QUOTE(FirstOne @ Oct 18 2019, 10:59 AM)
You can't make it really flat with hands
Need shit load of elbow grease + ample of time + patience 😂
celciuz
post Oct 21 2019, 10:48 PM

14,034 posts

blurcase bro, how do you take care of your car's interior black piano finishing? My gear knob one has tons of scratches (and I tried to avoid contact as much as possible... and when I wipe I usually do with QD LOL). But guess I need to polish a bit... but just worried of introducing even more scratches.
celciuz
post Oct 22 2019, 08:02 AM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Oct 21 2019, 11:34 PM)
Hmm, that stain that comes from your car porch ceiling is some form of cement residue if not mistaken. U should handle with care because trying to scrub it off too hard may induce scratches, even on glass. For your glass, using a razor blade and gently scraping may be able to remove most of it.
Hmm, piano finish is quite tough to restore. Mine also has scratches but I did nothing other than regular damp wiping because I worry if I attempt to polish, the remaining haze will be quite difficult to finish. The main issue is unlike car paint which I know is made of clearcoat topping, I dont know what is made of the piano finish for interiors.

Perhaps other sifus here can share a more meaningful experience in dealing with this.
Damp cloth wiping gave me scratches until recently I started using QD, gives the slick feel and I guess easier to dust off.

I just got the Shinemate EP803 mini rotary, mainly to polish those hard to reach areas which needs accuracy to reach corners 😓 and especially my black grill. Gonna do test with the key black piano... I believe that one is similar material.

The head unit black panel seems tougher than the black panel on the gear knob area though. I was looking at reviews people polish Audi exterior black piano... not sure if those are paint, or plastic bits. But I guess if is paint, no point showing tutorial right 🤔

This post has been edited by celciuz: Oct 22 2019, 08:03 AM
celciuz
post Oct 22 2019, 09:23 PM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Oct 22 2019, 09:45 AM)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4an83rCMPK0
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G0vCMo7EyFY

This is my reference point for not doing my interior piano finish. Hope it helps.
If only I could polish like how he got it right... I mean the so called 90% haha!
celciuz
post Oct 22 2019, 09:34 PM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Oct 22 2019, 09:30 PM)
U could try compounding by machine and polishing/finishing by hand, that could work.
The idea seems to use the least aggressive pad, and cutting down on the glaze... I might try with a finishing pad + Osren PC20 perhaps.
celciuz
post Oct 22 2019, 10:43 PM

14,034 posts

Damn happy when I saw this, Shinemate red pad + PC20. Then I did IPA wipe and uhh... some of the swirls appeared...

I think if I were to do it again... might as well just buff until clear and cheat myself perhaps sweat.gif it definitely looked better than starting la.

Maybe weekend test wife's Honda City keys haha! Those are in even worse shape.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Oct 22 2019, 10:43 PM
celciuz
post Oct 22 2019, 11:14 PM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(teikchuan @ Oct 22 2019, 11:08 PM)
You dont need ipa wipe down after this . your ipa induce more scratch
I think the IPA just revealed the swirls, cause I see the scratches are sort of circular... I wiped IPA in single direction. Oh well, lesson learnt. But gonna hunt for clear bra... this thing is so scratch magnet than if I wipe with a not so plush cloth and a bit harder it will create line scratch.. and even when putting in and out of the silicon case sweat.gif

What else is less cut than Osren PC20... M205?
celciuz
post Oct 22 2019, 11:40 PM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(teikchuan @ Oct 22 2019, 11:30 PM)
I already stop using 0**** product when i found their product is so hard to understand and misleading 
Any "Body shop safe" finishing polish e.g sf4000 m205 3d one  work , because we already know it has no filler , so u dont need to ipa wipe down
Yes , it more "soft" than Soft clear coat
Your best bet is polish with a "body shop safe / silicone free" finishing polish and a finishing pad with low speed and seal it with PPF . thumbsup.gif
Should I be doing faster speed with faster movement or slower speed with slow movement?

Hmm, need to hunt for these... I guess the easiest to get is the M205... what's the commercial version equivalent?
celciuz
post Oct 23 2019, 10:22 AM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Oct 23 2019, 10:02 AM)
Lol, now u understand why I am hesitant to polish piano finish stuff.

Just something that came across my mind. Many years ago when I was a kid, I used to play Tamiya toy cars, and there was a black car body that I polished to a fairly high gloss finish. However, instead of using a car polish that was meant to work on clearcoats, I used plastic polish (I think it was Autosol).

So apart from M205 on Meguiars range, u could try the likes of PlastX. Do go gently though.
PlastX is less aggressive than glaze? Might try that instead, was told that is reducing type meaning as you polish it gets less aggressive? But I see it was advertised for headlamp so was thinking it might be more aggressive.

Last time I tried hand polish with PlastX but no effect 😂
celciuz
post Oct 26 2019, 09:03 AM

14,034 posts

Anyone sourced for clear bra / ppf before? Trying to grab some for my remote control.
celciuz
post Oct 26 2019, 11:12 AM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Oct 26 2019, 10:07 AM)
PPF no, but I can suggest a cheaper alternative since u arent doing it on the car itself. U could consider clear sticker wraps that kids use to wrap their textbook covers once upon in time. Its available in stationary shops and should be quite affordable. smile.gif
Ahh those with adhesive should work. I tried screen protectors... but they uhh don't quite work well with curves.
celciuz
post Oct 31 2019, 10:12 AM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(presario316 @ Oct 31 2019, 10:10 AM)
can you suggest a product to 'compound' ?
CeriGlass?
celciuz
post Nov 9 2019, 07:33 PM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Nov 8 2019, 08:24 PM)
Not really new tricks but 😁

I'm using one pump from Daiso for Osren Nano Wash.. but need pump 6x times for foam lance LOL.
celciuz
post Nov 10 2019, 08:05 AM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Nov 10 2019, 01:40 AM)
I was already curious about the relevance of pouring car wash soap into a pump dispenser, as it takes alot of pumps to have the right amount when making wash bucket soap. Now that u mention foam lance, then it makes perfect sense, hehehe

Though, I could suggest a more cost effective pump would be using recycled body wash bottles. Just my 2 sen anyways
Yes, cause the foam lance bottles are always very tiny openings. And then this Osren Nano Wash very thick type so... usually wasted a bit here and there uhh. I use funnel also a lot will stick on the funnel
celciuz
post Nov 19 2019, 04:37 PM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Nov 19 2019, 12:06 AM)
If budget not issue, Rupes. If budget is issue, Osren, ShineMate.

I personally using Rupes LHR21Mk2 and Nano iBrid, not yet ROI after 3-4 years owning them cuz rarely use (maybe 1-2 times a year only). Abit regret buying, lol.
I was considering the iBrid... but then decided to just grab a mini rotary instead. Well the ShineMate can do 1", so not too shappy. Can reach the areas I wanted to.
celciuz
post Nov 23 2019, 11:30 PM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(teikchuan @ Nov 23 2019, 09:21 PM)
LOL im sorry , i mean karcher hd6
Yes , you dont want to use this as your daily wash
Use this only if you want to apply any protection later.
Why the professional HD6 versus K5 though? Price should be quite a bit diff?
celciuz
post Nov 24 2019, 12:09 AM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(teikchuan @ Nov 24 2019, 12:03 AM)
rm1k diff i think ,
if you love foam , hd6 totally worth it!
well , maybe that just me
i got many friend bought k2/k5 ,
after they saw the different
they end up buying hd6
How much is the HD6?
celciuz
post Nov 24 2019, 10:10 PM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(ItsJustheOne @ Nov 24 2019, 07:51 PM)
Hi guys, I am first time owning a car, a silver hatchback.

Been a month plus since the first day of getting the keys, and it was getting dirty, so I decided to wash myself.

Did some Googling and found that Meguiars seems to be good, so I bought the Meguiars Gold Class Shampoo, the Meguiars Washing Mitt, and for drying the car, I didn't had enough money in my wallet that time so I didn't buy the Meguiars Magnet Drying Towel which I thought was quite expensive for a towel (it was RM97), so I bought the Supreme Shine Microfibre Towel instead because I thought this towel can dry the car too although the box says that it is for drying off wax and polish.

So my first attempt, I filled up two buckets, 1st bucket for the shampoo, and 2nd bucket for the clean water.

I started by wetting the car with a hose (the hose in my garden, just a normal hose like those you use for bathing, the yellow one).

Then, unfortunately I think I was dreaming, I forgotten to use the 2nd bucket for rinsing, I just dunk the washing mitt into the 1st bucket, spread the shampoo on the car, dunk it again into the 1st bucket, continue spreading the car with shampoo, and after covering the whole car with shampoo, I rinsed if off with the hose in my garden.

I dried off the car with the Meguiars Supreme Shine Microfibre Towel but it was so hard to dry. The towel got wet quite fast and when it was wet, it couldn't dry the water.

When done, the car seemed to look clean, but the washing mitt was slightly black with dirt, and the Meguiars supreme shine had black spots too.

I think I made lots of mistakes.

Should I get a new washing mitt and microfibre towel? Or can I just wash it? How do I wash it?
Can wash it off from the wash mitt, it is generally white in color... mine is a little greyish now laugh.gif but its my rim mitt now though.
celciuz
post Nov 24 2019, 11:19 PM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(ItsJustheOne @ Nov 24 2019, 11:16 PM)
My mitt is already greyish after only one time using. Can it come off? What do you use to wash it?
I just use the same detergent I use for my clothes. Liquid type. Well... the color when new is white, so generally it looks dirty fast. But I remember mine turned grey after a few washes la.
celciuz
post Nov 26 2019, 11:56 AM

14,034 posts

How do you guys wash engine bay? I mean... how to rinse the soap after agitating? Or just wipe with cloth?

49 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0370sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:28 AM