CAL V
post Aug 18 2017, 04:53 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ Aug 18 2017, 01:06 PM)
Question
Will coating prevent bird crap burns?
QUOTE(blurcase @ Aug 18 2017, 02:17 PM)
Unfortunately nope. Bird poo will eventually eat through the coating and into your car paint. It is always recommended to remove bird poo as soon as possible. U can actually a packet of wet wipe tissues to do that and rinse off with some plain water after.
I've not tried coating myself, but from quite many places that I've read, you might have a bigger issue with coatings.
1) it will etch into the coating if left on for a long time just like your clear coat
2) needs polishing to remove the etching and coat that small section again

It's expensive and not a miracle product, imo just a stronger and longer lasting "wax/sealant" that requires less frequent maintenance but a more complex maintenance procedure. If the shop that you're doing it have great warranty and after sales service then it's fine. (just imo, don't blast me sweat.gif)
CAL V
post Aug 22 2017, 01:36 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Aug 21 2017, 07:53 AM)
Well, except for stone-chips. With the lack of enforcements, many lorries on the road are very dirty and are potential hazards. Stones, sands, rocks are common enemies to our cars. Poor roads conditions do not help either. Loose gravels are almost on every road. So no matter how much we care, how much we polish, we could not avoid stone chips. Not even coating. Some said clear bra might help but I don't find it very popular here. Here is more of a coating hype craze. Almost every tom. dick, harry (no offense) is offering coating here...
That's true, went to my friend's house to check out his dad's E300, the amount of stone chips on it after just 1.5 year is painful to see.

Well, mainly because clear bra/ppf is another level of expensive? sweat.gif
Not sure about partial (front only) ppf, but AutoDetailer Studio is offering them at RM1x,xxx. That's way out of league for many people though, and not that logic when the ppf cost like 1/10 of the car. That's probably why it's only common for those people owning exotic cars. *but I am aware some shops offering coating service that cost almost like that figure

True also, so many unknown brand of coatings and there's no real enforcement on who can apply it and etc. And if dig hard enough you'll see some shops hiring foreign workers to "detail" the car. *includes Rxgxx Vxxxt, you can actually see in one of autxbxzz video hmm.gif

*disclaimer, go figure the xx by yourself, don't want mention full name. Scared later get in trouble, who knows if they stumble upon this post. sweat.gif
CAL V
post Aug 28 2017, 01:00 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(newbiz2008 @ Aug 26 2017, 07:08 AM)
Bro,
  Please recommend windscreen coating diy product
I'm using Gyeon view, so far it's good but I won't say it's really amazing and not very diy friendly plus it's not cheap (currently RM3xx for the kit). 3 months in and it's still holding up but speed below 80kph(maybe my car's aerodynamic is not good enough)needs to use wiper and if you follow other cars on the highway, it will be less effective (perhaps slipstreaming). Also need to learn not to keep using your wiper or it will significantly shorten the lifespan of the coating. sweat.gif

I think it might be better getting a very good pair of wipers such as PIAA silicone wiper and etc. I have a few friends that are using PIAA and good feedback overall. (application needs to pay some attention in cleaning, will affect how good it performs) But one caveat is silicone wipers can actually scratch your windscreen slowly if you always use it dry/not wet enough.

Don't try to use Rain X or cheap coating on your windscreen, it's not worth it, fails very quick and the residue may affect your wiper performance and visibility after that. However they are pretty good for side windows nod.gif )

Hope this helps.
CAL V
post Aug 28 2017, 01:41 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Aug 28 2017, 01:12 PM)
Been using rainx for years....no issue lei.
Doesn't judder but using rubber based wipers.

What issue you had with rainx?
How frequent do you need to reapply? I've tried other ppl's cars with rain X on the windscreen, wiper judder with Bosch OE wipers, not sure if it's application problem.

However they are really good for side windows, a must for rainy season, mine lasted about 4months before it starts to show signs of wearing off. thumbup.gif
CAL V
post Aug 28 2017, 03:48 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Aug 28 2017, 02:38 PM)
Every 2-3 months.
Also using bosch wipers. The cheapest one lol
I seldom use wipers hahaha
Figured no need buy so good ones
No issues.

But I use autoglym glass polisher to clean off stubborn dirt and road film before application. And buff off with damp towel
I see, that still last quite long on the windshield.

Any tips for glass polishing? Not sure if autoglym glass polish uses cerium oxide, I do have some problem working with ceriglass, getting some marring after polishing with rayon pad. rclxub.gif
CAL V
post Sep 18 2017, 12:25 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(manchin80 @ Sep 16 2017, 05:06 PM)
What do you think?
Boleh ah?
That beading can rival some pro coatings d thumbsup.gif
And that's a nice shine too.
CAL V
post Sep 18 2017, 05:27 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 18 2017, 03:18 PM)
For clear coat, won't those designed for paint work with the head lamp too?
I think it should work, and I've seen people done it with a proper car painting spray gun.

Well for DIY, I think it's better to practice first, or else it will just be a mess of orange peel and possibly trapped bubbles. I've not tried it myself as my car is so old that it has glass headlamp covers tongue.gif

This post has been edited by CAL V: Sep 18 2017, 05:27 PM
CAL V
post Sep 20 2017, 08:17 PM

277 posts

Perfect combo?
CAL V
post Sep 21 2017, 11:52 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Sep 21 2017, 08:08 AM)
there is never a perfect combo which can be applied to all cars. do a test spot 1st then repeat the same process to the whole car provided no repainted panels  biggrin.gif
Hahaha, I know. Just as a 2 step combination, it's probably as easy as it gets. Will try later to see how they perform.
CAL V
post Sep 21 2017, 06:55 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Sep 21 2017, 02:17 PM)
but your finishing polish is mild? normally we use it for burnishing paint... rotary+finishing pad.

Why not consider SF3500?
Not available locally sad.gif
CAL V
post Dec 17 2024, 05:05 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Dec 1 2024, 06:13 PM)
Hi sifus... Currently im using soft99 ultra glaco for glass coating ... Any other better options to intro? Thanks
I am also using soft99 ultra glaco on windscreen, so far only complaint is wiper judder when used with windscreen wash concentrate like Bosch for example. Maybe next up is try their own glaco windscreen wash liquid, which manufacturer recommends.

I’ve used proper glass coating in the past, Gyeon View. Only lasted 8 months with semi-shaded condo parking. When it failed, the wiper started to smear and streak as if there’s heavy oil film. The price, preparation work and longevity, I am not sure if it’s worth the effort. At least for this specific coating.

Also used PIAA Si-tech for about 2 years, car under the sun 90% of the time. Had hard water spots issues with rain water baked on dry by hot sun, etched right into the “silicone coating” that the wiper lay down. It affected hydrophobicity and vision in heavy rain (Rainy night, brake lights and oncoming traffic will highlight all the watermarks). At 2 years mark, it also slightly hardened, and started streaking. Also not worth the price imho, could’ve gotten 4 sets of Bosch rubbers, a set of Ultra glaco and glass refresh with extra change.

Currently I am back to using simple Bosch rubber wipers and ultra glaco, apply 2 - 3 times a year if necessary. Affordable, quick, effective.
CAL V
post Feb 23 2025, 01:01 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Jan 27 2025, 01:02 PM)
update - so i took it to a detailer this morning. after doing the stain removal liquid thingy, stubborn stain still there.... in the end, detailer use this polish to remove it.
Sorry to bump a reply from so long ago. I believe what you had is road grime/dirt bonded to your paint/sealant, unfortunately it’s very obvious on light coloured cars, not restricted to white cars only.

From your photo looked like there were some high and low spots of the Fusso coat since it does not appear exactly like normal watermarks etching. I had similar issue before with some wax as well, got most of it out by using a clay bar. Removing it by polishing works too, but may not be the best method as one should always start with least aggressive method. Some may argue must polish after claying since that install swirls and marring too, depends on the assessment of the detailer, ymmv.

There are quite a few “ceramic” sealants or sprays that can last 1-2 months easily and have comparable water beading behaviour like fusso coat in the market now. Perhaps you can try, and can’t avoid routine wash for light coloured cars, it’s a lifestyle nod.gif
CAL V
post Feb 23 2025, 06:31 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Feb 23 2025, 01:47 PM)
you are right. its just road grime that has caked up. i just wonder if other cars also have difficulty in cleaning them if left too long like maybe only 2 weeks? I can understand if left like a month or more but two weeks seems a short time. mine wont come out with just normal car wash but now I found that with some non-abrasive polishing liquid, it will come out. Thanks for your input
Our weather is quite harsh at times, raining for awhile and hot sun right after. Water spots get baked on immediately, also depending on where you use your car mostly, if industrial area then it’s worse. Happened to my car too as it’s almost outdoors 24/7, just different pattern due to the water behaviour from product used.

Also possible to be a fusso coat issue, not unheard of, perhaps try other sealants as suggested by other members above. Continue to wash periodically and clay it perhaps once a year/when necessary. It’s not easy to have a light coloured car in tip top shape all year round.
CAL V
post Oct 16 2025, 03:31 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Aug 16 2025, 02:07 AM)
Im afraid to use clay bar as i had used one those cheap fake 3m clay bar on shopee before, it scratched my old myvi paint, need to polish to remove those marks
Nowadays there are clay towel products in the market. Pricing wise fluctuate a lot, reputable seller should be around RM4x and above.

Please use some form of lubrication when claying, best is use clay lube. In a pinch, use car wash shampoo solution.

If all sounds too much of a hassle, go find a proper detailing shop do a polish package maybe. Don't bother with those normal/roadside car wash place.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 8 2025, 10:38 AM)
Putting this to action again on a new car.
And renewing existing HRV glass hydrophobic Acton. wub.gif
It's one of the best for windows, one application can easily last a year. Affordable too.

Not suitable for windscreen with wipers from my experience, usually use Soft99 ultra glaco for that.
CAL V
post Oct 16 2025, 05:57 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 16 2025, 05:49 PM)
I'm using on windscreens too, and lasts permanently because I also use RainX washer fluid additive.

It helps lube up silicone wipers too
I actually wanted to try their windscreen washer fluid too. Did it work well in getting rid of road films or bugs?

CAL V
post Oct 24 2025, 03:33 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Azran1979 @ Oct 18 2025, 11:28 PM)
when u buy new car, why dealer always put their name on the number plate holder?

is it ok if i spray them off?

will it be a problem if i come back for maintenance service there?
Free advertisement. Only JPJ saman if your number plate not up to spec, you want to stick with double sided tape also SC can't say anything.
CAL V
post Oct 24 2025, 04:05 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Azran1979 @ Oct 24 2025, 03:47 PM)
merc and bmw also put this thing. only Tesla dont.

i know its just a small matter but still annoying.
Yeah, noticed that as well. iirc Tesla one is just a Tesla logo, clean looking.

I also removed mine from my car, prefer a clean look.

0.0486sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:31 PM