Hotlink Stealing My Credit.How is Digi or Celcom?
TSDwango
Mar 13 2016, 09:33 AM, updated 10y ago
I am going to buy a new PREPAID line/sim card by today, as my Hotlink prepaid is stealing my credit. I didn't use my phone for internet and calls and my credit automatically disappeared or got lost by few ringgit until 0. I think they are stealing from the data side.
Instead of terminating the Hotlink account, I am going to keep just for emergency calls and use the Super Long Life 365 days for RM33. I just subscribe to the line for 1 year by paying RM33 and keep the line, disabling the data so that they wont' steal my data.
Now, I need some suggestions. What are the next best option (PREPAID ONLY) that won't steal the credit or data. I will only use the phone for Whatsapp and some internet web-browsing. Digi? Celcom? What else?
This post has been edited by Dwango: Mar 13 2016, 09:34 AM
Thrust
Mar 13 2016, 09:38 AM
Wow! Maxis really so sucky until they need to steal credit?
Just read a few forumers are porting out from Maxis.
TSDwango
Mar 13 2016, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(Thrust @ Mar 13 2016, 09:38 AM) Wow! Maxis really so sucky until they need to steal credit? Just read a few forumers are porting out from Maxis. Maxis is POSTPAID. If they steal the credit/data, I think that can be monitored in the statement. However, Hotlink is PREPAID. Users of Hotlink cannot monitor the calls or data that is used. I called to complain to ask for the information why the data is missing. They cannot provide, so I complain to the SKMMC and after few weeks, Hotlink called me just to close the case without any resolution. They said they don't have the information how the data got lost.
TSDwango
Mar 13 2016, 09:42 AM
Anyway, I will still keep the Hotlink line. But I will get another line (new SIM card). So I now need some suggestion on a data plan THAT WON"T STEAL DATA/CREDIT.
Imagine, one day you lose RM2 to RM3. Before 1 month, the credit will be down from RM30 to 0.
ckyow1
Mar 13 2016, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(Dwango @ Mar 13 2016, 09:42 AM) Anyway, I will still keep the Hotlink line. But I will get another line (new SIM card). So I now need some suggestion on a data plan THAT WON"T STEAL DATA/CREDIT. Imagine, one day you lose RM2 to RM3. Before 1 month, the credit will be down from RM30 to 0. You may check the transaction/charges history from the Hotlink Website under E-Statement. If you want to avoid data pay per use, you may consider to change your current prepaid plan to #Hotlink with Basic Internet or Hotlink Fast with 365 days validity. Both #Hotlink and Hotlink Fast plan does not come with data pay per use
Thrust
Mar 13 2016, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(Dwango @ Mar 13 2016, 09:41 AM) Maxis is POSTPAID. If they steal the credit/data, I think that can be monitored in the statement. However, Hotlink is PREPAID. Users of Hotlink cannot monitor the calls or data that is used. I called to complain to ask for the information why the data is missing. They cannot provide, so I complain to the SKMMC and after few weeks, Hotlink called me just to close the case without any resolution. They said they don't have the information how the data got lost. By right Maxis needs to enhance their system already. I mean, it is crucial when regulator like SKMMC ask & they can't answer, it's a big red flag already. Agree that you should change telco.
waisang
Mar 13 2016, 10:07 AM
JayChouYEE
Mar 13 2016, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(Dwango @ Mar 13 2016, 09:41 AM) Maxis is POSTPAID. If they steal the credit/data, I think that can be monitored in the statement. However, Hotlink is PREPAID. Users of Hotlink cannot monitor the calls or data that is used. I called to complain to ask for the information why the data is missing. They cannot provide, so I complain to the SKMMC and after few weeks, Hotlink called me just to close the case without any resolution. They said they don't have the information how the data got lost. now hotlink also can get statement.
nexona88
Mar 13 2016, 12:23 PM
Wow maxis! Donno wat to say  as for your Q, well u can try Digi prepaid
wil-i-am
Mar 13 2016, 02:20 PM
Besides stealing credit, wat else they will steal?
nexona88
Mar 13 2016, 02:39 PM
Maybe share (sell) the number to 3rd for some income  but it won't be bad as celcom leh
ohcipala
Mar 14 2016, 08:10 AM
Could be charges for Caller Ring Tones. Dang Maxis suka suka activate it without even asking permission from customers and then start to deduct credit.
TSDwango
Mar 18 2016, 08:03 AM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 13 2016, 12:23 PM) Wow maxis! Donno wat to say  as for your Q, well u can try Digi prepaid  On DIGI Prepaid already. Hopefully it won't steal my credit/data like Hotlink prepaid. The Hotlink line is now put on cold storage. Will subscribe to the 365 Super Long Life validity with Hotlink later just to keep the line.
V3000
Mar 18 2016, 08:06 AM
Why dont port out?
TSDwango
Mar 18 2016, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(V3000 @ Mar 18 2016, 08:06 AM) What do you mean "port out"?
V3000
Mar 18 2016, 08:15 AM
Port your current number out from Maxis to other telco. With it u can still using same number you have with maxis on other telco.
Port out - MNP
TSDwango
Mar 18 2016, 08:17 AM
QUOTE(V3000 @ Mar 18 2016, 08:15 AM) Port your current number out from Maxis to other telco. With it u can still using same number you have with maxis on other telco. Port out - MNP Ok thanks for the clarification. I did not know this can be done, to use the same Maxis number with other Telco. Anyway, I have got a new Digi line already, so I now have 2 SIM Cards. Fortunately my phone can support 2 SIM cards, so I don't have to carry 2 phones.
TSDwango
Mar 18 2016, 08:19 AM
Anyway, I had always wanted to try Digi to see how does the call and data/internet package compare with the Hotlink. Initial impression is the Digi package is better than Hotlink - lower call rates, and better data/internet package (FREE 1.5GB data with every top up - VERY GOOD!)
Only disadvantage of the Digi line is the coverage is not as good as Maxis. I cannot get coverage at certain areas with Digi, no line. Cannot call and cannot surf internet. Even in my house.
nexona88
Mar 18 2016, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(Dwango @ Mar 18 2016, 08:19 AM) Anyway, I had always wanted to try Digi to see how does the call and data/internet package compare with the Hotlink. Initial impression is the Digi package is better than Hotlink - lower call rates, and better data/internet package (FREE 1.5GB data with every top up - VERY GOOD!) Only disadvantage of the Digi line is the coverage is not as good as Maxis. I cannot get coverage at certain areas with Digi, no line. Cannot call and cannot surf internet. Even in my house. it's cheap but cannot use to fullest is too bad. well u can try celcom & see how
zher4883
Mar 18 2016, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(Dwango @ Mar 18 2016, 08:19 AM) Anyway, I had always wanted to try Digi to see how does the call and data/internet package compare with the Hotlink. Initial impression is the Digi package is better than Hotlink - lower call rates, and better data/internet package (FREE 1.5GB data with every top up - VERY GOOD!) Only disadvantage of the Digi line is the coverage is not as good as Maxis. I cannot get coverage at certain areas with Digi, no line. Cannot call and cannot surf internet. Even in my house. DiGi overtook Maxis in terms of LTE coverage