26 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

douglas_tong
post Dec 12 2016, 08:13 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(daymond85 @ Dec 12 2016, 04:34 PM)
Thanks for the info. Just to confirm, my car is just 5 months old. I have used Meguairs ultimate paste wax (2 times in 5 months) and ultimate quik wax (after every car wash with ultimate car wash). If I clay bar it, will it remove the wax I have applied (paste wax) to my car?

I also have a ultimate quik detailer for cleaning bird shit.

Just share with u guys, I bought Meguairs ultimate car wash, ultimate quik detailer and ultimate quik wax at Rm84.

Another question, when I use the quik wax, sometimes it will accidentally spray on the rubber side of my car and left the white colour stain, how can I remove it?
Which quick wax is it? Gold class carnauba quick wax? If yes, that stains.

To answer your question, use any regular eraser. Like Faber caster eraser, eraser.

Clay bar will remove wax, most of it. So just reapply wax.
douglas_tong
post Dec 21 2016, 02:34 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Dec 21 2016, 01:34 AM)
http://meguiarsdirect.com.my/ is doing sales now! cheaper than motormad
i thought both website is same company?
looking to top up ultimate quick wax. am thinking i might be using too much and it finish too soon. anyway highly recommend to use on windscreen, much better than rainx although more expansive. but my person experience ultimate quick wax is really good on windscreen!

anyone tried meguiars wheel spoke brush before? it is worth to get it at RM42.40?

i use 3M claybars with ultimate wash & wax, lub is ok but the claybar keeps falling off from my hand when claying the under guard area. someone here advise to use a cloth to hold the claybar so that it wont feel so slick and fall off..

i just recently bought the osren grit guard systen (grit guard + pail) for RM90 incl GST.. yet to try it tho.. the grit guard will prevent & block the water from stirring at bottom.
quick question -
DAS6PRO - RM680 (Osren) is this model DAP8 ? Orbit Size: 8mm
Fake Rupes = RM850 (osren) is this model DAP15  ? Orbit Diameter Size: 15mm
i buy aeon's wheel brush. good enough for me.

on clay bar part, to secure it, just fold the edge at 90 degree and use your thumb and index finger to hold it, that way less likely to drop it.

yes to the both final question.
douglas_tong
post Dec 27 2016, 05:54 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(samjet @ Dec 27 2016, 02:28 PM)
Hello guys I am practicing weekly self car wash and I don't use any car shampoo. Just pipe water and kain buruk
If I want to make my car kilat2, can I just apply wax? What wax brand u guys recommend? Best if I can buy at lazada
cannot kilat. if apply also wont kilat much.
85% of kilat is from evenness of paint surface, wash with kain buruk and water can almost guarantee your car paint hancur.

so it's better to practice proper washing method, cause on the long term, it will kilat more compared to kain buruk+wax.

spend a bit, have it properly polished and just practice proper wash. Confirm more kilat than kain buruk + wax.

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Dec 27 2016, 05:56 PM
douglas_tong
post Dec 27 2016, 08:00 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(samjet @ Dec 27 2016, 06:01 PM)
Hi there
I guess my car is very unlucky to have me as an owner haha
So what wax brand u recommend? Best bang for bucks one
Thanks!
PS: I don't anticipate the car to be very kilat2 like new car..
OTC brand you can go for meguiars ultimate wax paste/liquid wax, mahal sikit

But best for buck? Collinite insulator 845, but have to find specific seller here. Many here will have different view on what is best bang for buck. Cause there are quite actually many wax that works great + affordable. Use whichever you are comfortable with
douglas_tong
post Dec 30 2016, 12:17 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Dec 30 2016, 01:16 AM)
Any sifu here have experience compounding and polishing refinished surface? My dad sells used cars and sometimes he do refinishing himself (no worries, a lot of used car dealers do this too and they never tell you.), but he can never master the compounding and polishing part. Even not refinishing, he also have to polish some of those cars with okay paint that have heavy swirls.

Currently he is using a AEG rotary machine, usually he use a Farecla compound, and never go beyond that. I understand that there's a lot more than that to make the paint shine (polishes, sealant, wax and etc). I did learn quite a bit from Youtube and practiced on my own car with some slightly oxidised paint, the compound works great for removing the oxidised layer, but it can never reach the really shiny look (it is very coarse I think). I think I still did an okay job with the rotary and it's not as scary as most people said.

Maintaining the cars in the open showroom is not easy too, lots of dust will accumulate on it in just 2-3 days.

Can any sifu recommend me most of the products that actually works and not very expensive (we are selling mostly local cars only, not some premium cars  sweat.gif ) from compound, polish, sealant (is this optional?) and wax.

Maybe also recommend polishing pads and washing soap. Basically everything except the machine  icon_question.gif
Yup give osren a visit, I've decided to stay on their range as it works and inexpensive compared to most reputable brands.
If you are looking to do proper correction, you have to wash and clay. And detailing takes time.

So look at the strategy and spend more time on cars that are sellable and can fetch better premium price. Those fast going one like slk mentioned, go with aio(cleaner, polisher and wax).

Also, I would suggest looking at optimum no rinse(onr) and a leaf blower. If car are properly waxed, leaf blower will blow some dust on horizontal panels. Just don't blow lower sections or near the ground.
douglas_tong
post Jan 2 2017, 09:35 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Jan 1 2017, 07:23 PM)
last time the harley davidson dealer has it under S100 label. try checking with them. but its an old school wax where you need to prep the surface before applying.

Modern wax/sealant has some cleaners for better bonding > better durability
So using cleaner wax, like monthly practice, still need to clay beforehand? Sometimes, it gets a little dirty and I'm indecisive of claying or not. It is sort of in between the need to clay but still good enough to top up wax.

QUOTE(rifki.ism @ Jan 2 2017, 09:11 PM)
Its rainy day now. Mind to share how did you guys practice? Still wash once a week or how?
Wash only....wash then an hour later rain. Tak kisah

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jan 2 2017, 10:21 PM
douglas_tong
post Jan 3 2017, 01:03 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Jan 3 2017, 08:43 AM)
erm it all depends on how you want it to be. some can live with it smile.gif

Check grittiness by moving your palm on the surface or with a baggie test.

I prefer to clay only when i want to polish as claying will induce marring/scratches, as most the cars I take care are with soft paint smile.gif
Exactly my dilemma. Clay also risk of instilling damage, don't clay and just wax also scare embedded dirt gets loosen during waxing and cause marring.

In terms of grittiness, I think it is still acceptable, just not the kind where it is as good as newly clayed car. All within one month. But pads would always show dirts

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jan 3 2017, 01:05 PM
douglas_tong
post Jan 5 2017, 12:19 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(hebehow @ Jan 4 2017, 09:57 PM)
hi....any easy apply wax after wash? i mean something by spray and wont affect the previous  soft99 fusso coat wax that i apply? and when using clay, nid to use wat lubricant?just simply water ?
Spray wax is the way to go, I've always favored spray wax compared To paste wax.. Check out fireball Malaysia spray wax, it has a more reflective glow compared to most that produces depth (deep glow).

Use shampoo for clay lubricant

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jan 5 2017, 12:51 AM
douglas_tong
post Jan 9 2017, 08:57 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Hmmm295 @ Jan 9 2017, 07:32 PM)
[attachmentid=8381178]
hi,

anyone use this thing before?
i just bought recently but dont know how to use. laugh.gif

i have the DA and the cutting pad
Got. Just apply and polish like you would normally do with paint. Just that this dry out much quicker than any polishes, so keep working area small.

Small like 1x1 / 2x2

You have that polishing disc right?

The video shown is the one in powder form. The liquid one is much easier to use

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jan 9 2017, 11:06 PM
douglas_tong
post Jan 10 2017, 11:23 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Hmmm295 @ Jan 10 2017, 08:39 AM)
but in the video is powder type. mine cream type
rm47.40 with gst
means i polish on the dry glass without spraying any water is it?
yup , i have the polishing disc similar in the video.

this type is just watermark remover?
i realized after i polish,there is still scrathes.  shocking.gif
Yes. Without water.
And no, not meant to remove scratches. Wiper trails can be removed a little, but scratches...glass is tough to remove.

How bad is your scratch?

On the side note, I clay my wipers after every washes, to prevent dirt from marring the glass.
douglas_tong
post Jan 20 2017, 12:28 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Sawamura @ Jan 20 2017, 12:03 PM)
Just got myself a MJJC foam lance.

Quick question.. rinse before you foam or straight foam without rinse

My findings over the internet have so many different answers and thoughts
I usually foam then rinse if it is dirty,
If I want extra lubrication I rinse then foam,
If it is super dirty I foam, rinse, and re foam for extra lubrication.

But usually I just rinse and wash without foaming.
Barely use my foamer now.
douglas_tong
post Feb 2 2017, 01:21 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ Jan 26 2017, 05:19 PM)
Hi guys! Not sure if this is the correct thread.

My car's front and back lamp is tinted with sticker. Now it has gone black and I want to remove them.
Any idea how to do it?
wd40 or tar removal

QUOTE(Zoopdiidoo @ Feb 2 2017, 12:44 PM)
So I definitely need to use some sort of scratch removal products for those scuffs and paint transfers and bird poop?
I was hoping i didn't need to do any of that.
Oh....Mine is terbalik from yours......my carpark(where i am going to do the waxing) is quite near the condo main dumpster.....sigh.
yes you need something more abrasive than cleaner wax (which contains slight abrasive)
meguiars ultimate polish/compound would do

waxing doesn't remove scratches. and you might want to get something that might last longer on our climate. ultimate wax is good
most carnauba won't last more than a month.
douglas_tong
post Feb 2 2017, 01:52 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Zoopdiidoo @ Feb 2 2017, 01:25 PM)
Damn...was thinking forgore compounding and polishing and use Cleaner wax all in one instead.
Carnauba not tree sap from South American Tropical forest? Also wont last in Malaysia weather? Thanks for this info I tot can last long ....haha
Ultimate wax is synthetic wax?
you can, if you have a machine and possible with higher cutting pads.
but by hand, by the time you manage to remove those deeper scatches, people will think you masturbate a lot...hahahahaha

yes, ultimate wax is synthetic and claimed by many to be the longest lasting in meguiars range.
douglas_tong
post Feb 2 2017, 10:53 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Feb 2 2017, 07:28 PM)
try DJ SN Hybrid Nano : SN Hybrid Nano
Sounds gooding. Didn't see it on dodojuicekl website.

Hmmmmmm
douglas_tong
post Feb 10 2017, 10:24 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(mache01 @ Feb 9 2017, 05:09 PM)
Im using Bosch AQT 33-11 too,
Mind sharing where u bought MJJC Foam Lance and compatible with the washer?
link

QUOTE(facktura @ Feb 9 2017, 08:23 PM)
i wanna know how frequent to go for polishing? 6 months period is advisable?

i usually went to this carwash in sunway, forget the name. but they use meguiare product for waxing last time.
Diy is always better. simply because no one would take better care of your car than yourself.
it is entirely up to you.

i do light polishing every 2 1/2 months for paint cleaning purposes.

outside....i don't know what combo they use, might be aggressive enough that polishing every 2 1/2 months would have your clear coat stripped.

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Feb 10 2017, 10:24 AM
douglas_tong
post Feb 21 2017, 04:15 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Feb 21 2017, 03:23 PM)
Will do so if time permits, sending it to the auto detailer is of course 'easier' haha. I believe all kind of wax will incur this kind of 'stain' appearance sooner or later especially on white colored cars. Had been using Meguiar ultimate liquid wax before Fusso coat wax, stain appeared also after every application lol.
true....i experience this too with meguiars.
it's like white powder...dried up wax
douglas_tong
post Feb 23 2017, 07:45 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(hyuanl @ Feb 23 2017, 04:41 PM)
And Guys, should i wipe my car after heavy raining?? Its raining heavily now in KL?

i read on internet that shouldn't wipe it as dirt from rain drops covering the car will cause minor scratches...
No wiping.
Wash it with regular shampoo.

If you have waxed, take it for a spin so the water doesn't bead and cause water spots.
douglas_tong
post Feb 25 2017, 06:37 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Feb 25 2017, 03:33 PM)
I've been reading some comments on Fireball Premium Easy Coat and here is my take on it. Just my 2 sen.
Haven't heard from you for a long time hehe!

Actually easy coat is similar to hydro2. (Water activated)
Ultimate wax coating is similar to reload. (Heat activated)

Fireballs is on the less costly side.
douglas_tong
post Feb 26 2017, 01:11 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Feb 25 2017, 08:39 PM)
OIC. I guess that's why reload felt oilier and easy coat doesn't.
I do see that you have quite an extensive purchase of autoglym.
I only have one, car glass polish. Wanted an in-between polish that super clean the glass but not too time consuming kind before reapplying rainx.

Followed the instructions but find that the polish takes quite an effort to buff off. Any inputs/tips?
douglas_tong
post Feb 26 2017, 01:36 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Feb 26 2017, 12:20 PM)
I believe Osren also has a glass polish worth trying, I have seen it used before and it does the work pretty well using DA. Personally I am currently using Pinnacle GlassWork Water Spot Remover and it does a good job too, only problem is it tends to create alot of residue that flies around the rest of the car and need to be dusted off.

I chatted with Kevin Brown from Buffdaddy.com on glass polishing, he mentioned that any polishing cream that contains cerium oxide as its main ingredient would be ideal for glass polishing.
I do have the osren glass polish , cream type. But laziness always gets the best of me. That's why opted for ag, suppose to be the lazy way out in removing tough stain and oil/film. Just to make sure subsequent application of rainx/osren glass cost bonds properly.

Give me tips for handling rotary polisher....Please wahahaha

26 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0379sec    1.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:03 AM