Fundsupermart.com v14, Happy 牛(bull!) Year
SUSPink Spider
Aug 8 2016, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(T231H @ Aug 8 2016, 10:10 AM) How must is this 300k in relation to your net worth? if it is just peanuts...then I my opinion it is ok..... if it is NOT, then below is advised for consideration..... +100 Always see in terms of %.
SUSPink Spider
Aug 8 2016, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(river.sand @ Aug 8 2016, 10:49 AM) If one has epf, then my opinion is that bond fund is not essential, unless it's junk bonds. My Asian bond fund (RHB ATR) gave me double-digit IRR  But I think that won't be replicated, unless central banks start giving negative deposit rates This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 8 2016, 10:51 AM
SUSPink Spider
Aug 8 2016, 01:38 PM
QUOTE(xpmm @ Aug 8 2016, 12:17 PM) age 48 already retired. yes im a risk taker, plan to invest long term to generate passive income If u want income, u may want to study more on stocks and REITs. My experience, I can manage a reasonably stable portfolio with dividend yield of 4-5% p.a. If RM300K, I would be able to get average RM1K+ dividend income a month. Try the likes of Nestle, Dutch Lady, Heikenen, Guiness Anchor, Maybank etc. REITs pulak, look at the likes of IGBREIT, UOAREIT, CMMT, Axis etc. Do some homework. This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 8 2016, 01:52 PM
SUSPink Spider
Aug 8 2016, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(xpmm @ Aug 8 2016, 03:02 PM) thanks very much for sharing this useful information my expected ROI p.a is 8% so that i can have 2k income per month. unfortunately other than this money i have no other fund nor insurance, no EPF too. Bear in mind xuzen's numbers are all ROI i.e. growth of fund unit price. You will have to do some juggling between selling some units to raise your "income" and leaving the rest for future growth. When u invest in stocks and REITs, u don't have this headache - just use the dividend incomes and leave the shares/units alone. U don't have EPF? Self-employed? Then u need to make your money work harder for u...RM1-3K a month as retirement income is not really much...start now. Do some homework, and execute your plan earlier rather than later. This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 8 2016, 03:07 PM
SUSPink Spider
Aug 8 2016, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(xpmm @ Aug 8 2016, 03:32 PM) i wanna start now but some friends advise that now is not the right time to go in, expensive. That's why I told u to slowly deploy it over 6-12 month to even it out. But to wait for a meaningful crash? That's wishful thinking. Don't wait, act now. Some crash will never come. The dividend incomes that u (would) receive while waiting for the crash may be more than the capital gain that u may stand to have if u wait. This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 8 2016, 03:44 PM
SUSPink Spider
Aug 8 2016, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(river.sand @ Aug 8 2016, 05:11 PM) I gotta remind myself of this: Before GE12, when the Parliament was dissolved, market dropped. Before GE13, investors were expecting similar market movement. Some exited market as early as 2012. But when the Parliament was finally dissolved in 2013, market didn't dropped...  After a few years of investing, my dividend incomes have grown so much that a MAJOR crash would just push me back to zero. How often do u have a major crash? How much dividends I have accumulated over the years? The risk-adjusted returns more than worth it.  So, ada apa tipsy now? This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 8 2016, 05:24 PM
SUSPink Spider
Aug 8 2016, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(xpmm @ Aug 8 2016, 05:31 PM) dividend income, that means buying share/ REITs right? coz i think UT has no dividend income. Go read Post #1 thoroughly. This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 8 2016, 05:33 PM
SUSPink Spider
Aug 10 2016, 10:06 AM
MYR strengthened to 4.00 against the USD...time to buy more Titanic?
SUSPink Spider
Aug 10 2016, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 10 2016, 10:40 AM) if i am not wrong, i think you have abt 35~40% in it already..... No la, Titanic makes up 23% of my equity funds only Developed Markets make up 36% of my equity funds, balance in Aberdeen Aladdin This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 10 2016, 10:42 AM
SUSPink Spider
Aug 10 2016, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 10 2016, 10:48 AM) ya, OIC. 36% in Developed mkts...my mind stuck with GTF. btw, i think if MY strengthen abit RHB ATR will be down abit liao....... Not gonna top up bond funds anymore, IRR a bit too high to be realistic/reasonable
SUSPink Spider
Aug 10 2016, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(dasecret @ Aug 10 2016, 10:55 AM) Yeah, forex would have more direct effect on the foreign bond funds than equity funds IRR too high also want to complain ka... I sold off 1/3 of my holdings earlier on, find it too volatile for a bond fund It's too volatile IF u micro-monitor it Try update your NAV only once a week..."what volatility?"
SUSPink Spider
Aug 11 2016, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Aug 11 2016, 01:59 PM) market up abit, thinking of selling some , later mart down buy back. any suggestions which to sell to lock in the profit? AmCommodities' losses  U invest solely in UTs? Do u invest in shares and properties too? This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 11 2016, 02:07 PM
SUSPink Spider
Aug 11 2016, 02:34 PM
Interested in buying a Japan fund Looked at Affin Hwang Japan Growth The numbers don't look pretty
SUSPink Spider
Aug 11 2016, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 11 2016, 04:10 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « If you betul-betul like Jepunis, check out AMAsia-Pac Reits which contains 21% Japan exposure. The other is of course GTF which contains around 12% Jap exposure. One is sectorial, the other broad base equity.
The below is my comment on Japan stock market as a whole.
In my mind, the best way to describe Japan is to take our very own Taiping town. Why? Well, similar like Japan, Taiping is a retiree's town, full of old people or kids in kindergarten. The aged population is highest in the world at around 1/3 of the population.
Why is this significant?
Whatever the govt do, no matter how much money is pumped in (helicopter money), old people are not going to spend. You ask those uncle / auntie in Taiping buy new house ar? Buy new car ar? For what? Their money are "coffin fund". You ask them to renovate and make their house pretty pretty? You have better luck selling sand to the Arabs or selling ice to the Eskimos.
These uncles / aunties will go from shop to shop and ask for the lowest of the lowest of the lowest in price before buying anything, be it a can of paint or a strip of Panadol or a kilo of taugeh.
In Japan's case, there is a real issue of deflation. As consumption dwindle, the businesses there cut prices to drive business. When prices keeps going down, the consumers will be in no hurry to buy anything. Why buy today when tomorrow the price will drop further?
That is why, despite Japan stock market has low PER, I think I am not very gung-ho on it.
Xuzen I thought they export a lot of their stuff?
SUSPink Spider
Aug 16 2016, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 16 2016, 07:19 AM) Keep ur money at saving account is the right move now. Stop spewing cow dung here. Those who's REALLY in FSM instead of those who came here merely for post counts know damn well that CMF > savings account.
SUSPink Spider
Aug 16 2016, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(woonsc @ Aug 16 2016, 10:17 AM)  CMF, the grim reaper of FDs.  Yeah, it has been consistently yielding above even 12-M FD (board rates). Let's face it, how many of us are free enough to keep hunting for promotional, usually one-off FD rates?
SUSPink Spider
Aug 16 2016, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 16 2016, 12:13 PM) I believed Maybank eGIA-i gives better returns than CMF? Some more is liquid. Can withdraw before maturity and STILL EARN FULL interest. Sos pls
SUSPink Spider
Aug 16 2016, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 16 2016, 01:47 PM) Me. Been doing that for 6 months. Ask others in FD thread. Cybpsych can confirm what I said. Put duration of 60 months, can lift the next day also (premature uplifting will still give you the full interest) Also, last time rate was 4% fixed. Now reduce to 3.75%. Still higher than CMF right? Downside prinicpal and returns not guaranteed but so far, maybank gave the promised rates and my prinicpal never reduce. QUOTE •Profit calculated on daily basis Potentially earn higher returns. Profit gained from the investment will be shared between both parties (Customer & Bank) accordingly based on agreed profit sharing ratio (PSR). The profit will be paid on monthly basis and it is NOT subject to tenor or number of withdrawal http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...al/ACC-Accounts
SUSPink Spider
Aug 16 2016, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 16 2016, 02:20 PM) simple. test yourself. put min RM1k for 2months tenure, tomorrow uplift it. you'll get about RM0.10 profit based on 3.75% p.a. profit rate for GIA-i. here's my SA's activity with Maybank (e)GIA-i placements & upliftments (any days).  Still, CMF is more convenient. Say, this month after deducting my budgeted expenses, I foresee to have RM300 of excess cash, I can dump into CMF today. Next month...RM250. Next next month...I forecast shortfall of RM400...I sell RM400. I cannot replicate this with eGIA-i unless I'm HNWI with excess of >1K so that I can place and uplift suka hati
SUSPink Spider
Aug 16 2016, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 16 2016, 02:36 PM) Bro, I bukan HNWI. But I can do that. How? Mari saya ajar you. Keep say 2xRM1000. This month use RM300. So uplift the 2xRM1000. Why 2xRm1k? I will explain. So left Rm1700. (eGIA-i needs ammo min Rm1k) Masuk kembali Rm1700+ interest (interest given when you uplift regardless the tenure) into eGIA-i until next month (pick 2-60 months-term not important) Next month dapat Rm300. Uplift Rm1.7k + interest. Masukkan Rm2k + interest. Senang kan? Nak beli UT, uplift, money appear instantly in SA. Ask anyone here I'm sure they'd still say CMF wins hands down in terms of flexibility. Does the additional interest earned worth the trouble?