[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V11!

crazydjrock
post Jun 6 2016, 03:17 PM

76 posts

Hi everyone!

I need some help on buying a new gaming rig.

[B][Budget] RM4k

[Purpose] For gaming, and video editing

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor, mouse, keyboard. (Just need the PC)

[Monitor resolution] 1920 X 1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Starcraft 2, sony vegas 13, Dota, Depth, L4D2, alien vs predator, rwby Grimm eclipse

[Personal preferences] Well, at least smoother gaming experience at 60fps

[Location] Selangor

This post has been edited by crazydjrock: Jun 6 2016, 03:26 PM
crazydjrock
post Jun 6 2016, 04:24 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jun 6 2016, 04:11 PM)
Are you able to wait for few more weeks before building the rig? If yes then you will be able to board the latest RX 480 train, if cannot wait then you gonna settle with current gen hardware (soon to be last gen).
I am not in a rush to get it as I will be purchasing it on 25th June. When will the card be released? Is it worth the wait though?

So without the RX 480, what would be the equivalent for it?

This post has been edited by crazydjrock: Jun 6 2016, 04:26 PM
crazydjrock
post Jun 6 2016, 05:40 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jun 6 2016, 05:21 PM)
The card is said to be released by end of this month, stock availability here remains to be unknown but by judging at Nvidia's counterpart, the new GTX1080 is available in Malaysia on the first day of launch so I guess AMD should be able to do this as well.

You can buy the rest of the parts first without GPU if RX 480 isn't out on 25th Jun, if you wish to buy all the parts together then you gonna settle with either GTX960/GTX970/R9 380/R9 390.
Ah alright. How would my rig would be though? Not that sure what to spent on wisely with RM4k.
crazydjrock
post Jun 6 2016, 10:08 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jun 6 2016, 09:54 PM)
Another question, which one is having higher priority, gaming or video editing?

If gaming then I will pump more money on GPU, if video editing then I will go for i7 instead.
Mostly gaming, video editing is just rendering from games that have been recorded
crazydjrock
post Jun 7 2016, 10:32 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jun 6 2016, 10:18 PM)
This is the build if you want to get all parts at one time.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 845
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 256
Sapphire R9 390 8GB GDDR5 Nitro - RM 1490
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB - RM 153
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W - RM 363
Tecware Alpha - RM 189

Total: RM 3957 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

If you want to wait for RX 480 then the build will be slightly different, this depends on the price of RX 480.

Price is changing almost everyday now due to unstable RM currency, ask here again when you are ready to buy the rig in the future for updated price and build.
What would it be like if it is i7 and using an NVIDIA Card?
crazydjrock
post Jun 7 2016, 12:02 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jun 7 2016, 11:18 AM)
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1305
MSI B150M Pro-DH (D4) - RM 346
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 128
MSI GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Tiger - RM 1373
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB - RM 153
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W - RM 363
Tecware Alpha - RM 189

Total: RM 4072 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
Thank you for the build. Will ask again when the time to buy it comes. Again thank you so much! thumbup.gif
crazydjrock
post Jul 19 2016, 10:12 PM

76 posts

Hi I am looking to upgrade my current parents PC. Below here is the specs that it is currently running:

Processor: Intel Core i3 530
Motherboard: Asus P7H55-M LE
RAM: 4GB
Graphic Card: Asus GT 220 1GB
Storage: Seagate 1TB
PSU: Silverstone SST-ST50F-ES 500W

[B][Budget] RM1000 (Maximum up to RM1500)

[Purpose] Mainly for light browsing and word processing. Mainly just need a new motherboard, processor and RAM. A change to the current graphic card is also cool

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Seagate 1TB hard disk, Monitor, casing, mouse, keyboard, Optical disk, Wi-Fi card, graphic card (if there are options better than the current one, it would be great)

[Monitor resolution]

[Games & softwares that use frequently] N/A

[Personal preferences]

[Location] Subang Jaya

Thank you in advance to all sifus smile.gif

This post has been edited by crazydjrock: Jul 19 2016, 10:12 PM
crazydjrock
post Jul 20 2016, 11:10 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 19 2016, 10:31 PM)
An upgrade to CPU platform is enough since no gaming is involved, the iGPU of Intel Skylake (HD 530) is 3 times faster than your current GT220 FYI.

Intel Core i3 6100 - RM 467
Gigabyte H110M-DS2 (D4) - RM 249
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 149

Total: RM 865 (Techview price inclusive of GST)
Thank you so much Terence! smile.gif

Oh sorry if this trouble you, what monitor can I get as well? I might stretch the budget up to RM1.5k. Would prefer resolution up to 1080p and HDMI port has to be present.

Thanks again!

This post has been edited by crazydjrock: Jul 20 2016, 11:21 AM
crazydjrock
post Jul 20 2016, 11:30 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 20 2016, 11:28 AM)
Looking for what size?
Between 21" to 23"
crazydjrock
post Jul 20 2016, 11:56 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 20 2016, 11:34 AM)
Acer R221Q, around RM 460.

21.5", FHD, IPS, ultra thin bezel, HDMI ready.
Thank you so much! rclxms.gif
crazydjrock
post Jul 22 2016, 05:32 PM

76 posts

Hi I am helping my friend and he wants to build a VR PC just for showcasing VR stuff.

[B][Budget] RM7k-RM10k (Can break it down 7k budget, 8k budget 9k budget and 10k budget computer? Would like to see different builds)

[Purpose] VR showcase

[Hardwares that will be re-use - none

[Monitor resolution]

[Games & softwares that use frequently] VR games

[Personal preferences] The rig has to be VR ready and VR capable

[Location] Subang Jaya

Thank you in advance. >.<
crazydjrock
post Jul 22 2016, 11:30 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 22 2016, 07:18 PM)
VR headset such as HTC Vive or Oculus Rift is not included in the budget right?
Everything is fine.
Yup not included of the VR headset. Just the rig itself. Can it support multiple VR headsets?

This post has been edited by crazydjrock: Jul 22 2016, 11:33 PM

0.0738sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:10 AM