Engine mounting, How does it work?
TSzombie
Dec 28 2006, 01:00 AM, updated 19y ago
Replacing engine mounting seems to be one of the ways to solve engine vibration problem.
But what does the mounting do? Why does the mounting need to be replaced? Why not just tighten the nuts to prevent the mounting from vibrating so much?
Hope some sifu can shed some light on this subject. Thx.
Dec 28 2006, 01:13 AM

the Rubber mounting give the engine space to vibrate..so the vibration wont be transfered to car body..So the rubber should not get harden..when it's get harden, need to replaced.
Edit: All the engine moving parts make the Engine vibrates..
This post has been edited by 6650: Dec 28 2006, 01:14 AM
imperialrealcs
Dec 28 2006, 01:20 AM
engine mounting made of rubber n can absorb vibration.. meanwhile when u juz tightly screw the engine to car body, then the whole car will be more n more vibrate
radioactive
Dec 28 2006, 01:40 AM
Its a big piece of soft rubber tht acts as a vibration dampener....allowing ur engine to vibrate freely without vibrating the whole body....the entire engine is supported by several pieces...therefore getting the name engine mounting
after time....the rubber deterioriat....causing it to harden and sometimes cracks in more severe cases...thus losing the dampening properties...and ur car will rattle ur nerves out
This post has been edited by radioactive: Dec 28 2006, 01:50 AM
detomaso
Dec 28 2006, 09:45 AM
QUOTE(radioactive @ Dec 28 2006, 01:40 AM) Its a big piece of soft rubber tht acts as a vibration dampener....allowing ur engine to vibrate freely without vibrating the whole body....the entire engine is supported by several pieces...therefore getting the name engine mounting after time....the rubber deterioriat....causing it to harden and sometimes cracks in more severe cases...thus losing the dampening properties...and ur car will rattle ur nerves out i 2nd that.. agreed.
detomaso
Dec 28 2006, 09:45 AM
QUOTE(radioactive @ Dec 28 2006, 01:40 AM) Its a big piece of soft rubber tht acts as a vibration dampener....allowing ur engine to vibrate freely without vibrating the whole body....the entire engine is supported by several pieces...therefore getting the name engine mounting after time....the rubber deterioriat....causing it to harden and sometimes cracks in more severe cases...thus losing the dampening properties...and ur car will rattle ur nerves out i 2nd that.. agreed.
LanEvo7
Dec 28 2006, 12:06 PM
haha tightening things more will make ur car vibrate more weeay, co's car memang got spinning parts, it's unavoidable .. so to prevent these vibrations from propagading to the entire chassis, dey use bushings, mounts, sound deadeners (which sometimes also absorb vibration), foams, anything soft that doesn't compromise too much on the rigidity (sure lar kenot use sponge lol)
even the body chassis and panels are not so rigidly bonded together to allow some twist and flex to reduce the noise when the car is under load e.g. cornering forces
CFS
Dec 28 2006, 12:18 PM
how abt the material like polyehunic or sumthing like dat...those bushes with harder material...any1 using dat? any1 can comment wat is the effect after using that?
sleepwalker
Dec 28 2006, 12:29 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(CFS @ Dec 28 2006, 12:18 PM) how abt the material like polyehunic or sumthing like dat...those bushes with harder material...any1 using dat? any1 can comment wat is the effect after using that?  I had solid engine mountings for my previous Satria GSR. Engine does not move around in the mountings anymore and gives a slightly better car control in the corners as the engine does not shift it's weight around. Only major draw back is the extreme vibrations that is sent into the cabin.
TSzombie
Dec 28 2006, 12:34 PM
Interesting.. How many engine mount points does one normal car have?
sleepwalker
Dec 28 2006, 12:43 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(zombie @ Dec 28 2006, 12:34 PM) Interesting.. How many engine mount points does one normal car have? Depends what you mean by normal.. kkakkakaka.. Usually 4 pieces, one each on the front and back (bottom of engine), one next to the cam pulleys and one more next to the gearbox. When you open the bonnet, you can usually only see the one next to the cam pulley. The others are hidden or out of sight. This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Dec 28 2006, 12:44 PM
LanEvo7
Dec 28 2006, 02:28 PM
yup, solid stuff is good for the car from performance point of view because it reduces all the unwanted movements between parts. That's why race cars are usually built by stripping off all the heavy stuff (that's another issue), then more welding at various parts of the body or add metal bars and panels to really weak places.
Result? sharper handling, responsive control, driver feels whatever the car goes through
Side effect? farking uncomfortable .. then again, race cars are never meant to be driven on KL roads lol
CFS
Dec 28 2006, 05:38 PM
yeap totally agreed...hehe thx for the advice...haha i oni know those SR3 / Gen2 R3 all equip with this kinda material haha wondering suitable for daily drive or not haha...c'z if upgrade adi later go long distance driving i think u know ler the road for northsouth highway c'z of the cement road lolz...even using ad07 is abit annoying sometimes haha
WhitE LighteR
Dec 28 2006, 06:56 PM
Stiff engine mounting is used for performance car. Noticeable effect would be better control and some say better power delivery coz the engine dun shake like crazy. Downside would be ur entire chassis will suffer the extra vibration
whatdamn
Dec 28 2006, 10:10 PM
honestly, i don't seem to feel this 'extra' vibration.
maybe the fact that my car is stripped of it's interior leaving just the dashboard and aircon.
car manufacturers are always concerned with NVH (Noise, Vibration, Harshness). so designers come up with all sorts of bushings to reduce NVH. it is due to the fact that an average person can only withstand so much NVH until they suffer from stress, fatigue and in extreme cases, pass out.
which is why cars tend to have a softer (less harsh) suspension for added comfort (thus reduced NVH)
plasmasonic
Dec 29 2006, 11:43 PM
my car shake when engage D... is that due to engine mounting?
JuNz-V
Dec 30 2006, 02:37 AM
it can be engine mouting or gearbox mounting sometimess.. it depends, best is asking a mechanic to determine.. or better still, wif a higher budget, change all at once mounting.. solve everything..
JuNz-V
Dec 31 2006, 04:22 PM
normal circumstances has been mentioned by Austin123.. although there are chances that other things are related, but normally are those 2.. check it out first..
plasmasonic
Jan 1 2007, 05:01 AM
hmm.. thx thx.. will check it out tho.. btw happy new year to u all...