Fundsupermart.com v14, Happy 牛(bull!) Year

adele123
post Mar 17 2016, 11:42 PM

4,725 posts

Hi all, haven't been updating my portfolio cause been busy and still busy. and also cause it was red red red...

seeing some improvement in the portfolio but far from my previous IRR 6-7%. the sad.

anyone still loving india fund?
adele123
post Mar 31 2016, 10:27 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Mar 31 2016, 07:08 PM)
Guys, want to ask... When you all register with fsm, do they require you to sign the form and sent IC photocopy to them via email? LOL duno why I sudden feel so insecure haha
They do need to verify that you are a real person.

Btw, you can always cross your ic before sending it to 3rd party, if you haven't been doing it
adele123
post Apr 1 2016, 10:54 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(joeaverage @ Apr 1 2016, 04:44 PM)
Is there an ideal number of funds that one should buy (and thereafter keep topping up within that certain number) or it doesnt matter the number of different funds provided the region/sector are all diversified? What is considered too many funds generally.

For example - if for malaysian small cap equities - there are several funds under different fund houses.. is it ideal to just focus on the one that performs best or its fine to have few funds which are all more or less same.

thanks for your views.
Hmm... you can do a hindsight analysis... what if you choose 1 fund per sector... or 3 funds per sector... which would be better in past 3, 5 years? Then maybe we can discuss this.

Anyway, analysis aside, I only chose 1 fund per geographical sector. Except for asia pacific, I added eastspring, which in hindsight, abit unnecessary... never top up once. Minimum investment...

I have about 5 eq funds, 1 bond fund. Kinda ok with my portfolio... not complaining except for Aberdeen...

adele123
post Apr 5 2016, 11:44 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 5 2016, 01:20 PM)
lai lai any fund recommend..
i seriously lazy to reply, but i saw a troll replying, who probably hasn't been investing much himself answering your question, making me want to type some words.

actually the recommended funds that goes around this thread are very few. CIMB AP, CIMB global titans, KGF, EI small cap, to name a few. but i do like to point out that i do believe newcomers were hurt when they started chasing CIMB AP, Global titans... when china market was downed a lot, and now with the rising ringgit, probably loss has increased.

Personally if you starting small, try not to overspread your investment. In hindsight, i wish i sticked to my investment from day 1... 75% KGF... biggrin.gif but that's hindsight. hindsight is always vision 20/20.

also... given the MYR volatility recently and it did climb up quite a bit... compared to say few months ago, then yes, it seems better now to invest in overseas fund. of course, nobody can predict the future, and if myr goes up even more later, you'll be like why didn't i wait... or if myr drop again, you'll be like, oh no, should have bought earlier... etc...

read some of the articles by FSM. concentrate on which geographical region you want to invest. then work around that. starting with malaysians fund would be easier in the sense that you do not have to worry about the exchange rate.

Btw, Eastspring Small Cap is just small cap fund. KGF invests in large cap and small cap funds. they are not the same category. but EI SC volatility will definitely be higher than KGF. For better comparison, may be better to compare EI my focus with KGF. Not sure about EI My focus, you can read it up on your own. should that it is not restricted to invest in small cap/blue chip...

adele123
post Apr 7 2016, 10:53 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Apr 7 2016, 05:40 PM)
Try clear your browser cache and try again, seems fine from my side.
if you buy yesterday after 12pm and done payment via FPX, if not mistaken they will process your order by today, then around 8 or 11 your order will be completed
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 7 2016, 05:35 PM)
Guys, I have some issue here. I cant logged in to FSM and the page will not load completely for the past 24 hours.
And even I able to logged in the page wont load completely. And I refresh massive time to get into holdings.
I wish to know, lets say I buy on yesterday 5PM, the transection should be done today? Or I have to wait?
Actually cut-off time is 3pm... before 3pm same business day, after 3pm, next business day. some of exceptional such as PRS fund for CIMB.

i would suggest transferring to CMF2 first (if you haven't), then go for buying funds...

1) good place to park your fund
2) you don't have to go through the fpx everytime you buy a fund.

adele123
post Apr 11 2016, 07:36 PM

4,725 posts

sometime in dec 2014, i am somewhat glad that i had some investment in overseas fund... not fully in malaysia.

Sometime in april 2015, i am somewhat cushioned by myr weakness that the drop in china didn't affect my cimb asia pac fund.

2nd half of 2015, quite glad i was invested in overseas fund...

april 2016... i should have dump all my money in kgf from day 1...

cheers...!!! just ranting, happy investing.
adele123
post Apr 12 2016, 01:19 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Apr 12 2016, 12:07 PM)
rclxms.gif I like your honesty

Well... what's your next course of action? Average down? Stop? Take out?
Average down on cimb ap... via prs. Not into topping up other funds for now. may consider topping up india fund but very small amount.

Closely monitor malaysia equity. May top up on kgf and/of increase direct exposure to bursa.

adele123
post May 10 2016, 09:03 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ May 10 2016, 06:25 PM)
any guide i can read thru on how to choose a fund? Having a medium to high risk tolerance. Now most of my cash just sitting in fd (also a lurker in fd thread). so i thought of trying FSM for a change and put some thing here to try out.

also what is DCA?

I will try to go thru all the FSM thread and read thru them but at v14 i think it will take some time. hopefully i might picked up something useful in the discussion.
Please dont go through all 14 versions. Waste of time. Just stay put and follow this thread any now and then. There are tendencies some ppl will bring up similar topics/questions.

May serve you better to read the faq at fsm. Those for beginners.

The recommended funds by the forummers here (looking at past 6mths to 1year) will show that some of those funds are not performing. To name 2, cimb asia pacific dynamic income fund and cimb global titans. To be fair, the market is not in the favour of those who bought into these 2 funds.

DCA and VCA, dollar cost averaging and value cost averaging. You can google.

As a start, might I recommend you to get invested with prs to get more tax relief? As for timing, which fund is good, I dare not advise for I do not hold a crystal ball.

adele123
post May 11 2016, 09:03 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ May 11 2016, 12:37 AM)
Thanks for the backgroud on some of the non performing funds. This should gives me something to research about on why its not suitable in current market.

Actually i didnt really thought of going into PRS. I always felt that once my money is in there it will be tied up till im retired. Isnt that the case? In any case, I will take a 2nd look again on this since you mention it. I'm not in any rush.
i thought of PRS purely for tax relief purposes. yes, correct, your funds will be tied up. whether to go for it or not, will depend on your tax bracket and also your willingness to part with the money. i myself invest in PRS but my tax bracket at 11% only. those who are at 20%+, of course seems more worth it. btw, another reason for PRS is for the RM500 youth incentive, if you are entitled. biggrin.gif

those 2 funds that i mentioned, i still think they are good funds, but i guess a very good example of chasing high performance fund in a wrong environment/timing. i guess it goes to show why DCA and VCA is really important.

adele123
post May 11 2016, 10:14 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ May 11 2016, 07:04 PM)
You doing dca on which funds?  Monthly?
Cimb asia pac. Very small amount monthly via prs.

adele123
post Jun 7 2016, 09:50 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jun 7 2016, 12:29 AM)
Guys can i get some of ur experienced opinion:

Me and my wife invest long term to kenanga growth fund investment using our epf, im around 6k and my wife around 14k...

top up every 3 month...recently they distribute dividend/income...yeah i understand u guys said not much difference if undistribute the nav stays high...

But i look this at different point of view, its like they help us DCA the distribution by buying back the fund at cheaper NAV price....and over the long term would this benefit in our favour or to u guys it doesnt make any difference at all?
Let’s say the shop sells this 1 particular pizza, 6 inch. They usually cut it into 4 pieces and you buy 2 pieces @ RM0.80 per piece. Then on a separate day, they still sell this same 1 pizza, 6 inch. But they cut it into 8 pieces and you have to buy 4 pieces @ RM0.40 per piece so that you have the same amount of food.

What the fund house is doing is, they are cutting it into 8 pieces, giving you 4 instead of cutting it 4 pieces and giving you 2. Any difference? No. At the end of the day, to get the same amount of food, you paid RM1.60 for the pizza. Does it matter whether it is RM1.60 for 2 pieces or RM1.60 for 4 smaller pieces. No? Why? Because you get the same amount food.

Now put it in a numerical example.

2015, You bought this fund at RM0.85 for 3000 units = RM 2,550
2016, the current price of this fund is RM0.95 and you still have 3000 units = RM2,850

Now the next day, this fund has a distribution of RM0.05, so you will get RM150. So this RM150 will be used to buy the fund at RM0.90 (assuming no change of the asset value), hence you get 166.67 units.

So after distribution, you have 3166.67 units at RM0.90 = surprise, surprise RM2,850.

Conclusion:
1) yes, you have more units at the end of the day but it’s not units we are looking at, it is the investment fund value that we are interested in, ie I want it to grow beyond the RM2,850. Similarly, we want a bigger pizza, not the same pizza being cut into more pieces.
2) yes, they use back your money buy units at a lower price, please go back to the pizza example. Hence no difference.
3) in the long term, there’s no difference as long as your fund is growing and growing.

I repeat using different numbers, what is the difference of holding 1000 units of RM0.80 and 1600 units of RM0.50 when the money value is what you get eventually?

adele123
post Jun 8 2016, 04:12 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 7 2016, 10:33 AM)
xuxen apologies for intersecting but from your post you more or less given up hope for ponzi 2.0. it is a nature of things and people are starting to switch to other funds, maybe I'll give it another few months and see its performance.

from the chart today it jumped

the main point I'm trying to make with my post to investors is that take every advise with a pinch of salt and don't blame people you mimic when your portfolio doesn't shine like you do.
for your sake (and mine because i also have a substansial % in ponzi 2.0), you need to understand why there are ups and downs in a certain fund.
1) the myr has been strengthening since march, hence negative effect on ponzi 2.0. at the same time, the market wasn't going up by much. hence the drop
2) these 1 month the myr has been very volatile, weakening again, and market seems to be on the positive side. hence the rise.

don't start to celebrate cause it has been green for the past 1 month. we are supposed to be in it for the long term.

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jun 7 2016, 06:06 PM)
Fuiyoh, 100% EQ.... and you still steady over the last few months  notworthy.gif

With the remaining EQ funds you have I guess it makes sense to keep the proceeds in bond or cash

excluding my cash holdings in CMF2, my EQ:FI ratio has always been around 95%:5%... was abit down the last few months, but looking all green again... now why didn't i top up 2-3 months ago?

This post has been edited by adele123: Jun 8 2016, 04:14 PM
adele123
post Jul 13 2016, 08:15 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Jul 13 2016, 07:11 PM)
it was a great moment for me cos it's finally green for the first time in how many months ma..then see the NAV drop today. sheesh.
Myr has been volatile lately. Going up quite abit... myr strengthen will have negative effect on foreign funds
adele123
post Jul 14 2016, 03:30 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Amatiel @ Jul 14 2016, 02:58 PM)
now i'm slowly building up a portfolio in fsm buying a few of the more popular funds and do DCA and understand abit more along the way. I think as long as you top up every once in a while, chances of getting heart attack is very low?

Just because they are popular doesn't mean they are the right choice of funds. biggrin.gif

just cautioning you to be wary of what you are getting. though i have to admit my list of funds do consist of the popular funds.

FundIRRROI% of Portfolio
Kenanga Growth Fund4.68%8.8735.64%
Aberdeen World Equity4.21%7.17%22.55%
CIMB AP Dynamic5.20%8.73%23.90%
Manulife India1.96%2.61%7.2%
EI Asia ex-Japan Target0.16%0.23%4.69%
RHB Asian Total Return Fund12.46%17.22%6.03%
Portfolio4.69%8.00%100%

as at 14/07/2016

This post has been edited by adele123: Jul 14 2016, 03:32 PM
adele123
post Jul 14 2016, 05:43 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jul 14 2016, 05:07 PM)
u generated this chart from FSM website? or u do your own?
on my own... FSM only shows ROI not IRR.
adele123
post Jul 14 2016, 07:17 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jul 14 2016, 06:33 PM)
Wow, very high in foreign fund and only 1 foreign bond fund. What's your plan going forward? Any plans to switch out of lagging fund like EI asia ex-jap target?
But quite good lor, everything positive.
Haha, yes, planning to switch from EI asia ex-jap. probably to EI My focus or EI small cap, to increase m'sia exposure. anyway, note i do have exposures to local market via some of my own stock holdings albeit not much. hence my heavier exposure to foreign funds.

the numbers were pretty negative (except KGF) when the market diarrhoea few months back. i stopped updating awhile.

Plans moving forward... given bnm recent move to lower interest

1) top up on KGF and switch my EI fund to M'sia fund. waiting for the right moment to top up in small amount.
2) continue DCA on CIMB PRS Asia Pacific (hence more exposure to CIMB AP), for tax relief purpose.
3) maintain similar ratio of fund allocation (except for that EI fund) given that I like the portfolio now. not adding new funds.
4) monitor stock market and invest directly.
adele123
post Jul 21 2016, 03:25 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jul 21 2016, 01:07 PM)
I believe the insurance policies distributed on FSM and uforlife is of different class. Uforlife is strict term life with variable insurance charge and what you see for the future premium is only indicative; the ones distributed on FSM are non-participating life insurance policies which is closer to whole life

Happy to learn more from the experts though. adele123 would you like to tell us more?  notworthy.gif
Need to study and compare. Lol. Anyway, since wong sifu already did a quick comparison, guess uforlife may still offer term life at a lower cost. Note that fsm is still representing the insurance companies only 3 for now, they will get commission, what fsm is saying is, they take less commission.

Term life on fsm is those with level premium. Yes in the case of uforlife it increases every year and chances are they may revise the rates if the insurance companies's experience is not ideal. Chances are these rates don't get revised often. Professional opinion... smile.gif

Part of bank negara initiative in the next 2-3 years is to make insurance companies offer insurance product without intermediary hence lowering the cost of purchasing insurance.
adele123
post Jul 26 2016, 02:07 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Jul 26 2016, 01:39 PM)
at least have a bond fund is good. my only bond fund (A.Hwang) contribute 15% in 2 years.. beats alot of the equity funds..
Just because equity didn't behave in the past 2 years, doesn't mean we should punish them biggrin.gif

seriously... i'm not a bond fund person... but the very sad truth is my best performing fund is my RHB asian total return fund. double digit IRR... my equity funds while have recovered alot but still at single digit return.

QUOTE(em0kia @ Jul 26 2016, 02:00 PM)
And guys, i am just wondering right, how sure is it that any mutual fund, if purchase and park money inside for long term, guarantees a return? I heard a lot of ppl say that if you invest for long term, mutual fund surely earn money. But i wonder is it possible that one also make constant losses in long term?
in the long run... equity beats cash.

This post has been edited by adele123: Jul 26 2016, 02:08 PM
adele123
post Aug 24 2016, 11:45 PM

4,725 posts

portfolio sharing... invested since august 2014...

FundIRRROI% of portfolio
Kenanga Growth Fund4.84%9.76%30.68%
Aberdeen World5.69%10.41%19.84%
CIMB Asia Pac Dynamic Income7.66%13.91%21.38%
CIMB AP PRS8.01%8.95%12.25%
Manulife India4.78%6.97%6.41%
EI AxJ Target Return2.65%4.26%4.16%
RHB Asian Total Return13.41%20.25%5.28%
Portfolio6.14%10.73%100%

adele123
post Aug 25 2016, 09:04 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 25 2016, 08:40 AM)
Not bad. Very good diversication.  Still thinking if I should be taking KGF.  No small cap?
personal preference of not getting small cap funds. (recent events have shown small cap is no ride in the park biggrin.gif)

anyway, reason why i stick to KGF is because the fund managers are allowed to invest in small cap funds as well. while the return of KGF is lower compared to say EI Small Cap or EI MY Focus, i'm happy with the performance. Risk/Return-wise, i'm in favour of KGF.

I might switch over from EI asia to EI Small Cap, but not likely to constantly top up.

This post has been edited by adele123: Aug 25 2016, 09:07 AM

0.0838sec    0.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:12 AM