Fundsupermart.com v14, Happy 牛(bull!) Year

dasecret
post Mar 25 2016, 12:01 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 25 2016, 11:38 AM)
Saw in newspaper tat CIMB gonna change titan fund structure to a multi-class fund hmm.gif got unitholder meeting to vote on the resolution..
They did the same thing with Ponzi 2.0 last year. This enable them to sell the fund in its banks in ASEAN region
kkk8787
post Mar 25 2016, 12:02 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 25 2016, 11:38 AM)
Saw in newspaper tat CIMB gonna change titan fund structure to a multi-class fund hmm.gif got unitholder meeting to vote on the resolution..
the effect on us will be??
nexona88
post Mar 25 2016, 12:28 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 25 2016, 12:01 PM)
They did the same thing with Ponzi 2.0 last year. This enable them to sell the fund in its banks in ASEAN region
oh like tat.. Thanks for info rclxms.gif

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Mar 25 2016, 12:02 PM)
the effect on us will be??
should be no problem. BAU hmm.gif
guy3288
post Mar 25 2016, 01:59 PM

5,875 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 24 2016, 10:00 PM)
How to have net loss position but IRR is positive? 🤔
The answer is in the "locked profit".
Yes, no way you can have positive IRR if total investment showed a nett loss.

My IRR was positive becos i had sold and locked in some 28k profit earlier,
more than enough to cover the 10k loss on 29.2.2016

It really puzzles me how you could be enlightened by Lukenn's example.

QUOTE(lukenn @ Mar 24 2016, 10:01 PM)
This happens because of the timing of deposits and withdrawals.
True, but the long and short of that is:
overalll there must be a profit, otherwise IRR cannot be positive.

QUOTE(lukenn @ Mar 24 2016, 10:53 PM)
I'm not sure if this is the correct explanation :

01/01/14 - unit price = RM1.00
Purchase 10 units
Cost RM10

31/12/14 - unit price = RM2.00
Purchase 10000 units
Total Units 10010 units
Cost RM20,000
Total Cost RM20,010

01/01/14 - unit price = RM1.90
Redeem 10010 units
Redemption Value 19,019

Where fund NAV has gone up, but investment value has gone down.
This is a poor example to explain a negative portfolio with positive IRR.

In your example the IRR CANNOT be positive, unless with locked profit ealier.
Invested amount totalled RM20010,
and current value only RM19019, IRR sure negative.

NB:
If you go to FSM "MY INVESTMENT" then "Analyse my porfolio", there u can see your exact amount of overall profit or loss.
see attachment.
And i find that figure closely mirrors Polarbearz's Portfolio Summary Profit/Loss.

If you buy and sell, buy and sell, you cannot use the current FSM holdings' profit or loss,
as it does not take into consideration ealier transactions' gain or loss.

dasecret
post Mar 25 2016, 02:14 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 25 2016, 01:59 PM)

It really puzzles me how you could be enlightened by Lukenn's example.
True, but the long and short of that is:
overalll there must be a profit, otherwise IRR cannot be positive.
This is a poor example  to explain a negative portfolio with positive IRR.

In your example the IRR CANNOT be positive, unless with locked profit ealier.
Invested amount totalled RM20010,
and current value only RM19019,  IRR sure negative.

You know what, when I first read his example I have the same thought as you.... but, being a nerd bean counter as I am, put in spreadsheet and calculate lor

And this is what I got... the IRR is slightly positive, and hence my comment that it doesn't weight average returns but takes the time value of return instead
j.passing.by
post Mar 25 2016, 03:46 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 25 2016, 02:14 PM)
You know what, when I first read his example I have the same thought as you.... but, being a nerd bean counter as I am, put in spreadsheet and calculate lor

And this is what I got... the IRR is slightly positive, and hence my comment that it doesn't weight average returns but takes the time value of return instead
There is such a thing as GIGO - garbage in, garbage out. biggrin.gif
The extreme numbers broke the function! Try changing the 'time value' from 1/1/2015 to any date, and the XIRR remains the same... laugh.gif

Here's the logic on what the numbers are saying:
$10 gains on $10 invested is ROI 100%, and since the time period is 1 year, the IRR (or CAGR) is also 100%.
$1000 lost on $20,000 is -5% ROI, and since the time period is 1 day, the CAGR is -100%.

The projected lost (in one year) is very close to 100%, since if we lose 5% a day, we will lose NEARLY all in several weeks. We can't lose more than $20,000 (or in other words, less than -100%), because the maths is not a simple 'minus' ie. 20k - 1k - 1k - 1k ... but 20k x 95% x 95% x 95%....

Even if we lost 10% a day, which is $2000, the projected lost will still be capped at -100%.

Putting the 2 investments of 'extreme' figures and dates together into the XIRR function, it resulted in a confusing/misleading IRR of 0%.

But using cow sense and being aware of GIGO, any reasonable investor would ignore the initial $10, and think and calculate solely on the $20,000...

wil-i-am
post Mar 25 2016, 06:34 PM

10,001 posts

Anyone still holding EI APSEF?
dasecret
post Mar 25 2016, 07:54 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Mar 25 2016, 06:34 PM)
Err, full name pls. Or nickname if it's popular 😁
wil-i-am
post Mar 25 2016, 09:35 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 25 2016, 07:54 PM)
Err, full name pls. Or nickname if it's popular 😁
Eastspring Invt Asia Pacific Shariah Equity Fund

dasecret
post Mar 25 2016, 09:41 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Mar 25 2016, 09:35 PM)
Eastspring Invt Asia Pacific Shariah Equity Fund
Oh. Didn't they close this fund? Anyway I don't have 😁
aoisky
post Mar 25 2016, 10:07 PM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Mar 25 2016, 06:34 PM)
you still holding this fund ?
wil-i-am
post Mar 25 2016, 10:51 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 25 2016, 09:41 PM)
Oh. Didn't they close this fund? Anyway I don't have 😁
Not yet but going to

QUOTE(aoisky @ Mar 25 2016, 10:07 PM)
you still holding this fund ?
Yup

aoisky
post Mar 26 2016, 10:17 AM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Mar 25 2016, 10:51 PM)
Not yet but going to
Yup
switch sale it for good
xuzen
post Mar 26 2016, 06:07 PM

4,436 posts

I am reducing my exposure to riskier assets. Generally for equity exposed UTF the returns are dropping but volatility is increasing.

Xuzen

p/s: GTF, ESISC & Ponzi 2.0 still forms my portfolio.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 26 2016, 06:09 PM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 26 2016, 06:40 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 26 2016, 06:07 PM)
I am reducing my exposure to riskier assets. Generally for equity exposed UTF the returns are dropping but volatility is increasing.

Xuzen

p/s: GTF, ESISC & Ponzi 2.0 still forms my portfolio.
hmm.gif almost similar warning words by the hwang's MD in his speech recently..
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
hmm.gif great minds think alikes...... thumbsup.gif

...he did mentioned that the expectation of returns % have to be adjusted downwards from now on.....

the current local ringgit direction will be seen soon.....
the BNM governor replacement.......1 side is liked by mkts, the others is perceived to be political choices....
if the mkts don't like the selection...RM will be hit.

he spoke of how, when the recent mkts rally for 3 weeks....he sold some 5% to raise cash.....

this got me thinking......should we follow "sell some on few % gains, buy some on a few % drops".....(with wrap a/c can lah)
no more buy and keep long long.....the volatility is fast and short.

he expects the M'sia interest rate to come down.......and if the banks offers 4.5% pa FD......take it! thumbup.gif
btw,...I met a Affin bank PR at the dinner too...she said....AFFIN Bank only at Padang Kota Lama in Penang branch got offering 4.5% pa till end of March. fresh fund 10k min
is that a coincident?

he warned....pay a closer look on the yuan outflow till next year.....

china has a BIG reserves, but there is a confident level of min 2.x Trillion reserves value......if the rate falls....expected next year can see results....
then he jokingly said.....don't invest anywhere....as if CHINA falls....the whole mkts will too.

Buy pound now as the BRIEXIT polls is in June had dragged it down.....
he expects Britain to remains in EU and after the polls pound will rises some %.
why will stays?...b'cos it has nothing without EU.... rclxs0.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 26 2016, 06:56 PM
Kaka23
post Mar 26 2016, 08:14 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 26 2016, 06:40 PM)
hmm.gif almost similar warning words by the hwang's MD in his speech recently..
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
hmm.gif great minds think alikes...... thumbsup.gif

...he did mentioned that the expectation of returns % have to be adjusted downwards from now on.....

the current local ringgit direction will be seen soon.....
the BNM governor replacement.......1 side is liked by mkts, the others is perceived to be political choices....
if the mkts don't like the selection...RM will be hit.

he spoke of how, when the recent mkts rally for 3 weeks....he sold some 5% to raise cash.....

this got me thinking......should we follow "sell some on few % gains, buy some on a few % drops".....(with wrap a/c can lah)
no more buy and keep long long.....the volatility is fast and short.

he expects the M'sia interest rate to come down.......and if the banks offers 4.5% pa FD......take it! thumbup.gif
btw,...I met a Affin bank PR at the dinner too...she said....AFFIN Bank only at Padang Kota Lama in Penang branch got offering 4.5% pa till end of March. fresh fund 10k min
is that a coincident?

he warned....pay a closer look on the yuan outflow till next year.....

china has a BIG reserves, but there is a confident level of min 2.x Trillion reserves value......if the rate falls....expected next year can see results....
then he jokingly said.....don't invest anywhere....as if CHINA falls....the whole mkts will too.

Buy pound now as the BRIEXIT polls is in June had dragged it down.....
he expects Britain to remains in EU and after the polls pound will rises some %.
why will stays?...b'cos it has nothing without EU....  rclxs0.gif
Doing any adjustment on your portfolio?

SUSyklooi
post Mar 26 2016, 09:07 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 26 2016, 08:14 PM)
Doing any adjustment on your portfolio?
Not yet. I am not on wrap s/c.
Will see how some of the funds moves in July. Then decide.
Kaka23
post Mar 26 2016, 09:55 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 26 2016, 09:07 PM)
Not yet. I am not on wrap s/c.
Will see how some of the funds moves in July. Then decide.
I think good decision.. Review every 6 months or so.. There will always be many news that will effect decisions. Just ignore them..

wil-i-am
post Mar 27 2016, 01:55 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 26 2016, 09:55 PM)
I think good decision..  Review every 6 months or so..  There will always be many news that will effect decisions. Just ignore them..
I review every qtr
Kaka23
post Mar 27 2016, 05:45 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Mar 27 2016, 01:55 PM)
I review every qtr
notworthy.gif

So your coming review will be these few days lor... How is your portfolio performing this Q1?

139 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:57 AM