Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

douglas_tong
post Jun 24 2018, 10:03 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Jun 24 2018, 02:15 AM)
Thanks. But seems this is a coating option. Personaly i get a bit scared whenever i see POLISH" as part of the package. I mean", do we really have to strip the clear coat of a car that's just rolled of the showroom?  I guess there's no one advertising a basic clay+ sealant service package
Hmmm do you want your car coated or just clay and waxed?

Coating usually means getting it coated with a semi permenant layer. Usually, coating crystallises. Non crystalising coating package usually is cheaper
Paint correction is recommended because despite being a new car, there will be imperfections. New car doesn't equal to having perfect paint. During the QC stage, if there is imperfection on paint that somewhat happens during installation, it will be dealt with and most likely polished.

There will be swirls and marrings. Coating doesn't hide it. Plus the polishing part doesn't take off much clear coat from your car.

If you wished to have it clayed and waxed, I recommend doing it yourself. Get a clay cloth and a liquid sealant to get the job done. Bear in mind that claying will install some marrings too. I only clay if I am to polish it

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jun 24 2018, 10:04 AM
douglas_tong
post Jun 24 2018, 11:49 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Jun 24 2018, 11:14 AM)
Very informative, thanks. Now we know why the imperfections are not visible on Day0 but suddenly appear after the first wash..grin.gif I now realise the need for the pre-sealant polish.
can be wash technique and methods also...one wash can ruin it all...sometimes it takes longer to accumulate.

But seeing that you are someone that would like to pay more attention to car, better diy. No one is better than taking care of your car than yourself.
give it a 2 bucket wash weekly.

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jun 24 2018, 11:51 AM
douglas_tong
post Jun 26 2018, 10:53 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jun 26 2018, 10:11 PM)
I think coating application really depends on your budget and what u choose. Considering that ur apartment parking lot is uncovered, u may run the risk of have alot of watermarks, even more so with coating applied.

My suggestion is wash your car regularly, especially if it is your daily driver. Perhaps a protection option that is convenient to u would be spray wax or spray sealant. Consider keeping a gallon bottle of clean water and a spray bottle of diluted car wash soap in your trunk as well as some microfiber towels. If u catch any contaminants like bird poo or very dirty windscreens, at least u can rectify them quickly.

Hope this helps.
Lol, I have Rupes Nano iBrid running on 2” pads, even then some of parts like the boot can be a slight challenge.

But yes, it definitely was fun. Tomorrow start on my parents daily driver full of watermarks SUV. smile.gif
your collection must have the duetto line up.. 3" very nice for your car.
douglas_tong
post Jun 26 2018, 10:56 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Jun 26 2018, 09:36 PM)
Dear sifus, what is the fist thing should i do after get the new car. Should i immediately apply coating?

I live in the apartment where that car will be parked at uncovered car parking spot. Any tips to preserve the car paint longer.
the secret to all car maintenance is to wash it regularly. not so secret now haha.

the sun will take some time to really harm the clear coat. with waxing surely it would extend the lifespan a bit, but even without, clear coat will last.

just wash it regularly with the right shampoo.
douglas_tong
post Jun 27 2018, 10:14 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jun 26 2018, 11:02 PM)
Hahaha, no need lor, my iBrid can do 12mm throw just as good as duetto, and I got option of 1”/2” pads and even rotary conversion if I want. smile.gif
The family is not complete.
Ohana means family. And family means no one gets left behind.
#Merepek

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jun 27 2018, 10:15 AM
douglas_tong
post Jun 27 2018, 10:23 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Jun 27 2018, 10:16 AM)
Thanks bro i don't think i can commit to all steps mentioned there.
Thank you for tips.
I read that coating doesn't prevent watermarks.
If that the case, waxing on monthly basis should be sufficient right?

I also worried of having swirling marks on my car surface due to regular wash at the car wash. Should i bring my own cloth then? Sked gonna get curse by car wash worker later.
Actually. Most of us here will recommend using two bucket wash system. Or you can practice this.

Get tons of microfiber clothes
Get optimum no rinse
Get two bucket, one filled with onr solution, the other is for you to chuck your dirty m/f (don't need grit guard for this)

Soak some of the m/f cloth in the onr solution
Rinse down the car in your washing bay
Fold the mf twice (you will have 8 clean sides) and perform cleaning with the soaked mf
Use a clean mf to buff clean
Repeat on different panel with clean side of the mf

Shiny car produced.

douglas_tong
post Jul 2 2018, 09:50 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ Jul 2 2018, 08:46 AM)
hi guys,
any comment on LAVOR high pressure washer?
I have one europahilt which is a direct rebrand of lavor.
So far 7 months no issue.
Weekly use for washing.
I have the rhino equivalent version
Design also same haha

Get europahilt , the same thing for lesser price and got local warranty
douglas_tong
post Jul 2 2018, 10:02 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ Jul 2 2018, 09:53 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
local brand is it ? I will check their website later  thumbup.gif
Ya. They directly slap one sticker on it and call it europalt hilt.
Think got distribution rights issue lol...
They even shamelessly stick on the statement "collaborate with lavor italy"
douglas_tong
post Jul 2 2018, 02:22 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Jul 1 2018, 10:52 PM)
Unfortunately i live in a high rise that has no facilities for self wash. Btw, my quest has lead me to a detailer/product called G guard. They've recommended 2 packages. 1 is a quartz coating after detailing and polish for RM599 (comes with 12 mnths warranty) and another is a ceramic coating for RM988 with 3 yr warranty. Any ideas if this is any good?
It depends on what your expectations are like. would you want it trouble-free for certain period of time or budget is more of a concern?
Once you purchase the package, you are secured for that duration of time (1 or 3 years), every other complication that comes along, throw it back to them to handle.

QUOTE(slk @ Jul 2 2018, 10:45 AM)
taiko, which model are you using? plus shop offer the best pricing smile.gif... how abt warranty/repair?
classic 150. the reel cacat one. karcher is better. But hose is long la. 8m. cantik. the nozzle fan can adjust, so that i like it too. And it's induction motor, so i can spray for an hour without worrying motor overload.

1 year warranty. Repair ka, send back to their warehouse. Kat KL only.

I bought it at lazada for RM720?
Oh damn, price drop after gst. now RM699.00 + Rm7 delivery.

You cari new pressure washer?
douglas_tong
post Jul 2 2018, 06:00 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Jul 2 2018, 04:09 PM)
i think cannot because when they sell you the lance, you must choose your connector type.
Cannot detact? If you buy the mjjc one can la. Just switch the connector. Angkat tolak masuk picit.
douglas_tong
post Jul 2 2018, 07:46 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Jul 2 2018, 07:09 PM)
haa found a video... the mjjc's connector is easy to replace but couldnt find for PA lance
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xU1bmS_iFAQ
Pa lance?
Apa jenama. Kan Ada , you Tak Tanya kawan u

Can just get the connector from him

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jul 2 2018, 07:46 PM
douglas_tong
post Jul 8 2018, 12:57 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jul 8 2018, 12:16 PM)
Just sharing an easy wash method for the less detailed home detailers and busy folks. If u have difficulty finding time to wash your own car, consider quick washing at night. After dinner/prayers, performing a quick wash is a short exercise and not so sweaty and u can do it before your last shower for the night. All u need:

1) 1 Wash bucket with car wash soap and water
2) 1 Wash mitt
3) 1 large drying towel.

This method basically is for u to wash only body panels and windscreens. No washing rims, no drying door jambs, no interior cleaning. Quick wash top to bottom and quick dry, can be done in 1/2 hour (depending on car size).

Advantages:
1) Fast, should settle within half hour or less
2) Convenient, minimum washing tools used
3) Can be done any time

Disadvantages:
1) Higher risk of introducing swirls
2) Areas not cleaned this round will have more work next round
3) Not recommended to use with ONR
Just my 2 sen. smile.gif
So...how many showers are we suppose to take at night?
douglas_tong
post Jul 8 2018, 01:16 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

So recently, dallas made a statement that ipa does swell paints, and dont recommend using it.

I dislike the fact that he did not included "why", rather just a don't use approach. (His attitude stinks btw)

1) In my experience, ipa wipe down does reveal more micro-swirls/haze/da haze. Have not seen any swelling that occurred while using ipa.
2) I've seen swells, in particular using too much polish abrasive in an area to remove caked up polish on soft paint, however, that swell will diminish over time. I understand this happens because polish abrasive will contain a bit of clear coat softener to make it polishable.
3) IPA is indeed weak in removing oils. General oils like cooking oils and grease. Further diluting it means weakening the ability to remove oil, i agree.
4) Polish abrasive usually uses mineral oil. In skin care, we have ingredients that are mineral oil based too...and makeup remover consists of denatured alcohol too. These are known as "solvents and viscosity decreasing agents".

My hypothesis is that ipa wipe down only works by using microfiber cloth, similar to rinseless wash. Much of the job of it is done by the microfiber cloth picking up dirt.
However, it remains a hypothesis. Mineral spirits and ipa does "loosen" some particles, and perhaps by loosening and picking/absorbing these unwanted particles up tantamounts to removing it?

Anyone here experience paint swelling with ipa before? This is unheard of la
douglas_tong
post Jul 9 2018, 05:41 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Derekk @ Jul 9 2018, 04:17 PM)
Anyone know what brand is this foam lance ?
Foam lance faster and thicker. This one a bit slow...
Foam lance will need a pressure washer
douglas_tong
post Jul 9 2018, 05:42 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(phantommvp @ Jul 9 2018, 05:30 PM)
Super awesome for the tips bro! This is ultra helpful for me to compile a shopping list! For wax/sealant for a bright red paint, how is Osren comparing to Optimum or Meguair's?
http://osren.com/blog/?p=378

https://www.google.com/amp/s/wetshine.net/2...rgized-wax/amp/

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jul 9 2018, 05:42 PM
douglas_tong
post Jul 9 2018, 10:53 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Jul 9 2018, 08:29 PM)
90% of the shine/gloss/wet look/depth comes from surface prep = clay/compound/polish. Wax will further improve it around 10%.

Optimum car wax is the easiest to use as it is in spray form. The liquid tend to get clumpy after some time.

Meguiar's NXT IMHO is the best for daily drivers as it contain fillers and darken the paint.. but a bit dusty when buffing off

Meguiar's Ultimate wax is black trim friendly, very bright look.

Osren's Synergized also has that bright look. durability is around 1-2 months
I polish/compound 3 times, my glossiness becomes 270% more power.

wax 9 layers, another 90%.

Total = 360º change of outlook in my car.
I heard adds 10hp too

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jul 9 2018, 10:54 PM
douglas_tong
post Jul 10 2018, 11:47 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Jul 10 2018, 07:32 AM)
when you wax 9 layers... too heavy already... will lose around 27HP... 3 layers is good enough
Merepek.
One can of 220-250grams wax can apply 25-26times

Apply whole can of 250grams won't deduct 27hp.
+10hp. Placebo effect causes one to ramp accelator harder. Vtec kick in +hp
douglas_tong
post Jul 12 2018, 08:43 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Osren tempest (3 inch 8mm throw) is a dual action polisher. Free spin.

The hurricane is the 15mm throw with 5".

The older generation osren da(s) are being phased out as in terms of design, experience and pricing are more competitive than the older generation.

I would suggest someone who is starting out to consider a 8mm or 15mm throw dual action over rotary.
Reason being the rotary has more learning curve and more precaution needed. This doesn't mean one machine is inferior to another. Just that in terms of user friendliness, anyone can get familiar with the da almost immediately.

Depending on budget, one can look at :
Rupes
Osren
Shinemate
Meguiars

But I won't suggest meguiars da though. My opinion , cause I find the potential of it not worth. It's a 8mm with less torque and more vibration
douglas_tong
post Jul 13 2018, 04:37 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Derekk @ Jul 13 2018, 03:43 PM)
[attachmentid=9913372][attachmentid=9913373]
Im using karcher K2 whats the difference between this two?
One is a double nut system which i recommend going for.

the other comes with a brass bridge.

Newer design has the double nut to help position the foam lance for alignment purposes. the earlier design had a minor flaw which you can't align the foam lance with the gun and the weight of the bottle will make you feel awkward.
douglas_tong
post Jul 14 2018, 06:18 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Derekk @ Jul 14 2018, 04:25 PM)
Double is the one more expensive right?
Yes

Edit : oppsss no!
The cheaper one is

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jul 14 2018, 07:00 PM

26 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top