Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

malcolm86
post Jul 21 2016, 11:30 AM

197 posts

Hi, anyone using polisher for waxing? if weekly waxing by using polisher will dmg the clear coat?
malcolm86
post Jun 18 2017, 02:48 PM

197 posts

hi, anyone got solution to restoring plastic fading & softening rubber?

my car is black colour & always sunbath.
malcolm86
post Jun 18 2017, 03:17 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jun 18 2017, 03:06 PM)
which part of the car? interior? exterior? dashboard? car door? rubber seals?

can try Meguiars ultimate protectant or interior protectant, or Osren Reblack or UV Dressing, or even Carpro Perl.
thank for reply!

exterior, rubber seals & side mirror or other exterior plastics part.

Osren Reblack & Meguiars ultimate protectant which one cheaper? i bought osren wash & wax at kepong before.
malcolm86
post Jun 18 2017, 08:59 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 18 2017, 05:52 PM)
their wash & wax nice or not?

they actually have nano wash , not sure which to go
for me, their product are supplied to car washer industry. I bought 20l around rm5 plus per litre.

I don't know how to rate it, I believe their soap is less acidity which is less harm to ur clear coat or ur wax can longer lasting and better smell compare cheap soap at outside market.

I guess Nano wash is for cleaning black stain/ dots on white colour paint car.
malcolm86
post Jun 18 2017, 09:03 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(Iroquois Plissken @ Jun 18 2017, 06:52 PM)
Hey guys, what are examples of good wax brands available at regular supermarket? I tried Kit but even with 2 layers the car still picks up dust and grime easily.
I recommend go for spray wax, easier apply compare cream wax but cream wax have longer lasting
malcolm86
post Jun 18 2017, 09:07 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(Iroquois Plissken @ Jun 18 2017, 06:52 PM)
Hey guys, what are examples of good wax brands available at regular supermarket? I tried Kit but even with 2 layers the car still picks up dust and grime easily.
Doubled

This post has been edited by malcolm86: Jun 18 2017, 09:07 PM
malcolm86
post Jun 23 2017, 09:46 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jun 19 2017, 11:27 PM)
I'm on a budget- fireball ultimate spray wax

I'm rich, but not that rich - gyeon cure

I'm rich and fabulous - Carpro reload
O GOD! i should buy gyeon cure rather than turtle ice wax paste
malcolm86
post Sep 19 2017, 10:25 AM

197 posts

Dear all sifu, im noob here. i got a normal polisher but donno which is the correct steps to do detailing. so far i got wax and polishing compound

is it the steps as per following?

wash > clay > dry out > apply compound and polish using polisher with sponge pad (uneven pad) > apply wax and dry out > debuff using the polisher with wool pad

malcolm86
post Sep 19 2017, 11:27 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Sep 19 2017, 11:04 AM)
Erm, can let us know what polisher exactly are u using?

To clarify your steps, compound and polish cream is not "applied", u should be "rubbing" or "buffing" the compound/polish cream. Try google some car detailing videos on youtube to learn more.

Also, wool pad is not meant for buffing out waxes. Wool pads are the roughest pads meant for compounding (removing deep scratches and imperfections). A wax pad or finishing foam pad is used for applying waxes, then a clean microfiber cloth is used to buff off the excess residue.
hi,

my polisher > https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=552630...d=3389395469168

for buff off excess wax, cant use polisher? something i feel tired buff of by hand. sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif
but i still not sure which cream or wax to apply 1st and match corrected pad type

i will try to find some useful tip in youtube thumbsup.gif
malcolm86
post Sep 19 2017, 09:53 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Sep 19 2017, 04:56 PM)
If u find difficulty buffing off wax residue, that means u applied your wax too thick. Try to apply thinner coat of wax instead.

In general, pads are defined by their hardness, the harder the pad the stronger cream is used.

1) Hardest pad pair with compound cream
2) Medium pad pair with polish cream
3) Softest pad pair with wax

Again, compounding/polishing is not applying cream. Think of compounding/polishing like sandpaper, compound cream and hard pad is like rougher sandpaper, polish cream and medium pad is like fine sandpaper. U are using the cream and pad combo to polish (remove a fine layer of paint) from the surface. So after running the combo for a short period of time, wipe off residue compound/polish.

Only wax is considered applied on, because it has no abrasives and is meant to add protection to your car.

Maybe u should take some photos of what pad and creams u have and post here, then ppl here can assist on advising u further.
Hi, i got the creams as per attached photo.

So far i have wool pad, form pad, uneven/wave form pad, and polish pad

malcolm86
post Sep 20 2017, 08:05 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Sep 19 2017, 11:57 PM)
5 inch pads are cut abit bigger than the backing plate measurement, so u should have no issues if just getting back 5 inch pads.
Mmm, from the looks of your photo, it looks like all your products are either AIO creams, or just pure wax. Sorry, I dont read Chinese, so cant tell exactly what the other 2 products are. However, AIO creams do abit of compound/polish and usually leave a thin layer of wax.

As for your Osren product, did u consult with Osren on how to use it? They should be able to guide u.

In terms of your foam pads, u probably need a wax pad to apply waxes.
Yellow bottle is scratchs and swirls removal wax, and bottom one is black wax for black painted car.

Osren product they mentioned is compound and suitable to remove some stains on windscreen and not really suitable to polish black painted car.
Ice wax and black wax should be pure wax and others are aio wax.

Anyway, thanks for your advice. And will try it in this weekend
malcolm86
post Sep 26 2017, 10:25 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Sep 25 2017, 04:38 PM)
Soooo, I had been having an annoyance with my relative's Myvi headlights whenever I see the car. It is quite an old car, about 2006-2007 model. Today she managed to spare abit of time for me to polish it while she attended her class. Just sharing some pics of the work:

[attachmentid=9171767]
This is how it looked like at the start. Both sides are almost equally faded and whatever film protecting it long gone.

[attachmentid=9171776]
Started with 1000 grit wetsanding by hand using forward-backward motion. Alot of brown water dripped off cuz I didnt wash or clay before starting.

[attachmentid=9171780]
Followed up with 2000 grit wetsanding by hand using left-right motion.

[attachmentid=9171782]
Final wetsanding by hand with 3000 grit using forward-backward motion.

[attachmentid=9171769]
Just to show the left one after completing the same wetsanding process.

[attachmentid=9171773]
For compounding, I used Meguiars m105 with microfiber cutting pad. For polishing I used Meguiars m205 with black finishing pad.

[attachmentid=9171784]
Finished result under semi cloudy daylight. Didnt have any appropriate protection product to apply, so left it as it were.

For this short detailing work I used the following products:

1) Machine: Rupes LHR21MkII, 5" backing plate and washer mod, mostly running speed 3 throughout the process.
2) Sanding: 1000, 2000, 3000 grit sandpaper
3) Compounding: Meguiars Microfiber cutting pad and Meguiars m105 Compound
4) Polishing: Meguiars Black finishing pad and Meguiars m205 Polish
5) 3 regular microfiber towels

Overall had only about 3 hours to get this done cuz she needed the car back after that. All the work was done within 1.5 hours. I think the lights came out okay considering its age. When turn on the headlamp lights can still see the little hairline cracks inside but cant do anything about that.
look great~!

somehow my testing project fail need more research. sad.gif

0.0395sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:12 PM