I want to build a computer special for audio like playing my guitar on my compiter. Any recommendation about the processor, sound card, speaker, and many more.
Best computer setup for Audio
Dec 28 2006, 12:40 PM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,624 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Between Ground And Sky |
I want to build a computer special for audio like playing my guitar on my compiter. Any recommendation about the processor, sound card, speaker, and many more.
Dec 28 2006, 03:59 PM
3,350 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
Any new computer will do lah. Just make sure you got decent speakers for sound, and a good audio interface.
For audio interfaces...I would recommend starting with something from M-Audio or EMU. If you don't plan to use a preamp, then you need to buy an audio interface with a built-in preamp. I prefer outboard preamps...but then again, you can never find a good preamp for cheap (under RM1k)... This post has been edited by ionStorm: Dec 28 2006, 04:00 PM |
Dec 28 2006, 06:37 PM
1,171 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: temporarily Munich |
If it's just for guitar then, there's this line 6 podXT or toneport (or i dunno what you call it). It's probably the best solution for your money.
But when it comes to amps, i am a purist I've never experimented with the toneport in detail before. I just ran through the few modelling samples in the Gearbox software. I don't like adjusting dials on a computer screen with a mouse (have enough of that on cubase) so this doesn't work for me. But if you're interested go check it out on the line 6 website (dunno URL, go google The cheapest way is what i am doing now. Just plug the guitar directly into the mic port of your current soundcard. I play bass so i don't have an effect processor. But if you have an FX processor with a preamp built in it, then use the "line in" jack instead of the "mic" jack. Most cheapo computer onboard soundcards have a cheapo preamp built in on the "mic" jack. THe "line in" jack bypasses this preamp. If you are not sure which one to use, just try both and see which one you like better. |
Dec 28 2006, 09:38 PM
121 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: petaling jaya |
any computer with decent processing speed + min 1gig ram will do, since u're on guitars i will agree with bassix go for a line 6 pod, btw are u into producing? if you are you might wanna invest on pair of near field flat speaker (studio monitor).
Dec 29 2006, 08:35 AM
1,624 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Between Ground And Sky |
i just want to make computer special for playing guitar. Don't want to use amp since when using amp have to buy distortion pedal to create the distortion effect. While using computer i can create the effect for free.
Dec 29 2006, 09:28 AM
197 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Shah Alam |
if you want more cheaper you just upgrade your soundcard with low latency.. ESI MAYA44 I suggest and just use software like Native Instrument Guitar Rig, IK Multimedia Amplitube..
Dec 29 2006, 09:30 AM
13,063 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Toronto |
For the price of a good sound card, you can get a decent practice amp like the Roland Cube or Vox Da5..... both comes with built in effects processor as well.
Dec 29 2006, 12:15 PM
489 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
If I were you, I'd rather get an amp instead. Most amps have built in overdrive anyway.
| Change to: | 0.0178sec
5 queries
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:05 PM |