can someone help me...
coz i cannot find any review between the TT Big Typhoon & Silverstone Nitrogon NT06
This post has been edited by sempronic: Dec 29 2006, 03:14 AM
Attached image(s)
TT Big Typhoon VX vs. Silverstone Nitrogon, which one is better in performance???
Dec 28 2006, 08:32 PM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
986 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: :: infront the steering :: |
Dec 28 2006, 08:35 PM
2,823 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: West Malaysia |
Between the two, my vote goes to the thermaltake big typhoon VX...!
but be sure that it can fit, cos this heatsink is rather huge and might be in the way for certain motherboards. This post has been edited by J-Slade: Dec 28 2006, 08:36 PM |
Dec 28 2006, 09:38 PM
1,561 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 秋葉原電気街 |
i might be able to get the Nitrogen to test
let me check with prem 1st |
Dec 28 2006, 10:48 PM
744 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Android World |
hem the BTVX is a proven great hsf
but the silverstone nitroge its still unknown maybe we let sup3rfly to get it tested first then we know how does it perfomed against the BTVX but now my vote goes for BTVX |
Dec 28 2006, 11:12 PM
1,201 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Kuala Lumpur |
my vote is with TT BTVX too. from its looks and heatpipe, it does give better impression than silverstone.
Dec 28 2006, 11:59 PM
1,597 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
performance wise reading frm the reviews n personally, hard to go wrong w the btvx also....real value for money...but looks wise i think the nitrogon is better.
Dec 29 2006, 01:10 AM
662 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: int eth 5/0/16 vlan 13 |
if me, i will try the nitrogon.... alreadi know the performance of the btvx...
try the nitrogon... may be the performance is better |
Dec 29 2006, 01:15 AM
14,909 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(casperito @ Dec 29 2006, 01:10 AM) if me, i will try the nitrogon.... alreadi know the performance of the btvx... And what if the Nitrogon sucks more?try the nitrogon... may be the performance is better How would you answer to that? And if you would suggest that, why don't u try that heatsink you'reself and tell us the performance of it? Seriously man, we need a real review from real pro like THG to review all high end heatsinks... |
Dec 29 2006, 01:23 AM
744 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Android World |
QUOTE(casperito @ Dec 29 2006, 01:10 AM) if me, i will try the nitrogon.... alreadi know the performance of the btvx... i wont do dat try the nitrogon... may be the performance is better wat if the performance sucks big time? wasted money issit? better search for reviews and make comparision then oni decide on which cooler to buy |
Dec 29 2006, 02:02 AM
662 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: int eth 5/0/16 vlan 13 |
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 29 2006, 01:15 AM) And what if the Nitrogon sucks more? How would you answer to that? And if you would suggest that, why don't u try that heatsink you'reself and tell us the performance of it? Seriously man, we need a real review from real pro like THG to review all high end heatsinks... QUOTE(mruzian @ Dec 29 2006, 01:23 AM) i wont do dat if it suck then wat can do... hehehehe...wat if the performance sucks big time? wasted money issit? better search for reviews and make comparision then oni decide on which cooler to buy the review or comparison for the silverstone still kind of hard to find... then have to test it u'r self laa... take the risk laa... berani mati... |
Dec 29 2006, 03:15 AM
Dec 29 2006, 04:12 AM
well the LanParty is on Jan la... have to wait until then... 1 thing to highlight.... the material that is used in the Nitrogen heatpipe are different from TT BTVX...
TT BTVX uses Liquid type Nitrogen uses Power type |
Dec 29 2006, 04:19 AM
2,603 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Dec 29 2006, 04:12 AM) well the LanParty is on Jan la... have to wait until then... 1 thing to highlight.... the material that is used in the Nitrogen heatpipe are different from TT BTVX... power type? not powder type ka? TT BTVX uses Liquid type Nitrogen uses Power type anyway, i would go for the TTBT QUOTE(casperito @ Dec 29 2006, 02:02 AM) if it suck then wat can do... hehehehe... that's why this guy asking it here for recommendation which are the best the review or comparison for the silverstone still kind of hard to find... then have to test it u'r self laa... take the risk laa... berani mati... |
Dec 29 2006, 05:37 AM
QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Dec 29 2006, 04:12 AM) well the LanParty is on Jan la... have to wait until then... 1 thing to highlight.... the material that is used in the Nitrogen heatpipe are different from TT BTVX... powder & liquid??TT BTVX uses Liquid type Nitrogen uses Power type which one is better??? in logic side of view, TT BTVX is better then the powder..... hope u can test it soon and give the result...coz will going to LYP next week to bought a HSF for my rig... QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 29 2006, 04:19 AM) power type? not powder type ka? yeah....thats why i ask for every one opinion....anyway, i would go for the TTBT that's why this guy asking it here for recommendation which are the best BTW....just let casperito be....coz he is my friend....he said like that coz want me to make an experiment bout the HSF.....hahaha....never....will ask him to bought for him self... so anyone???have any other opinion?? This post has been edited by sempronic: Dec 29 2006, 05:38 AM |
Dec 29 2006, 12:05 PM
2,597 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
here's a review 4 the silverstone nitrogen 06
http://www.pcmoddingmy.com/e107_plugins/co...php?content.362 |
Dec 29 2006, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(gmail @ Dec 29 2006, 12:05 PM) here's a review 4 the silverstone nitrogen 06 SS NT-06 < TR SI-120 < TR Ultra-120 = TTBT http://www.pcmoddingmy.com/e107_plugins/co...php?content.362 |
Dec 29 2006, 04:20 PM
Store Representative
9,177 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Edifier, Stax, Noctua and AirPulse |
Dec 29 2006, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(Edifier @ Dec 29 2006, 04:20 PM) NT06 Reviews there u go... who said the review is hard to find Modthebox sudhian frazpc Technic3d hardware.multiplayer.it Gamezoom Sysopt PCPRO Phoronix madshrimps btw, nice job there Edifier This post has been edited by E-J@1: Dec 29 2006, 05:29 PM |
Dec 29 2006, 06:04 PM
Store Representative
QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 29 2006, 05:28 PM) Actually, u can find almost all the review in Silverstone website.try this Silverstone website |
Dec 29 2006, 06:29 PM
yeah....thanks for the review....but the review of this Nitrogon already got it...
just wanna a comparison between the two.... thanks.... so now is more to TT BTVX ar??? errmm..... |
Dec 29 2006, 07:02 PM
Dec 29 2006, 07:11 PM
what are ur criteria or requiremets for a hs actually, u didint specify...thermal performance, balance of that n looks, after sales, maybe u wan the hs to match ur casing, budget...etc etc..maybe list it down....fyi and imho both the fans that comes w the hs r not bad...i think TT got it right this time, SS fans no need to say la, in fact i replaced the BTVX fans with the SS Fm121.
So edifier..got discount on next purchase or not |
Dec 29 2006, 09:56 PM
Dec 29 2006, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 29 2006, 07:02 PM) yeah...TR is superb..... but now is about TT BTVX or NT-06 lor.... QUOTE(cablesguy @ Dec 29 2006, 07:11 PM) what are ur criteria or requiremets for a hs actually, u didint specify...thermal performance, balance of that n looks, after sales, maybe u wan the hs to match ur casing, budget...etc etc..maybe list it down....fyi and imho both the fans that comes w the hs r not bad...i think TT got it right this time, SS fans no need to say la, in fact i replaced the BTVX fans with the SS Fm121. need the good performance in cooling my proc ar.... So edifier..got discount on next purchase or not QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 29 2006, 09:56 PM) hahahah.....shawty mmg....... |
Dec 30 2006, 12:05 AM
Store Representative
Dec 30 2006, 01:20 PM
498 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh, Perak |
BTVX + Stock Fan (2Krpm) vs NT06 + Stock Fan (2.4Krpm) = BTVX is still better!
The reason because NT06 comes with 107CFM fan that screams at 42dBA / 2400rpm (its even louder in real life as it goes up to 2.7Krpm). The BTVX on the other hand is a little slient at 2000rpm but only pushes about 80CFM. Since I've tested the Thermalright SI-120 to perform better than NT06, there's no way that the NT06 can come close to BTVX. FYI, BTVX is 2C cooler than SI-120. SI-120 is 6C better than NT06...go figure! This post has been edited by pcmoddingmy: Dec 30 2006, 01:21 PM |
Dec 30 2006, 10:01 PM
1,242 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Sila Mampir,JB sTaTus:GTX 680 SLI |
QUOTE(pcmoddingmy @ Dec 30 2006, 01:20 PM) BTVX + Stock Fan (2Krpm) vs NT06 + Stock Fan (2.4Krpm) = BTVX is still better! Wahhh that good ka?TQ pcmodding for ur in put on this.NT06 not much of a cooler i guess.anyway,kinda OT,have u compare xp120 with Ultra90 yet?wanna know the performance diff?TQThe reason because NT06 comes with 107CFM fan that screams at 42dBA / 2400rpm (its even louder in real life as it goes up to 2.7Krpm). The BTVX on the other hand is a little slient at 2000rpm but only pushes about 80CFM. Since I've tested the Thermalright SI-120 to perform better than NT06, there's no way that the NT06 can come close to BTVX. FYI, BTVX is 2C cooler than SI-120. SI-120 is 6C better than NT06...go figure! |
Dec 30 2006, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(pcmoddingmy @ Dec 30 2006, 01:20 PM) BTVX + Stock Fan (2Krpm) vs NT06 + Stock Fan (2.4Krpm) = BTVX is still better! So that means: Nitrogon NT-06 sucks so much meh? The reason because NT06 comes with 107CFM fan that screams at 42dBA / 2400rpm (its even louder in real life as it goes up to 2.7Krpm). The BTVX on the other hand is a little slient at 2000rpm but only pushes about 80CFM. Since I've tested the Thermalright SI-120 to perform better than NT06, there's no way that the NT06 can come close to BTVX. FYI, BTVX is 2C cooler than SI-120. SI-120 is 6C better than NT06...go figure! This is why i don't really believe powdered heatpipes... This post has been edited by sHawTY: Dec 30 2006, 10:25 PM |
Dec 31 2006, 01:26 AM
1,823 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
well its a different concept all together...anyway it was plain dumb luck that me and superfly didnt get a nt06 to compare coz of logistical problems with prem...man i really wanted to yamcha with you bro.... neway currently ttbt rocks... actually if u have to get the bt get the non vx version as so far the onlyu different thing is the fan controller.... price wise not sure as i never look at prices when i look at secy heatpipes....
Dec 31 2006, 01:41 AM
iinm mounting also different right? anyway i think thermaltake shud work out some profit sharing scheme for u gyz n prem....after reading the reviews...think almost everyone who reads it wans a btvx
Dec 31 2006, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Dec 31 2006, 01:41 AM) iinm mounting also different right? anyway i think thermaltake shud work out some profit sharing scheme for u gyz n prem....after reading the reviews...think almost everyone who reads it wans a btvx Ya i guess many LYN forumers claiming btvx is really good but for me the size and weight is the downside.mb cracking is wat im looking forward to. |
Dec 31 2006, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(styloe @ Dec 31 2006, 11:38 AM) Ya i guess many LYN forumers claiming btvx is really good but for me the size and weight is the downside.mb cracking is wat im looking forward to. just bought TT BTVX.....the performance is unexpected....really cool ur proc.... and the weight is bot heavy...ti is really like u think......it is big...and it is not heavy....u can get one and try it....and the mobo...sure will never crack... |
Dec 31 2006, 04:58 PM
well it wont crack ur mobo just like that la...unless u go and shake ur whoel cpu la hehehehe
Dec 31 2006, 08:30 PM
dont think its going to crack any mobo unless like what supe3fly say...go n shake the stuff hehe......out of curisosity, wouldnt the btvx work better if u reverse the orientation of the fan, meaning its sucking the hot air frm the hs instead of blowing towards the hs...anybody tried???....too lazy to try since its a holiday
Dec 31 2006, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(sempronic @ Dec 31 2006, 04:51 PM) just bought TT BTVX..... ermmm u got me curios now.maybe i'll let go my g power for the TT BTVX.but for one thing its DAMN hugeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee..... the performance is unexpected....really cool ur proc.... and the weight is bot heavy...ti is really like u think......it is big...and it is not heavy....u can get one and try it....and the mobo...sure will never crack... |
Jan 1 2007, 12:50 AM
dei wont crack ur mobo wan...wats with everyone and thinking mobos will crack under heavy hsf...think lah...companies wont realease hsfs that will crack ur mobo...
Jan 1 2007, 01:24 AM
1,098 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(sempronic @ Dec 31 2006, 04:51 PM) just bought TT BTVX..... but is the sound dB really 24 only? if 24dB pushing 80+cfm is quite a good fan liao the performance is unexpected....really cool ur proc.... and the weight is bot heavy...ti is really like u think......it is big...and it is not heavy....u can get one and try it....and the mobo...sure will never crack... |
Jan 1 2007, 07:26 AM
Jan 1 2007, 08:55 AM
Jan 1 2007, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 1 2007, 08:55 AM) He's talking about the noise... owwhh.....yeah....Yes, he knows this HSF is using a 12CM fan, that's why, there is no way a 12CM fan can blow 80+CFM with the noise of 24Db... Thermaltake always does that, they always lie... but for me the noise is not really important... hehehehe....and the TT BTVX 12cm fan is not that loud at full speed..... |
Jan 1 2007, 05:04 PM
the fan is suprisingly not noisy...too bad i broke it...kinda like that fan
Jan 1 2007, 05:47 PM
610 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Ampang, Selangor |
Jan 1 2007, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Jan 1 2007, 05:04 PM) there are TT 12cm fan that look alike with the B.Typhoon fan...maybe in Bulk have it... QUOTE(vassalle @ Jan 1 2007, 05:47 PM) yup...my casing coolermaster 12cm fan is more noisy then it.... |
Jan 1 2007, 08:42 PM
Jan 2 2007, 03:42 AM
379 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: BbBangi,Miat-Easa |
Jan 2 2007, 01:06 PM
tt way of measuring db is very weird...they measure db from 10m iirc, the cfm 10cm...
Jan 2 2007, 01:58 PM
10m? lol...with that distance i wonder why they even bother to measure...but again i wonder why the btvx fan is silent...dont flame me but after testing 2 different TT fans..my impression is not too bad....but then again i only tested 2 of their fans
Jan 2 2007, 02:15 PM
the bt fans are very good.. its the fans that they sell are crap...
Jan 2 2007, 02:26 PM
meaning they dont sell the btvx type fan seperately isit..coz searched TT site but cant find
Jan 2 2007, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Jan 2 2007, 02:26 PM) The thermaltake smartfan is the same thing, no?It's just that it doesn't come with a fan controller that sits on top of the fan instead of putting the fan controller on the pci slot |
Jan 2 2007, 03:11 PM
ya... BT VX used the smart fan 120mm if i not mistaken. just not sure whether can u change it or not. if can change the fan, wont Silverstone fm121 perform better as the fan?
Jan 2 2007, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 2 2007, 02:40 PM) The thermaltake smartfan is the same thing, no? not sure ....i see alot of fans but no specs similarIt's just that it doesn't come with a fan controller that sits on top of the fan instead of putting the fan controller on the pci slot QUOTE(irangan @ Jan 2 2007, 03:11 PM) ya... BT VX used the smart fan 120mm if i not mistaken. just not sure whether can u change it or not. if can change the fan, wont Silverstone fm121 perform better as the fan? i actually using the fm121 w the btvx...running the fan at high speed the temp increase by 1-2c lol, ...not sure why |
Jan 2 2007, 06:43 PM
i think its different coz the blades on the btvx has more....
Jan 2 2007, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Jan 2 2007, 05:04 PM) not sure ....i see alot of fans but no specs similar hmmmm...... i getting a FM121 for my Scythe Andy in these few days. no point buying if it will raise the temp..i actually using the fm121 w the btvx...running the fan at high speed the temp increase by 1-2c lol, ...not sure why |
Jan 2 2007, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(irangan @ Jan 2 2007, 07:11 PM) hmmmm...... i getting a FM121 for my Scythe Andy in these few days. no point buying if it will raise the temp.. irangan, im not sure whether its the fan or not, could be a combination of any factors...my suspicions are that due to running it high...it create turbulence as its not fast enuf to pass the hs fins...anyway just my 2 sen...but the fan is def abv average if u ask me...when running high theres very negligible vibration n the sound is not the irritating type, altho of coz loud...not like some fans...when run high has very annoying pitch |
Jan 2 2007, 09:10 PM
sempronic, i think you have to close this topic as this is going nowhere as you've already got the answer as NT-06 doesn't really perform well compared to BTVX...
This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jan 2 2007, 09:11 PM |
Jan 3 2007, 04:15 AM
yeah...going to close it.....
so everyone...agree to close this topic? or someone gotta something to discuss?? heheeheh...... |
Jan 3 2007, 07:26 AM
QUOTE(sempronic @ Jan 3 2007, 04:15 AM) yeah...going to close it..... If someone were to discuss something in this topic, it should only discuss about the comparison on both heatsink you're talking about on you're topic.so everyone...agree to close this topic? or someone gotta something to discuss?? heheeheh...... If it's not, then this topic will just be a discussion thread for something that is not related to the topic... You've already got an answer for you're question, and you've already got you'reself the heatsink you're looking for, so i don't see any other reason that this topic should be left open... Just close it This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jan 3 2007, 07:27 AM |
Jan 3 2007, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 3 2007, 07:26 AM) If someone were to discuss something in this topic, it should only discuss about the comparison on both heatsink you're talking about on you're topic. well actually, there is no point discussing which one is better in here If it's not, then this topic will just be a discussion thread for something that is not related to the topic... You've already got an answer for you're question, and you've already got you'reself the heatsink you're looking for, so i don't see any other reason that this topic should be left open... Just close it u just have to be smart enough to compare it with the given heatsink in the reviews by comparing NT-06 with SI-120 = SI-120 beats NT-06 TTBT comes close to Ultra-120 (or beats Ultra-120), which SI-120 is no where near Ultra-120 so are u too dumb to think which is better than the other if wanna discuss about this heatsink shouldn't be which one is better, but can discuss bout clearance issue or somethin else than their performance This post has been edited by E-J@1: Jan 3 2007, 11:58 AM |
Jan 3 2007, 05:22 PM
close the topic..... please....
Jan 3 2007, 06:24 PM
sry wrong post
This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Jan 3 2007, 06:25 PM |
Jan 3 2007, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Jan 3 2007, 11:52 AM) well actually, there is no point discussing which one is better in here to discuss it sure a must coz need to know everyone opinion and experience for that someone that have use ti or already tried it....then we can know which is better to get that is worth... u just have to be smart enough to compare it with the given heatsink in the reviews by comparing NT-06 with SI-120 = SI-120 beats NT-06 TTBT comes close to Ultra-120 (or beats Ultra-120), which SI-120 is no where near Ultra-120 so are u too dumb to think which is better than the other if wanna discuss about this heatsink shouldn't be which one is better, but can discuss bout clearance issue or somethin else than their performance QUOTE(lolhalol @ Jan 3 2007, 05:22 PM) wokey....closing it now.... |
| Change to: | 0.0284sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:29 PM |