get 1G data in midnight? Is it every midnight day u get 1Gb or every month u only get 1Gb 2. What happen if i go to EM for 1 month? Will i still able to use 5Gb data and unlimited call? Or they will change my plan to maxis one 98 WM? 3. Unlimited call is it include TM fix line too? ( forgot to ask when sign up) 1. I think it's actually 1024GB, or 1TB during midnight. But I heard that there still is a FUP with regards to torrents and what not. 2. Your plan is a 1GB + 4GB, and not actually 5GB. You can use 4GB in East Malaysia but only 1GB in West Malaysia. In other words, maxis is encouraging you to get a tourist SIM card when you come to KL for data. The calls I'm guessing remain unlimited. 3. Yes |
Apr 4 2016, 11:03 PM
35 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(attw @ Apr 4 2016, 10:11 PM) I'm not from EM but based on some of the feedback I gathered: - Thx attw for the reply.1. I think it's actually 1024GB, or 1TB during midnight. But I heard that there still is a FUP with regards to torrents and what not. 2. Your plan is a 1GB + 4GB, and not actually 5GB. You can use 4GB in East Malaysia but only 1GB in West Malaysia. In other words, maxis is encouraging you to get a tourist SIM card when you come to KL for data. The calls I'm guessing remain unlimited. 3. Yes |
Apr 4 2016, 11:07 PM
1,263 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(attw @ Apr 4 2016, 12:22 PM) Yup, best part is Celcom extended their offer to 31st May, so give maxis a few days more to announce their new plan and see, don't wanna buta buta pay them 1k plus in my case. Suggest you wait a while too, since they are feeling the heat now that it has gone viral. i guess you know you can't downgrade your plan with contract. so still pretty useless when they launch new plan that you can change. |
Apr 4 2016, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(dannychen @ Apr 4 2016, 11:07 PM) i guess you know you can't downgrade your plan with contract. so still pretty useless when they launch new plan that you can change. I don't mind continuing to pay what I am paying now, but they need to give me more than the measly 3GB. In a reply to one of the posts yesterday, their head of marketing had the nerve to tell the customer you don't use up your quota anyway. Firstly their initial allocation is so stingy and their top up prices are so exorbitant it makes people budget their data usage carefully. I myself keep checking my MyMaxis app alnost daily to make sure it's within limits. Their head of marketing has since removed all her posts with regards to this matter.If I get the same sh*t as I am getting now after they announce their new plan just because I am on contract, then I will give them hell. And I believe I won't be the only one. |
Apr 4 2016, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Apr 4 2016, 11:14 PM) I don't mind continuing to pay what I am paying now, but they need to give me more than the measly 3GB. In a reply to one of the posts yesterday, their head of marketing had the nerve to tell the customer you don't use up your quota anyway. Firstly their initial allocation is so stingy and their top up prices are so exorbitant it makes people budget their data usage carefully. I myself keep checking my MyMaxis app alnost daily to make sure it's within limits. Their head of marketing has since removed all her posts with regards to this matter. if they are maintaining the same plan name with reduction of price or better features. then yes, you will be eligible for the new enhancements with same plan.otherwise, if they are going to offer new plan with new name, you can't change you plan as it is consider as downgrade if the new monthly subscription fees is lower than your current monthly subscription fees.If I get the same sh*t as I am getting now after they announce their new plan just because I am on contract, then I will give them hell. And I believe I won't be the only one. |
Apr 4 2016, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(dannychen @ Apr 4 2016, 11:20 PM) if they are maintaining the same plan name with reduction of price or better features. then yes, you will be eligible for the new enhancements with same plan.otherwise, if they are going to offer new plan with new name, you can't change you plan as it is consider as downgrade if the new monthly subscription fees is lower than your current monthly subscription fees. Yes, fully aware of this. Let's wait and see |
Apr 5 2016, 06:48 PM
1,246 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Fallen City |
QUOTE(dannychen @ Apr 4 2016, 11:20 PM) if they are maintaining the same plan name with reduction of price or better features. then yes, you will be eligible for the new enhancements with same plan.otherwise, if they are going to offer new plan with new name, you can't change you plan as it is consider as downgrade if the new monthly subscription fees is lower than your current monthly subscription fees. If cant downgrade just port out. If you are not happy with new telco, After a month or so port back and choose desire package. |
Apr 5 2016, 08:33 PM
Apr 5 2016, 10:07 PM
Apr 6 2016, 10:46 AM
3,936 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Maxis offer me 12gb data but need top up Maxis One Plan 158
Currently 128 plan i already feel expensive they still told me upgrade 158.... |
Apr 7 2016, 10:27 PM
12 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Malaysia |
Just curious to know if anyone has family value plan from Maxis and if this falls under Maxis One plan?
I thought I had a good deal with Maxis RM68 for 4GB data (limited time promo) but now finding out other telcos have better data plans like Digi 7GB data for RM78 and Celcom too makes me want to switch. Paying an extra RM10 for more data and benefits I think it's quite worth it. Right now am paying RM50 (to be part of family plan which means nothing)+ RM68 for 4GB data which I use up in 2 weeks. The more I type the more geram I feel 😡 |
Apr 11 2016, 03:55 PM
31 posts Joined: Jul 2014 |
Apr 13 2016, 10:54 AM
148 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(attw @ Mar 14 2016, 03:41 PM) I used to tell people choose telco with best coverage for you, now I'll say choose a telco that doesn't practice discrimination and double standards. You prefer no service on your phone than discrimation/double standard and what not?In other words, not maxis. That is rather odd. |
Apr 13 2016, 10:05 PM
564 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
QUOTE(attw @ Apr 4 2016, 11:14 PM) I don't mind continuing to pay what I am paying now, but they need to give me more than the measly 3GB. In a reply to one of the posts yesterday, their head of marketing had the nerve to tell the customer you don't use up your quota anyway. Firstly their initial allocation is so stingy and their top up prices are so exorbitant it makes people budget their data usage carefully. I myself keep checking my MyMaxis app alnost daily to make sure it's within limits. Their head of marketing has since removed all her posts with regards to this matter. Since you got a long contract to serve, and breaking it would cost more than 1k of penalty is a little bit not worthy even if you calculate out this would give you saving when you are with another telco. Because my point of view is, why you give away 1k + freely to maxis without them provide you anything. Except for the subsidies ip 6s. But how much is that subsidies worth? I don't feel it is worth anything close to 1k either. Stick to maxis and when the contract end, just jump ship. Just my 2 cents. Gold 80 is 5gb + 5gb .But the weekend 5gb is a bit extra coz most people don't use that much on weekend..most heavy usage is during work days.If I get the same sh*t as I am getting now after they announce their new plan just because I am on contract, then I will give them hell. And I believe I won't be the only one. |
Apr 13 2016, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(jayko @ Apr 13 2016, 10:05 PM) Since you got a long contract to serve, and breaking it would cost more than 1k of penalty is a little bit not worthy even if you calculate out this would give you saving when you are with another telco. Because my point of view is, why you give away 1k + freely to maxis without them provide you anything. Except for the subsidies ip 6s. But how much is that subsidies worth? I don't feel it is worth anything close to 1k either. Stick to maxis and when the contract end, just jump ship. Just my 2 cents. Gold 80 is 5gb + 5gb .But the weekend 5gb is a bit extra coz most people don't use that much on weekend..most heavy usage is during work days. Yup, not porting out now. Seeing out my contract at 128 for 8GB I think it's OK.. Don't mind if Celcom is cheaper... |
Apr 13 2016, 10:55 PM
564 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
QUOTE(attw @ Apr 13 2016, 10:08 PM) Yup, not porting out now. Seeing out my contract at 128 for 8GB I think it's OK.. Don't mind if Celcom is cheaper... Glad you got the ideas, that is not too bad a deal. But keep your eyes open for better deal 1 year down the road. There maybe good offers up for grab then. Lol.This post has been edited by jayko: Apr 13 2016, 10:56 PM |
Apr 13 2016, 11:12 PM
2,410 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selangor |
if i were to port out to celcom, i would lose the spotify premium for free streaming music without data quota limit!
unless celcom has the same offer or better, maybe i will consider to port out. to calculate spotify streaming, assume normal quality (96kbps) = 7.2MB/min = 432MB/hr. for just 4 hours of streaming daily, already consume 1.7GB. i cant afford that even if you give me 10GB per month. i will need 35GB minimum for streaming music daily at office of 4 hours. sometime ppl look at the GB but forgotten the freebies that came with it. This post has been edited by Netto Hikari: Apr 13 2016, 11:12 PM |
Apr 14 2016, 12:11 PM
6,447 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Apr 13 2016, 11:12 PM) if i were to port out to celcom, i would lose the spotify premium for free streaming music without data quota limit! Not much ppl stream sportifyunless celcom has the same offer or better, maybe i will consider to port out. to calculate spotify streaming, assume normal quality (96kbps) = 7.2MB/min = 432MB/hr. for just 4 hours of streaming daily, already consume 1.7GB. i cant afford that even if you give me 10GB per month. i will need 35GB minimum for streaming music daily at office of 4 hours. sometime ppl look at the GB but forgotten the freebies that came with it. |
Apr 14 2016, 01:44 PM
5,957 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: www.bitching.asia |
Apr 14 2016, 06:00 PM
Apr 19 2016, 11:48 AM
148 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Apr 14 2016, 06:00 PM) I mean coverage yes. Its pretty funny people are joining the hate bandwagon, that they lost their common sense these days. I think Maxis support and their low data quota are complete bullshit as well, but I ain't terminating because I value my money. Just keep my data consumption low until my contract end, then hopefully Maxis have competitive rate at the time, or else I am jumping ship for sure.This post has been edited by angelflames: Apr 19 2016, 11:48 AM |
Apr 19 2016, 12:41 PM
Apr 20 2016, 06:35 AM
436 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Apr 13 2016, 11:12 PM) if i were to port out to celcom, i would lose the spotify premium for free streaming music without data quota limit! I share the same sentiment. I use Spotify a lot. It would be a pity to lose it if I port out. At the same time Celcom and Digi have their own music service right? Deezer and Yonder if not mistaken. How do they compare to Spotify?unless celcom has the same offer or better, maybe i will consider to port out. to calculate spotify streaming, assume normal quality (96kbps) = 7.2MB/min = 432MB/hr. for just 4 hours of streaming daily, already consume 1.7GB. i cant afford that even if you give me 10GB per month. i will need 35GB minimum for streaming music daily at office of 4 hours. sometime ppl look at the GB but forgotten the freebies that came with it. |
Apr 20 2016, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(hellfried @ Apr 20 2016, 06:35 AM) I share the same sentiment. I use Spotify a lot. It would be a pity to lose it if I port out. At the same time Celcom and Digi have their own music service right? Deezer and Yonder if not mistaken. How do they compare to Spotify? digi has 0 data for those service but not premium service. also too many blind spots at cyberjaya(plz correct me if im wrong)celcom is yonder music, but mobile only. no desktop version. u mobile? probably just free waze data. but it has almost no 4G coverage in cyberjaya personally prefer spotify as sometime my iphone use as remote control for spotify desktop to play music |
Apr 21 2016, 05:28 PM
85 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Spotify normally will cache the file into your phone, so you are hardly finish up 15GB data. Unless you stream a brand new song each time and never repeat the songs you listened previously, you are just fine with the data.
Apr 22 2016, 09:21 AM
10,261 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
The new data allocation has been activated today. Probably in line with the new refreshed package revision to be announced later today by Maxis.
Apr 22 2016, 09:23 AM
Apr 22 2016, 10:56 AM
Apr 22 2016, 11:04 AM
Apr 22 2016, 11:06 AM
737 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Apr 22 2016, 11:09 AM
2,107 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Ondarroa |
QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Apr 20 2016, 10:21 AM) digi has 0 data for those service but not premium service. also too many blind spots at cyberjaya(plz correct me if im wrong) Digi u need to use the digi music freedom/access app, then subscribe to it to et 15GB of streaming data much like maxis. But digi is not limited to Spotify la, currently using that. But there's no free/cheaper Spotify premium subscription like maxis. celcom is yonder music, but mobile only. no desktop version. u mobile? probably just free waze data. but it has almost no 4G coverage in cyberjaya personally prefer spotify as sometime my iphone use as remote control for spotify desktop to play music Currently using maxis for my cheaper subscription and digi to stream |
Apr 22 2016, 11:09 AM
Apr 22 2016, 11:11 AM
1,514 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Earth |
Apr 22 2016, 11:26 AM
377 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Apr 13 2016, 11:12 PM) if i were to port out to celcom, i would lose the spotify premium for free streaming music without data quota limit! i think you are miscalculating the usage? from what i know, it only took 43.2 MB/hr if you stream on 96kbps. so for 4 hours of streaming you only consume 170MB. you forgot to convert from bit to byte.unless celcom has the same offer or better, maybe i will consider to port out. to calculate spotify streaming, assume normal quality (96kbps) = 7.2MB/min = 432MB/hr. for just 4 hours of streaming daily, already consume 1.7GB. i cant afford that even if you give me 10GB per month. i will need 35GB minimum for streaming music daily at office of 4 hours. sometime ppl look at the GB but forgotten the freebies that came with it. |
Apr 22 2016, 11:31 AM
58 posts Joined: Apr 2015 |
my mo128 now 10 gb. 6 days more to go, hahahaha
Apr 22 2016, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(imran424 @ Apr 22 2016, 11:26 AM) i think you are miscalculating the usage? from what i know, it only took 43.2 MB/hr if you stream on 96kbps. so for 4 hours of streaming you only consume 170MB. you forgot to convert from bit to byte. 96kbps = 12KBps = 720KBpm / 0.703125MBpm = 42.1875MBph. and ya, my bad, forgot to divide by 1024. i divide 100 instead of 1024 This post has been edited by Netto Hikari: Apr 22 2016, 11:45 AM |
Apr 22 2016, 03:35 PM
Am closing this off since they have announced new plans and I'm happy - for now
Head here to discuss their new plans. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3928727 |
| Change to: | 0.0797sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:12 AM |