16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 04:33 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 30 2020, 04:27 PM)
Sharing some pics of the current spray type waxes/QD that I have on hand. Shared the pic with some of the detailing gang last night too. laugh.gif

L-R: Osren Hydro Ceramic Shield, Meguiar's Mirror Bright Detailing Spray, Soft99 Speed & Barrier

L-R: PG Quick Shine Detailer, Turtlewax Express Shine Carnauba Cleaner Wax, AutoFinish Mirror Gloss Sealant, Meg's Ultimate Quik Wax

Not shown:
ADM Solutions QD, Turtlewax Ice Seal & Shine, Sonax Brilliant Shine Detailer, Meg's QD, Waxco Water Wax

Finished:
Meg's Hybrid Ceramic Wax

sweat.gif
How do you compare between OSren and Meguair Ceramic wax? This Hydro ceramic shiled is same as the Osren Painwork Coat?
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 30 2020, 04:33 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jul 30 2020, 04:28 PM)
used to called Domes Hong kong dimsum

Later changed to Uncle Chuan
This place is not old place. Like recently in this few years one. Plus within few years chg a few owner. from hawker stalls to dim sum. lol

This post has been edited by Jay Chua CC: Jul 30 2020, 04:34 PM
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 3 2020, 11:21 AM

5,907 posts

Just received from the mail!

Realised that the shampoo is Made in Malaysia while the Sio2 spray is Made in Japan. biggrin.gif

Jay Chua CC
post Aug 3 2020, 11:40 AM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 3 2020, 11:36 AM)
Fuyoh, welcome to the detailing party!

Feel free to seek advice if you're stuck yea. brows.gif

Remembered that you ordered just before the Haji holidays...
Gonna purchase clay cloth and windscreen coating next. biggrin.gif

Have any opinions on this?
https://shopee.com.my/PG-RAIN-Z-DURA-KIT-(1...28563.320060608
https://shopee.com.my/PG-COCKPIT-SHINE-KIT-...28563.320060620
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 3 2020, 11:46 AM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 3 2020, 11:41 AM)
Just another update, another weekend has lapsed and this time, I've tried coating my ride with another set of product (s).

Topped up the tyres coating with another layer of Soft 99 Black Black. If not mistaken, I have had the coating on for several months and it has started to harden on my sidewalls. So I just kept adding new layers. sweat.gif 

On a side note, I noticed the Turtlewax Wet Shine doesn't last that long on my wife's ride. I am refraining from using Black Black on her car now so I have a test base to compare the tyre shine.

Windscreen already coated with Glaco roll on 2 weeks ago. I tried the Blave on just the headlamps [Front & Rear]. Will assess how it goes.

After quick wash and towel dry with Ultra, I proceeded to spray Osren's HCS [undiluted] all over the paint areas [roof, bonnet, boot and side] & spread with applicator pad. Noticed some streaks upon application on the surfaces at this point but I just continued as I knew I was about to buff off later once I was done spreading the product on the whole car.

Proceeded to buff off with slightly damp Buff towel + Meg's Mirror Bright Detailing Spray.

A few hours later, was itchy so decided to coat only the bonnet with Fusso Coat F7... Car smooth like heck now and awaiting for rainy weather to test how the car holds up now. brows.gif

Stay tuned. laugh.gif
Whats this for>? Isnt the OSREN HCS already provide the same effects?

Btw, you try before those cheap tyre gloss in MR>DIY? How does it compared to the branded ones?
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 3 2020, 11:54 AM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Aug 3 2020, 11:49 AM)
Perhaps you can consider CarPro PERL. Can be diluted to dress interior & exterior plastics & rubber and also dress tyres. Quite a versatile product.
wa. 1L packaging. By chance, are you using? gonna finish anytime soon? biggrin.gif
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 3 2020, 01:34 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(Kingsberg @ Aug 3 2020, 12:27 PM)
I am using the cockpit shine, quite lasting, even i clean my interior bi-weekly, it still lasted until now, i applied it 2.5 months ago.

As for windscreen rain repel, i have been using RainX, results are good. As other sifu here suggest, Soft99's Glaco is very good as well, never tried it since i still have 2 bottles of rainX to go through.

Side note, if u want a windscreen cleaner, do NOT go for PG's, streaks alot. Armor All's is very good, and they are always on sale on shopee.
You are using this? https://shopee.com.my/Rain-X-Rain-X-Rain-X-...29318.124568729

Armor all so expensive. In terms of price Armor all>Glaco>Rain X
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 3 2020, 01:56 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 3 2020, 01:55 PM)
Yea, Rain X. Got many imitators also so just scout around and ensure you get Rain X instead of the other brands like Rainz, Rain Z etc. Haha. It does work though.

Even the ones at Mr DIY. But at that price range, more of the durability and how long it lasts before needing to 're-coat' the screens.

If you want off the shelves, can get it from Ace Hardware or car care section at popular establishments such as Parkson/Aeon etc.
even Waxco's rain replleant is almost similarly packaged with RainX in DIY. lol
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 3 2020, 02:01 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 3 2020, 01:59 PM)
Yup. Some of them maybe repackage it or maybe even dilute it and rebrand the product. Haha. All in all, just remember it stinks; irregardless of the brand - be it Meguiar's, Soft 99, Rain X & etc.

The chemical stench can be quite strong and 'acidic'. For those who have sensitive skins, avoid coming into direct contact with it.

Once you apply on the windscreen, let it 'haze' for 5-10mins then buff off with a new cloth. After that your windscreen should be beading like mad.

If it doesn't - try to see if it's due to oily sheen or watermarks on the surface.

Since your car is new, unlikely will have this issue bro.

Once you coat it from the very start, so much easier to maintain that beading look.  thumbup.gif
Okay noted ! Will get the RainX since its 2x cheaper than Glaco plus good reviews from all sifus here.
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 4 2020, 08:46 AM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 4 2020, 08:03 AM)
Ah yes. True. If I noticed my car heavily soiled, I will try to hose it down first then use either Bubble/Nano Wash. If car is relatively 'clean' - I will opt for ONR instead. Especially after watching that wash techniques video from Henry few weeks ago, I became more 'rajin' to use Nano/Bubble Wash and the multiple wash mitts. laugh.gif
Wow, nice! The big bottle still looks relatively untouched. Haha. Maybe get the Rinseless Pro to complement your collection bro. brows.gif
Yes indeed. Dark rides are not very easy to keep clean but the end result can be very satisfying if done correctly. I also watched this Mustang video a few weeks ago and was very impressed with their work. thumbsup.gif
Dark rides easier to maintained? But isnt waterdrop/raindrop marks are more visible on dark paint? Still contemplating between getting a red or white. biggrin.gif
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 4 2020, 09:24 AM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 4 2020, 09:19 AM)
Hard to say.

Like the pics below with my phone, looks shiny and reflective right? laugh.gif

But if you really inspect the paint up close, can see a lot of swirls and marrings which I've circled in Yellow below:

Anyhow, using my car as a test for all my detailing efforts and my journey to at least improve my skills with the DA... sweat.gif

PS: Getting either red/white sounds good. Any particular marque? Like Mazda's Soul Red, or their White?
Swirl marks and scratches will be less visible on the white right? biggrin.gif Its vw's flash red and candy white. Not as exclusive as the mazda's paint
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 4 2020, 03:48 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 4 2020, 03:31 PM)
Hmm, sure anot so cheap... hmm.gif

Simply mind boggling...
The packaging doesn't look convincing biggrin.gif
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 4 2020, 09:11 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Aug 4 2020, 08:51 PM)
any good recommendation for leather seat cleaning? color is whittish, so u can guess its gotten dark over time. thx
i just bought one soft99 aerosol can leather care to try.
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 6 2020, 02:58 PM

5,907 posts

Hi all. How much is RainX(207ml) usually cost?
i bought 2xpcs for only rm15.80. And 1 600ml can of soft99 leather care.

I think they mistaken put the price? 400ml can is more expensive than 600ml can. For the Rain X too. Any chance its afake?

This post has been edited by Jay Chua CC: Aug 6 2020, 03:02 PM
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 6 2020, 03:25 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 6 2020, 03:22 PM)
Hi bro.

Should be legit.

I think Broz accessories based in Penang right? Few times seen their listings too and their pricing for Soft99 items [Glaco mostly] pretty much on par with the cheaper sellers out there.
yea. biggest accessories store in PG. But in the listing they didnt mentioned there is 2x207ml. I tot one unit only for rm15. hahah. rezeki.

see below.

Jay Chua CC
post Aug 6 2020, 03:33 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 6 2020, 03:28 PM)
Hmm strange indeed.

Someone there probably gonna kena fired if found out. sweat.gif The one that packed the order maybe. brows.gif

Amboi. Hahaha

Rezeki jangan ditolak as they always say.

Anyways no harm informing seller via chat if it's bothering you. Some sellers ok one, although the cases I've encountered is I didn't receive my products and they give me back the missed out items + additional stuffs in my next order...
yg ditolakkkk. hahah
their cs sibeh slow reply one,not that accomodating too.
btw, you used before this soft 99 leather care? Any diff between aerosol can and liquid type leather care ?
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 7 2020, 01:45 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 7 2020, 01:29 PM)
To answer some of the queries here.

Reason why HCW is quite highly recommended and when Meg's Malaysia first brought in the product in early 2019, it sold off really quickly, was how easy it was to get such impressive hydrophobic results on your ride with just a spray... Literally an Sio2 type result like a coated car.

Heck, all you needed to do was just spray on a wet car and blast water and buff off/dry the car as usual to 'activate' the product.

Resharing a previous video I uploaded few pages ago [sorry sifus for recycling] - this was the results after I sprayed it on a wet car after the downpour and using a normal garden hose..

Water sheeting properties:

So, based on those 2 videos above, if I showed them to anyone and asked them to guess if car had 'coating' - what would their answer be? brows.gif

From my personal experience, and also having waited for months for Motor Mad to bring in their HCW stock and finally trying it out... It truly gives impressive results.

Back then on launch, their prices were like close to RM 9X or so, but now, with the 7/7, 8/8 discounts, it is retailing for like sub Rm7x! Quite a good deal I would say.
Confused already. Isnt after drying the car, then only apply the spray and buff it off?
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 7 2020, 03:36 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 7 2020, 02:09 PM)
Yes, bro Celciuz summed it up well.

I had more effective results with dry application cos my first few tries had severe streaking issues.

Reason why when that video taken, my HCW almost finish [cracked bottle too] so I was like, what the heck - just spray all out and use kao kao. laugh.gif

If my bottle still new likely I will use dry method also bro Jay Chua. brows.gif
You mean the dry application cause streaking issues ka?
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 7 2020, 04:03 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 7 2020, 03:56 PM)
Yes. It can be rectified by either using a new towel or slightly damp towel to buff off.

Tried this method for any products I've applied like Soft 99 S&B, Glaco for the windscreens and also Sio2 sprays on the surfaces and it helps prevent the streaking issues I used to have.

I actually learnt this tip after my chat with Douglas from Osren...
No wonder in the demo video, he sprayed a bit on the buff towel first and then spray on the surface
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 18 2020, 08:52 AM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 18 2020, 07:59 AM)
Haha. More for stocking up. Cos once the towel gets too wet I need to wring it before able to work on 2nd car.

One more I plan to keep in my car in case travelling. laugh.gif
lets say my car is just coated with sio2 already. but i went into some kind of muddy/dusty place. I will need to wash again with shampoo and coat again? or just rinse the car with water

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.2152sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:12 AM