QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 7 2017, 10:06 PM)
meaning it will just take longer time for the wax to cure before i can buff it off?Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance
Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance
Jan 8 2017, 12:02 AM
269 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Jan 9 2017, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(Sawamura @ Jan 9 2017, 09:48 AM) Must i clear old layer of wax before i apply new one? im using Meguair's ultimate paste wax on my white car, apply late sept, now also need re-apply already. Read online suggested period for 1 wax is every 2 months So after 2 months, i must clear old wax (not sure how to get this done) before i apply new wax? but before re-aplply new wax need to compound again, the paint surface got blackish dirt mark. due to i was busy and wash only every 2 weeks.. seems like after wax u can't be lazy and need to do weekly wash... lol or the UPW is over rated? read some say use dishwashing detergent can remove old wax - im not sure.. This Meguair's forum say u can use ScratchX or Ultimate compound to remove old wax |
Jan 17 2017, 06:50 PM
currently using Meguiar's ultimate wash & wax, running out soon and looking for replacement. i actually use it together with claybar to remove previous wax. does that work? claying with shampoo with wax ability?
could you guys recommend any shampoo that's also suitable for claybar? |
Jan 18 2017, 01:20 AM
ok you guys answered my questions
just bought meguiars gold class from lazada. next would like to try osren product |
Jan 19 2017, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(N33d @ Jan 18 2017, 02:39 PM) i used to be fancy about those rain repellent thingy second that. my 6 yrs old car use by wifey was neglected, wind screen was full of water mark & wiper also not working properly already.now i just clay and clean my windscreen with alcohol/APC once a while and top up with spray wax .. tada same thing claybar my wind screen (use a good branded claybar instead of those cheap 3M), bought new wiper, after car wash apply Meguiar's spray wax.. tada.. like a new wind screen. i'm a happy man because wife also happy now.. btw, is it ok to use Meguiar's ultimate wash & wax or gold class on wind screen? will harm wiper rubber? (didn't know soap is no good to wiper...) |
Jan 19 2017, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(alexander.ch_1992 @ Jan 18 2017, 07:55 AM) Hi there everyone, I'll be picking up my car this week. It's a second hand City (used 1 year +). Can anyone recommend some good car wash/wax/polish workshop? Planning to send it in for a one time fix. good car detail shop don't charge cheap, cheap car detail shop dont produce good result..Read a lot of bad reviews on Cars International. Thanks a lot! =) i end up spending few hundred bucks to buy car detail product and DIY.. reading up here n there and asking the sifus here. |
Mar 30 2017, 09:16 PM
sent my car to shine shine for a car wash as i was not free to do it over the weekend, and the sifu was trying to convince me to sign up their package for 3 years for RM1899.
told him i normally do compound + wax & wash by myself. he told me im doing it wrong, as i skip polish in btw compound & wax. well, after i apply wax sometimes i do car wash every 2 weeks. and after 1 -1.5 month stubborn dirt start to appear on my bonnet.. is it because of skipping polish? |
Mar 30 2017, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Mar 30 2017, 04:12 PM) My car is only 5 months old and I already can feel roughness on the paint. yea bro, my white car was yellowish before i start to DIY clay, compound + wax. after wax ur car won't attract dirt that easy anymore because the wax offer a layer of protection. ofc still need regular car wash every week or so.. after i start DIY 6 months ago i hardly feel the roughness on surface anymore, only the under guard which are the area normally neglected...Never thought I need to clay my car so soon. |
Mar 31 2017, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(blurcase @ Mar 30 2017, 10:08 PM) I think it really depends on what is your results after compounding. If after compounding your car shine is back with no holograms or swirls, then it is probably okay to wax after that. If u are a generally careful car washer, then actually u may not need to compound also, just polish and wax will do just fine as u remove less clear coat that way. i make sure after compound its all clean & smooth, but i do not have a DA so i haven't been doing any polish at all. was thinking whether to get a DA or not, i worry the DA would make too much noise. as i understand polish is to get rid of swirl mark, but if we dont do polish, that should not affect the durability of wax right? More importantly, please clay before compounding/polishing. There is alot of stubborn dirt that wont get removed from just washing alone, so claying is a very important preparation step before compounding/polishing. The stubborn dirt can appear due to many reasons, especially if dirty water dry on your bonnet and the heat from the engine and sun bakes the dirt into the paint. Rather than compounding/polishing such stains off, I believe claying or wax cleaner should also do just fine. i always clay before i apply wax. i only compound after clay when needed (dirt on paint that won't go away after clay) maybe it is the environment where my car park. there is cement factory just in front of my work place maybe i should try using a wax cleaner to get rid of the stubborn dirt... i think i have been doing compound too often.. once every 1.5 month... |
Mar 31 2017, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(blurcase @ Mar 31 2017, 12:20 PM) Great sharing session! Pleasure to meet u bro! i do compound by hand.. no DA. May I ask how u currently do your compounding? By hand or rotary? From my experience, wax durability is up to the wax itself. I always prefer to apply 2 thin coats of wax compared to 1 thick coat, because the excess from thick coat just dries up and gets wiped off, so doesnt help to protect the car and is wasted. Yes, generally always try the least aggressive method first, which in this case can be wax cleaner. If wax cleaner cant remove then move on to polish, if polish cant remove move on to compound, if compound cant remove move on to wet sanding. just last week i did compound on the bonnet as stubborn dirt start to appear. after compound, i wax the roof, bonnet, boot & front bumper. i just found out the last time i compound the bonnet i didn't wax it.. as wifey was chasing me to go out... lol thats why the stubborn dirt... ok......... i learn the lesson as well, the first time i wax i apply kao kao, took very long time to cure. lol since then i only apply thin layer. may i ask how do u apply 2 times? 1st apply, cure, buff off, then apply 2nd layer, cure then buff off again? |
Apr 11 2017, 06:35 PM
My persona experience of cheap so called 3M claybar available from online website (i got 5pcs for rm100 i think) compare to osren claybar 1pc about rm40 is:
I stop using the 3M ones. Osren one is more effective and less effort conpare to 3M ones. U will be using a lot of ur elbow strength So make sure u choose a good claybar.. Happy detailing |
Apr 13 2017, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(~C.W.S~ @ Apr 12 2017, 04:34 PM) Wow lucky I choose osren claybar over 3M...Osren claybar cost RM40 but can break into 3-4 pieces so is more than enough for 1 car. I break them into 2, and the half piece can be re-use multiple times. I ve read some car wash liquid cannot be used together w vertain claybar. So far i used osren claybar w Meg wash & wax and Meg gold class, its ok. After use I keep them w water in air tight container. |
Apr 13 2017, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(gfwong @ Apr 12 2017, 06:41 PM) There are many fake 3M clay bars online. Just be careful. PG clay bars are quite decent for the price and could be easily found in Parkson, Aeon, Tesco. Too many fake 3M and that makes it hard to find a genuine one. So better go for other brand.Many ppl including me enjoy reading ur blog. To keep them up *thumbs up* |
Jun 3 2017, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(blurcase @ May 25 2017, 01:51 PM) My personal 2 sen is water beading capabilities helps to reduce the amount of rain stuck on the car when it is moving. Its like how when u apply RainX on your windshield, then drive over 50-80kmh and no need use wiper because wind speed pushes the water off. good info.Water sheeting is important for stationary cars in rainy season to reduce the amount of water stuck on car. Both water beading and/or water sheeting is good for drying car convenience after washing. I dont place a very high importance on gloss effect because the bigger and more common issue affecting gloss to me is haze and swirls, which only can be solved with polishing. So I prefer to side on durability of the protection. Again, just my 2 sen. on the RainX, i stop using it after found out that Meg spray wax does better job on the wind screen & windows and last longer than RainX. anyone has this experience also? 1 shot spray paint surface + windscreen & windows |
Jun 3 2017, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(N33d @ May 25 2017, 06:43 PM) clay is better at removing those contaminants that are sticking up on the paint, i do not believe sealant behave like that else it will feel rough after you wax or seal the paint, therefore, clay is not effective at removing sealant esp the finer grade. Use polish to remove if you dont want guesswork. Or reapply the wax again on that spot, the solvent of the new wax will remove the old one if you are lucky my experience with claying, after i clay the water sheeting effect was gone. not sure about others.pure sealant/wax alone does not natively provide UV protection so some manufacturers will add in those addictive to give it that feature but most of them did not advertise about it. So, the only 'mainstream' wax that dares to advertise UV protection is OCW, optimum car wax. Its UV protection is patented, you can actually google the patent no. and study it. Lots of technical info inside. It is convincing enough to me that OCW is my go to wax if you are focusing on UV protection instead. FYI, most of the UV protection come from the car clear coat itself which has finite service life so i guess it does remove ultimate paste wax? |
Jun 3 2017, 04:36 PM
Jun 4 2017, 05:01 PM
guys how to remove road tar / grease on bottom area of car? it might have picked up from newly surface road, im not sure. now the wash mitt also got the grease thingy, couldn't remove it using washing powder also... might have to get new wash mitt liao...
editted: just read back 2 pages and saw blurcase's suggestion for tar removal.. how about the wash mitt that was the tar on it? any suggestion to remove it? thanks This post has been edited by JML: Jun 4 2017, 05:18 PM |
| Change to: | 0.5221sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:41 PM |