wongmunkeong
post May 1 2016, 06:10 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 1 2016, 05:27 PM)
Penang Workshop: Financial Empowerment - Time to Take Charge, Ladies!
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...adies!-7051

Y FSM doesn't organize workshop for guys?
sexual discrimination.. hmph ranting.gif tongue.gif
watabakiu
post May 1 2016, 06:35 PM

1,573 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Apr 30 2016, 12:52 AM)
I plan to buy PRS scheme through FSM.
But I am not sure, what is FSM role in this? Is it acting as the agent?

I know it sounds very no0bie, to which I am. Hence asking it here biggrin.gif
QUOTE(T231H @ Apr 30 2016, 01:25 AM)
hmm.gif I think it is just a reseller of funds......it is an online platform where it provides an avenue for UTs selection.
(sort of an agent that represent a wide range of FHs)
think of it like ...ebay, amazon or lazada......that provide added info like UT investment education, current insights and etc
QUOTE(Kobis Bunga @ Apr 30 2016, 05:04 PM)
You can see at FSM about us...
iFAST Capital is a holder of a Capital Markets Services Licence (CMSL) and is licensed by the Securities Commission to conduct the following regulated activities:

To deal in unit trusts
To offer investment advisory services
To deal in Private Retirement Scheme
iFAST Capital is also registered with the Federation of Investment Managers Malaysia (FiMM) as an Institutional Unit Trust Adviser (IUTA).
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 30 2016, 05:43 PM)
visit FSM website.

can get a lot info there  cool2.gif
Hehe sure there got tonnes of info, but so is here smile.gif

If this is the case, say, if I purchase a PRS for Kenanga.
Do I need to liaise with FSM for top-up, switching, withdrawal?

And as far as monthly/annual statements go, do I get it from FSM and/or the UT provider I purchased?
SUSsniperz
post May 1 2016, 07:28 PM

2,464 posts

So, let's say I put RM100 as initial for one of the funds provided by FSM, what is my return rate of any trust in within 5 years to 10 years?

pisces88
post May 1 2016, 07:35 PM

3,969 posts

QUOTE(sniperz @ May 1 2016, 07:28 PM)
So, let's say I put RM100 as initial for one of the funds provided by FSM, what is my return rate of any trust in within 5 years to 10 years?
as like any investment, no guaranteed return for any of the funds biggrin.gif i can show you some fund's return for the past 5 years, some reach hundreds of %. but then again, referring to past returns are not indications of future returns oh

u're Public Mutual agent right? i think u know better than us in terms of risk / return for the funds hmm.gif

This post has been edited by pisces88: May 1 2016, 07:36 PM
wil-i-am
post May 1 2016, 07:42 PM

10,001 posts

U can assess d performance on DIY basis when u click tis
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...undReturns.svdo
Ramjade
post May 1 2016, 07:46 PM

24,354 posts

Depend on the fund performance. Some people here manage to get double digit.
There was a person here who was buying public mutual fund and switched to FSM. Forgot who is it. Might want to ask that perosn how PM fund vs FSM fund perform.

You can ask sifu xuzen a former public mutual consultant. How did his fund perform.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 1 2016, 07:55 PM
nexona88
post May 1 2016, 08:25 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,453 posts

no guaranteed return dry.gif

inb4 past returns are not indications of future returns biggrin.gif
SUSsniperz
post May 1 2016, 10:16 PM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ May 1 2016, 07:35 PM)
as like any investment, no guaranteed return for any of the funds  biggrin.gif i can show you some fund's return for the past 5 years, some reach hundreds of %. but then again, referring to past returns are not indications of future returns oh

u're Public Mutual agent right? i think u know better than us in terms of risk / return for the funds hmm.gif
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 1 2016, 07:42 PM)
U can assess d performance on DIY basis when u click tis
QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 1 2016, 08:25 PM)
no guaranteed return  dry.gif

inb4 past returns are not indications of future returns  biggrin.gif
Yes. Thanks for all the great advise. Nope, in future, we can do our own investment as diversification. So, just wanted more details and what you guys gave is awesome.

Just buy anywhere despite the risk factor, enjoy the road of profit & loss as a lesson!

larisSa
post May 1 2016, 10:20 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Apr 27 2016, 11:54 PM)
yup. can see improvement already. japan, china and india previously was double digits negatives. now is around -5%
hi, need some guidance from the sifus here.
My ponzi 2 and global titans are at -8%.
i am hesitant to top up..if I top up on them, my portfolio allocations on these 2 will be getting bigger since they are my main UT...
pisces88
post May 1 2016, 10:57 PM

3,969 posts

QUOTE(larisSa @ May 1 2016, 10:20 PM)
hi, need some guidance from the sifus here.
My ponzi 2 and global titans are at -8%.
i am hesitant to top up..if I top up on them, my portfolio allocations on these 2 will be getting bigger since they are my main UT...
hmm if hesitant to top up, maybe can switch to other funds ?
babienn
post May 2 2016, 05:56 PM

510 posts

Dear all,

Wanna double check how shall we calculate our fund growth.

Let's say for a fund, i bought one year ago, the price is RM0.20, I spent RM400 to buy 2000 units. Between one year ago and today, the fund distributed dividend at RM0.01 per unit, when the price is RM0.30. Today, the price is RM0.25.

Neglecting any management fee, so my fund growth is {[(2000*0.01)/0.3+2000]*0.25}/(2000*0.20)=1.2917, 29% growth?

T231H
post May 2 2016, 06:01 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(babienn @ May 2 2016, 05:56 PM)
Dear all,

Wanna double check how shall we calculate our fund growth.

Let's say for a fund, i bought one year ago, the price is RM0.20, I spent RM400 to buy 2000 units. Between one year ago and today, the fund distributed dividend at RM0.01 per unit, when the price is RM0.30. Today, the price is RM0.25.

Neglecting any management fee, so my fund growth is {[(2000*0.01)/0.3+2000]*0.25}/(2000*0.20)=1.2917, 29% growth?
you got 2000 unit at initial investment = initial value (IV) is RM 400
today how many units you got in total?
multiply that total avail units with the current NAV = current value (CV).
CA-IV = x value...do the maths with IV to find the % of gain or lost.

try use this tool?
input / select required input...then wa-lah....
Fund Returns lets you derive the performance of a fund over the specified period.
Fund performance is not available for funds with a history of less than one year

This post has been edited by T231H: May 2 2016, 06:06 PM
babienn
post May 2 2016, 07:28 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ May 2 2016, 06:01 PM)
you got 2000 unit at initial investment = initial value (IV) is RM 400
today how many units you got in total?
multiply that total avail units with the current NAV = current value (CV).
CA-IV = x value...do the maths with IV to find the % of gain or lost.

try use this tool?
input / select required input...then wa-lah....
Fund Returns lets you derive the performance of a fund over the specified period.
Fund performance is not available for funds with a history of less than one year
Thanks sifu for the tool, I've now bookmarked. Apparently a lot of the funds are not performing well over the past year.

Relatively new to this, just wanted to double confirm if my concept of calculating the dividend is correct. Thank you for the explanation thumbup.gif

T231H
post May 2 2016, 07:50 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(babienn @ May 2 2016, 07:28 PM)
Thanks sifu for the tool, I've now bookmarked. Apparently a lot of the funds are not performing well over the past year.

Relatively new to this, just wanted to double confirm if my concept of calculating the dividend is correct. Thank you for the explanation  thumbup.gif
sorry...I cannot confirm as I don't do serious maths.
I just calculate
(current NAV x current unit available) - invested value, to get the profit or lost value in RM
than if I want % I do another simple maths cal.

Ramjade
post May 2 2016, 07:56 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ May 2 2016, 07:50 PM)
sorry...I cannot confirm as I don't do serious maths.
I just calculate
(current NAV x current unit available) - invested value, to get the profit or lost value in RM
than if I want % I do another simple maths cal.
Can that work in UT? We don't need to do IRR our some complex excel right? brows.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 2 2016, 07:57 PM
T231H
post May 2 2016, 08:25 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 2 2016, 07:56 PM)
Can that work in UT? We don't need to do IRR our some complex excel right? brows.gif
yes, it can works in any investment.....just that you are not sure how efficient is your investment.
ex,..a quick glance the ROI (previous calculation) can gives you a very high ROI of lets say.....100%...but it is just part of the story.....for one does not know how long had the investment be......if that 100% ROI is 2 years or 50 years.....the IRR will tell you which one is more efficient (based on historical returns)...
wil-i-am
post May 2 2016, 08:27 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ May 2 2016, 08:25 PM)
yes, it can works in any investment.....just that you are not sure how efficient is your investment.
ex,..a quick glance the ROI (previous calculation) can gives you a very high ROI of lets say.....100%...but it is just part of the story.....for one does not know how long had the investment be......if that 100% ROI is 2 years or 50 years.....the IRR will tell you which one is more efficient (based on historical returns)...
By default, man on d street will utilize ROI to measure performance
T231H
post May 2 2016, 08:30 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 2 2016, 08:27 PM)
By default, man on d street will utilize ROI to measure performance
yes, me too before I joined this forum....
Ramjade
post May 2 2016, 08:45 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ May 2 2016, 08:25 PM)
How about count the ROI every year, divide by the number years you have invested? Give a much accurate answer. No?
T231H
post May 2 2016, 08:59 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 2 2016, 08:45 PM)
How about count the ROI every year, divide by the number years you have invested? Give a much accurate answer. No?
the answer is not so straight.....for simple estimated calculation...can use that.....
in post # 1, FAQ # 5...got a simple chart that explains and also there is a formula.

see a very well explained post by forummer idyllrain in post 2377 about IRR things.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry76580122

This post has been edited by T231H: May 2 2016, 09:04 PM

139 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:35 PM