805 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

chaics85
post Oct 9 2016, 11:52 AM

698 posts

What do you guys do after waxing your car. put it under the sun for sunbathe? or ..?

yesterday morning i did a wash with meg. wash & wax, clayed the front end of my car, meg. polish and ULW the front only. finish the whole front end at noon.

in the afternoon, went to work, it started to rain. this morning when i look at the waxed area, it doesnt feel as smooth anymore. did the rain just washed off the wax?
shaniandras2787
post Oct 9 2016, 05:16 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

I don't know what happened by "oily stains" appeared after I applied the Soft 99 Fusso Wax (for Dark Colored) cars.

Anyone know why o_O?
therain01
post Oct 9 2016, 10:49 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(chaics85 @ Oct 9 2016, 11:52 AM)
What do you guys do after waxing your car. put it under the sun for sunbathe? or ..?

yesterday morning i did a wash with meg. wash & wax, clayed the front end of my car, meg. polish and ULW the front only. finish the whole front end at noon.

in the afternoon, went to work, it started to rain. this morning when i look at the waxed area, it doesnt feel as smooth anymore. did the rain just washed off the wax?
Don't go under the sun. Keep it cool and dry and long as you could.
therain01
post Oct 9 2016, 10:56 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 9 2016, 05:16 PM)

I don't know what happened by "oily stains" appeared after I applied the Soft 99 Fusso Wax (for Dark Colored) cars.

Anyone know why o_O?
If I'm not mistaken this happen when you apply the wax too thick. It should go away in a day or 2. You might see a white shade later after exposed to heat. Please let me know if white shade happen.

I don't have fusso coat for black car but I do have a generic one which cost only rm10. I believe it works exactly the same like fusso coat for black car.

shaniandras2787
post Oct 10 2016, 09:09 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Oct 9 2016, 10:56 PM)
If I'm not mistaken this happen when you apply the wax too thick. It should go away in a day or 2. You might see a white shade later after exposed to heat. Please let me know if white shade happen.

I don't have fusso coat for black car but I do have a generic one which cost only rm10. I believe it works exactly the same like fusso coat for black car.
i see, i see =(

i'm already very light handed already when applying the wax, just a 1/8 of a turn and i applied very light pressure while applying and still this occurred =/

i guess the form applicator that comes with the wax isn't really good -.- i'm going to use the Meguiars applicator for my other parts and see if this problem happens.

thanks for your insight =D i thought for a minute that i "burned" the paint =(

linkin182
post Oct 10 2016, 09:40 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 10 2016, 09:09 AM)
i see, i see =(

i'm already very light handed already when applying the wax, just a 1/8 of a turn and i applied very light pressure while applying and still this occurred =/

i guess the form applicator that comes with the wax isn't really good -.- i'm going to use the Meguiars applicator for my other parts and see if this problem happens.

You can never burn the paint by hand unless you're sun goku.
Its not about light handed, its the amount of wax you took with the sponge applicator.

A light dab of the sponge/wax is sufficient.
windskill
post Oct 10 2016, 10:09 AM

49 posts

i see, i see =(

I don't recommend using the sponge that comes with the fusso coat. I feel it's quite rough and not safe to use on paint.
As others have mentioned, the oily stains could be due to thick wax. Or probably you didn't buff-off your wax properly at that spot after wax application?
shaniandras2787
post Oct 10 2016, 11:42 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Oct 10 2016, 09:40 AM)
You can never burn the paint by hand unless you're sun goku.
Its not about light handed, its the amount of wax you took with the sponge applicator.

A light dab of the sponge/wax is sufficient.
XD "Sun-Goku"

ahh, i already took very little from the can itself. just one-eighth of a turn and I didn't even applied any downward pressure while doing so =/ i "think" i just barely grazed the wax from its can T___T

QUOTE(windskill @ Oct 10 2016, 10:09 AM)
I don't recommend using the sponge that comes with the fusso coat. I feel it's quite rough and not safe to use on paint.
As others have mentioned, the oily stains could be due to thick wax. Or probably you didn't buff-off your wax properly at that spot after wax application?
yeah =/ i feel that the stock applicator has quite a rough texture to the touch but surprisingly, it didn't not leave any swirl or find marring marks on the paint but just to be safe, i'll switch to using the Meguiars applicator pads.

i also thought initially that it was from me not buffing off the wax properly so i tried by applying a thin wax on a small surface area and then immediately wiping it off but the oil stains developed almost immediately -.-
windskill
post Oct 10 2016, 01:14 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 10 2016, 11:42 AM)
XD "Sun-Goku"

ahh, i already took very little from the can itself. just one-eighth of a turn and I didn't even applied any downward pressure while doing so =/ i "think" i just barely grazed the wax from its can T___T
yeah =/ i feel that the stock applicator has quite a rough texture to the touch but surprisingly, it didn't not leave any swirl or find marring marks on the paint but just to be safe, i'll switch to using the Meguiars applicator pads.

i also thought initially that it was from me not buffing off the wax properly so i tried by applying a thin wax on a small surface area and then immediately wiping it off but the oil stains developed almost immediately -.-
Hmmm that's weird. I am using soft99 wax as well, but I don't have any oil stain issue as you mentioned. The only chance I get the oil stain is when I missed out the spot when buffing off the wax. If I left the stains there, the stains will disappear after a few days.

UPDATE

Just searched in Google and found this:
http://www.detailingworld.co.uk/forum/arch...p/t-328751.html

I don't think it matters how long you leave it. It comes off so easily. If you take it off too soon it can leave an oil like residue. This is fine as it dissipates with time, just don't drive your car until it has as dirt loves to stick to it. Ask me how I know? laugh.gif

Personally, I have found applying to the whole car and then removing in the usual manner is about right. I do ensure to go over with a clean long pile MF as a final buff though just to help the residue dissipate.

Is it because you buff-off your wax just immediately after you have applied on the surface?

This post has been edited by windskill: Oct 10 2016, 01:20 PM
therain01
post Oct 10 2016, 06:58 PM

256 posts

i see, i see =(

The next time you top up the wax try to first apply with circular motion with medium pressure follow by horizontal and vertical motion at very light pressure. You should see the wax applied much more evenly and easier to buff off. Also avoid doing it when paint is hot.

Anyway, do you see the a white shade after 24 hours.?
ipanTatum
post Oct 10 2016, 07:12 PM

during waxing my car with Kit wax( isit any good?), i've accidently stain my bumper part which is black plastic with the wax.

now there's white stains all over the black plastic parts.

Any idea how to remove them?? cry.gif
flyt0thesky
post Oct 10 2016, 09:28 PM

99 posts

Anyone here using turtle wax super hard shell paste wax? Any comment or review on this wax? Thinking to get 1 to apply on my 3months old car.. no money to do coating yet, wax to tahan first.. Hehe.. then I also found out there are some light scratches and swirl marks should I polish it first or just leave it since it is not very obvious..
kennethchang
post Oct 10 2016, 09:41 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(flyt0thesky @ Oct 10 2016, 09:28 PM)
Anyone here using turtle wax super hard shell paste wax? Any comment or review on this wax? Thinking to get 1 to apply on my 3months old car.. no money to do coating yet, wax to tahan first.. Hehe.. then I also found out there are some light scratches and swirl marks should I polish it first or just leave it since it is not very obvious..
as per attachment

turtle wax super hard shell paste wax is an old school wax ,for me is a good product and value on money.I applied 2 layer ,the 2nd layer applied after 3 week for the 1st layer.

the 2 pic is taken early of Sept until today the wax still on it

therain01
post Oct 10 2016, 10:33 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(ipanTatum @ Oct 10 2016, 07:12 PM)
during waxing my car with Kit wax( isit any good?), i've accidently stain my bumper part which is black plastic with the wax.

now there's white stains all over the black plastic parts.

Any idea how to remove them?? cry.gif
Use high quality pencil eraser. If stain still there, use dish washing liquid/paste and rub it with applicator.
therain01
post Oct 10 2016, 10:41 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(flyt0thesky @ Oct 10 2016, 09:28 PM)
I don't really like turtle super hard shell paste wax. The kit wax which the user above you are using works better than turtle hard shell. Too much effort (hard to buff off) with very little durability on water beading.

frozen7
post Oct 10 2016, 10:48 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Oct 10 2016, 10:41 PM)
I don't really like turtle super hard shell paste wax.  The kit wax which the user above you are using works better than turtle hard shell. Too much effort (hard to buff off) with very little durability on water beading.
I used turtle super hard shell liquid wax, same as per you claimed, no beading at all.
Osren's paste wax works better for me.
shaniandras2787
post Oct 11 2016, 09:37 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Oct 10 2016, 06:58 PM)
The next time you top up the wax try to first apply with circular motion with medium pressure follow by horizontal and vertical motion at very light pressure. You should see the wax applied  much more evenly and easier to buff off.  Also avoid doing it when paint is hot.

Anyway,  do you see the a white shade after 24 hours.?
ok, i will keep in mind that =/

hmmm, not sure about the white shade because the car is in my parents home now. it was the car I used previously and now it's given to my parents. i'll check back this weekend =)

i just waxed the bonnet of the car only so i'm going to was the roof this week =)
ipanTatum
post Oct 11 2016, 07:18 PM

QUOTE(therain01 @ Oct 10 2016, 10:33 PM)
Use high quality pencil eraser. If stain still there,  use dish washing liquid/paste and rub it with applicator.
tq boss, will try later on! thumbsup.gif
flyt0thesky
post Oct 11 2016, 09:57 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(kennethchang @ Oct 10 2016, 09:41 PM)
as per attachment

turtle wax super hard shell paste wax is an old school wax ,for me is a good product and value on money.I applied 2 layer ,the 2nd layer applied after 3 week for the 1st layer.

the 2 pic is taken early of Sept until  today the wax still on it
How about water beading of the wax? Is it good? There are users said the water beading of this wax is not good..
flyt0thesky
post Oct 11 2016, 09:59 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Oct 10 2016, 10:41 PM)
I don't really like turtle super hard shell paste wax.  The kit wax which the user above you are using works better than turtle hard shell. Too much effort (hard to buff off) with very little durability on water beading.
Thinking to get kit metallic coat paste wax or turtle wax since both also sharing the same price tag and can get easily from Aeon..

805 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:38 PM