26 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 >Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

douglas_tong
post Jan 7 2019, 10:28 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

For those who are considering if they would want to have their cars coated or not.

1) Please forget about the longevity of the coating or so they proclaim.
What you should be seeking for is how well is the after-sales service. If after-sales service is good, your car is in good hands. Ideally, you want to seek for service, not just product feature alone.

2) Understand the coating package. 1 year, 2 years, 5 years or so, prices will vary. Again, ditch the mentality of durability of coating. Basically operators are selling service, and according to your budget or selection, that's how long your car will be taken care of. Any shine that comes after that is a bonus.

3) Understand the terms and condition of the warranty.
If you pick a 3 years coating package, operator has to honour that 3 years. So please understand what is covered and what is not. If they are selling 3 years warranty but only give 1 year of free "maintenance", basically the package is 1 year, not 3 years. Please and I stress upon this: Ask about if the warranty is on water beading on or the shine & gloss. Most maintenance will involve spraying a layer of sealant. Once sealant wears out, there will no longer be water beading. But gloss is entirely different. (long story short - gloss is also part of the feature of the presence of coating, not just water beading)

4) Understand what you are getting into.
Deciding which service provider means subscribing to their service. It also means entrusting them to take good care of your car for the number of years you are subscribing to. (much like signing up digi plan for 2 years la.)

5) Coated cars are not invincible
As discussed, also prone to waterspots and scratches la. It's not a product whereby after application it will increase your car's armor. It's similar to assigning of a beautician for your car. That doesn't mean you don't have to take good care of your car too. I advise washing it with 2 bucket + grit guard method if you really want to retain that shine. For everything else, go back to your service provider.

Bonus
If you have spare time on hand, DIY! Detailing can be quick and simple. Sometimes, a well taken cared car will outshine a coated car too.

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jan 7 2019, 10:43 AM
douglas_tong
post Jan 14 2019, 05:45 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Personal opinion.

The most important aspect of "protecting" your ride is a proper and regular wash.
among others, don't tailgate cars, especially lorries, avoid driving behind lorries at all cost to prevent stone chips.

Don't park under trees and perform paint cleaning once in a while.
Wax and coating is not invincible and still requires regular washes and some tlc
douglas_tong
post Mar 10 2019, 07:49 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Mar 10 2019, 06:55 PM)
i was told to not use stainX on areas which has contact with wipers as it can highlight/amplify the wiper mark scratches  smile.gif
More like turning the glass blur. Hazy, murky
Gg
Why you no come try bead maker with me? sad.gif
douglas_tong
post Mar 15 2019, 09:48 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Mar 15 2019, 12:27 AM)
Actually there has been many debates about the logic and practicality of 2 bucket wash methods. The original assumption had always been that doing the 2 bucket with grit guards will minimize the chance of dirt from a different section being dragged on other sections and scratching. However, there is always the probability of some dirt being already trapped on existing wash mitt and did not come off in both buckets and thus continue its ride in the mitt and marring the paint.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZuxWadJygkU

I find for those looking for alternative methods, this is one definitely worth to consider.
Loose dirt will still float on top on the suds.
Squeezing the mitt dry very important step
Water will help to flush it out a bit.
Idea is not to swirl free the washing, but to minimise

douglas_tong
post Mar 25 2019, 10:05 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Mar 25 2019, 07:37 PM)
I am planning to get a machine to try to polish and then use it to wax myself. I don't wanna spend too much maybe budget RM 300 max what do you think I can get as I see the B&D KP600 price is attractive but all everyone commented here it's close to useless.

I am not that super super particular on how the car turned out.
That machine is only good for waxing
douglas_tong
post Apr 1 2019, 09:32 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Mar 31 2019, 03:26 PM)
Just to ask, I always thought of Osren's surface Conditioner as a quick detailer spray, am I mistaken about it and it's actually spray wax / sealant?
It's a shine booster and slickness enhancer. In terms of quick detailer, usually it comes with dirt encapsulation function, I wouldn't categorise it as such.

Some label it as "water wax". A lot of funny terms.
douglas_tong
post Apr 1 2019, 04:25 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Apr 1 2019, 11:18 AM)
Douglas... what happen if i dont dilute and use it straightaway?
You try lo.

Streak 99
douglas_tong
post Apr 4 2019, 12:17 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Apr 3 2019, 05:59 PM)
I have this Osren Perfect Cut 2.0 and was thinking of using this to try out. Its hidden in my store somewhere so thought of checking with sifus here before digging and attempt
Not formulated for glass.

http://www.osren.com/product/coatz/all/04a...-abrasive-cream

this is intended to be paired with :

http://www.osren.com/product/tools-and-acc...-polishing-disc

The new formulation of 04A is improved with much more working time and now comes with mineral dissolver properties in it. By hand also easier to polish now unless it is heavy waterspot which requires machine. And yes, abrasive is cerium oxide based.
douglas_tong
post Apr 4 2019, 12:26 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Superman07 @ Apr 2 2019, 02:03 PM)
Well that sucks but a different problems I guess since many of those mentioned assemblies are done by hands. Paint is something I kinda find it difficult to accept as from start to completion it's robotic activities and no human intervention. I guess it kinda screw up is because preparation for spray process isn't followed which boils down to human issue again.

My friend joked with me and told me this imperfection is a reminder it's a CKD afterall. LOL
I've seen brand new cars with sanding marks.

Yes paint is painted by machine. However before every car is due for delivery, there will be inspection and restoration by PDI centers.

All cars will be polished and beautify prior to delivery to branches. Shit tons of stuff will happen during that gap of delivery.

In pdi centers, there would be a spray paint room, just in case there are paint chips or defects during assembly or storage (like driving around in the storage facilities or while transporting it to branches - this case, if the branch inspector doesn't approve it cause car isn't up to standard to deliver to customer, reject balik restore in pdi).

If paints isn't perfect, there would be a touch up respray being done, and this is not done by machine.

Best is to inspect before signing and refuse to collect la hahahahaha. Bring a powerful pen light and be anal if you want to.
douglas_tong
post Apr 25 2019, 07:37 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Chiggah @ Apr 25 2019, 12:31 AM)
Went to Osren and bought a 20L bubble and wax shampoo, and the paint restorer 51 which did the trick to remove the black streaks. Satisfied

If the paint restorer is an AIO, should I not be using it as a "wax", and only use it to spot clean ?

So after applying the paint restorer, I still need to apply the Crystal Block wax after ?
Yes. Apply wax after using 51. It's meant for paint cleaning. Previously I used it every month to clean the paint. Just pair with a finishing soft pad
douglas_tong
post Apr 29 2019, 12:29 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Take longevity or durability of waxes/sealant with a pinch of salt.

In our humid weather, every claim of wax durability is not applicable.

Weather and climate is a major factor in durability of wax. Anything that last beyond a month in Malaysia should be considered a good product.

My personal opinion. You can choose not to believe in it. But travelling around different countries to learn about detailing have definitely gain me some insights about how weather affects everything. From washing to polish solvents to wax durability.

Only this month I finally understand why pre foaming is a waste of time in my home country and why it is damn useful in other countries. #weather #humidity #differentproblem

douglas_tong
post Apr 30 2019, 09:56 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Apr 29 2019, 04:08 PM)
Yeah, already know wax & sealant don't last long in our weather, but still want to try it for myself. Never try never know. Haha tongue.gif

But do share why is pre foaming is not useful in our weather? Is it because pre foaming not able to remove as much dust due to higher humidity (stickier dust)?
In other countries, their dust and dirt is so loose that water rinsing would have cleaned the car really well! Foaming would help on really thick dust and dirt.

I suspect it's because of our humidity that grime and greases are more airborne. In dry countries where skin would crack, usually a pressure rinsing would have done a really good job.

douglas_tong
post Apr 30 2019, 09:57 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Apr 29 2019, 08:33 PM)
*waiting for RM20 iK1.5 clearance sale from Osren.....*
Got free giveaway that round you no participate
douglas_tong
post Apr 30 2019, 09:57 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(quackpack @ Apr 30 2019, 09:04 AM)
Like to intro you guys some stuff to lightened your wallet.

https://waxfan.taobao.com/

I have been testing their S14 + S15 product combo, where S14 is a water beading product while S15 is an all purpose sealant(can be used on any surface), best of all it is dilutable. Very cost effective and works great, in fact I believe the factory could be oem for alot well known brand. Insane gloss and shine after 1 hour curing, I have applied it on a fairly neglected surface and was surprise at the gloss it still can provide.

Their F92 spray wax is also great and for 5L just cost 240Yuan, have compared with Meguiars Xpress Spray wax and this is as good and much cheaper.

The F91 ceramic coating also is a good choice for DIYers, its really easy and simple to use, comes with everything needed to coat a C segment car.

Do look at their towel range as well,you will notice many quality products found in the US is listed there. My cabinet is now filled with too much detailing products innocent.gif
Open detailing shop. Else your product won't see any roi or even finish half a bottle

douglas_tong
post May 13 2019, 12:45 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(clement5949 @ May 13 2019, 10:16 AM)
Hi all sifu,

I am noticing a lot watermark stain on my car.

Wondering product below really good to use and remove the watermark?

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/i4509323...lFlag=true&mp=1

I almost want to check out d, but better ask the sifu here first biggrin.gif
I don't recommend using front and back windscreen. There are chances of blurring things up. Use with extra caution.

Basically it's acid. And acid dissolves mineral. But acid also etches.
douglas_tong
post May 31 2019, 04:38 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Death Wings @ May 27 2019, 11:18 PM)
Guys, wanna ask, is meta cleaners like Osren one gives good wax as well other than polishing? is it considered a hybrid?
cause the car didn't need compound for cutting. just polish but at the same time quite tired to do polish then wax. so I decided maybe to use a 2-in-1

at the moment have Meguairs ultimate compound and liquid wax already..

I have some doubts due to the instructions on the label of Osren says do not use circular motion but spread in straight line.

If that's the case, means I can't use machine to wax?

sorry if I asked silly questions. it's just I thought all polish or wax can be done with circular motion, except doing those 9H coating
i recommend using paint restorer 51, it is an AIO/3in1/cleaner wax. It goes by many commonly-used-terms in detailing, but the function has always been about cleaning the paint while removing minor light swirls (with hand probably minimal) and leaving behind a layer of wax.

As to why they recommend not to use in circular motion is because the write up isn't done by a detailer back then. (dulu tak popular tak ada budget hire good copywriter HAHAHAHAHA)
It is safe to be used in any direction.

whatever motion it is, it should be an overlapping motion to ensure even coverage. the more important thing to be aware of is pad cleaniness and paint cleaniness. else, any straight, circular or whatever motion is a guarantee motion to cause marring.
douglas_tong
post Jun 25 2019, 12:02 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jun 24 2019, 05:08 PM)

The potentially easier way for u to remove bugs is u may want to consider bringing to a shop for nano mist service. I dont know exactly the chemical used, but many ads I see on nano mist says it can kill bugs, remove odor, and safe for us after use.
I have not come across any "nano mist" that can kill bugs. Seriously if someone tells you it can kill bugs or cockroaches, you should be worried because those buggers are tough and builds tolerance easily. If it kills a bug, it would harm us as well. no doubt.

Glycol is the smoking and carrier agent. I should run a test on it and smoke a shit out of bugs and cockroach and see if it clogs their abdomen or not. i doubt it will la...since vape juice also dont kill bugs...

Most nano mist consist of Benzalkonium Chloride, a common antiseptic agent.
douglas_tong
post Jul 12 2019, 04:12 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 12 2019, 08:35 AM)
Had to Google water sheeting method. Looks interesting in terms of how it gets rid of most of the excess water on the paintwork.

If without access to a hose, will a pail of water being splashed over the area give a similar impact? biggrin.gif
Yes it will.
douglas_tong
post Jul 18 2019, 12:28 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

polymer = many + "mer" (part/unit)
even butter is polymer. janji it's a repeatitive chain.

this term is used too loosely and causing too much confusion.

Ceramic = non-metallic that usually hardens.

to me, sio2 sealant/coating or ceramic coating/sealant. It's all play of words and has caused much confusion among detailers and enthusiasts. I don't deem a spray coating that is <5% sio2 a "sio2 based sealant". It should be whatever that is dominant in the formulation that dictates the basis of it.

yes formulation might be different, user experience, process, and results might vary. But such confusion and usage of words or term should be avoided if we are trying to convey facts to others.

douglas_tong
post Jul 20 2019, 02:46 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Quartzphene @ Jul 19 2019, 05:52 PM)
Insightful post. What products in your opinion is true sio2 based sealant?
I believe none? Most are just inclusion of sio2 in small amount.
Sio2 itself is in powder form and would need further process to make it spreadable or in liquid form. Which then has a different chemical structure entirely.

26 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 >Top

0.0393sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:23 PM