Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

douglas_tong
post May 24 2018, 05:17 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Speaking of foam sprayer.

I managed to try out the IK 1.5 spray foamer. I like how it has more longevity compared to kwazar foamer despite being smaller.
And the build is sturdier too. Solid and can control the foam thickness based on the cartridge. Was using the grey standard one and felt it was already very thick

According to IK: ORANGE to Create Very Wet Foam, GREEN to Create Very Dry Foam and GREY that Creates Standard Foam
douglas_tong
post May 25 2018, 09:47 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ May 24 2018, 06:44 PM)
Wow, u bad bad man. I see video terpancing liao. Can please share with me where u got it? Thanks. smile.gif
OSREN ada jual!

QUOTE(slk @ May 24 2018, 08:40 PM)
i didnt know have to prime for that long... thanks for the tip
Actually not really la. but cause most of our pressure washer has 3 pistons, there is where you don't want the air bubble to be present, so will take some time to get rid of it since it has tighter clearance. sometimes you see the nozzle no more air bubbles ok liao lo.

QUOTE(KnightSports @ May 25 2018, 09:22 AM)
Is it available in Malaysia?

Where did you get it from. I only saw before a Matabi sprayer which was somehow licensed by Groizper.
osren ada. Groizper tak ada carry this model..

QUOTE(KnightSports @ May 25 2018, 09:24 AM)
I thought Osren calls theirs Metawax? Or am i confused again?
metawax is also a cleaner wax, the paint restorer is also a cleaner wax.
difference is the paint restorer cleans has improved version of abrasive that can remove more wash marrings.
douglas_tong
post May 25 2018, 09:57 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ May 24 2018, 10:22 PM)
Just to be fair, while polishing thins the clearcoat, this is not something to be overly feared. It takes alot of polishing to cut clearcoat to the point it disappears from your car paintwork. While I cannot give u an estimate on how many times u can polish before your clearcoat wears out, but perhaps this video from AMMONYC will clarify regarding clearcoat removal as part of the polishing process:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cHEpqYGuUHI

AIO polish basically has some polish abrasives and mild wax, commonly used to give a quick polish+wax for new cars before passing to customer.

Cleaner wax has less polish abrasives than AIO, and more wax, commonly used to remove milder dirt that washing alone cannot remove. It is often used by what/light colour car owners.

While I say that both AIO and cleaner wax both contains polish abrasives, they are far far less than any pure polish cream, and even far far far far lesser than a compound cream. The frequent application of AIO or cleaner wax will only remove an extremely negligible amount amount of your clearcoat if it is even possible for these products to remove clearcoat to begin with. So I would say not to worry about killing clearcoat with AIO or cleaner wax.
wahh....im constantly impressed by your knowledge ah.
true true...the contents of the abrasive in cleaner wax is far lesser than polish/compound and it is more intended for cleaning purpose.

QUOTE(KnightSports @ May 25 2018, 09:49 AM)
Cool, i will be going to Osren soon.

Sometimes i wonder how Heng educates what each of their products do as some sounds like it is overlapping with another product. It is crazy with the variety and lineup they have being sold.
true i agree.

sometimes less is better. less confusing. I suppose they started up with supplying to car wash operators hence might wanna keep some formula that old school people insist on using.

but i find the polishing part is simple. 46 and 20 can be used on most paint to a swirl free finish, just switch up pads. 50 for levelling and 51 for paint cleaning.
douglas_tong
post May 25 2018, 11:01 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(kyle_kl @ May 25 2018, 10:50 AM)
hi guys, is it necessary to clay before polish? I found polish/tar remover can remove most of the dirt even without clay.... what is the benefit of doing clay?
I would say a yes. Tar remover i have not come across any brand in my arsenal that can remove embedded dirts.

Embedded dirts are hard to spot with naked eyes, so we usually use hand or plastic bag test method to determine if it is time to clay or not.

Claying means shaving off above surface contaminants. By claying, polishing can produce better results because above surface contaminants which are usually more compared to below surface contaminants (pores of paint) does not clog up on pads. In addition, sometimes when we are polishing, these embedded dirts will act like abrasive and can be more aggressive than polishing cream itself.
the pad stays cleaner longer and produces consistent results for a longer period of time too.

Clay, jangan tak clay.

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: May 25 2018, 11:06 AM
douglas_tong
post May 25 2018, 04:11 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ May 25 2018, 01:24 PM)
how about the 36 product?
for special case paint. Some paints which are hard but flexible in the sense that it turns "softer" when heated. or for fresh from the resprayed panels within days. Seldom use though.

QUOTE(vincent09 @ May 25 2018, 03:41 PM)
Bro, Show us spray whole car need how many bottle of it  rclxms.gif
You sponsor shampoo? kekeke
douglas_tong
post May 26 2018, 02:23 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ May 26 2018, 02:07 PM)
Yes spray paint at home. Someone keyed my car over the hood and bumper.
which air gun are you using hehe
douglas_tong
post May 29 2018, 10:51 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(breekachu @ May 26 2018, 10:17 PM)
How much? I check at osren website found nothing about this product
The website is under maintained. Drop them a pm to find out more

QUOTE(amdhunter @ May 27 2018, 12:18 PM)
does osren brake dust cleaner strip wax? anyone try before?
Same question i had for henry back then. According to him yes, it contains some cleaner solvents in it. However, it will be used during the decontaminating stage, which means it is not something you would use it regularly.

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 29 2018, 01:26 PM)
Hi all, what do you guys do to make them lug nuts sparkle and shine ? Please share you're methods. Do you guys even do this ? TQVMj
What kind of problems are we tackling? usually I will just go in with a wheel brush and clean it with a degreaser. This is part of my weekly routine. Do it weekly and you never have to face trouble of caked in dirts.
douglas_tong
post May 31 2018, 02:21 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(slk @ May 31 2018, 02:16 PM)
RM188 for 500ml is abit pricey lah  biggrin.gif
very pricey for me T.T
the difference between high roller and peasant
douglas_tong
post Jun 4 2018, 10:00 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

something to consider about coated cars is that: coated cars are still prone to embedded dirt.

It is also not recommended to clay as this would mean that micro marring would occur. And polishing means abrading the coating. When dirt is present on the surface of the paint, it would hinder the water cohesion factor. Which means water won't beads up as good as a newly coated car. This doesn't mean the coating is no longer functional, rather obstructed by contaminants over time. dirt = less gloss, less water beading.

all in all, coating is not for lazy people. You have to be rajin in washing. And i recommend finding one that gives excellent after sales service if you insist to get it coated.

douglas_tong
post Jun 5 2018, 04:37 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(happyhaka @ Jun 5 2018, 11:08 AM)
Great advice. I think in general getting it washed one every two/three weeks is standard depending on the weather.

From what they said? It’s 5 years warranty against loss of hydrophobic effect, watermarks, and stains. Should a panel be damaged it would also be reapplied to the affected part.

Sounds decent?
after coating ka?

best to wash weekly.

if rain that week, wash it more often.
if lazy,take the car out for a spin to have the water droplets blown off the car. will slightly reduce watermarks visibility.
Never use tap water and flush without drying it. watermarks will be worst.
douglas_tong
post Jun 5 2018, 08:37 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jun 5 2018, 05:05 PM)
Maybe an alternative to spinning the car around to blow off the water droplets is to have a leaf blower handy? Just a thought.
Ah yes. Driving out on wet road can be dirty. Can be an alternative if it is permitable.

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jun 5 2018, 05:12 PM)
lol..probably vacuum blower would do.  blink.gif

ANyways, I have many of my friends and relatives who had done coating, sad to say none of them are happy after 6mths, a year....for the price they could have easily maintained some other ways.

I may be biased, since I DIY, but I feel its just a waste of money.
I share the same thoughts. I just use a cleaner wax and rewax

douglas_tong
post Jun 12 2018, 10:33 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ Jun 12 2018, 08:28 AM)
guys,need your input on clay bar & clay mitt? which one you guys prefer?
Clay bar = cleaner surface if do plastic bag test. Cleans better.
Clay mitt/pad/cloth = faster working speed, can drop on floor no problem.

Con:
Claybar = tends to create more marrings if the claybar is the rough type. To be honest, after trying a few, hard to tell by eye or touch. Can be deceiving.
Clay cloth = the clay material part sticks to each other if stored for a long period of time. Either that not much issue

If your car is coated, don't clay. I shared on why not to clay coated cars few post ago

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jun 12 2018, 10:35 AM
douglas_tong
post Jun 12 2018, 10:40 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Food for thoughts:
douglas_tong
post Jun 14 2018, 04:18 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

lai lai lai, so many offering opinions but don't give logical reasoning behind.

1) any ph balanced shampoo will do. acid and alkaline don't kill coating immediately. But frequent usage will see deterioration of coating overtime.

2) and spray wax / detailing spray is ok. reason why we dont recommend wax is because of the solvents in it. again, similar to what will happen if we use it frequently, the coating will undergo a slow deterioration. Different wax uses different solvents. Solvents that are meant to kept wax "applicable" (in liquid or paste form) can be not so friendly to coatings. This is why many company have their own booster in form of spray wax for coated cars.

3) coatings are usually in certain hardness of 6h or 9h. Bear in mind that these are only pencil hardness. Not mineral hardness. Tests are being done in pencil hardness. How we know how hard certain coatings are of certain hardness is through pencil scratch test. We gradually increase hardness of pencil (ie: b, hb, f, h, 2h, 3h, 4h....9h) to determine if it will leave micro marring on the coating. 9h means a 9h pencil will leave scratch or marring on the coating, and 8h will not.

To say that polishing is not hard enough to remove coating, is rather inaccurate. We all know polishing abrasive of various brand is of different cut level. and by pairing it with different pad or machine speed, we get different level of cut. If i were to pair a polish with a slightly more aggressive pad on a 6H coating, it will likely create unwanted swirls on the coating. Why would we want to do that? Coatings are only 1um-2um thick in most cases. That's polishable (removable) imo.

I must say. 6h or 9h, washing also can get wash marrings. What more polishing?

some people i see can shake head. giving false info.

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jun 14 2018, 04:29 PM
douglas_tong
post Jun 14 2018, 04:25 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Pencil hardness vs mohs hardness is very different.

Just some of the stuff we experiement with

douglas_tong
post Jun 16 2018, 12:44 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Jun 14 2018, 05:25 PM)
If i coat 3 layers of 9H... become 27H leh rclxms.gif
50ml can apply 4 times on mid sized sedan.

+36h.
+Water will float in mid air above the paint. Hyper hydrophobicity
+Edward Cullen gloss
-1hp from the weight of the coating

douglas_tong
post Jun 19 2018, 12:05 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(RichardN @ Jun 18 2018, 04:44 PM)
No, don't have foam but can see the liquid turns into black color and drooling down. I was wondering is it rubbing liquid? If it is, any recommendation?

What is sealant? what does it do?

I saw u recommended car pro products, which I also saw on youtube. Those 500ml sealant can last how many time application? and use it after every wash? Quite costly.

Besides, I check out the site u gave, then dun have the TR.IX which was shown on the youtube (carguru something)
I usually top it up around 3 or 4 weeks.
Yes it's costly, partly cause our currency weak also. Damn kns, used to purchase it at RM95 a couple of years back then. After the 1mdb sh1t, it gradually went up.

But this stuff is dope. It has darkening properties. Extra contrast, extra shine, extra slick. I'm running out of it and currently having dilemma if i should purchase this or not.

500ml is more than enough to last more than a year plus. Spray once on the damp m/f to prime, spray half trigger on the bonnet and spread half of the bonnet, another half spray on the bonnet for full coverage. Tentatively, one full spray should cover entire bonnet for a small-medium sized car.

Alternatively, you may try fireball spray wax, it is of the same concept (not formula) for reload.
https://www.fireballmalaysia.com/products/u...ating-wax-500ml

Rumors are (i read from autogeek, someone claimed) they come from same contract manufacturer. Similarly it is also a sio2 based spray sealant.
douglas_tong
post Jun 19 2018, 11:13 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(RichardN @ Jun 19 2018, 10:08 AM)
Ya, damn costly when I check their website. Especially if like u said need top it up every 3 or 4 weeks.
I use arouns 30ml for my sedan.
You shouldnt be using more than 50ml per application even on mpv.
douglas_tong
post Jun 22 2018, 01:50 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jun 21 2018, 05:52 PM)
Soooo, I've been compounding my car for last few days using Meguiars M105 and microfiber pad. I've always been a fan of Meguiars because of the plenty amount of usage guides on their products online. For those that know of Meguiars M105, one thing that everyone would hate is the speed in which the compound flashes dry and is rendered useless and even harder if not impossible to buff off.

After a few rounds of tinkering with the methodology and combined with some elements from Kevin Brown method, here are some tips on how to manage the flashing:

1) Prime pad with M105, always keep it moist.
2) When in doubt, add more M105 to make sure the flashing doesnt happen too quickly.
3) Quick clean your pad by turning on your DA and rubbing a damp microfiber cloth on the pad. This helps to keep the pad clean before the next run.
4) Run less passes. M105 is already quite abrasive when combined with microfiber pad, 2-3 short passes and many defects will quickly disappear.
5) Use a damp microfiber cloth to wipe the surface after compounding to remove the residue first round before using a dry microfiber towel to remove the rest.

So far this technique has given my consistent results with minimal headache on handling M105. Happy detailing!
Cool info. Will try this method out. Give you one like.

On the other hand, if someone has some menzerna to spare, would really love to try it with their recommended methods. Not looking to buy entire bottle, as it is for trying out and understand more brands only.
douglas_tong
post Jun 22 2018, 03:10 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Jun 20 2018, 10:44 AM)
Good find.  Thanks for sharing.  Description does sound like Carpro Reload and is about RM50 cheaper per bottle smile.gif

Genrally there are 2 types of coatings.  Ceramic based and SiO2 based.   Ceramic is more durable in general while SiO2 gives better clarity (i.e. glass like shine). 

Coat friendly detailer sprays also have SiO2 based or ceramic based.  Carpro Reload is a good choice for SiO2 detailer spray (about 5% SiO2 content) which can be applied about once a month to maintain the shine and slickness of surface.

For ceramic coats, you can try ceramic based detailer spray like Feynlab detailer spray.   There are not many ceramic based detailer sprays (with ceramic content).   It's quite an amazing product in terms of slickness and wet oily look shine.  The hydrophobic qualities of this spray is also extremely good. 

How did you concluded this?

What is the difference between ceramic coating and sio2 coating in terms of crystallising properties?

Im curious to find out more about the difference between ceramic based spray and sio2 based spray as well. Why does one doesn't get along well with the other?

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jun 22 2018, 03:10 PM

26 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0412sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:28 PM