Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

MazeLoL
post Jun 28 2020, 08:49 AM

847 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 26 2020, 09:28 PM)
Which model did you purchase? The mid tier able to rotate the foam direction. Mine was the most basic.
I brought the S variant bro , the Pro variant abit out of budget a . I can get 2x S variant for 1x Pro variant. So I’ll just checkout S variant with some others car detailing brushes & sponge 😁
MazeLoL
post Jun 29 2020, 11:08 AM

847 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 28 2020, 03:03 PM)
I had a MJJC detailing brush, quality kinda meh compared to the one I got from Osren.

The brush is very uhh rough feel looked like a very used brush despite I’ve not use it much 😅
QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 28 2020, 08:31 PM)
notworthy.gif sorry I just wanna mention the MJJC brush is kinda meh  laugh.gif but I think its 1/3 of the price or so... I saw the SGCB 1 set like RM35 or something, synthetic brush.
No , i m getting my detailing brushing from MJJC but other china seller i guess.

Only USD1 or 2 per pc so darn cheap just grab some to try first biggrin.gif
MazeLoL
post Jun 29 2020, 02:28 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jun 29 2020, 02:03 PM)
Bro Mazelol & Rattlesnake - enjoying your washes so far? brows.gif

Glad to know you guys are having fun.

And please share more feedback and ask the sifus here for tips and tricks and best deals. biggrin.gif
Bro Woodentiger86 ,

Absolutely loving it after a quick wash down Saturday night, this is what im getting the next morning.

at least it doesn't leave a very slight yellow tint compare to my previous car wash thumbsup.gif

MazeLoL
post Jun 29 2020, 04:54 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jun 29 2020, 02:35 PM)
Fuyoh, nice ride bro.

Looks wet. Hahaha.

Glad to know you're enjoying it.

Maybe next time you can steel yourself up to go their HQ & get hooked on their other products. brows.gif
Yea, i m trying to arrange my time to plan for a visit to Osren HQ.

Probably telling them what im need a polish cream which suitable to hand-polishing like the Autoglym one and see what they have in similar.

This car detailing hobby is starting to grow it's poison on me. devil.gif
MazeLoL
post Jun 29 2020, 04:57 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 29 2020, 03:24 PM)
Sweet, give your review when it has arrived tongue.gif I thought you might have bundled together with the MJJC.

My MJJC stuff arrived, but they sent wrong item dry.gif. I already have the wheel brush, I just wanted the wheel sponge T_T.
Sure do , my review sure darn lousy one coz i just started all these hobby which i dont have any in depth experience at all biggrin.gif

What i worried is the protection for the shipped item as i have bad experience purchasing china merc from Lazada which they only packed with a parcel plastic bag cry.gif end up coming with a slightly bended wheel brush doh.gif
MazeLoL
post Jun 30 2020, 01:39 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Jun 29 2020, 08:39 PM)
Brothers here all suggest Osren product , but honestly are they really that good or comparable to other brand ?

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 29 2020, 10:38 PM)
My stuff from MJJC arrived without a box, so my brush bristle is "dented" LOL. I guess the packaged got squashed under some heavier packages.
Hopefully I don’t have issue with my purchase 😓

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jun 30 2020, 07:22 AM)
this one racun. Haha.

AIO polish.

Osren poison le all these but honestly anyone tried this ? What’s your verdict ?

QUOTE(slk @ Jun 30 2020, 08:20 AM)
bought from UK smile.gif

others which are ok too :
1. Dodo Juice Supernatural Leather Sealant
2. Gyeon leather shield

the meguiar's ultimate leather balm got stuck inside the holes of the perforated leather.

I've bought Osren's leather cream but its still untouched.... maybe will try tonight
Yea bro , your arsenal sound like a testing warehouse bro how are you getting those dodo juice / gyeon product in MY ? I always saw those brand only at those YouTube and try look up at Lazada / Shopee all result not found 😓

QUOTE(RattleSnaKe @ Jun 30 2020, 09:24 AM)
Any recommendations on APC for interior cleaning purposes? Might even use it for rim cleaning too!

Looked at Meg's APC, users say its very good at cleaning, but the smell not that nice. Some shopee selling repacked 500ml at RM30, when diluted, its quite cost effective.

woodentiger86 suggested ADM solutions for watermark remover, turns out they have an APC too!
Bro , I had tried the ADM solution product like Car stain remover , APC & 3 in 1 Detailer after recommendation from woodentiger86 as well, so far I had use the APC for Exterior only (wheel & tyre to be specified)so far cleaning the tyre wall cleaning so far the result quite good (7/10 satisfaction) where you can remove the old tyre dressing by Spray and leave it dwell for like 30 sec and scrub it hard, Due to my tyre dressing which is the Meg Endurance seriously is quite hard to remove it totally but effectiveness its still bearable. after finish up this ill go for water-based instead. No more gel dressing as its just slingshot here and there rclxub.gif

As for the stain remover , I just wet down the a 6 years old car with solid white paint which is a VW and spray out onto the car paint and let it dwell for awhile and wash down the car with car shampoo . Result it’s quite impressive as well as you know solid white paint always leave a ugly black stain especially at the rubber trim area . So removing those stain quite easy a just spray on and let it dwell and understand from him it’s safe to use by itself . No need to do any dilutions if you have a stubborn stain.

This post has been edited by MazeLoL: Jun 30 2020, 01:51 PM
MazeLoL
post Jun 30 2020, 02:58 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Jun 30 2020, 01:50 PM)
Well, for me Osren's products offers best bang for buck, so it suits my needs with my limited budget  tongue.gif

I also heard plenty of good things and reviews for other brands such as Meguiar's Detailer series, Gyeon, Chemical guys and etc from youtube, but they are out of my budget to try  sad.gif

Feel free to try them out and compare brows.gif  Just remember to share with us the results  thumbup.gif
If do if i have the chance as well smile.gif , anyway i still dilemma whether i should go for Hand-polish or invest into a DA.. damn dilemma for these passed few weeks. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jun 30 2020, 01:59 PM)
The correct bro to thank would be Waliuuu

brows.gif

Anyways, awesome results and thanks for sharing.

The stain remover really helps a lot also on those stubborn marks left on my front bumper...

Just dab a bit onto towel and rub awhile then voila...

Quite impressed.
Yes , I just it before doing a wash down. no scrubbing also quite okay .. as bro Waliuuu told me a easy "polish" first biggrin.gif

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jun 30 2020, 02:04 PM)
Yea agreed.

One thing you should consider also - Osren is homegrown player and their product basically tested with our 'amazing' weather in mind. Hot, sunny, acid rain and what-nots. If I recall, that was what the kind folks at Osren shared when I paid them a visit. So, it does help somewhat knowing that the products have been developed specifically with our weather in mind, although they do export it to places like Australia too.

Overall the stuffs that I've bought and used from Osren are pretty decent, just that the itchiness to buy many products and play around has taken precedence. brows.gif
Ya... come lets go shopping at Osren one fine day. brows.gif

MazeLoL
post Jun 30 2020, 03:02 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 30 2020, 02:58 PM)
Osren product works definitely, and price is more affordable especially when you grab the 20L bulks tongue.gif
Bro celciuz keep highlighted the 20L pricing a, i didn't know the price can be that economical if for that volume.

as usual calculation for lets said RM 100 for 4L , you would expect the price around Rm300-400 for 20L .. who knows the differences is like only 30% - 50% extra from 4L price. rclxm9.gif

After knowing 20L for Nanowash is only Rm100 , i was like shocking.gif . But these is between us la , dont share to Osren personnel later jack up the pricing bruce.gif

MazeLoL
post Jun 30 2020, 05:06 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Jun 30 2020, 03:06 PM)
Get Meguiar's APC. Scent is like soap lah... if you want "nicer" scent, add essential oils tongue.gif
Meguiar's Direct Malaysia is offering 30% discount.... so a gallon (3.98L) of APC is around RM98.. a lot cheaper than the 0.5L from shopee... if it is too much then split with other members smile.gif
Most of Osren's products are affordable... most.. not all (careful got spy here hehehe).
It does the job in budget friendly way. End of the day its not about the product but how frequent can you maintain your ride/car PROPERLY. No point of using a RM180 shampoo but you wash once a month.
I stay in a kampung home not warehouse smile.gif.
Dodo juice were sourced from UK or locally when there was a official dealer long time ago.
Gyeon is from UK. Gyeon is availble locally too but i could not afford the pricing  sweat.gif
Yea , after seeing those Gyeon price 😪

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 30 2020, 03:13 PM)
Osren is watching this thread  laugh.gif lets see if he appears or not  whistling.gif
Ohh ? Whose from Osren ? 🤔
MazeLoL
post Jul 1 2020, 02:13 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 1 2020, 09:30 AM)
I worked on a few panels to test out my new cordless unit, I can say.... I'm not going back to corded! Only issue I'm having is that unit can't spin wild enough to dry my pads dry.gif

Anybody wanna buy 3" mini rotary and 3" DA and maybe a 5" 8mm DA?  laugh.gif
QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 1 2020, 12:58 PM)
Compound > Polish in terms of aggressiveness. Compound with remove more clear coat compared to Polish when everything else is kept as constant. Working by hand, you are going to expect some elbow grease needed  nod.gif

Microfiber cloth should be your best bet, to cut these off. Those applicator pads are generally to apply wax, thus it is less aggressive for the correction job you want do by hand.
Guys , I had decided to invest in a DA instead of using hand polish which I decided previously. It’s this SPTA good enough for beginner usage ? As for the sizing for a DA , isn’t that 3” is good enough where you can get the balance to do your things in small area and also large area where you need to do few round of it ? Instead of a 5” or 6” where these can only do on a large surface ?

MazeLoL
post Jul 1 2020, 03:58 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 1 2020, 02:32 PM)
I started out with Osren DAP8 (OEM of Kestrel Das6 Pro) which is a 5" backing plate 8mm throw DA, powerful enough for my usage. The SPTA 5" is a 15mm which is similar to the Osren Hurricane or Rupes LHR15 series. If you looking for 2nd hand, I am planning to let go since I bought a cordless machine to replace my 5" system. This SPTA relatively new to me, I just heard of it recently when I was research on gear action cause SPTA has a GA 3401 copy.

As for why 3" since it can handle whatever the 5" handle, bear in mind with a smaller pad your solution would be less and each coverage area will be limited as the pad is small. And with small pad size, it also cake up much faster than 5", which means 1 panel say the hood maybe with 5" you need buff 4-6 times while the 3' can easily double up to 8-12 times, meaning work in smaller sections. If you put more product and run in bigger area, the dust accumulated in the pad might cause marrings too depending on the paint work condition.

Something big is like LHR21 which is a 6" backing with 21mm throw, that's huge. But 5" 15mm throw is more or less the standard long throw DA.
QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 1 2020, 03:20 PM)
When I feel like doing a good finish, I use the 3" DA for the edges and curves spots, the rest covered by 5". If not just do with 5" but slow down when going to the edges haha.
Ohh thanks for your explanation bro ! It seem this SPTA 5inch one is still consider good enough for beginner like me right ? 😅 like you said I can always go slow at those edges . Btw can pm me the price for your used 5” da ? 😅

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 1 2020, 02:40 PM)
Fuyoh, welcome to the DA club. I guess so long you can justify the layout with the frequency of use. Don't be like me bro - got DA and rotary lying around in storeroom unused for months. brows.gif

Anyways, 3" might be a bit too small... In my opinion la.

I also bought Hurricane DA from Osren and it works quite well especially when I was using it on my car's bonnet area...

The smaller one may be usual for slightly smaller areas like spoilers, boot lids, front bumper areas which aren't really 'flat'
Hahaha , bro I been thinking day and night whether should I invest in one as I looking at those YouTube explanation on why you need a DA as they have demo seeing that you scrub the shit out and you still didn’t get a good finish where DA can just do it so simple and few rounds as the AMMO vid show recently . As I had watched this yesterday night and makes me go for a DA 🤣

https://youtu.be/cr-hx5pGFUM

MazeLoL
post Jul 1 2020, 06:48 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 1 2020, 04:08 PM)
Just go for it bro.

Now just a matter of shortlisting and finding one that suits your budget and needs.

The DA is pretty much easy to use vs rotary and is more user friendly.

Still need to ensure proper surface prep and techniques are used though.

Have fun exploring bro!
Ya bro wanna ask your opinion and others as well , what are the things to look for when sourcing a DA ? It’s the SPTA 5” cordless or with cord is better ?
MazeLoL
post Jul 1 2020, 11:00 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 1 2020, 08:47 PM)

Ya bro wanna ask your opinion and others as well , what are the things to look for when sourcing a DA ? It’s the SPTA 5” cordless or with cord is better ?

Not sure about SPTA cordless, but I'm using cordless 5" now and I'm loving it. #walletkoyak though.
Bro you using the SPTA 5” cordless ? How is the battery last you ? I’m currently looking at that as well.
MazeLoL
post Jul 1 2020, 11:15 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 1 2020, 11:04 PM)
No bro, I’m using another brand instead. YouTube there’s a review on the SPTA cordless you can refer to. That SPTA looks like a Flex XFE minus some of the ergonomics like the speed selectors etc.
Ya I came across this vid below :

https://youtu.be/r8Q-M903LCc

Which one are you using bro mind sharing ?😅 Do you guys it’s a great buy for beginner ? Cost like Rm580 which is even cheaper than Osren 3” DA not to said the 6” DA😅

This post has been edited by MazeLoL: Jul 1 2020, 11:18 PM
MazeLoL
post Jul 2 2020, 07:46 AM

847 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 1 2020, 11:39 PM)
I bought the XCE 8 125 18.0-EC last month along with a few other stuffs, took a big hit on my piggy bank  sweat.gif . So am looking to sell my old tools also now tongue.gif

Spec wise the SPTA should be suitable, its a long throw 15mm DA which is pretty much the same as Osren's Hurricane V2. Only thing if its as powerful or reliable... Osren's DA is proven, a few of us uses it.
Ohh bro you brought the Flex cordless da , what’s the damage bro ? 😂 it’s okay la good things not cheap, cheap thing not good ya bro. It seem the spec is very similar to the Osren Hurricane V2 but Osren one would have cost double the price tho 😅. Ok it seem I gonna commit into this SPTA 5” and currently it just depends whether I should go corded or cordless .. 🤔
MazeLoL
post Jul 2 2020, 08:46 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 2 2020, 03:34 PM)
Hmm, came across this listing...

Cannot recall whether it was bro Rattlesnake or Mazelol who shared about the slinging whilst using Meg's Endurance Shine.

This was also one of the tyre shine products I was contemplating to get before discovering Black Black... brows.gif
Hi Bro, sorry for any late reply from the previous posting was kinda packed these day .

It was me saying that the Meg sling like Miley Cirus on its wrecking ball based on 5 working day where i drive daily, Silver rim end up look like greyish rim on Day 5. doh.gif

No more Meg Endurance shine for me d and until now its still have 80% , Next time should be any water-based ones like CarPro Perl which review kinda good after seeing those OG garage or Pan the organizer vids.

And Congrats on your new purchase for the Soft99 Speed & Barrier with Glaco product bro, can't wait for your review rclxm9.gif then i do my purchase too following your footstep biggrin.gif

celciuz

Ya , understand your concern on the battery tech which came into my mind as well. i don't mind carry a corded for the time being as currently its relatively easy for me to have power access these day.

It seem corded is my way to go and perhaps machine using a corded performance wise would have be more stable as well right ?
MazeLoL
post Jul 2 2020, 08:53 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Jul 2 2020, 08:49 PM)
use 3 small dots then buff evenly on tyres. never had problem with endurance.

as for perl, i think its overpriced for tyre use. many other cheaper alternative. but if you have the $$$ then should be no problem smile.gif
Izzit ? perhaps is my problem by applying too much then .

I had wash my car twice and didn't not dare to apply the tyre dressing already cry.gif

Ya but im seeing like Rm60 buck on 7/7 lazada sales and feel like using it Diluted maybe 1 part solution with 0.5 part water or 1:1 like how others in youtube used ? after the dilution i think its still okay la just like paying Rm60 for 1L brows.gif

This post has been edited by MazeLoL: Jul 2 2020, 08:55 PM
MazeLoL
post Jul 2 2020, 09:35 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 2 2020, 09:15 PM)
For this budget, corded might be a safer bet. Well almost all of us starts with corded tongue.gif, cordless is nice to have and of course you have some cons to deal with. Like the XCE, the corded is more powerful due to drawing power and is able to compensate for bog down when being pressured very hard while the cordless doesn't do that.
I'm using Perl 1:3 for interior, so far so good biggrin.gif. Tire still using Osren Reblack tongue.gif gotta finish that 1L uhh, Reblack on tire is pretty wet look, lasts about 2-3 weeks.

For interior I just use the Meg Interior Quick Detailer to finish and swipe clear only . I don’t dare to apply anything to interior afraid it get greasy . How the result using Perl 1:3 dilution ?

For the reblack I had mine used like twice for exterior plastic trim but result just wasn’t that good so I might just use it for tyre after this Meg finish up. 😅
MazeLoL
post Jul 3 2020, 12:00 AM

847 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 2 2020, 09:41 PM)
Perl 1:3 is fine for interior, does not feel greasy for me. But I also have a Meguair's interior... but that one smells a bit weird... need finish that before I start using Perl 1:3 (only did a test run tongue.gif).

Yeah my exterior, the Reblack on my black trims didn't work well. When rain, can see it drip marks aiyo, that's why using for tire now.
Yea , reblack also giving me the water drip marks as well 😪
MazeLoL
post Jul 3 2020, 12:01 AM

847 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Jul 2 2020, 09:45 PM)
osren tyre shine 20L RM135 leh
prefer to use dedicated interior protectant rather than universal product smile.gif
Yea bro, 20L for Rm135 definitely more bang for buck

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.5199sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:54 PM