Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 2 2017, 10:25 AM

216 posts

I have a 1 year old Honda city which has been washed weekly. Modern steel. Daily Driver to work which is parked under the hot sun.
I have not wax it or done anything since getting the car for the first time.

Reason for doing the waxing is because
- Have Door scuff marks, paint transfer (from other vehicles opening their doors hardly onto my door side panel) vmad.gif
- Watersmarks and hard to remove bird shit stains.
- Little bit of swirl marks
- micro scratches behind the door panel
- and some minor scratch marks with are not deep.

I don't have a car porch(live in condo) so my detailing time seems to be limited.

I am going to do:-
- A wash (turtlewax brand wash and wax)
- Dry first or maybe go straight to claying (3M claybar from lelong) with new soapy water.
- Rinse and Dry
- Cleaner Wax it with either Turtlewax carnauba cleaner wax or Meguires Cleaner Wax.

Questions;-
- Are those steps above suffice? To remove most of the marks mentioned above.
- Should I get paste wax or Liquid wax of the same type? I am going to go ol skool and wax by hand.
- After this one time clay and cleaner waxing I am going to wash weekly as per usual with the turtle wax and wash shampoo.
Will using different brand for the wax (If i decide to go with Meguires) and shampoo diminish the wax faster?
- Lastly If the Claying and Cleaner wax does its job of diminishing the imperfections to acceptable levels.
lets say in a month when the wax wears out or I wanna top up the wax and there are no new scratches and all.
Do I need to redo all the steps or can I just wash without claying and use Wax(not cleaner wax)
- Cleaner wax can be used on chrome bits?

Apologies for the long post. But any answers from sifus here are much appreciated. nod.gif
Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 2 2017, 12:44 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Feb 2 2017, 10:52 AM)
cleaner wax lack of power
some more you are doing it by hand.. at most, you only remove those minor swirls.. forget about those water mark or bird poo etching...
i would suggest u to use scratchx 2.0 combo with the cleaner wax to remove those defects taht you have mentioned. cleaner for those light swirls and finish those watermark or paint transfer with scratchx
you may also replace scratchx with ulti compound for bigger surface correction by hand.. but this is much harder to use than the more friendly scratchx(useful for spot correction)
that works for me, btw, i am a condo dweller too.. totally feels you.. some more at my place, they allocate car wash location beside rubbish collection point. have to endure shit smell while i wash and claying my carĀ  ranting.gif
So I definitely need to use some sort of scratch removal products for those scuffs and paint transfers and bird poop?
I was hoping i didn't need to do any of that.
Oh....Mine is terbalik from yours......my carpark(where i am going to do the waxing) is quite near the condo main dumpster.....sigh.

This post has been edited by Zoopdiidoo: Feb 2 2017, 12:44 PM
Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 2 2017, 01:25 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 2 2017, 01:21 PM)
wd40 or tar removal
yes you need something more abrasive than cleaner wax (which contains slight abrasive)
meguiars ultimate polish/compound would do

waxing doesn't remove scratches. and you might want to get something that might last longer on our climate. ultimate wax is good
most carnauba won't last more than a month.
Damn...was thinking forgore compounding and polishing and use Cleaner wax all in one instead.
Carnauba not tree sap from South American Tropical forest? Also wont last in Malaysia weather? Thanks for this info I tot can last long ....haha
Ultimate wax is synthetic wax?

This post has been edited by Zoopdiidoo: Feb 2 2017, 01:25 PM
Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 13 2017, 02:55 PM

216 posts

Managed to get Meguiar's cleaner Wax for cheap in the weekend from Tesco Egate Penang.
Seems to be a deal at RM63.
Normally its RM80++
Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 14 2017, 10:59 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Feb 14 2017, 10:47 AM)
too bad i bought at full price one year ago but i am happy for that price i paid as it did what it supposed to do

gonna try mothers AIO after i finished this meg cleaner wax
Yup if you need to stock up ...can buy to keep.
So you used this Cleaner Wax before?
Hows the verdict? Does it last long? the shine I mean.
Before using this wax...what are the steps you took?
You mean the mother's carnauba cleaner wax? I saw that too was tempted to buy cos was way cheaper but I read
ppl in this forum saying carnauba doesn't last long in our Malaysian weather.

Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 17 2017, 01:43 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Feb 17 2017, 01:34 PM)
Went look/see at local tesco shop..

Was labelled 67.04.. luckily it was labelled wrong.. actual price was 63.04..
icon_rolleyes.gif
Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 18 2017, 04:29 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Feb 18 2017, 12:02 PM)
actually i would like to ask sifu here , what drying cloth sifu recommend?
Previously i bought two microfibre clothes from tesco egate promo area...rm10(mistaken pricing i guess cos few days later i wnet to purchase was rm16, still cheap though) its the size of a hand towel. Ultra plush and with these two clothes i can wipe my entire car dry...city....without wringing the clothes.
Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 19 2017, 12:25 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Feb 18 2017, 08:39 PM)
I just bought my RM63 from lazada , actually u just need to apply it thin , u see youtube video they just apply very very thin layer , if u apply very thick , then ur elbow will go to holand liao haha , this normally happen for first time apply , after u know the technique then u won't find it hard (for sure compared to those liquiq , soft99 is more harder)
those really can water magnet?
Yup....never tried meguires waffle weave....but wont be cos this cheap one works for me. Just put it flat down on the hood and pull it across..without applying pressure at all with 2 three passes...done d
Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 19 2017, 02:05 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Feb 19 2017, 10:36 AM)
I used meguiars waffle weave drying cloth before, 1 cloth lasted 3-4 years, everytime after use wash with washing machine. at the end of its life it still absorbs water well, no streaks, minimal need to squeeze the water out halfway. I usually use 1 cloth to wipe my entire civic, start from all body panels and windshield, then wipe door jambs and engine and boot area, then rims. After finish rims dirty liao so send to washing machine.

However, I have moved to other cloths because meguiars cloth abit expensive.
Yeah 100 plus for one. In malaysia...buy from US is about 10 usd
Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 21 2017, 04:23 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 21 2017, 04:15 PM)
true....i experience this too with meguiars.
it's like white powder...dried up wax
Any pictures of how it looks like?
Just did Meguiers Cleaner wax on my car last weekend.
Zoopdiidoo
post Apr 27 2017, 03:30 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Apr 24 2017, 03:27 PM)
My first attempt in durability comparison. I hope I would be able to conclude it.
Synthetic Waxes Durability Waxes
Read your full car wash post....damn using colander as grit guards...pure genius, never though of that ......been looking for grit guards like forever....even Ace Hardware doesn't have them.
For the Claying if you use the quick detailer from PG...should it be done when the surface is wet or dry? I tried doing it when my car was already dry.....i had to buff off the quick detailer with pressure as though i am waxing my car.

This post has been edited by Zoopdiidoo: Apr 27 2017, 03:32 PM
Zoopdiidoo
post May 15 2017, 09:47 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(~C.W.S~ @ May 15 2017, 09:38 AM)
Speaking about micro fiber towel how you guys wash it after used for like polishing, buffing wax and drying? Can I mix with dish washing detergent to wash the towel?
Handwash.
I wash it using car shampoo...lol.
Sometimes will use just regular detergent.
Just never use softener with microfiber.

0.6001sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:18 PM