139 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v14, Happy 牛(bull!) Year

j.passing.by
post May 2 2016, 10:03 PM

1,639 posts

Sometimes things are easier to understand if we are doing it - in this case, having bought some UTs several times and monitoring them, then just asking blank questions academically... as there are no incentives to answer things too correctly!

wil-i-am
post May 2 2016, 11:19 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ May 2 2016, 10:03 PM)
Sometimes things are easier to understand if we are doing it - in this case, having bought some UTs several times and monitoring them, then just asking blank questions academically... as there are no incentives to answer things too correctly!
U need to bear with d situation as HNWS is asking question
nexona88
post May 2 2016, 11:22 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,465 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ May 2 2016, 10:03 PM)
well at least he asking some question even tho juz students.

others is enjoy PAPA MAMA money like water without thinking about investment stuff cool2.gif know how to enjoy life only biggrin.gif
lukenn
post May 3 2016, 12:35 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 2 2016, 08:45 PM)
How about count the ROI every year, divide by the number years you have invested? Give a much accurate answer. No?
I think the term you're looking for is CAGR, compounded annual growth rate. It's the RoR, annualised, between the start and end dates. ie: RM100 growing to RM121 over 2 years is 10%, not 10.5%.

You can use the future value calculation

Vf = Vp(1+X)^n

Where
Vf = future value
Vp = present value
X = growth rate in decimal, and
n = number of years.

From eg: 121 = 100(1+0.1)^2

Hope this helps

Edit : forgot to mention this only takes into account dollar value, not number of units. Also it does not take into account any deposits and withdrawals, and in the case of UT, redemption, top ups and distributions.

This post has been edited by lukenn: May 3 2016, 12:43 AM
[Ancient]-XinG-
post May 3 2016, 06:07 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

hmm, any sifu kindly explain how income distribution done in KGF?

Is the nav will drop accordingly?
T231H
post May 3 2016, 06:13 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ May 3 2016, 06:07 PM)
hmm, any sifu kindly explain how income distribution done in KGF?

Is the nav will drop accordingly?
yes
SUSyklooi
post May 3 2016, 08:16 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 30 2016, 07:54 PM)
Anybody update portfolio... tongue.gif

sea of REDS!
nay....my portfolio charting is beginning to looks like Alaska crabs...
don't believe?...just see the image biggrin.gif
btw...m-o-m by wife's PM funds beat me by 1.3% ROI doh.gif

Kaka23
post May 3 2016, 08:26 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ May 3 2016, 08:16 PM)
don't believe?...just see the image  biggrin.gif
btw...m-o-m by wife's PM funds beat me by 1.3% ROI  doh.gif
Haha... I didnt have so detail ROI and IRR. I didnt update my portfolio for the last 2 weeks already, no eye see...

Wow.. PM with 5.5% sc also can beat yours... blink.gif
nexona88
post May 3 2016, 08:40 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,465 posts

lol the image really rclxs0.gif thumbsup.gif
SUSyklooi
post May 3 2016, 08:41 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ May 3 2016, 08:26 PM)
Haha... I didnt have so detail ROI and IRR. I didnt update my portfolio for the last 2 weeks already, no eye see...

Wow.. PM with 5.5% sc also can beat yours...  blink.gif
hmm.gif I think hers is much more diversified than mine..... sad.gif
mine is very heavy on ah jib and I don't like Trump or merkel. biggrin.gif

also she buy and hold, while i "FROGs" around for IRR.... which is against the conventional wisdom of investing of many Sifus.

hmm.gif did I regret it?...nyah.... sad.gif blush.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: May 3 2016, 08:59 PM

Kaka23
post May 3 2016, 09:13 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ May 3 2016, 08:41 PM)
hmm.gif  I think hers is much more diversified than mine..... sad.gif
mine is very heavy on ah jib and I don't like Trump or merkel. biggrin.gif

also she buy and hold, while i "FROGs" around for IRR.... which is against the conventional wisdom of investing of many Sifus.

hmm.gif did I regret it?...nyah.... sad.gif  blush.gif
North Asia include China? No Japan?

I am diversified like your wifey... tongue.gif But this year will focus on ahjib..

Your wifey UT investment decision on PM funds got influenced by you? Or she make he own choices which to buy, when to buy and when to sell?
SUSyklooi
post May 3 2016, 09:23 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ May 3 2016, 09:13 PM)
North Asia include China? No Japan?

I am diversified like your wifey... tongue.gif But this year will focus on ahjib..

Your wifey UT investment decision on PM funds got influenced by you? Or she make he own choices which to buy, when to buy and when to sell?
HK, China, Korea, Japan, Taiwan.
I just influenced her once....told her to diversified.....that it is...
dexk
post May 3 2016, 09:27 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ May 3 2016, 12:35 AM)
I think the term you're looking for is CAGR, compounded annual growth rate. It's the RoR, annualised, between the start and end dates. ie: RM100 growing to RM121 over 2 years is 10%, not 10.5%.

You can use the future value calculation

Vf = Vp(1+X)^n

Where
Vf = future value
Vp = present value
X = growth rate in decimal, and
n = number of years.

From eg: 121 = 100(1+0.1)^2

Hope this helps
Edit : forgot to mention this only takes into account dollar value, not number of units. Also it does not take into account any deposits and withdrawals, and in the case of UT, redemption, top ups and distributions.
If you need more complex calculation for deposits/topups, withdrawals and distribution I find the easiest way is to use the XIRR formula in excel.
Kaka23
post May 3 2016, 10:25 PM

8,259 posts

Just top up Evergreen fund and my PRS.. tongue.gif
wil-i-am
post May 3 2016, 11:14 PM

10,001 posts

Crab is 1 of my favourite dish tongue.gif
lukenn
post May 3 2016, 11:19 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(dexk @ May 3 2016, 09:27 PM)
If you need more complex calculation for deposits/topups, withdrawals and distribution I find the easiest way is to use the XIRR formula in excel.
Are you asking me, or are you telling me ? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

IMHO, it really depends on
1. what hes trying to achieve/compare/benchmark
2. what data he has available.

XIRR is useful if hes calculating cash flows, in the case of UT, the timing of his purchases, redemptions, distributions ie : performance of the "investor".

However, if he only has a statement, and has made multiple purchases, but really wants to compare the performance of the "manager", irrespective of his purchases and redemptions, the TWRR calculation would be a better choice.
wongmunkeong
post May 3 2016, 11:27 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 3 2016, 11:14 PM)
Crab is 1 of my favourite dish  tongue.gif
Alaskan crab very expensive neh thumbsup.gif
nexona88
post May 3 2016, 11:33 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,465 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ May 3 2016, 10:25 PM)
Just top up Evergreen fund and my PRS..  tongue.gif
nice rclxms.gif
kimyee73
post May 4 2016, 08:52 PM

1,007 posts

Last month too busy with Cheng Beng that forgot to update. Below is my Main portfolio April performance based on 29/4/16 NAV

Feb Mar Apr
Overall IRR 5.23% 5.36% 6.81%
Top 3 Funds % of Port
AmPrecious Metal 9.3% IRR 54.14% 50.15% 74.73%
EI Small Caps 4.4% IRR 20.11% 20.87% 19%
RHB Small Cap Opp 2.8% IRR 8.2% 13.53% 8.62%
Bottom 3 Eq Funds % Port
Manulife India 5.6% ROI -13.05% -8.35% -6.93%
TA Global Tech 3.9% IRR -0.58% -1.83% -7.08%
CIMB Asia Pac Dyn Income 2.6% IRR -9.67% -9.34% -9.81%

SUSyklooi
post May 4 2016, 08:58 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ May 4 2016, 08:52 PM)
Last month too busy with Cheng Beng that forgot to update. Below is my Main portfolio April performance based on 29/4/16 NAV
rclxms.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
your IRR is still strong thumbsup.gif

139 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:20 AM