PDA user (Strictly or Wanna-be), What is the purpose of using it?

TSeric84cool
post Dec 28 2006, 06:34 PM, updated 19y ago

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

Hey guyz...I would like to know what is the purpose of buying a PDA phone?? and how actually do u use it for ur daily task?? Appointment? Checking Market Stock etc??

do u find it convenient carrying it around without worrying ur PDA being steal by somebody?! Is PDA today really an essential for u or u just buy it for the sake of enjoying the technology??

if don't mind..can u tell me how much u earn and what position r u in co-operate?

remember to state down ur PDA model as well...

This post has been edited by eric84cool: Dec 28 2006, 09:12 PM
imperialrealcs
post Dec 28 2006, 06:57 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

Im using the PDA for GPS navigation, notes (always forgetful), games (definitely better than those in phones (symbian or java), watch movies/music, internet, MSN messenger via wireless biggrin.gif
btw, i'm using O2 XDA IIs
TSeric84cool
post Dec 28 2006, 07:42 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Dec 28 2006, 06:57 PM)
Im using the PDA for GPS navigation, notes (always forgetful), games (definitely better than those in phones (symbian or java), watch movies/music, internet, MSN messenger via wireless biggrin.gif
btw, i'm using O2 XDA IIs
huh?!games?!don't u feel it abit irritating when u need the pointer to press the screen ???
ben83
post Dec 28 2006, 08:16 PM

IT & GADGETS ELITE SPECIALIST
1,602 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 28 2006, 07:42 PM)
huh?!games?!don't u feel it abit irritating when u need the pointer to press the screen ???
The stylus is actually making navigation much easier than using directional pad in conventional phones without touch screen. However, one might argue that it is just personal preference. Here comes the good part of pda, as one can use the directional pad for navigation as well.

Baronic
post Dec 28 2006, 08:38 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Student here,

Primary use is the schedule. As a uni student and constantly changing tutorial times and lessons, as well as extra additional block teacher with odd times, (8.00am-9.00am, next class 3.pm-4.00pm) i find a pda essential to remember when my class is. It reminds me one hour before classes with an alert, and i can easily set and change my schedule. Also, when arranging meeting with frens and all, i can double check if i busy or not. much easier than carrying a huge organiser around.

Secondary use is HEAVY GAMING BABEH!! Pdas have absolutely superb games, if u choose the right games. i'm a serious heavy gamer, and i can say i play 90 percent of all pda games in the market already (no interest in porn games mar)

Tertiary use is a mobile movie device. convert into small .avi with smart movie converter (google it) and then can see movies on my pda! but i usually put stuff like simsons i download of the net, and futurama or drawn together
shockk
post Dec 28 2006, 08:44 PM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,883 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 28 2006, 08:38 PM)
Student here,

Primary use is the schedule. As a uni student and constantly changing tutorial times and lessons, as well as extra additional block teacher with odd times, (8.00am-9.00am, next class 3.pm-4.00pm) i find a pda essential to remember when my class is. It reminds me one hour before classes with an alert, and i can easily set and change my schedule. Also, when arranging meeting with frens and all, i can double check if i busy or not. much easier than carrying a huge organiser around.

Secondary use is HEAVY GAMING BABEH!! Pdas have absolutely superb games, if u choose the right games. i'm a serious heavy gamer, and i can say i play 90 percent of all pda games in the market already (no interest in porn games mar)

Tertiary use is a mobile movie device. convert into small .avi with smart movie converter (google it) and then can see movies on my pda! but i usually put stuff like simsons i download of the net, and futurama or drawn together
My reasons for using a PDA phone are about the same as you. tongue.gif

Used to use a paper organizer but the amount of editing that i did wasn't very good for paper. =.=''
So switched to a Windows Mobile and all is well (take note that the Palm OS calendar is NO MATCH for the Windows Mobile calendar)

I'm studying and working part-time at a well-established international publisher that requires good organizing of my time.
So yes, it is essential to me. smile.gif

This post has been edited by shockk: Dec 28 2006, 08:45 PM
TSeric84cool
post Dec 28 2006, 09:00 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

EMmmm....for Baronic...maybe it's essential for u but for me, I still can remember it...unless if i have hectic schedule...then i might consider to have one too...i don't find playing game on PDA is sounds interesting to me...wouldn't it cause damage to ur PDA as well as shorten ur PDA life span???

anyways, who is the one choose the CEO income status??i would like to know... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by eric84cool: Dec 28 2006, 09:03 PM
cIvIc_noob
post Dec 28 2006, 09:11 PM

Yays i get to have a title...er...what should i put?
761 posts

Eh i own a pda,
I'm plannin to use it for surfing
i do own a lappy and has wifi too
the reason i got the pda phone was for surfing,cos sometimes i might be looking for just a lil' bit of info and i don't want to go through the trouble of getting the lappy outta my bag and on it and off it, it's kinda bothersome.
With a pda ,u can just buka the wifi and hook on
Btw im studying in a uni,Sometimes it help to keep u entertain like games and e books.
One down side, battery lasts 2 days
Btw if u ran outta battery while surfing for some important info, im sure ur pda will be much of a use.
My lappy last +/- 3 hours on wifi.
Third party software help u keep track of ur expenditure.
Bout the navigation thing havent really tried it out, dunno how to use , might be tryin it in the future.
BTW Pda phone now are much more value for money than normal hp, for less than 1k,u can get new / 2nd hand pda phones,
Reccomended pda phones are ranged between 1.5k to 2.5k
All the best dude
Mgsrulz
post Dec 28 2006, 09:18 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

student,bought it thinking i could use it for many things,turn out got bored with it. laugh.gif
used to play games on it(actually only 1 game,since i only found the shooting games worth playing)-recently switched to the psp...pwns pda/hp gaming anyday tongue.gif MGS FTW!!

now i mainly use my pda for wifi and alarm. laugh.gif

ipaq rx3417
shockk
post Dec 28 2006, 09:25 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 28 2006, 09:00 PM)
EMmmm....for Baronic...maybe it's essential for u but for me, I still can remember it...unless if i have hectic schedule...then i might consider to have one too...i don't find playing game on PDA is sounds interesting to me...wouldn't it cause damage to ur PDA as well as shorten ur PDA life span???
A lot of PDA phones out there can take the beating. tongue.gif
By the time it actually gets damaged, it is probably time to buy a newer PDA phone already. brows.gif

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Dec 28 2006, 09:18 PM)
student,bought it thinking i could use it for many things,turn out got bored with it. laugh.gif
used to play games on it(actually only 1 game,since i only found the shooting games worth playing)-recently switched to the psp...pwns pda/hp gaming anyday tongue.gif MGS FTW!!

now i mainly use my pda for wifi and alarm. laugh.gif

ipaq rx3417
Also, carrying your phone and a PDA together with you everyday can be really quite tedious and 'ma fan'. laugh.gif
Mgsrulz
post Dec 28 2006, 09:28 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Dec 28 2006, 09:25 PM)
A lot of PDA phones out there can take the beating. tongue.gif
By the time it actually gets damaged, it is probably time to buy a newer PDA phone already. brows.gif
Also, carrying your phone and a PDA together with you everyday can be really quite tedious and 'ma fan'. laugh.gif
to some,maybe most,yeah laugh.gif

but want to know what i carry with me everyday?
phone+pda+psp+camera+wallet+car keys. laugh.gif

leave out any one of these,i'll feel naked sweat.gif
shockk
post Dec 28 2006, 09:30 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Dec 28 2006, 09:28 PM)
to some,maybe most,yeah laugh.gif

but want to know what i carry with me everyday?
phone+pda+psp+camera+wallet+car keys. laugh.gif

leave out any one of these,i'll feel naked sweat.gif
Whoa. What kind of pants and shirt you must wear to carry all those? sweat.gif

Or just t-shirt and short pants enough? laugh.gif
Mgsrulz
post Dec 28 2006, 09:32 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Dec 28 2006, 09:30 PM)
Whoa. What kind of pants and shirt you must wear to carry all those? sweat.gif

Or just t-shirt and short pants enough? laugh.gif
when i had only my phone,wallet,and pda,used a pouch.

then changed to cargo pants brows.gif

now can bring anything anywhere,without any problems. biggrin.gif

only thing is,if i go to the cinema,i risk being searched laugh.gif
but been to gsc 1 u,luckily they didnt frisk me..
TSeric84cool
post Dec 28 2006, 09:35 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Dec 28 2006, 09:32 PM)
when i had only my phone,wallet,and pda,used a pouch.

then changed to cargo pants brows.gif

now can bring anything anywhere,without any problems. biggrin.gif

only thing is,if i go to the cinema,i risk being searched laugh.gif
but been to gsc 1 u,luckily they didnt frisk me..
when the staff found out that u have loads of gadget..their 1st expression on the face ----> blink.gif
julchin_09
post Dec 28 2006, 09:43 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

I get a lil worried having my gadgets in my cargo pockets. Those near you knees can be quite clumsy in tight situations. Would want to knock my devices around. But I guess after doing that for a while, subconciously you tend to adjust you body.... smile.gif
Mgsrulz
post Dec 28 2006, 09:46 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Dec 28 2006, 09:43 PM)
I get a lil worried having my gadgets in my cargo pockets. Those near you knees can be quite clumsy in tight situations. Would want to knock my devices around. But I guess after doing that for a while, subconciously you tend to adjust you body.... smile.gif
i whack my gadgets(unintentionally,ofcourse) almost everyday sweat.gif
against the walls,my cats's cages,the car door,you name it..since it swings here and there(the pockets) it's hard to control them sweat.gif
but most worried bout the psp...the others either have a thick cover or is already in a bad situation laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Dec 28 2006, 09:47 PM
choongyouqi
post Dec 28 2006, 09:50 PM

software engineer
2,507 posts

GPS and ToDo list currently.
Baronic
post Dec 28 2006, 10:58 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 28 2006, 09:00 PM)

anyways, who is the one choose the CEO income status??i would like to know... tongue.gif
lol, my schedule quite hectic lor. Cuz i need to remember wat time classes are, since i go home, i need to know which week classes canceled, or moved to another date and venue.

Oh, i forgot to add, my PRIMARY PRIMARY use of pda is now GPS navigation. Gf studies far away in TAR college, and without GPS i dieded. Even with GPS i took a few wrong turnings, but hey, after my first try, no more wrong turnings (taking a wrong turning 3 times, forcing u on the highway with a jam, wasting 15 mins per time tends to make u remember)

PDA gaming will not damage your pda. If u find PDA games boring, then u need recommendation

Some notable ones,
The Quest
Worms World Party
3D Pool
Everquest series
Pocket UFO (freeware, and i find it most addictive)
and more, there's already a PDA gaming thread. more details there.

Baronic
post Dec 28 2006, 11:01 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Dec 28 2006, 09:43 PM)
hmmm, i dun carry my pda around often. I bring it in the car, leave it there, and bring it with me when i go for classes to take down work or any changes. (also take it anywhere i know i'll be bored, people giving lectures and speeches, i'm kicking alien butt on my PDA muahahaha)No need pockets and all that, get a good krussel pouch and hang at belt lor. or if u have something super slim like Hp Ipaq 4150, u can slip in into your breast pocket easily, no fuss.

TSeric84cool
post Dec 29 2006, 12:29 AM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 28 2006, 10:58 PM)
lol, my schedule quite hectic lor. Cuz i need to remember wat time classes are, since i go home, i need to know which week classes canceled, or moved to another date and venue.

Oh, i forgot to add, my PRIMARY PRIMARY use of pda is now GPS navigation. Gf studies far away in TAR college, and without GPS i dieded. Even with GPS i took a few wrong turnings, but hey, after my first try, no more wrong turnings (taking a wrong turning 3 times, forcing u on the highway with a jam, wasting 15 mins per time tends to make u remember)

PDA gaming will not damage your pda. If u find PDA games boring, then u need recommendation

Some notable ones,
The Quest
Worms World Party
3D Pool
Everquest series
Pocket UFO (freeware, and i find it most addictive)
and more, there's already a PDA gaming thread. more details there.
hey...BARONIC...which PDA model r u using? About the GPS navigation, how much u pay for the service??under which telco company? I wondering whether normal phone can use this kind of service or not?
THTgadgets.com
post Dec 29 2006, 01:14 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

I carry both my Zire 72s and Sony Ericsson K750i with me whenever i go... Both are my essential companions for work as well as pleasure (games, MP3, taking pix, etc.)... And coupled with Bluetooth, this makes things a near perfect mix! thumbup.gif

Too bad the Zire has no WiFi though...
imperialrealcs
post Dec 29 2006, 04:01 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 29 2006, 12:29 AM)
hey...BARONIC...which PDA model r u using? About the GPS navigation, how much u pay for the service??under which telco company? I wondering whether normal phone can use this kind of service or not?
er, I think this question has been answered gazillion times in this section.. nontheless, gps usage is free but u need to have gps receiver be it in SD, CF or bluetooth type.. to know more, visit www.wikipedia.com
omnimech
post Dec 29 2006, 04:05 AM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

Im using a O2 Mini as well as carry around my k800i

to be honest, without my Mini, my uni life would be crap . but now adays my psp takes up the spot where my o2 mini used to reside in
TSeric84cool
post Dec 29 2006, 04:11 AM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Dec 29 2006, 04:01 AM)
er, I think this question has been answered gazillion times in this section.. nontheless, gps usage is free but u need to have gps receiver be it in SD, CF or bluetooth type.. to know more, visit www.wikipedia.com
I'm newbies here...perhaps do u mind to show me some pic or link for clearer view??
terencetoo
post Dec 29 2006, 07:02 AM

3,246 posts

generally i carry PPC, GSM phone, CDMA phone, Pager, or Analog phone.

Mainly for work~

Thrust
post Dec 29 2006, 07:09 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

I bought a 2nd hand PDA just for the fun of trying what's it like using a PDA. I would say it's tedious tongue.gif My PDA has been lying at home now
THTgadgets.com
post Dec 29 2006, 09:44 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Well, looks like many of us middle-level managers and students here have PDAs eh... I only started using a handheld very "gao-gao" when i started work, to be honest... During student days (Palm III era), the handheld was mainly for taking short notes or timetable and most of the time, it was not heavily used... Which is why the AAA batteries can actually last a month! ohmy.gif

In contrast, when it comes to working, usage really shot up and getting five days on a single charge is considered an achievement! laugh.gif
Baronic
post Dec 29 2006, 11:30 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 29 2006, 04:11 AM)
I'm newbies here...perhaps do u mind to show me some pic or link for clearer view??
I'm using Dopod p100. Not the correct thread to discuss GPS. Last time when i was totally noob reagarding GPS, i opened a thread, and it was quite enlightening. U can find the thread here.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=359867&hl=GPS

Anything else maybe can try PM me. dun wanna head people's thread offtopic wink.gif
Baronic
post Dec 29 2006, 11:32 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Dec 29 2006, 09:44 AM)
Well, looks like many of us middle-level managers and students here have PDAs eh... I only started using a handheld very "gao-gao" when i started work, to be honest... During student days (Palm III era), the handheld was mainly for taking short notes or timetable and most of the time, it was not heavily used... Which is why the AAA batteries can actually last a month! ohmy.gif

In contrast, when it comes to working, usage really shot up and getting five days on a single charge is considered an achievement! laugh.gif
Lol, i'm very interested to use my PDA with the microsoft outlook. But never use outlook, and i use gmail all this while. so ma like that lor, else i sure use it. but dunno how to use.

I also use microsoft word for sometimes when i wanna write poetry wink.gif
TSeric84cool
post Dec 29 2006, 12:40 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Dec 29 2006, 07:02 AM)
generally i carry PPC, GSM phone, CDMA phone, Pager, or Analog phone.

Mainly for work~
wahhh......u must be carry lotsa of gadget for ur backpack

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Dec 29 2006, 09:44 AM)

Somebody prefer to have all-in-one device....I would like to know why about yours?your Z72s can't make call rite and at the sametimes no WIFI??Emm...then u must be pretty use it for gaming and manage schedule??

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 29 2006, 11:30 AM)
I'm using Dopod p100. Not the correct thread to discuss GPS. Last time when i was totally noob reagarding GPS, i opened a thread, and it was quite enlightening. U can find the thread here.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=359867&hl=GPS

Anything else maybe can try PM me. dun wanna head people's thread offtopic wink.gif
hohoho..don't worry..it's my thread...I didn't know GPS needs to have receiver....I tot it's provided by telco when u apply their service...maybe when the time I have PDA...then only I will consult from u...anyways, which PDA is worth of money at the moment?? Don't want to have 3G as I think if need 3G...it costs extra money for purchase and services....
icycokes
post Dec 29 2006, 12:42 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

haha.. interesting topic. at first, i swap my phone with my friend's ppc was just intend to gain girl's attraction, as i think it might makes me more impressive

actually not much attraction gained.. but i fell in love with it. yes, i use it as a schedule organizer, mp3 player, msn, encyclopedia, dictionary, remote control... and most importantly, i use it to check match results.

so this is how i love my ppc.

btw, i just finished my form 5, and i'm using hp h6365 ppcpe.. (old device.. wanted upgrade long time but no economy support..)

This post has been edited by icycokes: Dec 29 2006, 12:44 PM
THTgadgets.com
post Dec 29 2006, 12:42 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 29 2006, 12:40 PM)
Somebody prefer to have all-in-one device....I would like to know why about yours?your Z72s can't make call rite and at the sametimes no WIFI??Emm...then u must be pretty use it for gaming and manage schedule??
Well, it has no WiFi but for that, i have my trusty ThinkPad to keep me company laugh.gif... But yups, the Z72s mostly for my schedule, tasks planner, memo jotter, dictionary, DocsToGo, and also for entertainment (games, music, camera)... At the same time, the SE phone is a backup to the Zire when it comes to other contact details as well as communicator...

I may consider getting an all-in-one device though, but not at this moment yet...

This post has been edited by ClieNut Gadget Freak: Dec 29 2006, 12:43 PM
TSeric84cool
post Dec 29 2006, 01:36 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Dec 29 2006, 12:42 PM)
Well, it has no WiFi but for that, i have my trusty ThinkPad to keep me company laugh.gif... But yups, the Z72s mostly for my schedule, tasks planner, memo jotter, dictionary, DocsToGo, and also for entertainment (games, music, camera)... At the same time, the SE phone is a backup to the Zire when it comes to other contact details as well as communicator...

I may consider getting an all-in-one device though, but not at this moment yet...
oh..iszit?!then which model is ur target???I'm at 1st looking forward to buy O2 XDA II mini S but then they said the model is not available here...so sad....i wanted to have that model..nice design with feature...any model which is similar to the model I mentioned or not?
ben83
post Dec 29 2006, 02:18 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 29 2006, 01:36 PM)
oh..iszit?!then which model is ur target???I'm at 1st looking forward to buy O2 XDA II mini S but then they said the model is not available here...so sad....i wanted to have that model..nice design with feature...any model which is similar to the model I mentioned or not?
Dopod 838 is the non-identical twin of XDA mini S
THTgadgets.com
post Dec 29 2006, 02:24 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 29 2006, 01:36 PM)
Well, i actually have no plans as yet... I'm happy with my current setup and i don't think i will be going for a PDa-phone for now...
young_soul
post Dec 29 2006, 02:30 PM

THIS is how you use a hammer
2,032 posts

I don't have a PDA phone. But I desire one, easy to keep reminders, appointments, notes, to-dos and surf the net while your gf is shopping for clothes laugh.gif Yes, all of these can be done with a simple PDA but its kinda hard to hold a PDA and a phone at the same time. So, its best to have an all in 1...PDA phone smile.gif

Now, I have a PDA (gift). Like I said just now, its difficult to carry it around. Although the screen is bigger, nicer to surf on the net or view pictures...its also bulkier, can only fit into my back pocket whistling.gif

I also have a notebook...but its ridiculus to carry that around. So damn heavy sweat.gif only keep it at home, where is (quite) safe.
young_soul
post Dec 29 2006, 02:33 PM

THIS is how you use a hammer
2,032 posts

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Dec 29 2006, 02:24 PM)
Well, i actually have no plans as yet... I'm happy with my current setup and i don't think i will be going for a PDa-phone for now...
don't buy 02 Mini...I tried my cousin's...quite old model. Difficult to use. If you're gonna get a PDA Phone, get a new one or something.
Baronic
post Dec 29 2006, 02:42 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 29 2006, 12:40 PM)
wahhh......u must be carry lotsa of gadget for ur backpack
hohoho..don't worry..it's my thread...I didn't know GPS needs to have receiver....I tot it's provided by telco when u apply their service...maybe when the time I have PDA...then only I will consult from u...anyways, which PDA is worth of money at the moment?? Don't want to have 3G as I think if need 3G...it costs extra money for purchase and services....
let me see if i can put it in a nutshell.

imagine space. imagine hundreds of satelites floating in space. these satelites help detect where u are. thats GPS, Global Positioning Satellite.

Using GPS, is totally FREE. there is no telco, nothing. its just...u need something to access those satelites.

Some PDA has inbuilt GPS receiver, for those which dont, u need to buy an external GPS receiver lor. so got telco althose stuff wan

If still hard to imagine, think of GPS like BlUETOOTH. BLUETOOTH is a connection, no telcos right? but to use BLUETOOTH u need a bluetooth capable device. If your device not capable, u gotta buy a USB bluetooth doogle. like that lor, GPS .

My recommendation in terms of pricing and best buy, i say go for Dopod p100

got wi-fi, good size, in built GPS.

Now that u have an idea what GPS is and works, u need a software that has maps, to correctly place u on it. Cuz if u dun have software, just have the GPS part, sure, satelite can detect u, but then? so u need maps. These mapping software are the stuff u must pay. However, malsing maps are free maps u can get lor.
Baronic
post Dec 29 2006, 02:43 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Dec 29 2006, 02:24 PM)
lol, i using k800i with dopod p100, which is not a pda phone. i prefer standalone pda. pda phone, battery finish faster.
MX510
post Dec 29 2006, 02:45 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

I'm using O2 Atom and Nokia 6630 always carry this gadget everywhere i go smile.gif use PDA for work and business smile.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Dec 29 2006, 03:21 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 29 2006, 02:43 PM)
lol, i using k800i with dopod p100, which is not a pda phone. i prefer standalone pda. pda phone, battery finish faster.
Oh ok, isn't the K800i the one with the CyberShot phone feature? I remember seeing a large billboard promoting this SE phone in KL Sentral yesterday...

And yeah, that is the MAIN reason why i don't plan to get a PDA-phone for now... Mainly due to the battery and furthermore, i am the type who keeps the phone on 24-hours standby (emergency reasons)... If this is done on a PDA-phone, i dunno how many times i have to charge the phone in a week! laugh.gif
sirmart
post Dec 29 2006, 03:25 PM

Im using it to make my daily schedule and appointments easier to remember.. since im a teacher.. the pda is an essentials for everyday use.. my lesson notes, my teaching periods.. my meetings.. courses.. you name it.. Its worth the money to own one!
TSeric84cool
post Dec 29 2006, 04:11 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Dec 29 2006, 03:21 PM)
Oh ok, isn't the K800i the one with the CyberShot phone feature? I remember seeing a large billboard promoting this SE phone in KL Sentral yesterday...

And yeah, that is the MAIN reason why i don't plan to get a PDA-phone for now... Mainly due to the battery and furthermore, i am the type who keeps the phone on 24-hours standby (emergency reasons)... If this is done on a PDA-phone, i dunno how many times i have to charge the phone in a week! laugh.gif
oh.....the current PDA-Phone can last for how long???for a normal user...maybe that's the factor to consider...worth to consider too....hehehe
julchin_09
post Dec 29 2006, 04:45 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

My PDA-phone ON 24hours with calls can last roughly 2.5days. With BT ON will be much less might even be 1day+. With Wifi ON? Haha.... matter of hours.....
Deani_77
post Dec 29 2006, 04:49 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 29 2006, 04:11 PM)
oh.....the current PDA-Phone can last for how long???for a normal user...maybe that's the factor to consider...worth to consider too....hehehe
I use Asus p525 PDA Phone, under power saving mode. normal use for call, playing music, surfing (check e-mail, read news, check mysapace comments). It can last at least one day (morning till midnight) cause I always travel from Sarawak to Johor.in one single charge.
Baronic
post Dec 29 2006, 05:13 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 29 2006, 04:11 PM)
lol, lets say u use a bit of wifi, a bit of gaming, a good amount of sms, a few calls, maybe at the end of each day wil have approx 40 percent. so in other words pda phone must charge everyday
THTgadgets.com
post Dec 29 2006, 06:37 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Wah, thats y for me susah to use PDA-phone... I work until nighttime and if the phone were to kong out before i'm able to get home, then cham lor... All my data will be wiped-out just like that! ohmy.gif

Btw, i normally don't keep my own charger in the office (safety reasons)...

This post has been edited by ClieNut Gadget Freak: Dec 29 2006, 06:37 PM
TSeric84cool
post Dec 29 2006, 11:02 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

Emmm..what u guyz adviced just now is needed to consider....normally to recharge the PDA-Phone...how long will it takes?? Just now I met my ex-colleague who is using Asus P525...He felt satisfied with the PDA-Phone and the battery life can last for 2 days without wifi, BT etc.....
Baronic
post Dec 29 2006, 11:12 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 29 2006, 11:02 PM)
Emmm..what u guyz adviced just now is needed to consider....normally to recharge the PDA-Phone...how long will it takes?? Just now I met my ex-colleague who is using Asus P525...He felt satisfied with the PDA-Phone and the battery life can last for 2 days without wifi, BT etc.....
highlight your WITHOUT WIFI and WITHOUT BT. probably your fren also WITHOUT games. That means his pda phone, he is really onli using the phone functions onli. (phone also can have organiser)

Thats why he can last long

If u charge PDA, maybe take one hour, if your screen off when charging, to 2 hours. My advice, get a car charger. Very useful especially for me cuz i use GPS also, and GPS is high batt consumption. (3 hours). Car charger is very fast charging. Even while using GPS my PDA shows fully charged lol

Car charger also can help solve ClieNut Gadget Freak's problem
shockk
post Dec 30 2006, 02:20 AM

11,883 posts

My PDA can last me about 2 days.

I mostly use for 30mins calls, 5-10 sms, about 1 hour of PDA function usage everyday.
Crazyboyrs
post Dec 30 2006, 02:27 AM

1,112 posts

I use my I-mate PDA2k ( O2 Xda2s) as
-Phone
-Digicam
-Recorder
-Dictionary (lexisgoo dict, chinese to english dict )
-Movie Player (mp4,mpg,avi,bla bla)
-Audio player (mp3, wma, aac, real audio, bla bla)
-Reference (pocket globe)
-Office software (word,excel,power point)
-Utilities (Pocket artist, mechanics, bla bla)
-Games
-Internet (wifi)

There are so many softwares to name of...all can fit on my 1Gb SD card....wat gadgets i need?

One Ring to rule them all!
MoNnY
post Dec 30 2006, 02:47 AM

Ooooo... Now I know how to change this
4,423 posts

dunno if correct thread but need advise la..
thinking real hard what to get..
o2 XDA atom exec, or a k800i + dell axim51

basically i'm a uni student, got loads of stuff to remember, need to jot down on the spot. would be nice to have wifi cause i won't be home most of the day...

at first i thuoght the asus p525 was a nice option. but then the size of it threw me off... and o2 stealth interface not that great and the buttons suck
enCORe
post Dec 30 2006, 05:05 AM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

My PDA purpose to serve me music & videos player.
Deani_77
post Dec 30 2006, 08:48 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 29 2006, 11:12 PM)
highlight your WITHOUT WIFI and WITHOUT BT. probably your fren also WITHOUT games. That means his pda phone, he is really onli using the phone functions onli. (phone also can have organiser)

Thats why he can last long

If u charge PDA, maybe take one hour, if your screen off when charging, to 2 hours. My advice, get a car charger. Very useful especially for me cuz i use GPS also, and GPS is high batt consumption. (3 hours). Car charger is very fast charging. Even while using GPS my PDA shows fully charged lol

Its OK to charge PDA using car charger. Because I heard the power was unstable and it can caused damaged to the PDA battery or PDA itself?
Baronic
post Dec 30 2006, 09:45 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Dec 30 2006, 08:48 AM)
Its OK to charge PDA using car charger. Because I heard the power was unstable and it can caused damaged to the PDA battery or PDA itself?
so far i have no probs with it lor
TSeric84cool
post Dec 30 2006, 12:02 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Dec 30 2006, 02:47 AM)
dunno if correct thread but need advise la..
thinking real hard what to get..
o2 XDA atom exec, or a k800i + dell axim51

basically i'm a uni student, got loads of stuff to remember, need to jot down on the spot. would be nice to have wifi cause i won't be home most of the day...

at first i thuoght the asus p525 was a nice option. but then the size of it threw me off... and o2 stealth interface not that great and the buttons suck
I think u should buy O2 instead of dell axim51.....looks...if ur dell axim51 costs u 1.5k (I don't know the market price)..why don't u get laptop?? If axim51 just serves the purpose of surfing, manage schedule, checking dic etc....it's just an extra device which quite fussy to carry on....if the camera quality for o2 is not satisfied...then there is another excuse for u to buy SE K800i..otherwise...u just purchase O2 with backup battery then can laio...
cIvIc_noob
post Dec 30 2006, 01:33 PM

Yays i get to have a title...er...what should i put?
761 posts

HMM.. THIS is my first pda phone too
i use it for msg and games 1 hr daily like that, phone call once in a while
can last me 2 days too
i thought that was crap when i read this thread again where i see people's pda lasting 1 day
haha
;P
MoNnY
post Dec 30 2006, 01:36 PM

4,423 posts

thats what i'm thinking..
cause i'm always moving around so laptop dun wan and somemore to carry 2 gadgets i dun wan la....
looks like its the o2 lo...
TheEditor
post Dec 30 2006, 01:48 PM

32 posts

I'm using O2 XDA IIi to:-

- keep clients contact
- keep track of my busy schedule, I've lots of press conferences, events and product launches to attend
- note is extremely important to me as I can use it to jot down important points to remember, it is very useful especially during product launches in pubs, sometimes too dark cannot see anything properly, so PDA's backlight is perfect in this condition

But one bad thing about my PDA is the ring volume is too soft, can't even hear a thing in noisy places. Thus, I've to use bluetooth to solve this problem.
CutieLynette
post Dec 30 2006, 03:37 PM

214 posts

Like Baronic, I use my O2 XDA II mini to help me remember all my schedules. I'm pretty forgetful so it really helps.

The PDA is like my everything- mp3 player, phone, bible (I have pocket Bible installed n it), note taker, ebook, game console (currently hooked on bejeweled)
THTgadgets.com
post Dec 30 2006, 05:18 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 29 2006, 11:12 PM)
Yups, i have to agree, but it gets ma-fan having to charge the PDA-phone everytime, which is why i am still not planning to get one for this moment... And the good thing about the Z72s-K750i pairing is that both come equipped with a camera-videocam combo... At least to shoot nice pix of this coming 31st fireworks, i have a pair of reliable videocam backups (of course they pale in comparison to a HandyCam, for instance laugh.gif)! thumbup.gif

And the Z-K pairing is also an excellent Bluetooth partnership... Pix and data from one can be easily and seamlessly transferred to the other... This is my first time using BT-enabled devices actually...
imperialrealcs
post Dec 30 2006, 05:32 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 29 2006, 02:42 PM)
let me see if i can put it in a nutshell.

imagine space. imagine hundreds of satelites floating in space. these satelites help detect where u are. thats GPS, Global Positioning Satellite.

Using GPS, is totally FREE. there is no telco, nothing. its just...u need something to access those satelites.

Some PDA has inbuilt GPS receiver, for those which dont, u need to buy an external GPS receiver lor. so got telco althose stuff wan

If still hard to imagine, think of GPS like BlUETOOTH. BLUETOOTH is a connection, no telcos right? but to use BLUETOOTH u need a bluetooth capable device. If your device not capable, u gotta buy a USB bluetooth doogle. like that lor, GPS .

My recommendation in terms of pricing and best buy, i say go for Dopod p100

got wi-fi, good size, in built GPS.

Now that u have an idea what GPS is and works, u need a software that has maps, to correctly place u on it. Cuz if u dun have software, just have the GPS part, sure, satelite can detect u, but then? so u need maps. These mapping software are the stuff u must pay. However, malsing maps are free maps u can get lor.
sorry dude but ur definition of gps is wrong.. AFAIK, there are only 36 (or was it 24?) satelites surrounding the earth for gps n similar reason.. GPS need at least 3 satelites to locate n calculate ur current location.. diffrences of diffrent chipset of gps module is the refresh rate, battery life etc..
my recommendation is to buy a O2 XDA IIs + Bluetooth GPS receiver.. reason behind is
- XDA IIs second hand only retailing around RM1000
- Bluetooth GPS RM250
- switching on GPS will consume a considerable large amount of battery
- a BT gps has its own battery (yes, u might need to charge both PDA n GPS but FYI, i use the BT gps for 3 days of continous usage at langkawi n still doesnt need any recharging.. till now which is 2 weeks edi n i still using gps for some reason
- getting a onboard GPS with PDA will cost u a fortune (i'm still a student)
- XDA IIs got build in keyboard, which is easy for me to msn etc
- XDA IIs have strong hardware n can support WM5.0 which device like XDA mini cant (not smooth due to low profile hardware)
kuokyeow
post Dec 30 2006, 08:31 PM

221 posts

wow.. Bluetooth GPS RM250?
where do you buy it?
i am looking for one also.. the prices i found is btw 350 - 500.. so expensive sad.gif
Baronic
post Dec 30 2006, 08:32 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Dopod p100 got inbuilt PDA, brand new rm 999. i bought mine second hand at rm 700. not that bad wat
Baronic
post Dec 30 2006, 08:33 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(kuokyeow @ Dec 30 2006, 08:31 PM)
where do you buy it?
i am looking for one also.. the prices i found is btw 350 - 500.. so expensive sad.gif
i think lelong.com.my?
kuokyeow
post Dec 30 2006, 08:41 PM

221 posts

nope.. its over 320-599 bucks there..
imperialrealcs
post Dec 31 2006, 12:07 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(kuokyeow @ Dec 30 2006, 08:31 PM)
where do you buy it?
sorry, that is the price in china sweat.gif
coz i went to china trip n bought it at RMB500, which is +- RM250 here

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 30 2006, 08:32 PM)
Dopod p100 got inbuilt PDA, brand new rm 999. i bought mine second hand at rm 700.  not that bad wat
sirf III chipset memang famous with its battery draining feature sweat.gif
besides, it only have samsung 300MHz, while XDA IIs featuring Intel Xcale 400MHz, P100 only have 64MB ram but XDA IIs have 128MB RAM.. i doubt P100 can support WM5.0.. i think once u install like 20 application, the whole thing will be getting slow like the 1 in mini.. FYI, mini has Intel Xcale 416MHz.. so my point is, the diffrences are there.. juz see whether u r hardcore user or not.. if u r not that hardcore like playing music while surfing net etc, then a P100 will be sufficient.. if u need to run several program, XDA IIs will be better.. oh ya, XDA IIs featuring 3' touchscreen while dopod only 2.8'.. not forgetting XDA IIs has keyboard for MSN tongue.gif
xyes
post Dec 31 2006, 03:46 AM

60 posts

i just can't wait N95 to release... it's way more than a PDA already, the minus is w/o touchscreen... but is there a definition that a Personal Digital Assistant must've a touchscreen-able? well, i can't deny that it's a significant feature that distinguish PDA from other categories... but it's the new version of multimedia assistant... most importantly, the versatility of all these gadgets have weakened the firm definitions of the term. be reminded that the 1 of the most important features as an assistant, it should sync w/ ur computer as its 1st predecessor (Newton) was created to do.

btw, GPS = Global Positioning System (not satellites, duh!)
ben83
post Dec 31 2006, 10:08 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Dec 31 2006, 12:07 AM)
i doubt P100 can support WM5.0..
Dopod P100 is in fact running on WM5 OS
Baronic
post Dec 31 2006, 10:08 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

sorry, that is the price in china  sweat.gif
sirf III chipset memang famous with its battery draining feature  sweat.gif
besides, it only have samsung 300MHz, while XDA IIs featuring Intel Xcale 400MHz, P100 only have 64MB ram but XDA IIs have 128MB RAM.. i doubt P100 can support WM5.0.. i think once u install like 20 application, the whole thing will be getting slow like the 1 in mini.. FYI, mini has Intel Xcale 416MHz.. so my point is, the diffrences are there.. juz see whether u r hardcore user or not.. if u r not that hardcore like playing music while surfing net etc, then a P100 will be sufficient.. if u need to run several program, XDA IIs will be better.. oh ya, XDA IIs featuring 3' touchscreen while dopod only 2.8'.. not forgetting XDA IIs has keyboard for MSN tongue.gif
i install a lot of games already, and Dopod p100 already running windows 5 lar. lol. 64 ram is more than enough, and the 300MHz compared to my old pda which was 400Mhz i can see no difference at all. The GPS runs smoothly, games run even SMOOTHER. No problem at all. That small specs dun really mean much realli, cuz PDA also dun need so much power. Unless like u want to like, run a game, minimize it, play music, minimize, open word, minimize, open GPS. Then of course GG lar haha.

But yea, i agree with the Dopod small screen. Thats one of the first things i noticed. But ok lar, boleh tahan.

Key pad ar, i use keypad before its like damn slow. i rather use hand writing recognition

@xyes ya lar u very smart lar rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif wish.gif wish.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif sweat.gif

lol, no touch pad has the disadvantage of no handwriting recognition lor. which depending on user, can either be bad, or no diff cuz i know some people dun like to use hand writing. but for me, in the beginning quite hard, lots of mistakes, but practice makes u go damn fast. like writing normally.
shockk
post Dec 31 2006, 10:12 AM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(xyes @ Dec 31 2006, 03:46 AM)
i just can't wait N95 to release... it's way more than a PDA already, the minus is w/o touchscreen... but is there a definition that a Personal Digital Assistant must've a touchscreen-able? well, i can't deny that it's a significant feature that distinguish PDA from other categories... but it's the new version of multimedia assistant... most importantly, the versatility of all these gadgets have weakened the firm definitions of the term. be reminded that the 1 of the most important features as an assistant, it should sync w/ ur computer as its 1st predecessor (Newton) was created to do.

Sorry to say but the Symbian OS (N95) is nowhere close to the power and functionality of a Windows Mobile device. icon_rolleyes.gif
If the Symbian device has no touchscreen, even worse.
THTgadgets.com
post Dec 31 2006, 01:07 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Speaking of GPS, who are the providers of this service here in Malaysia? And how much are they charging for monthly subscription fees?
Baronic
post Dec 31 2006, 01:19 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

its free to use. no charge for USING the GPS connection. See GPS thread. There're no "providers" , not like wi-fi. its just...free. see la the GPS thread, created d, got asked before this question wink.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/359867

This post has been edited by Baronic: Dec 31 2006, 01:23 PM
THTgadgets.com
post Dec 31 2006, 01:21 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Thanks for the tip, bro! thumbup.gif
imperialrealcs
post Dec 31 2006, 01:57 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(xyes @ Dec 31 2006, 03:46 AM)

ya la ya la, ur NIKIA the most powerful satisfied? XD
with the dull looking symbian + over pricing, im sure it is a hit among nikia fanboy

QUOTE(ben83 @ Dec 31 2006, 10:08 AM)
Dopod P100 is in fact running on WM5 OS
ops, sorry, my bad blush.gif

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 31 2006, 10:08 AM)
i install a lot of games already, and Dopod p100 already running windows 5 lar. lol. 64 ram is more than enough, and the 300MHz compared to my old pda which was 400Mhz i can see no difference at all. The GPS runs smoothly, games run even SMOOTHER. No problem at all. That small specs dun really mean much realli, cuz PDA also dun need so much power. Unless like u want to like, run a game, minimize it, play music, minimize, open word, minimize, open GPS. Then of course GG lar haha.

But yea, i agree with the Dopod small screen. Thats one of the first things i noticed. But ok lar, boleh tahan.

Key pad ar, i use keypad before its like damn slow. i rather use hand writing recognition

@xyes ya lar u very smart lar  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  wish.gif  wish.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  sweat.gif

lol, no touch pad has the disadvantage of no handwriting recognition lor. which depending on user, can either be bad, or no diff cuz i know some people dun like to use hand writing. but for me, in the beginning quite hard, lots of mistakes, but practice makes u go damn fast. like writing normally.
hmm, icic.. coz i compare with my friend mini.. in general, the spec in mini is slightly better but mini install few apps start to slow down.. well, this dopod might be the most budjet + gps combo pda phone biggrin.gif
but wait, is this a pda-phone? coz it is real cheap if it is.. i wanted to check on dopod website but failed..

edited : juz check that P100 is not a PDA phone.. so thats y the price is quite cheap imo.. if u wana consider pda without phone function, this p100 will be good for price n value biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by imperialrealcs: Dec 31 2006, 02:00 PM
Baronic
post Dec 31 2006, 02:28 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

lol, yeah dude, its a pda only. i dun like pda phone. Cuz i sms a lot, so sure not enuf battery to surf and play heavy gaming. plus my GPS usage. Dopod p100 is the only non phone PDA (i think) to have in built GPS. NON-PHONE PDA. thats why its a good buy, in my opinion anyway. no regrets here!

eh, any, idea whats the difference between Q-Tek and Dopod? cuz Q-tek got a model, EXACT clone of Dopod p100. Matter of fact, my dopod p100 using q-tek krussel case. Diff name for diff region or wat?
imperialrealcs
post Dec 31 2006, 03:01 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 31 2006, 02:28 PM)
lol, yeah dude, its a pda only. i dun like pda phone. Cuz i sms a lot, so sure not enuf battery to surf and play heavy gaming. plus my GPS usage. Dopod p100 is the only non phone PDA (i think) to have in built GPS. NON-PHONE PDA. thats why its a good buy, in my opinion anyway. no regrets here!

eh, any, idea whats the difference between Q-Tek and Dopod? cuz Q-tek got a model, EXACT clone of Dopod p100. Matter of fact, my dopod p100 using q-tek krussel case. Diff name for diff region or wat?
diffrent place got diffrent name
basically, those models are created by HTC.. then other company rebrand..
examply,
HTC Blue Angel = O2 XDA IIs @ XDA III (in german) = T-Mobile MDA III = IMATE PDA2K something like that biggrin.gif
hmm, last time i also like u, i bought a cheap PDA COMPAQ but feel it is not convenient as i need to bring 2 device out.. thinking i've lost 6phones in 5years time, i decide to only take 1 device so i can take care of it seriously.. if got 2, either 1 missing i also dunno XD
so in the end i choose a second hand O2 XDA IIs but the condition is damn superb biggrin.gif however i bought for RM1200 but i get full package + 512MB RS-MMC + Leather Pouch (useless as i need to slide down to use the keyboard)
oh ya, another thing.. i do realise that i sai the keyboard are slow? why u say so? i can type as fast as i like when MSN'ing with my friend at STARBUCK or LOWYAT plaza XD
only when SMS, sometimes it cant follow the speed XD
recognisation handwriting is not convenient for me i havent figure out how to fully utilise that feature n sometimes, it does gave u wrong input XD
adriankhoo153
post Dec 31 2006, 03:17 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Ex user of O2 Mini, Xda IIs, P910i, HP4150...I until now also now sure why i need a pda..Haha. My life is not that complicated thus organising my schedule is a joke..
porkchop
post Dec 31 2006, 04:46 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

wah liau so many students using it ah??

i use my pda for basic stuff...which normally normal phone cannot
kaichiat82
post Dec 31 2006, 05:55 PM

254 posts

Using Sony SJ33 and SE P910i

mostly for time management, reminder, and dictionary.

gaming when bored smile.gif

shockk
post Dec 31 2006, 05:56 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Dec 31 2006, 04:46 PM)
wah liau so many students using it ah??

i use my pda for basic stuff...which normally normal phone cannot
Students i think may need it more than working people. tongue.gif
Working people usually don't need a PDA unless you in sales line or is some CEO (but CEOs have secretaries for this).
nFiniteFX
post Dec 31 2006, 06:33 PM

223 posts

Well, I have my old iPaq 2210 lying around but didn't really use much of it because most of the phones these days has calender features. However, I do love the functionality of the PDA for its mobile internet surfing, and email on the move plus with so many hotspots, its a shame not using it. So, I was compelled to buy one but finally did, got my new major upgrade, Dopod 810 and I'm lovin' it. So, time to part my k800i to my sister.
julchin_09
post Dec 31 2006, 06:58 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Not bad...3CEO's and a RM15K earner here......
imperialrealcs
post Dec 31 2006, 08:14 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

how u noe they are not bluffing? XD
TSeric84cool
post Jan 1 2007, 06:44 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Dec 30 2006, 05:32 PM)
sorry dude but ur definition of gps is wrong.. AFAIK, there are only 36 (or was it 24?) satelites surrounding the earth for gps n similar reason.. GPS need at least 3 satelites to locate n calculate ur current location.. diffrences of diffrent chipset of gps module is the refresh rate, battery life etc..
my recommendation is to buy a O2 XDA IIs + Bluetooth GPS receiver.. reason behind is
- XDA IIs second hand only retailing around RM1000
- Bluetooth GPS RM250
- switching on GPS will consume a considerable large amount of battery
- a BT gps has its own battery (yes, u might need to charge both PDA n GPS but FYI, i use the BT gps for 3 days of continous usage at langkawi n still doesnt need any recharging.. till now which is 2 weeks edi n i still using gps for some reason
- getting a onboard GPS with PDA will cost u a fortune (i'm still a student)
- XDA IIs got build in keyboard, which is easy for me to msn etc
- XDA IIs have strong hardware n can support WM5.0 which device like XDA mini cant (not smooth due to low profile hardware)
dude..nice debate u have there.....anyways, is the O2 XDA IIs available in the market now?!I mean new unit....if don't have...what would u guyz recommend me to have one PDA with a budget roughly 1 to 1.5k.....ofcoz must the keyboard featured too...hehehe : )
shockk
post Jan 1 2007, 06:48 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Jan 1 2007, 06:44 PM)
dude..nice debate u have there.....anyways, is the O2 XDA IIs available in the market now?!I mean new unit....if don't have...what would u guyz recommend me to have one PDA with a budget roughly 1 to 1.5k.....ofcoz must the keyboard featured too...hehehe : )
I saw before Amedion selling recently for an authorized unit for about RM2k.
TSeric84cool
post Jan 1 2007, 07:01 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Jan 1 2007, 06:48 PM)
I saw before Amedion selling recently for an authorized unit for about RM2k.
U mean O2 XDA IIs?? waoo...damn expensive la wei......I don't know when can I afford to buy one since I'm student...going to work soon by next month....aikss...
shockk
post Jan 1 2007, 07:04 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Jan 1 2007, 07:01 PM)
U mean O2 XDA IIs?? waoo...damn expensive la wei......I don't know when can I afford to buy one since I'm student...going to work soon by next month....aikss...
Yeah. I guess because since it's an O2 product and the introductory price was around RM3.5k, they can't really put it down to much less than that.

However, if you were to go for 2nd hand, i would recommend a Dopod 818 Pro that still has at least a few months official distributor warranty left.
Maybe if you are lucky you can find for RM1.5k.
TSeric84cool
post Jan 1 2007, 07:14 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Jan 1 2007, 07:04 PM)
Yeah. I guess because since it's an O2 product and the introductory price was around RM3.5k, they can't really put it down to much less than that.

However, if you were to go for 2nd hand, i would recommend a Dopod 818 Pro that still has at least a few months official distributor warranty left.
HOhoho...I didn't know that the price for that unit was 3.5k initially....well....will consider about ur recommendation...thx
radioactive
post Jan 1 2007, 07:48 PM

1,857 posts

Why no part time working/student for voting options....
Btw im using the cheap Dallab DP900....im mainly using it for watching movies and during classes as im studying tourist guide course....its really convienient to access all ur notes and ur frens' notes whenever u want...or else i would have to search through a thick pile of papers to find notes for a tourist spot. And i can edit more info more easily.

Im quite used to writting recognition....it works best with small caps...and i use it to take down lecture notes all the time. The rotary cam works as a good mirror sweat.gif
Kinda hate it sometimes as it has no BT and WiFi
kuokyeow
post Jan 1 2007, 08:09 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Jan 1 2007, 07:04 PM)

i think 2nd hand is lower than that..
i got mine new RM1688 last week. thumbup.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 2 2007, 03:28 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Dec 31 2006, 06:58 PM)
Not bad...3CEO's and a RM15K earner here......
Maybe the 15k earner is some fellow involved in MLM or online business? laugh.gif

But there are certainly a lot of us in the RM2k to 4k bracket though... And seems like the majority in this range are PDA users eh?
Deani_77
post Jan 2 2007, 03:47 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Anybody knows good antivirus for WM5 OS?
H4RRY
post Jan 2 2007, 06:30 PM

393 posts

Nobody using Treo 600/650?

I'm considering getting a 2nd hand one. Why is everyone using PocketPC?

Which one is better in notes, calendar and website surfing? Palm or PocketPC?
Deani_77
post Jan 2 2007, 07:03 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(H4RRY @ Jan 2 2007, 06:30 PM)
Nobody using Treo 600/650?

I'm considering getting a 2nd hand one. Why is everyone using PocketPC?

Which one is better in notes, calendar and website surfing? Palm or PocketPC?
It depends to people for using palm or WM base PPC. Same as people using Apple base PC and Windows base PC.
H4RRY
post Jan 2 2007, 07:15 PM

393 posts

If that is so, then Palm is Apple? It's weird if Microsoft is Palm n Apple is Microsoft....
sniper msia
post Jan 2 2007, 10:51 PM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

sorry, that is the price in china  sweat.gif
sirf III chipset memang famous with its battery draining feature  sweat.gif
XDA IIs is featuring a 3.5" screen lah. While XDA II Mini and Dopod 818/838/900 all have 2.8" only.

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Dec 31 2006, 01:57 PM)
ya la ya la, ur NIKIA the most powerful satisfied? XD
with the dull looking symbian + over pricing, im sure it is a hit among nikia fanboy
ops, sorry, my bad  blush.gif
hmm, icic.. coz i compare with my friend mini.. in general, the spec in mini is slightly better but mini install few apps start to slow down.. well, this dopod might be the most budjet + gps combo pda phone biggrin.gif
but wait, is this a pda-phone? coz it is real cheap if it is.. i wanted to check on dopod website but failed..

edited : juz check that P100 is not a PDA phone.. so thats y the price is quite cheap imo.. if u wana consider pda without phone function, this p100 will be good for price n value biggrin.gif
The biggest drawback of the XDA II Mini is the built-in memory for running programs and we all know that memory is very very very important for smooth running of Windows Mobile. They matter much more than processors.
ben_ang
post Jan 2 2007, 11:09 PM

ITS JINX NOW.POWDER FELL DOWN A WELL
2,013 posts

i wonder if PDA can use 2 watch XviD video?
sniper msia
post Jan 2 2007, 11:12 PM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 2 2007, 11:09 PM)
i wonder if PDA can use 2 watch XviD video?
Of course. No problem.

Windows Mobile devices can watch almost ANY form of video with proper playback software.
Of course, if it is a new format or something, with proper PC software to convert the video first, problem solved.
ben_ang
post Jan 2 2007, 11:14 PM

2,013 posts

wahaha, then should consider having PDA then those media player like Pods.. haahahaha!
sniper msia
post Jan 2 2007, 11:17 PM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 2 2007, 11:14 PM)
wahaha, then should consider having PDA then those media player like Pods.. haahahaha!
Definitely. But not everyone can afford a PDA, let alone a PDA phone.
ben83
post Jan 2 2007, 11:28 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(sniper msia @ Jan 2 2007, 10:51 PM)
The biggest drawback of the XDA II Mini is the built-in memory for running programs and we all know that memory is very very very important for smooth running of Windows Mobile. They matter much more than processors.
That's actually known as the RAM
sniper msia
post Jan 2 2007, 11:29 PM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ Jan 2 2007, 11:28 PM)
That's actually known as the RAM
I know.

I'm just making things simple for the less-knowledgeable here.
ben_ang
post Jan 2 2007, 11:29 PM

2,013 posts

oh yeah.. PDA phone, combine of phone, PDA, personal media center...i wonder if u buy these 3 kinda of gadget separately cost how much..? definetly cheaper than buying a PDA phone i guess.. yeah!!
sniper msia
post Jan 2 2007, 11:31 PM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 2 2007, 11:29 PM)
oh yeah.. PDA phone, combine of phone, PDA, personal media center...i wonder if u buy these 3 kinda of gadget separately cost how much..? definetly cheaper than buying a PDA phone i guess.. yeah!!
Yeah, probably.
But now PDA phones are not that expensive anymore. A brand new Dopod 818 Pro can be had for RM1688 only.
ben_ang
post Jan 2 2007, 11:33 PM

2,013 posts

BTW.. talking abt storage.. actually how big memory we can hav in a 818 pro anyway?
H4RRY
post Jan 2 2007, 11:36 PM

393 posts

I wanted a PDA phone for MP3, ebooks, WAP surfing, opening Word/Powerpoint files and calendar function. I liked the Treo 600/650 a lot.

But can it open all Word files witout probs? I know there's a program that can do that, how good is it? Also, using wap, can i surf full-blown website and not wap-specific website? With Windows Mobile, i can sync calendar with Outlook. How about Palm, what software do we use?

I think Palm or Windows Mobile can run Scientific calculators, right? Any recommendation?
ben83
post Jan 2 2007, 11:36 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 2 2007, 11:33 PM)
BTW.. talking abt storage.. actually how big memory we can hav in a 818 pro anyway?
4GB SD should not be a problem.
Baronic
post Jan 2 2007, 11:44 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(H4RRY @ Jan 2 2007, 11:36 PM)
I wanted a PDA phone for MP3, ebooks, WAP surfing, opening Word/Powerpoint files and calendar function. I liked the Treo 600/650 a lot.

But can it open all Word files witout probs? I know there's a program that can do that, how good is it? Also, using wap, can i surf full-blown website and not wap-specific website? With Windows Mobile, i can sync calendar with Outlook. How about Palm, what software do we use?

I think Palm or Windows Mobile can run Scientific calculators, right? Any recommendation?
All word files? yes it can open, though it doesnt save in .doc format i think. (a diff format, readable on PC also dun worry)

yes, u can view full blown website, since u're using an internet browser not a wap browser. I believe u can set/choose. Viewing full blown site will burn a hole in your pocket. Pictures, colours, thats a lot of kb there. Use wi-fi instead.

Palm, i know u can sync also, special windows software sync for palm la thats all.

Scientific calculators, a lot on the market, but hard to find good, easy to learn and use ones. many are simply too complicated, with no clear instructions
sniper msia
post Jan 2 2007, 11:46 PM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

If you really want a PDA that is good for surfing, Windows Mobile is the best way to go and I hate the calendar function of Palm. tongue.gif
ilham87
post Jan 2 2007, 11:54 PM

SSD Freak
848 posts

i'm using xdaIIi

normally use it for notes, appointments, surf internet at hotspots, msn, games or watch movie during lecture... tongue.gif lecturer gives lecture like talking to himself.. damn bored... so i filled my time watching movie.. hehe.. rclxm9.gif
ben83
post Jan 3 2007, 12:00 AM

1,602 posts

Documents To Go Premium Edition for Palm support Word, Excel, PowerPoint & even PDF. For web browser, Blazer & NetFront for Palm is pretty good. For sync, Palm has HotSync.
sniper msia
post Jan 3 2007, 12:01 AM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ Jan 3 2007, 12:00 AM)
Documents To Go Premium Edition for Palm support Word, Excel, PowerPoint & even PDF. For web browser, Blazer & NetFront for Palm is pretty good. For sync, Palm has HotSync.
Documents to Go is an excellent software.
I used the Symbian Series 80 version for my Nokia 9300 last time and it is just perfect for full-function editing.

This post has been edited by sniper msia: Jan 3 2007, 12:02 AM
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 3 2007, 12:14 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Agree with u guys there... DocsToGo is the best app to view and edit MS Word or Excel files on the Palm... Its similar to the Pocket versions of both Windows programs which is available on WM handhelds...

And seems like there are many of u students who use PDAs also eh... Looks like the student of today is more gadget-savvy than during my college years a decade ago!
Baronic
post Jan 3 2007, 11:31 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Lol, and the students of today will soon be outstripped by students of tomorrow
TSeric84cool
post Jan 3 2007, 05:19 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(sniper msia @ Jan 2 2007, 11:31 PM)
Yeah, probably.
But now PDA phones are not that expensive anymore. A brand new Dopod 818 Pro can be had for RM1688 only.
Hohohoho......their price is like that...by end of next year....with 1688..u can buy better spec than this.....damn tempting...don't know when is the right time to have one?! drool.gif

QUOTE(Baronic @ Jan 3 2007, 11:31 AM)
Lol, and the students of today will soon be outstripped by students of tomorrow
laugh.gif I myself feel shock to see many PDA users here are student.....wahhh.....parent nowaday very rich...
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 3 2007, 10:57 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

But good also what... Seems like both the parents and student themselves see the benefits of these gadgets during lectures as well as assignment time... I was like that also what, i started using a handheld during my college days way back in 1999...
Baronic
post Jan 3 2007, 11:08 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

parents now a days very rich? no lar, my pda all self buy wan. work my ass of as a mobile game reviewer lol
julchin_09
post Jan 3 2007, 11:16 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

But seriously...There are Form 4 students in schools using XDA IIs and I was shocked to see them. Some even use these costly devices as mere encyclopedias and dictionaries without SIM cards in them... jeez....spoilt!
H4RRY
post Jan 3 2007, 11:20 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Jan 3 2007, 05:19 PM)
laugh.gif I myself feel shock to see many PDA users here are student.....wahhh.....parent nowaday very rich...
No, my parents aren't rich. They set monthly budget for me. Depends on me how to spend the money. Have to eat Maggi at least once everyday and no going out. 1 year can save roughly RM1K lor.
ben83
post Jan 3 2007, 11:20 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Jan 3 2007, 11:16 PM)
But seriously...There are Form 4 students in schools using XDA IIs and I was shocked to see them. Some even use these costly devices as mere encyclopedias and dictionaries without SIM cards in them... jeez....spoilt!
It is pretty cheap to get a 2nd hand one these days.
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 3 2007, 11:48 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Jan 3 2007, 11:08 PM)
parents now a days very rich? no lar, my pda all self buy wan. work my ass of as a mobile game reviewer lol
Same here lor... All my handhelds, even during college days, were via my own savings... But one of the Clies (the SJ20, if i'm not mistaken) was bought by my dad as a present...
MoNnY
post Jan 3 2007, 11:55 PM

4,423 posts

normal la.. nowadays so many rich kids wan...
all my stuff also is my own money...
hellgates
post Jan 4 2007, 12:12 AM

70 posts

i bought my XDA IIi just because of one reason... i want it for my birthday haha.when bought it was around rm3.5K nowdays can get around rm1.2K for second hand set, which i guess good already...

nice to see, nice to hold, but from my own experience, after using it, i rather used my old 6030...haih...

just my 2 cents
julchin_09
post Jan 4 2007, 01:12 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ Jan 3 2007, 11:20 PM)
It is pretty cheap to get a 2nd hand one these days.
Yeah..pretty cheap now.........This was late 2005...guess how much the price was then icon_idea.gif
EmperorMeng
post Jan 4 2007, 01:17 AM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

laptop not better meh?
dannytzh
post Jan 4 2007, 01:21 AM

Do no evil.
818 posts

schedules, appointments, deadlines, email, msn, surf on the go wherever wifi is available, instant transfer of photos from camera to pda via memory card, powerpoint presentation practice, notes taking during lectures...

yea that's about it. ehhee
MoNnY
post Jan 4 2007, 01:37 AM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Jan 4 2007, 01:17 AM)
laptop not better meh?
i need it to be even more portable than a laptop cause i'm on the go..
and laptops, can't be used if u always moving around..
u'll kill the harddisk faster...
EmperorMeng
post Jan 4 2007, 01:56 AM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

if wanna say planning materials all, can use hp for reminder also ma
photos all also hp can
if wifi then use laptop la.. why pda? so small

no offence , jz trying 2 reason out. if its good then i might get a pda
MoNnY
post Jan 4 2007, 02:02 AM

4,423 posts

anyone got news on this PDA ?
http://www.mypocketpcmobile.com/ASUSP535Re...04/Default.aspx
thinkign this could be better than o2 atom exec
spec wise, its already better
i'm holding off my decision to purchase an atom exec till i see this model

seirously headache sial..
too many PDA phones to choose from...
all also around the same specs....

This post has been edited by MoNnY: Jan 4 2007, 04:51 AM
hellgates
post Jan 4 2007, 02:31 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(dannytzh @ Jan 4 2007, 01:21 AM)
schedules, appointments, deadlines, email, msn, surf on the go wherever wifi is available, instant transfer of photos from camera to pda via memory card, powerpoint presentation practice, notes taking during lectures...

yea that's about it. ehhee
danny

i salute you coz u r able to do it with your pda

last time when i heavily used my pda for 3 months i need to have at least 1 extra fresh fully charged battery whenever i go because my XDA IIi consumed battery like hell. i thought my xda II i was something wrong but when i send for checking at two different centers they said my xda II i is in good working condition

and believe me, when i used it for wifi it can only last about 30-40 minutes then the battery flat.

not to mentioned the lousy 1.3 camera... even my ex n7610 picture are way better than xdaIIi

then afterwards i revert back to my old trusty diary planner
Deani_77
post Jan 4 2007, 03:59 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Before using PDA, I always thinking the guy with PDA only bring it to show off to other people. But after I own it, I think my life will be miserable without it. Wake me up, remind me my own planning (including favourite TV program), make a phone call, check my e-mail, surfing, playing games, make a note when meeting with my boss and etc.

My hope to other people who thinking to buy a PDA, buy it. It worth to spent in your thousand RM.

rclxms.gif
sjn hassan
post Jan 4 2007, 04:16 PM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Jan 3 2007, 11:55 PM)
normal la.. nowadays so many rich kids wan...
all my stuff also is my own money...
yer lor..coz last time our parent not so rich like today's parent.Kids nowadays are so lucky laugh.gif

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Jan 4 2007, 01:56 AM)
if wanna say planning materials all, can use hp for reminder also ma
photos all also hp can
if wifi then use laptop la.. why pda? so small

no offence , jz trying 2 reason out. if its good then i might get a pda
1. u can't add / remove the notes easily with HP

2. If u have a document in PC, then going to bring it in meeting or class or presentation, u can't view / edit doc, xls, ppt with HP.Only PDA and Smartphone can do that

3. power on /off the PDA only takes a few seconds but u need to wait a few minutes to on then off the laptop.Unless u just keep the laptop on for the whole few hours.But most of us using pda+phone.So the pda is always ON

4. normally use a wifi on the PDA just to check a email or full a free time waiting and not for hardly use like surfing at LYN tongue.gif So i don't think u'r willing to bring the laptop all the times and u should know the weight of the laptop right??It's almost 2KG (don't compare to ultra light weight like VAIO coz not all ppl can effort it)

*** For the conclusion pda+phone = small function of laptop+phone in 1

playerseeker
post Jan 4 2007, 05:00 PM

630 posts

user of hp rx3715

the reason of buying pda...long story...wanted to buy ipod nano..but then after tat saw ppl selling 2nd hand rx3715...so bought pda..then realised that pda is much more worth than nano...just the capacity not as big as nano..

but heck..i start to like pda a lot..but my main purpose of the pda..listen to music and notes...yea...notes...i think alot..some need to write down..so i write down and save in my pda....

just listen to music...the battery can last for 9 hours and still got 10% left..

and also wifi too wink.gif

now everyday i go to class..if no pda..i cant survive...

anyway....about the games mention by some of the forumer...is it freeware?? if is freeware..can give me some link to download games??

thanks thanks..

ben83
post Jan 4 2007, 05:34 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(hellgates @ Jan 4 2007, 02:31 PM)
danny

i salute you coz u r able to do it with your pda

last time when i heavily used my pda for 3 months i need to have at least 1 extra fresh fully charged battery whenever i go because my XDA IIi consumed battery like hell. i thought my xda II i was something wrong but when i send for checking at two different centers they said my xda II i is in good working condition

and believe me, when i used it for wifi it can only last about 30-40 minutes then the battery flat.

not to mentioned the lousy 1.3 camera... even my ex n7610 picture are way better than xdaIIi

then afterwards i revert back to my old trusty diary planner
That's either you have a poor power management or have a defective/worned battery. Remember the golden rules especially for Windows Mobile 2003 SE & older OS devices; do not always drain your battery until flat (of course, unless you need to), turned off power consuming features such as wi-fi/bluetooth if you are not using them, keep the backlight to minimum if possible, set the processor to auto mode (if available), update to the latest ROM (firmware) when available, backup your data often with a decent 3rd party backup software like Sprite Backup.

Regarding the camera, you can tweak its settings in order to get better shots.
EmperorMeng
post Jan 5 2007, 12:41 AM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Jan 4 2007, 04:16 PM)
4. normally use a wifi on the PDA just to check a email or full a free time waiting and not for hardly use like surfing at LYN  tongue.gif  So i don't think u'r willing to bring the laptop all the times and u should know the weight of the laptop right??It's almost 2KG (don't compare to ultra light weight like VAIO coz not all ppl can effort it)

*** For the conclusion pda+phone = small function of laptop+phone in 1
thats y paying an extra K for a vaio is worth it. laptop can always be set on hibernate mode. takes seconds to boot up.

H4RRY
post Jan 5 2007, 02:16 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Jan 5 2007, 12:41 AM)
thats y paying an extra K for a vaio is worth it. laptop can always be set on hibernate mode. takes seconds to boot up.
What is the maximum time u can on ur laptop? 2-3 hours at best.

PDA can last more than that. 1day might seem short but looking at the screen size n the use of RAM as memory, it's more than worth it.
MoNnY
post Jan 5 2007, 02:28 AM

4,423 posts

depends what u need to do..
for me, i always on the move, i want something portable and all in oen..
i dun wanna carry so many gadgets..
thats why my choice is PDA phone..
can do windows stuff, and also phone...
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 5 2007, 03:49 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Well, for me, other than the trusty Zire72s, i also have my laptop with me most of the time, especially when i'm at the office or at WiFi spot... Thats y i don't have a PC at work, because i carry my notebook PC to the office, more convenient and also familiar with own machine...
porkchop
post Jan 5 2007, 09:23 AM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

my pda takes over my "diary style-book", and it serves me well on egress (newspaper) as well as mapping when goin to meet customer who lives in god knows where(garmin que).

Everywhere I go, I carry my pda(dopod 838 pro) + my dell m1210. Its convenient. And where places like shopping,etc i jsut carry pda la, dump the notebook in the car...(it also gives the extra hand to hold gf hands............and same with all the groceries and sshopping bags...sweat.gif)

THTgadgets.com
post Jan 5 2007, 09:33 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Oh ok, u are also using a Garmin iQue ya? How much did u get it for, just to ask? That is one of the best GPS-enabled PDAs around!
Deani_77
post Jan 5 2007, 09:52 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 5 2007, 09:33 AM)
Oh ok, u are also using a Garmin iQue ya? How much did u get it for, just to ask? That is one of the best GPS-enabled PDAs around!
I dont have the GPS set, but I already download it through Malsing Map. It free and there is instruction to install it.
sauying
post Jan 5 2007, 10:56 AM

Orang tua kat LYN
1,464 posts

yup, this one is free ~!
anyway, GPS pdaphone sure cost a bomb.. RM3000++ right ?
julchin_09
post Jan 5 2007, 11:15 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Dopod GPS Enabled PDA-Phone around RM2900. Mitac-Mio GPS Pda-Phone even cheaper.....
sauying
post Jan 5 2007, 11:19 AM

Orang tua kat LYN
1,464 posts

but O2 sure mahal right ?
julchin_09
post Jan 5 2007, 11:31 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

O2 ar? Haven't launched a GPS Pda/Phone yet i think. Even their upcoming 2 devices Zinc & Flame don't have them enabled/built in.
mavericksam
post Jan 5 2007, 02:11 PM

259 posts

phone, msn messenger, push email for my gmail (don't think conventional phone can do that right?), bible, organizer (reminders for every little or big whatever thingy), rss reader, did i mention the address book is the most complete?, camera (errm... odd day or two...), notes and how could i forget my minesweeper (hey great way to kill time you know?)

how can i leave home without it... laugh.gif
porkchop
post Jan 5 2007, 03:12 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

dopod got a gps phone very cheap only..cause the specs also slightly lower
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 5 2007, 03:17 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Out of curiousity, how much does that phone cost? And what is the model? I know the "Geek" shop in 1U sells dopod phones, if i know the model i can then check it out for a first-hand look...
sjn hassan
post Jan 5 2007, 03:17 PM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Jan 5 2007, 12:41 AM)
of coz extra K but how many K?? 4 or 5 K? And u can't put the vaio into u'r pocket right?? tongue.gif

MoNnY
post Jan 5 2007, 03:20 PM

4,423 posts

wait for Asus P535
GPS PDA phone..
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=391768
Deani_77
post Jan 5 2007, 03:42 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(mavericksam @ Jan 5 2007, 02:11 PM)
phone, msn messenger, push email for my gmail (don't think conventional phone can do that right?), bible, organizer (reminders for every little or big whatever thingy), rss reader, did i mention the address book is the most complete?, camera (errm... odd day or two...), notes and how could i forget my minesweeper (hey great way to kill time you know?)

how can i leave home without it...  laugh.gif
You can setup your PDA for gmail also? how? Cause mine now I only can check yahoo mail and hotmail only. How about other free mail?
Baronic
post Jan 5 2007, 04:38 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

why cannot check gmail? shudnt have prob wat

mavericksam
post Jan 5 2007, 05:00 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Jan 5 2007, 03:42 PM)
You can setup your PDA for gmail also? how? Cause mine now I only can check yahoo mail and hotmail only. How about other free mail?
gmail definately can. biggrin.gif

but push email will be a little tricky. you would have to sign up for a free exchange server service.

otherwise if you want to send/receive all the time, the settings should be available at gmail. just need to ensure you allowed pop access.

happy testing.
porkchop
post Jan 5 2007, 05:27 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

with gmail u must actiavate it first on gmail account
Deani_77
post Jan 5 2007, 05:41 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(mavericksam @ Jan 5 2007, 05:00 PM)
gmail definately can.  biggrin.gif

but push email will be a little tricky. you would have to sign up for a free exchange server service.

otherwise if you want to send/receive all the time, the settings should be available at gmail. just need to ensure you allowed pop access.

happy testing.
How to sign up for free a free exchange server service. Kindly explain to me. TQ
mavericksam
post Jan 5 2007, 05:58 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Jan 5 2007, 05:41 PM)
How to sign up for free a free exchange server service. Kindly explain to me. TQ

please be reminded that for push email, GPRS should always be on. (so be mindful that data charges apply)

also another drawback is that when you reply via your pda's outlook, it wouldn't show <yourusername>@gmail.com but rather <yourusername>@mail2web.com.

remember that there are still settings to be applied example forwarding mails from gmail to the exchange service and not to mention settings on your pda. to some lads out there who uses active sync registry hacks for improve batt life, sorry no can do it. so it is up to you to have this push mail or not coz the downside is that active sync will always be... err... active...

last is that remember to limit to download headers only. otherwise God bless your data charges on chain mails. kekeke.

another alternative is to run java prog obtained from gmail.com/app from your MOBILE's browser to download the app. then you have gmail on the go. but not push mail tho.

enjoy.
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 5 2007, 06:33 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Noobie here, what exactly is push email? Is it something like the push-to-talk feature on Nokia phones? huh.gif
Deani_77
post Jan 5 2007, 08:37 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(mavericksam @ Jan 5 2007, 05:58 PM)

please be reminded that for push email, GPRS should always be on. (so be mindful that data charges apply)

also another drawback is that when you reply via your pda's outlook, it wouldn't show <yourusername>@gmail.com but rather <yourusername>@mail2web.com.

remember that there are still settings to be applied example forwarding mails from gmail to the exchange service and not to mention settings on your pda. to some lads out there who uses active sync registry hacks for improve batt life, sorry no can do it. so it is up to you to have this push mail or not coz the downside is that active sync will always be... err... active...

last is that remember to limit to download headers only. otherwise God bless your data charges on chain mails. kekeke.

another alternative is to run java prog obtained from gmail.com/app from your MOBILE's browser to download the app. then you have gmail on the go. but not push mail tho.

enjoy.
Already open that link. What is the domain name? Is it mail2web.com?

This post has been edited by Deani_77: Jan 5 2007, 09:53 PM
TSeric84cool
post Jan 5 2007, 09:51 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jan 5 2007, 09:23 AM)
my pda takes over my "diary style-book", and it serves me well on egress (newspaper) as well as mapping when goin to meet customer who lives in god knows where(garmin que).

Everywhere I go, I carry my pda(dopod 838 pro) + my dell m1210. Its convenient. And where places like shopping,etc i jsut carry pda la, dump the notebook in the car...(it also gives the extra hand to hold gf hands............and same with all the groceries and sshopping bags...sweat.gif)
waHhh....u carry ur laptop all the time and left it in ur car? U not afraid of getting stolen by thief???

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 5 2007, 09:33 AM)
Garmin iQue??what brand is that?!never heard b4.....

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Jan 5 2007, 03:20 PM)
nice spec!!! drool.gif this year can see lotsa of new released PDA model in the market......wondering those O2 atom, O2 atom exec, Dopod 838 Pro. HP RW6828 will drop kao kao...... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 5 2007, 10:38 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Jan 5 2007, 09:51 PM)
Garmin iQue??what brand is that?!never heard b4.....
Bro, the Garmin iQue is the version of the GPS giant's system for handhelds... Its the only PalmOS and WM-based handheld that has built-in GPS capability... Not too sure how much it's being sold here in MY though...
TSeric84cool
post Jan 6 2007, 01:38 AM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

I just read the review for Dopod 838 Pro...most the users rated it excellent...emmm.....what is other model available without 3G with about the same spec as Dopod 838 Pro??

Anybody can differentiate between Samsung Processor and Intel Processor? which one provides the best in term of speed, battery life, etc....
mavericksam
post Jan 6 2007, 08:45 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 5 2007, 06:33 PM)
Noobie here, what exactly is push email? Is it something like the push-to-talk feature on Nokia phones? huh.gif
aren't we all noobies? tongue.gif

push email is something like microsoft's answer to blackberry.

push-to-talk is like walkie-talkie but better range and now have to pay (think so it's about RM 1 a day via maxis)... am not too sure about this feature tho coz am using pda marr... where got ptt? tongue.gif

i don't know how blackberry works but push email works on ms exchange servers to send out the notification. as far as i know, blackberry only recently opened it's doors to wm5 (example: Dopod 838pro via a prog attachment), as previously it is exclusive to blackberry phones or symbian operated ones (those with keypads and bulky ones larr... kekeke...) but do note even you have blackberry operated phone, you would still need to pay for the service. ask you mobile operator.

push mail provides real time email (or rather close to it, at most 5 mins and yes i have tried). lay man's term means as soon as your whatever push account you have receives mail, it will be sent out to your mobile giving you the full mail, partial or just headers (depends on your pda settings larr). this is just my understanding tho.

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Jan 5 2007, 08:37 PM)
Already open that link. What is the domain name? Is it mail2web.com?
please clarify which domain you are refering to? if it's as simple as web add domain, then mail2web.com, otherwise if you asking for pda domain settings, then it is "ad2".
Deani_77
post Jan 6 2007, 09:21 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(mavericksam @ Jan 6 2007, 08:45 AM)
please clarify which domain you are refering to? if it's as simple as web add domain, then mail2web.com, otherwise if you asking for pda domain settings, then it is "ad2".
ALready get the setting from mail2web. Download the setting in *.cab file for WM5, thankz
ampangchai
post Jan 10 2007, 07:32 PM

171 posts

1) Personal digital Assistant for work, schedule, reminder etc
2) play games or read ebook while waiting... carwash, bank, friends etc
3) watch movie b4 bed
MoNnY
post Jan 10 2007, 11:40 PM

4,423 posts

aiyoh..
habis la..
my decision to get the asus p535 gone again
saw the apple iphone liao....
dunno what to do now.
julchin_09
post Jan 10 2007, 11:46 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Haha... yeah....

I saw the preview on the Singapore news cos streaming online video was shitty. Steve Jobs is a funny man.... and his new creation is awesome. The runnning the finger over the screen to scroll is great and another fresh idea out of Apple. Will definetly kill the SmartPhone monopoly. Just too bad that SEA will have to wait till 2008, but then again, there is always Online purchasing. Have to unlock it first maybe....
MoNnY
post Jan 11 2007, 12:23 AM

4,423 posts

just worried first gen will have issues like most of apple's products so far...
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 11 2007, 01:12 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Isn't it always a common thing for the first batch of a newly-released line of product to have problems? Thats y its best to wait for the next bunch to come out, when they have rectified the known issues...

And that apple smartphone will be a market-killer for sure... Can't wait to see it launch!
MoNnY
post Jan 11 2007, 01:49 AM

4,423 posts

not all...
apple is very experienced at this..
all their first gen products don't go according to plan..
keizugarage
post Jan 23 2007, 11:02 AM

72 posts

For me, I just use it as a reminder and appointment and meeting. I know that normal phone can do all those thing but, I use PDA to write about the agenda of the meeting as well. I also use it to view files from word and exel since I always use it to do my work.

For me PDA is really essential....
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 24 2007, 12:15 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Jan 11 2007, 01:49 AM)
not all...
apple is very experienced at this..
all their first gen products don't go according to plan..
Well, u are right there... Now apple is gonna get sued by Cisco for breaching the latter's iPhone trademark...
TSeric84cool
post Jan 24 2007, 01:32 AM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 24 2007, 12:15 AM)
Well, u are right there... Now apple is gonna get sued by Cisco for breaching the latter's iPhone trademark...
oh iszit?!?I tot it's SKYPE company sue them....hohoho
stimix
post Jan 24 2007, 09:32 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 24 2007, 12:15 AM)
Not only Cisco probably LG too. It seems iPhone resembled (copied?) the latest LG Prada which will be in the market nxt mth....
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 24 2007, 09:57 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Wow, so many lawsuits against apple this time around? Pity them!

But the iPhone is considered a PDA-phone ya? Too bad its only gonna be available in Malaysia next year... Dunno how are the sales of the phone in the US market leh?
stimix
post Jan 24 2007, 10:04 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 24 2007, 09:57 AM)
Wow, so many lawsuits against apple this time around? Pity them!

But the iPhone is considered a PDA-phone ya? Too bad its only gonna be available in Malaysia next year... Dunno how are the sales of the phone in the US market leh?
Hehe..it is not even in US market yet....The announcement earlier this mth is just a "work in Progress" phone and dun think it is a PDA phone...no 3G, no GPS, calender not built in yet,,,and etc....It is more catering towards entertainment just like iPod wth big storage capacity & wth phone function....opss OT liow

This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 24 2007, 10:05 AM

0.0894sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:13 PM