Q&A Smart Tag cannot be detected, How to check Smart Tag is working

TSDracula_X
post Mar 7 2016, 11:53 PM, updated 10y ago

150 posts

Hi Bro,
Anyone know how to test the Smart Tag ?
My Smart Tag has a new battery, and can detect the Touch n Go card as well, however, it cannot be detected by the Smart Tag lane, anyone know what is wrong with the device ?
Percival II
post Mar 8 2016, 12:06 AM

64 posts

Tol did not read your smart tag because you flipped it wrong side..

samjet
post Mar 8 2016, 12:06 AM

190 posts

send to repair, if more than rm100 buy a new one

malaysia lousy company nothing much u can do..
u complain they will just ignore u
MechaLEE
post Mar 8 2016, 12:10 AM

148 posts

ur tinting is not smart tag friendly....tinting too dark
Boy96
post Mar 8 2016, 12:21 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Yours new smart tag? Check the battery connector. Usually tak rapat one
TSDracula_X
post Mar 8 2016, 12:34 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(Percival II @ Mar 8 2016, 12:06 AM)
Tol did not read your smart tag because you flipped it wrong side..
Correct side is facing up.
It worked last time, doesn't work after changing battery.
TSDracula_X
post Mar 8 2016, 12:35 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(MechaLEE @ Mar 8 2016, 12:10 AM)
ur tinting is not smart tag friendly....tinting too dark
It worked last time, doesn't work after changing battery.
TSDracula_X
post Mar 8 2016, 12:37 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Mar 8 2016, 12:21 AM)
Yours new smart tag? Check the battery connector. Usually tak rapat one
Battery is well connected, it shows status "HI".
SonnyCooL
post Mar 8 2016, 01:41 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

change to old version .... i much prefer old version than this new one ......
snicker
post Dec 18 2017, 01:29 PM

104 posts

Facing the same problem after changing to new battery, smartag is working as the toll can detect it but display "Kad tidak sah", but then I can use the touch and go card to acess it.

adamhzm90
post Dec 18 2017, 01:32 PM

1,389 posts

go repair at tng branch. rm50+gst fixed
maniack
post Dec 18 2017, 01:33 PM

139 posts

try go in the SmartTag gantry by reversing
spacelion
post Dec 18 2017, 01:35 PM

Ada Liu
1,692 posts

after replaced battery right? hehehehe ...
HJ_Ishimori
post Dec 18 2017, 01:38 PM

59 posts

maybe you punya cermin kereta too thick...
Quantum Geist
post Dec 18 2017, 01:38 PM

109 posts

Those things are notorious for not being reliable, even tng now sometimes hang and they have to restart the machine.
SUSsharpex
post Dec 18 2017, 01:46 PM

148 posts

Letak kertas dekat battery tu. Longgar tu. Believe me. This problem occur every time I'm changing the battery.
youngblood29us
post Dec 18 2017, 01:49 PM

565 posts

now i feel bad.. i always curse those smart tag users whenever they cant pass through the lane..i assumed they dont know how to use biggrin.gif
koolhui
post Mar 5 2019, 09:00 AM

Facing the same problem after changed to new battery last week, smartag can display balance but toll cannot detect it.
SUStatabun
post Mar 5 2019, 09:04 AM

59 posts

tha old fat tng is the best tng
ChuanHong
post Mar 7 2019, 01:11 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

any fix for that? it isnt really the battery issue? i changed few battery also same..
InvestThing
post Mar 7 2019, 01:36 PM

274 posts

my smart tag screen go nuts after change that fat battery
like everything falling apart
yap95 P
post Aug 18 2019, 07:23 PM

Probation

QUOTE(koolhui @ Mar 5 2019, 09:00 AM)
Facing the same problem after changed to new battery last week, smartag can display balance but toll cannot detect it.
I'm facing the same problem now, after changing a new battery, my smart tag can display the balance but all the tolls cannot detect it.
The tolls' LED screen showed that "Tiada Smart Tag"
Have you solved this problem already?
zeese
post Aug 18 2019, 07:26 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Must drive below 20kmh.. if not, it will be a hit and miss..
SUSraynman
post Aug 18 2019, 07:29 PM

4,333 posts

Go RFID lah
michael5
post Sep 4 2019, 01:51 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(Dracula_X @ Mar 7 2016, 11:53 PM)
Hi Bro,
My Smart Tag has a new battery, and can detect the Touch n Go card as well, however, it cannot be detected by the Smart Tag lane, anyone know what is wrong with the device ?
any solution?
Zeliard
post Jun 14 2024, 03:00 PM

286 posts

Sorry to necro a 5 year old thread. I've been having the same problem with my smart tag, which was working well previously for years, until I got a new bezza, and went for tinting here, since salesman gave voucher

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=91689983

My windscreen is 35% according to jpj specs.

My smart tag not working now. Not sure if it's coincidental or not. Side button still can read card balance.

BTW it's old smart tag. Fat one.
karazure
post Jun 14 2024, 03:01 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Dracula_X @ Mar 7 2016, 11:53 PM)
Hi Bro,
2024 still smart tag...RIP
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 14 2024, 03:05 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Jun 14 2024, 03:00 PM)
Sorry to necro a 5 year old thread. I've been having the same problem with my smart tag, which was working well previously for years, until I got a new bezza, and went for tinting here, since salesman gave voucher

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=91689983

My smart tag not working now. Not sure if it's coincidental or not. Side button still can read card balance.

BTW it's old smart tag. Fat one.
Most probably due to tinting.

U can test next time by winding down ur car windows and hold the smart tag device outside see toll detect or not.
Zeliard
post Jun 14 2024, 04:14 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 14 2024, 03:05 PM)
Most probably due to tinting.

U can test next time by winding down ur car windows and hold the smart tag device outside see toll detect or not.
I suspect so, but it's 35% only. Shouldn't be a problem right?
blanket84
post Jun 14 2024, 04:21 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Jun 14 2024, 04:14 PM)
Smart tag use IR signal. Your tint is blocking IR from passing through your windscreen. If you IRR is high, the signal would be very week.

Try to drive very very slowly when going through smart tag. If still can't read, then no choice either need to wind down window, or make a hole on your tint.
LumiaFanboy
post Jun 14 2024, 04:25 PM

67 posts

i had similar issue after changing to a KODAK battery..
then change to another Energizer Max then all is good.

Sounds weird but this was my solution.....

This post has been edited by LumiaFanboy: Jun 14 2024, 04:25 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 14 2024, 04:28 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Jun 14 2024, 04:14 PM)
In layman term is IR is one of the things the tinting is blocking, so it would reduce heat going into ur car.
Unfortunately smart tag using this old IR technology too for the pass 20 years or more.

The solution is cut a small hole and place ur smart tag there. Or wind down windows put the smart tag outside when going toll.

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jun 14 2024, 04:21 PM)
Smart tag use IR signal. Your tint is blocking IR from passing through your windscreen. If you IRR is high, the signal would be very week.

Try to drive very very slowly when going through smart tag. If still can't read, then no choice either need to wind down window, or make a hole on your tint.
Oltromen Ripot
post Jun 14 2024, 04:28 PM

๐Ÿ‘ 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Jun 14 2024, 03:00 PM)
until I got a new bezza, and went for tinting here, since salesman gave voucher

tint has 2 values - how dark, and how much heat (in the form of infra red) it can reflects away.

that 35% is how dark your tint is.

i think you selected a tint that is quite cool under the sun, right?
it probably blocked IR (both from sun and from the toll reader and from your SmartTag) for good.
Zeliard
post Jun 14 2024, 04:45 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Jun 14 2024, 04:28 PM)
tint has 2 values - how dark, and how much heat (in the form of infra red) it can reflects away.

that 35% is how dark your tint is.

i think you selected a tint that is quite  cool under the sun, right?
it probably blocked IR (both from sun and from the toll reader and from your SmartTag) for good.
I don't have experience on this matter, my last car was a 20 year old Toyota, and we have coated with vkool. Buy no dark tinting.

Gosh this is a big oversight for me, and certainly a deal breaker, if I were told of such a complication I would have taken precautionary measure.

Would changing another smart tag work?

Oltromen Ripot
post Jun 14 2024, 05:00 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Jun 14 2024, 04:45 PM)
I don't have experience on this matter, my last car was a 20 year old Toyota, and we have coated with vkool. Buy no dark tinting.

Gosh this is a big oversight for me, and certainly a deal breaker, if I were told of such a complication I would have taken precautionary measure.

no. your problem is 99.9% confidence caused by the new tint sitting between your toll antenna and smarttag. your option is to either remove or poke through that tint, or hang smarttag outside where it can chat with the antenna unobstructed, OR, switch to using RM35 RFID.

obviously just switch to RFID lah. no need to destroy your tint or hang smarttag+card combo outside to be carried away either by rushing wind or by thieves.

but make sure you paste RFID on headlamp, NOT on your windscreen (does not matter inside or outside). the metallic particle inside tint film will defray the RFID waves making signalling weak.
lowyat101
post Jun 14 2024, 05:33 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Jun 14 2024, 04:45 PM)

Most likely the tint is ceramic based? For short term solution, you will need to cut a hole at the tint film. Can do this behind the rear view mirror then stick your smartag there.

Long term solution - change the tint next time you replace the windscreen.

gastacopz
post Jun 14 2024, 05:35 PM

4,929 posts

wire dlm putus...bukak n solder back je..
Zeliard
post Jun 14 2024, 07:33 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Jun 14 2024, 05:00 PM)
no. your problem is 99.9% confidence caused by the new tint sitting between your toll antenna and smarttag. your option is to either remove or poke through that tint, or hang smarttag outside where it can chat with the antenna unobstructed, OR, switch to using RM35 RFID.

obviously just switch to RFID lah. no need to destroy your tint or hang smarttag+card combo outside to be carried away either by rushingย  wind or by thieves.

but make sure you paste RFID on headlamp, NOT on your windscreen (does not matter inside or outside). the metallic particle inside tint film will defray the RFID waves making signalling weak.
It's not that I don't adopt technology. But the failure rate of rfid, is too freaking high at the moment. Reverser and reverse, go forward, then reverse, and not to mention some highways not supporting rfid yet. I never had any card or smart tag issues b4 today.

But yes, seeing how smart tag will be an issue with my current tint, I guess I have no choice but to take rfid

Edit. If I take rfid, I should put it at headlamp right? Not sticking on windscreen anymore?

This post has been edited by Zeliard: Jun 14 2024, 07:38 PM
Oltromen Ripot
post Jun 15 2024, 01:02 AM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Jun 14 2024, 07:33 PM)
It's not that I don't adopt technology. But the failure rate of rfid, is too freaking high at the moment. Reverser and reverse, go forward, then reverse, and not to mention some highways not supporting rfid yet. I never had any card or smart tag issues b4 today.

But yes, seeing how smart tag will be an issue with my current tint, I guess I have no choice but to take rfid

Edit. If I take rfid, I should put it at headlamp right? Not sticking on windscreen anymore?
i had to gostan-goahead only 1 time ever since i switched from sticking RFID on windscreen to sticking on headlamp.

i had it done at Juru Autocity fitment drive-thru. i initially asked to paste it on top of my exora headlamp so that blends in with the silver-ish grating inside there, so it won't be visibly obvious. doesn't attract attention, but the staff told me that the headlamp itself have metal inside, so better stick it right smack in middle. so if you decide to stick it yourself, just put it in middle, not near the edges of headlamp.

oh, and stick it on headlamp of the passenger's side.
i noticed in the past few weeks that RFID toll lanes had cones lined up on the passenger's side, so as to force drivers to come through closer on the driver's side, and make it so that RFID stickers get as close as possible to the centre on the lane, right under the antenna.

--

the 1st RFID, on outside of my windshield was initially okay, with failure rate of 10%.
but after i had my tint "renewed", immediately it swapped to be 90% failure rate.

0.0250sec    1.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:56 AM