7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

Scissorshand
post Apr 12 2021, 11:45 AM

1,691 posts

Using excess ceramic coating on these wheels...

Scissorshand
post Apr 16 2021, 07:26 PM

1,691 posts

Is it norm to still have this stain despite coating? Of late it's been raining...

Scissorshand
post Apr 18 2021, 09:28 AM

1,691 posts

So anyone managed to go to ACE car exhibition and discover good deals...

This post has been edited by Scissorshand: Apr 18 2021, 09:28 AM
Scissorshand
post Apr 18 2021, 11:01 AM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Apr 18 2021, 10:11 AM)
careful when you buy the  cheap ceramic coating 30ml bottle,    in shopee 
cos  there are many  fake ones  there now.  its cheap for a reason .
It is known to damage your paint  after a year.  the paint will turn greyish in patches.
google and u will see some complaints.

if in doubt  dont buy . or just buy the branded ones from reliable sellers. :thumbsup:
Well andrwss mentioned its been few years after applying and he's still satisfied with the $50 coat. I too started using cheap ass ceramic coat fro Aliexpress for few months and I'm satisfied with the outcome till now. Will surely observe especially when washing the cars weekly. I'd think the expensive ones are truly hyped up too much and pointless to invest if one does not maintain them
Scissorshand
post Apr 18 2021, 10:35 PM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Apr 18 2021, 11:37 AM)
its possible he got the genuine ceramic coat  many years ago.
but these days  a lot of fakes appear to cash in .
check out this  video. from shopee seller.
https://shopee.com.my/product/253933999/6035934631
Wow! The fake one...

QUOTE(andrwss @ Apr 18 2021, 12:11 PM)
I bought this https://shopee.com.my/product/30232128/2622...45-1618718651.9

Used 2 bottle for 2 layers on my car, less than rm10. No problem after years but im not sure if the ceramic layer still there or fallen off. Protect my paint very good from water spots/chemical edging in, after simple wash(i only spray onr and wipe every few weeks/months) complete clean. Maybe im lucky to get genuine product idk.
Wow! That dirt cheap and 2 layers! Glad you're happy with this
QUOTE(sonotme @ Apr 18 2021, 04:06 PM)
https://youtu.be/Gj9CRNHbLjk

Check out this youtube. He even has an excel spreadsheet..
Seriously 2.5 years and no maintenance on test panel.. Anyway test panel is not facing upwards and not subject to engine heat or even hot humid weather like ours....
Scissorshand
post Apr 19 2021, 08:45 AM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 19 2021, 08:33 AM)
Hahaha. Parked very close to pillar. brows.gif

At home park also need to be careful cos of the water tank. sweat.gif

Your security tint blm buat ka?
Scissorshand
post Apr 23 2021, 01:19 PM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 21 2021, 07:05 AM)

A lot of us, myself especially prefer sometime quick and easy to apply cos I don't have the luxury of time to fully detail and prep the car & allow for curing time since I don't have a fully covered carpark + at the mercy of our insane weather  sweat.gif

This statement mcm tak boleh trust cos looking at your arsenal.... bruce.gif

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 21 2021, 11:58 AM)
And phobia with placing tank there cos in my parents house had cases where the tank leaks and seeps thru the ceiling.  blush.gif

This one really useful especially knowing how often got water cut/shortage in Selangor brows.gif
This one i think it's illegal if they wanna purposely come after you mcm your various sticker on previous ride la.. Btw stickers on new ride bila? rclxs0.gif
Scissorshand
post Apr 23 2021, 04:19 PM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 23 2021, 02:17)
I did a bit then removed it this morning cos taking the plunge into coating...

Sneak preview:

Will probably need to really rajin with the blower after this to minimise contact with the paint brows.gif
Going coating? Have prep mine for cheap DIY coating this weekend

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Apr 23 2021, 03:40 PM)
How much for their coating service? Do they provide maintenance or warranty recoat?
Think he'll do himself πŸ˜†

Scissorshand
post Apr 25 2021, 04:54 PM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Apr 23 2021, 04:19 PM)
Going coating? Have prep mine for cheap DIY coating this weekend
Think he'll do himself πŸ˜†
A day after DIY coating...

Scissorshand
post Apr 26 2021, 07:25 PM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 25 2021, 11:05 PM)
Rupes bigfoot
Wah! Straight go atas level ka?
QUOTE(lsyp @ Apr 25 2021, 11:38 PM)
thanks...but i m only looking at those budget type..less than rm100
Up a bit start around $300 for a DA for beginner mcm myself

QUOTE(nazeeman @ Apr 26 2021, 08:20 AM)
Hellu peps.. just got my new car. is it coating worth it? sorry noob question. Thanks
Depends if you can afford why not
QUOTE(jyane @ Apr 26 2021, 01:15 PM)
Hi, i accidentally brought a water jet wit 160psi.. is it advisable to use on car wash? any foam cannot to intro?
Should be OK useful to clean the patio every 6 mths

This post has been edited by Scissorshand: Apr 26 2021, 07:26 PM
Scissorshand
post Apr 26 2021, 11:25 PM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(lsyp @ Apr 25 2021, 10:55 PM)
i m looking at polisher to do DIY polishing. Any recommendations which one to buy?
Beginner like me use this paired with Hutu microfiber pad to achieve this.. Think no bad la...πŸ˜†

https://s.lazada.com.my/s.XsGOj

Scissorshand
post May 6 2021, 09:59 PM

1,691 posts

So what y'all think? Did I applied evenly the coating? This was applied 2 weeks back...

UPDATE : Pic 2-4 when it cured

This post has been edited by Scissorshand: May 11 2021, 12:06 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Scissorshand
post May 16 2021, 11:38 AM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ May 15 2021, 11:55 PM)
clay towel doesnt do much sad.gif
Have you tried PG Tar Remover them followed by claying?
Scissorshand
post May 16 2021, 11:59 AM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(one_cent @ May 15 2021, 02:50 PM)
Hi guys , any coating shop recommended at kl area ?
Hamel
Scissorshand
post Jun 3 2021, 07:29 PM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(Nshade @ Jun 3 2021, 03:23 PM)
Hi all,

Getting a bit headache. I got watermarks on my car. Even though i washed it with Meguiars Car Wash Shampoo & Conditioner but it seems the watermark are still there even after drying it off with microfiber clothes.

It's 6 months old car. I had ceramic coated on the car also. Last time it had mark cos I parked under a tree and it was heavy rain. Fixed already at shop, then i parked outside at open parking. Then after a while, can see the watermark again after washing a few times. Worried it eats into my paint...

Need to wax and polish to remove the watermark, right?
Did you coat the window and glasses too?
QUOTE(maxxsp @ Jun 3 2021, 06:36 PM)
Wow! I've been a LYN member for ages but never knew there was an active detailing community on here  doh.gif

Hello all!
Well hope to see your glossy ride here
Scissorshand
post Jul 22 2021, 03:20 PM

1,691 posts

So anyone tried the all new cerakote graphene coating yet?

Scissorshand
post Jul 23 2021, 08:16 PM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 23 2021, 01:48 PM)
Nice.

Do share the results bro.

The pricing sure looks attractive.

Compared with the RM1xx I spent on the 303 Graphene spray last year... Aduh.  whistling.gif
Awesome SnS left a bit, Turtle Ceramic expensive, Osren Luminous not durable or smooth, so might as well try cheapest known graphene πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

Will try later this month as maintenance on Honda
Scissorshand
post Jul 23 2021, 08:24 PM

1,691 posts

I've also bought and tried iron remover for the first time. For this bought something cheap fro EXQ, dilute 1:2. Wet the 10 yrs old beemer, spray and let it sit without agitating it. I'm surprised I can now see the original color of the callipers! Sorry don't have a wheel brush in my small arsenal..

Pics before and after. You guys think it's good enuff this EXQ iron remover?

This post has been edited by Scissorshand: Jul 23 2021, 08:29 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Scissorshand
post Jul 24 2021, 09:48 AM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 24 2021, 05:22 AM)
if it's effective without damaging, suits your budget, sure it is goodΒ  thumbup.gif

my go to is Sonax (maybe slashing it off as prices gone crazy) and DodoJuice Ferrous dueller (also pricing issue, however i bought in bulk last time so still consuming it after so many years using very sparingly lol)

so next i am aiming at Osren, and maybe adding EXQ to the list since you've produced good results, thank you notworthy.gif
I guessed you have many years to go before finishing SonaxπŸ˜†

This post has been edited by Scissorshand: Jul 24 2021, 02:16 PM

Scissorshand
post Jul 24 2021, 02:47 PM

1,691 posts

OK couldn't resist myself since my son gave 2 cars a good wash yesterday upon returning from my evening run.

Applied remaining SnS and Cerakote Graphene on diff cars yesterday night after Olympic opening. My personal review on both products...

Cerakote Graphene+Ceramic Spray Coating (CG)
Very easy to apply, streak free πŸ‘ and easy to buff off πŸ‘ unlike SnS although SnS is still much better than Osren Luminous by far
At 225pm today, the smoothness level is very close to SnS
CG has a smell which I don't like it compared to fruity SnS which smells great
Gloss on par for both although the cars are different in colours
CG price is still on par if calculated based on cost per oz against TW Graphene Flex Wax (I'm a cheapskate but willing to try out the cheapest graphene πŸ˜‚)
Watermark unknown yet
Beading or sheeting not tested... πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
Reliability unknown until Xmas... πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Note: Both cars were coated with cheap $50 DPro Ceramic Glass coating before CNY and the coat is still doing great

This post has been edited by Scissorshand: Jul 24 2021, 02:55 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0628sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:38 PM