16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 11:17 AM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

New to detailing. Just booked a white car hence , want to learn how to take car of it without sending it to expensive coating. SO where do I start? XOXO
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 11:44 AM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Jul 30 2020, 11:29 AM)
OSREN laugh.gif
The price so much cheaper comapred to Meguiar. Btyw the mitt and towel by Meguair is better isit? nearly 2x the price of osren one
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 11:51 AM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Jul 30 2020, 11:44 AM)
Good day, may we know what you hope to achieve? Is it as long as car not dusty and dirty you are fine? Or you want to go until the stage where you machine polish swirl marks out of your car?
Hi. Maybe for now, I prefer wash+ coat (using Hybrid ceramic wax, OSren Coat etc.)

Can you suggest any good shampoo, washing mitt and coat? The diffrence of price is too huge for eg, between OSren/PG and Meguair
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 12:16 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(MazeLoL @ Jul 30 2020, 12:03 PM)
Well if you were like me, my car is my daily driver.

So basically just general wash & shine perspective i would said.

PH Neutral Shampoo & Top Layer of Coat ( Osren Wash & Coat - Use Coat as Dry application and topped like 3 months once) + Drying Towel (Osren Ultra) and pair with a wash mitt (Osren Wash Mitt and you were good to go .
By right it should be wash>clay>polish>coat right?

Lets say, can i do like wash> polish (once in a while) > coat? The polish(by hand) should be done how frequent?

Whats the difference between the Osren ultra absorbent and the OSren regular microfibre toweel aside from the better absorbent?
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 01:14 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Jul 30 2020, 12:49 PM)
-Yes by right it's wash>clay>polish>coat, but most would advise not to do claying if you are not going to follow up with machine polishing, because claying does mar your paint.

-Yes you can polish by hand once in awhile to clean your paint before coating it. How often? No correct answer but generally I would say if you feel your white car becoming slightly yellow-ish then probably it's time to do so, or maybe once every few months.

-Osren Ultra drying towel is designed for drying so better absorbent is the point. Osren regular microfibre towels are more general purpose towels, can be used to buff off stuff, wipe off tar remover, used for drying if you're in a pinch also can.
Thanks for the info. I just got my car new, so it shouldnt need a polish for now right? sweat.gif Can save abit. But the ultra towel is like 5x the pprice of the regular Osren dry towel. Is it worth the price?

Right now in my cart there are Osren Shampoom, Paintwork coat, buff towel, dry towell, washing mitt, iron remover(is this necessary?)
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 01:31 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 30 2020, 01:28 PM)
Osren towels are quite good.

Highly recommend their Ultra.

Try it bro. brows.gif

Absorbs water like no tomorrow. At least able to dry an entire CX5 without wringing... I bought extra 2 few days ago cos of the effectiveness of the 1st towel I bought a few weeks prior.

And congrats on your new ride! Seen your posts on /k usually too especially relating to Bimmers. biggrin.gif
Towel only? You tried before their shampoo and wax coating? how is it compared to Meguair?
So it is worth it la? but stil its rm8 vs rm6x sad.gif
Bimmer is company ride not mine. biggrin.gif BTW im not the infamous sunset orange guy ya. dont get confused with my profile pic. lol

Btw for the proper Osren paintwork coating application, is it after drying> spray on car> use microfibre towel wipe> finish off with bufff towel? The video didnt exactly specify the finishing part though.

This post has been edited by Jay Chua CC: Jul 30 2020, 01:33 PM
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 01:37 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Jul 30 2020, 01:23 PM)
-Most would think new car no need polish, but it depends, because most likely before new cars are collected they might be parked outside under the hot sun and rain, or maybe they got someone to wash and polish with not so good results, etc. You can park your car under the sun to inspect. However to polish a new car or not is depends on how particular you are. No polish also ok.

-Iron remover.. Since your car is new, I dont think you need it just yet. Warning : It smells bad.

I would suggest if you can, drive down to Osren's HQ at Kepong and buy from there. You can ask them anything about car care also. Warning : You may end up buying more than you intended to.
Too bad I'm from the north side. The price is still the same as online right?
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 02:01 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Jul 30 2020, 01:42 PM)
I see. But if you mean Penang, then you're in luck. They just opened a branch in Bukit Minyak Penang  biggrin.gif Make my life so much easier. I believe prices at their HQ & branch is the same as online discounted price you see now.
Crappp. I baru tekan checkout and paid. Bukit minyak is just less than 10km away from my workplace. And isnt that industrial area? confused.gif I guess its a warehouse?

total damage : 128RM

Osren Mega towel dry x1
Osren wash fibreMItt x1
Osren Towel Dry x1
Osren Buff Towel x1
Osren Paintwork Coat x1
Osren Shampoo x1

With this price i can only buy 1x shampoo and 1x towel, and need to top up few tens samo. biggrin.gif
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 02:03 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 30 2020, 01:42 PM)
Haha, no worries. I won't mix you up with bro wildcard. He sometimes visit this thread too for some car detailing advice etc. brows.gif

I would say, the moment you tried those cheaper towels vs the Ultra with it's double loop/weave pattern and notices how easily water is wicked away in one pass; that seals the deal.

I have many other MF towels also for buffing, glass, drying but this Ultra one really blew my mind. And I used to baulk at paying > RM50 for Meg's water magnet towel...

Actually for the coating. Assuming you've already washed, dried your car, and polish if necessary, so the moment you want to apply the spray coat, just spray only, then spread the product, then buff off with another towel/same towel but folded. If you see streaks [white car I think highly unlikely you can see streaks] try to damp the cloth and it helps.

You may consider applying some coating on your windscreens too for beading. Soft 99 Glaco is highly recommended and works like Rain X.

Their other products [Osren's wash] etc are pretty decent. Nano Wash & Bubble Wash currently in use by me. Their Luminous range is for end users like us who want something small and easy to use. Their products have several good feedbacks from the rest of the sifus here.

slk, celciuz, mazelol, V429 can vouch for it.

Waa. so many recommend that Ultra towel. Looks like i need to request for an exchange. LOL.
Now looking for caoting on windscreen. Do you happen to try before the products in Mr.DIY for windscreen water repellant ; for eg Jetsun
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 02:06 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(Kingsberg @ Jul 30 2020, 01:44 PM)
Their shop prices are generally cheaper, but they are packaged differently (amount wise), the towels they sell in packs of 3 (excluding the ultra drying towel), while the shampoo are 4L, the coat spray at 1L.

These are just a few examples though.
How much is the shampoo 4L and coat spray 1L? Usually a bottle of 300ml caot spray can last for how many usage? lets say a mid sized sedan
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 02:12 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(Kingsberg @ Jul 30 2020, 02:08 PM)
Shampoo is Rm65 (nano wash), RM46 (bubble & wax). The coat is RM120 for 1 litre, can be diluted 1:1, so RM120 for 2L
Thats a hell lots of difference in price man. 300ml selling form RM52 in shopee. In the online one, it is already diluted or not yet?
The 600ml packaging shampoo is not specified whether its nano wash or bubble wax. Do you know which it is? Again rmm30 for only 600ml cry.gif
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 02:15 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 30 2020, 02:09 PM)
Hey bro, no worries... It took me some time before I amassed my current detailing stuffs. Imagine the rest of the sifus here like slk and celciuz, can easily fill up warehouses man with their detailing stuffs. brows.gif

The Ultra may not be a must buy right now but KIV it for your next round in case you feel like the dry isn't doing well. I have all 3 - Dry & Mega towels, I am still keeping them in my car for any emergency use cos they are quite effective too.

I think you should be fine with your basket items since car is new. The moment you want to do more like remove stains/scratches/bird poo etc then it's time to look at polish...

Mr DIY products are quite ok too. Getsun one I've tried before the water repellant. Ok only la since cheap - I think I bought my spray bottle for like RM 9.34 few years ago... I moved on to Glaco range so I don't really buy Getsun items anymore for my windscreen.
Polish by Osren is okay? Can do without machine too right? will it scratch the car if i do manually by hand.

PG water-repellant RainZ priced similarly with those in Mr.DIY leh. Only rm10. Try before?
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 02:18 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(Kingsberg @ Jul 30 2020, 02:13 PM)
Bro V249 (sorry dont know how to tag) states the Coat in shopee is the undiluited one.

The shampoo on shopee is different from these 2, no idea what it is, but all quality ok bro, no worries.
wonder why they dont display all the products in the online store.

But in the their demo videos, they straight spray the undiluted coating on the car. So should I dilute it 1:1 first or straightaway use? economically speaking, ofc dilute is better, but will the effects be the same?
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 02:21 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Jul 30 2020, 02:18 PM)
It's at a shoplot just besides Bukit Minyak Aeon BIG. If you wanna try out Osren Nano Wash, I can share some with you  biggrin.gif
Sureeee. Next time we can share purchase togetherr. biggrin.gif
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 02:31 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jul 30 2020, 02:26 PM)
Earlier there was some discussion on clay and its marring, generally when one clays, in most of the time its expected to compound/polish prior to wax.

One way to mitigate that is to use clay cloth (CC). Since I started to use CC, couple of years back, i started to luv it alot, since it is so easy to use and saves time. Definitely capability wise, clay is better  at picking up those contamination, whereby on CC, you need to run couple of times.

Using CC, you will have way lesser marring to no marring, hence its a good choice as well, for those who are gonna skip polishing as well, and straight to wax.
For the clay cloth, any specific brand you are using? sounds promising biggrin.gif
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 02:41 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Jul 30 2020, 02:34 PM)
I got Osren clay cloth, you can come over to try before you buy  brows.gif
In shopee store x ada pun. ranting.gif

How much is that? After washing and drying the car then only use the clay cloth right? Any noticeable different for eg, wash/dry> clay> coat with wash/dry> coat? Assuming all using Osren products.

Not yet get my car. biggrin.gif
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 02:54 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Jul 30 2020, 02:48 PM)
RM85. With claying, you remove some of the stubborn contaminants on the paint, if you feel the paint your hands, you will feel the surface is smoother and less bumpy after claying. How does this help with coat? In theory, cleaner surface helps the coat to bond better to paint.

Clay you need lubrication with it, which for me is the shampoo. So I usually do it this way :

-Wash with washmitt.
-Use clay cloth with shampoo as lubrication
-Rinse
-Dry
-Coat
Okay its already sounds like a necessity to me rather than an option since its so easy to be used as you explained. biggrin.gif Will surely get one too. lol. this thread made me lose money. I think im gonna offf
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 03:51 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jul 30 2020, 03:31 PM)
I think i can answer this and hopefully it answers the why-s everyone is having.

Ideally osren wants to move to that direction, however the business started as a b2b approach, hence why there are professional range and luminous (enthusiast range)

Professional range is targetted at prosumers, doesn't make sense to sell in small packaging which is actually more e-commerce friendly (20L for shipping is holy cow price), and professional range requires servicing of b2b which ensures LTV of buyers. The very least, a demonstration and after sales service. Basically, an entirely different approach in terms of b2b. Hence, professional range isn't in a position where it would benefit our approach even though it would generate more sales. You know the Hengs emphasise a lot on after sales service. The auto detailing service industry in Malaysia still requires a lot of awareness and enlightenment, and where human skills are involved, many things can go wrong even with the right products. So professional range, better to build the brand through user experience than availability first lot. After all business is about duplication, later bad experience duplicated but product easily available also don't make sense.

Luminous range is meant for enthusiasts and weekend warriors, 4L of nano wash also dah group buy lol...and isn't commerce friendly. And its tweaked to make sure its effortless to use; as in no need that much in depth of steps or awareness involved. Purchasing behavior of end users and prosumers are also entirely different and requires different resources of different men and technology to ensure that user experience is inline with the brand.

All in all, there are many factors that osren do consider, we do hear feedbacks and inputs and need time to grow la hahaha.

I want to ask, taiping what is nice to do there? or makan place must visit? Going up next week cuti cuti Malaysia eh.
Understood. You are one of the Osren guy right? Btw, need to dilute the Osren Paintwork Coat before use?

Taiping ah,

Visit

Bukit larut - jeep go up (go early in the morning as not much jeeop trips to top)
Lake garden - Some sort like Pg botanical garden with more lakes
Kuala Sepetang - See fishing boats, mangrove river, eat seafood

Actually ntg much to visit and do as it is a retirement town.

Food wise alot
I find it more or less same like pg ba.

Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 04:20 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jul 30 2020, 03:56 PM)
I'm waiting for meguiars USA to hire me. Any lubang? LOL

Various way to use it, longevity wise, neat is always good. But there is a video that shows its usages in-depth

But in the video, it doesn't specify whether to dilute or not. I guess you just straight use without diluting? And any major difference bewtween M Ceramic wax and OSren coat?

For the nigh safari, the last time i went is around 10 years ago. ntg much.

This post has been edited by Jay Chua CC: Jul 30 2020, 04:20 PM
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 04:22 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jul 30 2020, 04:04 PM)
Off Topic abit
just came back from Taiping last week
Bukit Larut - jeep no operating maybe due to covid19, also cafe at bukit larut not in operation as well.
Lake garden, jammed pack with visitors
Kuala Sepetang - jammed pack with visitor came for cheap good seafood

Taiping town food to look for :
PSL Goreng Pisang
Ansari Cendol
Larut Matang Hawker center
Uncle Chuan Kopitiam - famous Ice or Hot Salted Coffee
Never heard of Uncle chuan kopitiam biggrin.gif

16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.4916sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled