Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

kirakun
post Oct 31 2016, 02:44 PM

697 posts

QUOTE(hk_loo @ Oct 31 2016, 02:12 PM)
clay first before wax.

and may be your shampoo remove the wax already ...  try use turtle brand if you not afford meguiars
Most likely the car shampoo has the cleaner ability embedded with it. Some el cheapo shampoo does that too.

Best is to go for a pH neutral shampoo for best result in keeping your wax last longer.

Personally i'm using Autoglym Bodywork Shampoo and Conditioner. Proven and tested to be pH neutral and works really well in preserving my wax with the water beading effect. Already 2 months down the road after application and the water beading effect is still good. I wash my car weekly basis.
kirakun
post Oct 31 2016, 03:46 PM

697 posts

QUOTE(hk_loo @ Oct 31 2016, 03:42 PM)
actually how do we know if the wax still there ?

very smooth feel by hand ?

i just polish and wax yesterday
For my case since the wax comes with water beading effect, as long as the beading effect is still good, the wax is still there tongue.gif .
kirakun
post Jan 18 2017, 02:48 PM

697 posts

QUOTE(facktura @ Jan 18 2017, 01:48 PM)
Is Soft99 Ultra Glaco really works especially for front windscreen?

will it effect the wipers rubber or not?
Been using soft99 Glaco for almost a year already, works well on all glasses(inclusive side mirrors) not only windscreen. No issues on my rubber wiper blades thus far. I believe the key to prolong the lifespan of rubber wiper and to avoid intermittent juddering during wiping is to wipe/clean your rubber wiper blades too on every car wash.
kirakun
post Jan 18 2017, 05:06 PM

697 posts

QUOTE(facktura @ Jan 18 2017, 05:02 PM)
They said dont use soap to clean the wiper rubber, is it true? Now got skreet skreet sound already on my 3 months old civic aishhh
Yea, best not to use any soap as any soap contained some form of detergent with vary concentration. Any contact with detergent will cause rubber to harden sooner thus shorten the lifespan.
kirakun
post Feb 10 2017, 11:15 AM

697 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 10 2017, 10:24 AM)
link
Diy is always better. simply because no one would take better care of your car than yourself.
it is entirely up to you.

i do light polishing every 2 1/2 months for paint cleaning purposes.

outside....i don't know what combo they use, might be aggressive enough that polishing every 2 1/2 months would have your clear coat stripped.
Agreed. Don't think it is a good idea to polish the car at auto detailer too often. May wear off the clear coat layer prematurely. Best is once or twice a year unless the workmanship at the auto detailer is excellent and the workers really knows how to polish the car properly(extremely rare).
kirakun
post Feb 20 2017, 03:31 PM

697 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Feb 20 2017, 03:17 PM)
You mean 12 months without car wash as Fusso has excellent water and dust sheeting effect?
Haha, an impossible feat unless u want your car to end up as black as soot all over lol. Am a user of fusso coat 12 months too. The water beading effect do last for a few months but definitely not up to 12 months. The effect will start wearing off around 2 months from application and at 4th month, it will be about time for top up application. However the effect duration may varies according to the exposure of the car to sun and rain. Mine is parked under sun and rain most of the days except at night and weekend lol. Do note that I do wash the car once a week though.

This post has been edited by kirakun: Feb 20 2017, 03:32 PM
kirakun
post Feb 21 2017, 08:38 AM

697 posts

Mine is pearl white. Yea i did notice the sporadic dark stains on the paint after using Fusso wax. Thought was either mistake during application or didn't buff off properly. However after i did a complete polish and wax at outside workshop using GM-Tech products, same sporadic stains occur. I'm still baffled on how did the stains only appear after quite a few days baking under the sun and rain.
kirakun
post Feb 21 2017, 03:23 PM

697 posts

QUOTE(windskill @ Feb 21 2017, 10:10 AM)
I am using Soft99 King of Gloss and experienced the same issue as well. I think it has nothing to do with application but the behavior of the product.
This actually made me to hesitate whether I should continue to use this or not haha. Apart from this issue, the gloss, hydrophobic behavior and durability of the wax are really impressive.

But anyway, you don't have to go for a complete polish to remove the dark stains. Get a wax cleaner to clean on the paint surface and the dark stains can be removed with ease. After you have done it, then you can top-up your wax.
Will do so if time permits, sending it to the auto detailer is of course 'easier' haha. I believe all kind of wax will incur this kind of 'stain' appearance sooner or later especially on white colored cars. Had been using Meguiar ultimate liquid wax before Fusso coat wax, stain appeared also after every application lol.
kirakun
post Feb 21 2017, 04:04 PM

697 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Feb 21 2017, 03:49 PM)
could this possible because of after raining or kena bird poo and we didn't wipe off and leave it dry by itself?
Nope the sporadic 'stains' are not caused by bird poo or due to droplets of rain dried up on the paint that's for sure. The stains just appeared randomly some time after a few car wash. I do wash my car on my own once a week haha.

This post has been edited by kirakun: Feb 21 2017, 04:04 PM
kirakun
post Feb 23 2017, 05:12 PM

697 posts

QUOTE(hyuanl @ Feb 23 2017, 04:27 PM)
What should i use to lubricate when applying clay?? spray wax or car shampoo?
For claying, car shampoo is good enough.

QUOTE(hyuanl @ Feb 23 2017, 04:41 PM)
And Guys, should i wipe my car after heavy raining?? Its raining heavily now in KL?

i read on internet that shouldn't wipe it as dirt from rain drops covering the car will cause minor scratches...
Best is to wipe after u dose off the rain water with pipe water. Cleaner and less chances to incur scratches. And yes, rain waters are contaminated so i would advice against wiping it off without prior dosing with pipe water.

kirakun
post Mar 24 2017, 10:04 AM

697 posts

Right on.

Wax will only help to reduce dirt and stain from sticking onto the car exterior body but will not remove the need to wash your car periodically. Also ease up the car wash. Same goes for coating.

There is no such treatment in the world that will remove the need to wash your car if u want your car to look shiny and clean unless u wrap the car lol. Even so the wrap will attract dirt and stain in a matter of time if u don't do your car wash accordingly.
kirakun
post Mar 30 2017, 04:17 PM

697 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Mar 30 2017, 04:12 PM)
My car is only 5 months old and I already can feel roughness on the paint.

Never thought I need to clay my car so soon.  cry.gif
It is entirely dependent on how u take care of your car. If diligently wash and wax your car regularly say once a week, i doubt that the roughness u feel on the paint will be there even after a good year pass by. Regular wash and wax is the key to keep the need to polish away for at least a year.
kirakun
post Aug 28 2017, 01:39 PM

697 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Aug 28 2017, 01:00 PM)
I'm using Gyeon view, so far it's good but I won't say it's really amazing and not very diy friendly plus it's not cheap (currently RM3xx for the kit). 3 months in and it's still holding up but speed below 80kph(maybe my car's aerodynamic is not good enough)needs to use wiper and if you follow other cars on the highway, it will be less effective (perhaps slipstreaming). Also need to learn not to keep using your wiper or it will significantly shorten the lifespan of the coating. sweat.gif

I think it might be better getting a very good pair of wipers such as PIAA silicone wiper and etc. I have a few friends that are using PIAA and good feedback overall. (application needs to pay some attention in cleaning, will affect how good it performs) But one caveat is silicone wipers can actually scratch your windscreen slowly if you always use it dry/not wet enough.

Don't try to use Rain X or cheap coating on your windscreen, it's not worth it, fails very quick and the residue may affect your wiper performance and visibility after that. However they are pretty good for side windows nod.gif )

Hope this helps.
Perhaps u should give ultra glaco a shot. Works fine for me for the past year and been using it ever since. Last longer than rainx and no judder from wipers.
kirakun
post May 31 2018, 03:59 PM

697 posts

QUOTE(willemng @ May 31 2018, 03:18 PM)
Hey Guys, almost everyday rain. Sifu Sifu have any method to prevent the car to be dirty?

what other method besides methods below? LOL
method 1 - wash car everyday
method 2 - park your car in covered building
method 3 - ???
Method 3 - wrap/coat the car lol. Wrapping will last longer frankly speaking.

0.5093sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:04 AM