Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 Discussion Thread V2

bigwig
post Mar 18 2016, 10:44 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 18 2016, 09:42 AM)
Mean it is the Redmi Note 3 Pro but is Import from Mi China by local reseller. If you are not tech savvy flashing Global ROM, buy local Mi Malaysia for a peace of mind.
Hi, where to get the Global ROM for MTK version as MIUI website was showing MTK China. Thanks.
bigwig
post Mar 18 2016, 11:14 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 18 2016, 11:00 AM)
i do not think there will be a MTK China... as they are not selling any MTK model out of China, Officially...
hence they do not need to generate a global ROM for that... smile.gif
Is this mean, if I flash the MTK China there will be no Google Apps and only in Chinese language?
bigwig
post Mar 18 2016, 11:34 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 18 2016, 11:32 AM)
Sideload the Gapps are very easy
China ROM are English ready, just like the Global ROM but only with extra Chinese MIUI Apps which you can't use outside of China.
I see. Can we uninstall those China apps? Sorry i'm newbie to MIUI.
bigwig
post Mar 18 2016, 11:43 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 18 2016, 11:35 AM)
Some can, some can't. Hide in folder or use 3rd Party Launcher with Apps Drawer to hide it.
Thanks for the clarifications. Is MIUI 7.2.x running on Marshmallow?
bigwig
post Mar 18 2016, 11:58 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 18 2016, 11:44 AM)
nope... N3 still on lollipop...
only Mi5 have v6.0 now
Haha...I tot all v7.2.x was Marshmallow...
bigwig
post Mar 18 2016, 04:07 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 18 2016, 12:11 PM)
that is the reason i think twice now before getting Xiaomi midrage phone...
although a lot of others manufacturer still same but last time my Mi3 were promised with lollipop for almost 6~9 months it nv been materialize so i sold it off... after 1 year+ also no sight of it... but i heard about mid of last year they push it out already...
i do hope they promise to upgrade as per schedule, not drag and left user asking after 6 months also no reply...
Actually not only Xiaomi, I can say majority of China phones having ROM update issue...promise and let you wait. If you like to flash ROM then is OK to get a China phone and if you are the type that die die want OTA then you have to slow slow wait... biggrin.gif
bigwig
post Mar 18 2016, 05:20 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Mar 18 2016, 04:56 PM)
yeah
all not popular china phones are like taht

promise OTA updates and latest OS

but never happends ...
Not only unbranded China phones, big brands also the same. My friend's Huawei Mate 7 waited for almost a year for Lollipop.
bigwig
post Mar 18 2016, 05:57 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 18 2016, 05:54 PM)
XiaoMi phones ok also then... haha...
i like OnePlus 2... but the chipset, worried about heat... about RM1.5k reasonable now...
I sold my 1+2 b4 CNY. Getting hot for no reason sometimes...
bigwig
post Mar 21 2016, 09:25 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 21 2016, 09:16 AM)
that is what i worried about... but i'm skeptical on Redmi Note3 Pro cos of the firmware update slow...
got some bad experience on Mi3... and sometimes thinking why MIUI sucks too much RAM...

Got 1 Redmi Note 1 (MTK) waiting for ages to OTA to Lollipop. Only got Lollipop 2-3 months ago where everybody is waiting for Marshmallow already.

But if you like to flash ROM, Mi is a good option also. nod.gif
bigwig
post Mar 21 2016, 09:39 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 21 2016, 09:36 AM)
agree with you... but the flagship is already on Android v6.0... so maybe getting Mi5 instead of this...
Is Mi Marshmallow official already or just developer ROM?
bigwig
post Mar 21 2016, 10:46 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 21 2016, 10:41 AM)
confirmed Mi5 is come with Android v6.0 (M)
But I guess Redmi Note 3 (SD) M'sia set still on Lollipop maybe 5.1.x.
bigwig
post Mar 21 2016, 11:06 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 21 2016, 11:01 AM)
yes... thats why i worried about the firmware update to v6.0...
duno need to wait for how long... haiz...
MIUI is very confusing on their firmware. I google MIUI v7.2.3.x, some said it was Lollipop and some said it was actually a Marshmallow.
bigwig
post Mar 21 2016, 11:23 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(Lucius <3 @ Mar 20 2016, 04:01 PM)
What version of MIUI and Android that this phone is using? Sorry if you've mentioned already and I missed it.

bigwig
post Mar 21 2016, 11:32 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 21 2016, 11:25 AM)
he is on Android V5.1 (L) with MIUI v7... haha...
confusing... duno why the hack they do like that...
Maybe Xiaomi only depends on the MIUI communities to develop the ROM for them and maybe they don't have their own developers (to cut cost... rclxm9.gif )

This post has been edited by bigwig: Mar 21 2016, 11:45 AM
bigwig
post Mar 23 2016, 10:49 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(saitong09 @ Mar 23 2016, 10:47 PM)
If you can wait, less than a month from the launching. I'm ready to order 3GB/32GB version, not sure how much it will cost in Malaysia.
Any rough estimation how much will M'sia version cost?
bigwig
post Mar 23 2016, 11:44 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(saitong09 @ Mar 23 2016, 11:16 PM)
Currently DirectD selling Redmi NOte 3 pro 3GB/32GB for rm950, so the original should be around rm1000. Hope the price below rm1000 smile.gif
Much more expensive than Mi4c...I always tot that Redmi Note was second lowest after Redmi.

This post has been edited by bigwig: Mar 23 2016, 11:46 PM
bigwig
post Apr 2 2016, 10:26 PM

318 posts

May I know what version of MIUI and Android (5.1.x or 5.0.x) for RN3 Malaysia version?
bigwig
post Apr 3 2016, 01:28 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(kahyeec @ Apr 3 2016, 01:16 PM)
China to global .Not that easy. come see .

http://en.miui.com/thread-252473-1-1.html
I tot M'sia version is using Global ROM.
bigwig
post Apr 3 2016, 01:43 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(kahyeec @ Apr 3 2016, 01:39 PM)
DirectD and 1Gadget already have the Snapdragon Version In stock but with Chinese Vendor Rom.
Malaysia set is sure Global Rom la. But I like to use the free Spotify and free TV/Video in the Chinese Rom.
Nowadays all telco LTE bands is usable with China ROM just no Google Play only.
So i might do the reverse and install China Rom If i get the phone.
Is there any different in Android version for China and Global ROM?
bigwig
post Apr 3 2016, 02:39 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(kahyeec @ Apr 3 2016, 02:32 PM)
China Stable (V7.1.20.0)
China Developer (6.3.17)
Global Stable (V7.1.8.0)
http://en.miui.com/thread-247543-1-1.html

From the version number seems like the Global ROM is a little behind since it started late haha.
But all is version 7.1.xx so shud be on the same version of Android gua.
My observation only .
Thanks for the info. 1 thing I dun like bout MIUI, it never mention the Android version incorporated in the MIUI.

0.0532sec    2.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:03 PM