noob question in overclocking, after overclock not much different

WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 28 2006, 07:54 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

Its only 100mhz improvement....cant be very visible...
But yes it does improved abit....u have to notice it carefully....

Btw i just tried to OC last nite...
My 3.0Ghz went to 3.5 or 3.7ghz cant remember....
3.0Ghz with x15multiplier and 200fsb -> 249fsb....

tried to do 250 but it just hanged after loading....whole screen black but there's a mouse and can move...

PCI-E is for graphic and it doesnt really affect cpu performance....
WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 28 2006, 08:11 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Dec 28 2006, 08:04 PM)
means now my processor is 2.3GHz? be4 i finish my tuning, the nTune boost my processor to 2.6GHz@@ and the benchmark test went unstable, then a runtime error come out, if PCI-E doesn't affect my CPU performance, then is it mean it only improve my graphic card performance?

y i only gt 5x multiplier max? cause by the motherboard or processor?

u adjust the GHz urself or u let the PC help u adjust? my casing is powerlogic, and it has no good air flow, if i go so high i scared my motherboard will turn to ashes.

EDIT: did u change the voltage of ur motherboard and graphic card while overclocking? if hv, wat software u use? or u adjust it in the BIOS while u start windows?
original MHz of CPU core: 2210.xxxMHz
after overclock: 2321.277MHz

Yup now its 2.3Ghz after OCing..
multiplier depends on proc itself...my proc has locked multiplier but i have no idea what its for anyway....
It not mistaken, the lower multiplier the better...

Im using bios to oc not software and wasnt tested for stability...

GPU oc somehow does affect abit, not on processing but atleast stuffs regarding to video/display...and that somehow affect abit..
WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 28 2006, 08:13 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Dec 28 2006, 08:09 PM)
What a nice CPU to overclock... *sigh*.. if only it was given to me  laugh.gif
I tried using nTune. It sucks big time for me... I seriously suggest you overclock it manually from the BIOS itself. Be sure to check out the FSB, multiplier, RAM Speed, RAM timing... and last but most importantly.. voltage.

And yea, don't bother overclocking your GPU yet. Its still considered okay for today's games.

*edit*

Once you have set it to the max in your BIOS that is stable. You can use softwares such as A64 Tweaker and ClockGen to help you correct your RAM timing and also push ur overclocking a lil higher.
U need to findout the suitable clock when using clockgen...
Google for "systool" its suitable for A64.

And damm i need to learn how to play with ram timing...
WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 28 2006, 11:16 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Dec 28 2006, 08:15 PM)
Somehow stability isnt a big issue for me. I dun get whats so big deal abt Prime stable and yada yada yada... people just wanna show others that their rig is very good in overclocking but truly, sometimes these benchmark stabilities don't reflect much. I mean, as long as it works, it doesnt hang... it can go load @ 100% without any problems... things shld be okay.

-Out of Topic-
Yo WaCKy-Angel, you sold your Advance Modules already ah? That teddy fella a bit irritating right? lol  laugh.gif
Not yet sold le....
Yeah that teddy guy is irritating....he's been posting everywhere to buy ram and ask for screenshot of 250mhz ocing eventhough seller didnt mention about that..
And i found somebody complaining him for aeroplane after reserve to him.

QUOTE(amduser @ Dec 28 2006, 08:21 PM)
if i manually overclock it, i would prefer all go max, but i know that it will burn my processor and motherboard, and i hv no moeny to fixed it, and i dont know much about the voltage adjusting, i only gt a 450W power supply, and i'm not using ASUS or ABIT motherboard, i'm using the GIGABYTE.

is it 3500+ really suitable for overclocking?
I doubt OCing could burn ur stuffs....
mobo usually has its own detection and it wont bootup setting is wrong, then it will auto reset back worst case have to manually reset.

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 28 2006, 10:32 PM)
ok firstly when you overclock, 100mhz gain won't give you noticable difference. neither does 200mhz.

however from 1.8ghz to 2.5ghz like mine, it's really not that noticable either unless the application requires some processing. smile.gif
Damm 1.8 to 2.5
WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 29 2006, 02:16 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(warrior @ Dec 29 2006, 05:53 AM)
first of all i'm not pin pointing to anyone, but i feel that many ppl in this forum like to give their "maybe" opinion instead they're not sure about it. so as mod say answer it if you are sure or put a ? if you're not sure...
or you may say what's wrong if i simply answer? well when ppl google up they'll see the thread and this lead them to think "ppl in this forum/country are just so so"

my 2 cents
ppl learn from mistakes, and other brighter ppl learn from other ppl's mistakes...
Ok so we're abit dumb, whats wrong about that?
Your gonna take your C2D, quad core, etc etc to compare with US?
They have the tech more earlier than u...
WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 29 2006, 03:33 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Dec 29 2006, 03:07 PM)
where can i find cpu-z? i find the download link for cpu-z on this website, but i cant download it on the link that gv by forummer, pls send me a direct link if u hv.

i odnt hv my voltage adjust settings in my BIOS and also nTune, is it not available in my motherboard?
RAM voltage should be Vcore if not mistaken....
And GPU power is some other named but still core....
Its in the tab where u set the D.O.T
WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 29 2006, 04:37 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 29 2006, 03:36 PM)
no no.

vdimm is ram voltage
vcore is cpu voltage

haha noob me tongue.gif

0.0156sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:07 PM