4,436 posts

Fuyuh! Uncle Sam is on 'roid again!
ssajnani
post Jun 3 2016, 04:41 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 3 2016, 04:40 PM)
Fuyuh! Uncle Sam is on 'roid again!
Bro if you dont mind, let me ask you this question.

I guess most of the gains we are seeing at the moment is due to RM depreciating? Went from 4 to 4.15 pretty quick.
Is anyone apprehensive of RM bouncing back a little??
Also going forward, we have the Brexit vote and Fed meeting happening this month. Lots of volatility going forward? What is everyone strategy? As much as I would like to sell and sit back for a while, the cost of paying 2% SC again is making me think what is the best thing to do.
What are your thoughts?
wongmunkeong
post Jun 3 2016, 05:14 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

IMHO:
1. What we know, is the NOW
2. All predictions & soothsaying are best left to dreamwalkers on happy grass or similar vision-inducing concoctions.
3. Have a plan - IF THEN ELSE, and execute the plan. Track it and after 3 to 5 years, analyze and tweak if necessary. No point in "planning" during a firestorm OR trying to see where the markets will go. May be worthwhile to see where the markets WON'T GO though tongue.gif
pisces88
post Jun 3 2016, 05:19 PM

3,968 posts

lol topped up amasia reits on wednesday, the promo starts on thursday pulak
lukenn
post Jun 3 2016, 05:20 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 3 2016, 05:14 PM)
IMHO:
1. What we know, is the NOW
2. All predictions & soothsaying are best left to dreamwalkers on happy grass or similar vision-inducing concoctions.
3. Have a plan - IF THEN ELSE, and execute the plan. Track it and after 3 to 5 years, analyze and tweak if necessary. No point in "planning" during a firestorm OR trying to see where the markets will go. May be worthwhile to see where the markets WON'T GO though tongue.gif
This is the best post I read all week. Thanks for sharing.
Vanguard 2015
post Jun 3 2016, 05:28 PM

3,541 posts

Wah, suddenly this thread become so HOT when the market is HOT. rclxms.gif

Is it a good time to buy or to sell now? There is no difference for the true unit trust investor.

As William Bernstein said, "The most dangerous time to buy is in a rising market and the safest time to buy is in a falling market".

vincabby
post Jun 3 2016, 06:06 PM

664 posts

sit tight and ride the waves because sooner or later, it will go down~
MUM
post Jun 3 2016, 07:17 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Jun 3 2016, 06:06 PM)
sit tight and ride the waves because sooner or later, it will go down~
yes,...so will it goes up after going down.... biggrin.gif
studies have shown that for equities; the longer trends is always up....with volatility in between.
TakoC
post Jun 3 2016, 07:25 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jun 3 2016, 05:28 PM)
Wah, suddenly this thread become so HOT when the market is HOT.  rclxms.gif

Is it a good time to buy or to sell now? There is no difference for the true unit trust investor.

As William Bernstein said, "The most dangerous time to buy is in a rising market and the safest time to buy is in a falling market".
So now is not the right time then.

Buy in Malaysia market smile.gif
prince_mk
post Jun 3 2016, 08:50 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 2 2016, 10:49 PM)
Market up only all wanna tunjuk lagak already!

LOL! Good! Very good!  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Xuzen
Sifu Xuzen,

Now my funds like Titan and CIMB APDIF turna to green.

Should i switched APDIF to Titan?

I also have big chunk in KGF and ESISC

What should i do now? Switch APDIF and Titan to RHB ATRF?
guy3288
post Jun 3 2016, 09:39 PM

5,875 posts

Yes market is coming back, portfolio value keep going up.
river.sand
post Jun 3 2016, 09:42 PM

3,806 posts

US job creation slowed in May.
Fed may delay rate hike.
xuzen
post Jun 3 2016, 09:51 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(ssajnani @ Jun 3 2016, 04:41 PM)
Bro if you dont mind, let me ask you this question.

I guess most of the gains we are seeing at the moment is due to RM depreciating? Went from 4 to 4.15 pretty quick.
Is anyone apprehensive of RM bouncing back a little??
Also going forward, we have the Brexit vote and Fed meeting happening this month. Lots of volatility going forward? What is everyone strategy? As much as I would like to sell and sit back for a while, the cost of paying 2% SC again is making me think what is the best thing to do.
What are your thoughts?
Bro if you don't mind, let me tell you my answer.

I guess most of the gains we are seeing at the moment is due to USD appreciating. Lots of volatility going forward. Strategy remains the same, buy a globally exposed portfolio and go where the volatility is the lowest. Wrt SC, you need to learn the ninja trick from some other sifu, cost I don't pay SC. So my switching around is at zero cost.

My thoughts are as above.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jun 3 2016, 10:02 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jun 3 2016, 05:28 PM)
Wah, suddenly this thread become so HOT when the market is HOT.  rclxms.gif

I do not agree with William Bernstein.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jun 3 2016, 10:13 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jun 3 2016, 08:50 PM)
Sifu Xuzen,

Now my funds like Titan and CIMB APDIF turna to green.

Should i switched APDIF to Titan?

I also have big chunk in KGF and ESISC

What should i do now? Switch APDIF and Titan to RHB ATRF?
Friend,

I'll say, keep a globally exposed portfolio, don't be too myopic. Switching APDIF to Titan is a no - no, as you'll need both. However, as I've written not too long ago, I have dumped APDIF for other similar geographical fund. Check out AMAsia-Pac Reit or RHB Asian Income Fund. I choose the later as replacement for APDIF. I prefer the latter for its lower Volatility Factor. Xuzen is Kiasi™.

If you recalled, I used to sing the praise of APDIF. But, such is the nature of things, they always change, never permanent. Such is the nature of things.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 3 2016, 10:15 PM
aoisky
post Jun 3 2016, 10:55 PM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 3 2016, 09:49 AM)
I decided to dump Ponzi 2.0 since I have similar fund under PRS.
its on the uptrend now wor
Kaka23
post Jun 4 2016, 06:40 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jun 3 2016, 09:12 AM)
Anyone intend to start/top up AmAsia Pacific Reits which offer 1% promo s/c?
You buying? tongue.gif
wil-i-am
post Jun 4 2016, 08:26 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Jun 3 2016, 05:19 PM)
lol topped up amasia reits on wednesday, the promo starts on thursday pulak
HaHaHa...
1 day earlier
Now u can top up further

139 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top